Reviews For My Hands
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2014 6:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love the idea that the reason why Spock always clasps his hands behind his back is to prevent himself from reaching for Kirk! 

On the other hand, I find it hard to believe that what Spock finds most appealing about Kirk are his eyes, hair, and lips.  I think Spock would be attracted to Kirk's mind and character first and foremost -- his loyalty, his bravery, his quick mind and strange-to-Vulcans intuition.

 



Author's Response:

Ah - thank you for your review!  I think it's very easy for a reader to 'see' this a little differently than I do because poetry is so spare.  But when I think of Spock visualizing Kirk's eyes, hair and lips - it's really a focus on Kirk's expression and his vitality - the fast change of thought that is portrayed so vividly on Kirk's face.  I see Spock bringing this imagery to the forefront of his mind in order to 'practice' control over his own attraction to the man.  But also I DO think that sometimes between two people there is an immediate attraction that can occur even before one truly knows the other person's mind and character.  In the sense of 'the eyes are the window to the soul'.  I've experienced this personally, and so I 'believe' it could have been that way between Spock and Kirk - and in this particular poem version of them, my intention was to convey that this was the case - that immediate attraction occured, even before there was time for Kirk's character traits had time to be revealed. If this seems unlikely to you, I certainly understand why this portrayal doesn't feel right.  I will just add that I don't by any means envision that Spock is only attracted to the visual, but that the visual and the character are two intermingled to separate out.  GREAT to hear from you.

Reviewer: objectlesson Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2012 1:45 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this! spock does always do weird stuff with his hands around Jim. very suspicious. Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response:

Hehe - yes ... Spock's a sneaky one, glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2012 7:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

There is just something about this that captures each of them & denotes the depth of dedication that's between them - well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I have different versions of Spock and Jim in my head, but most the time I think of Spock like this.  Determined to get each of Jim's smallest requests just perfectly right, and prefering to adjust his own behavior rather than explain the reason behind it to Jim.  Allowing, and maybe even encouraging Jim's misunderstanding at times.  For his part, I see Jim as ALWAYS enjoying Spock just as he is, not wanting anything about him to change - except perhaps for those times when Spock is a little too respectful - or protective.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2012 1:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

I cannot count the times I just want to ruffle Spock's perfectly collected hair! AT EASE ALREADY! XD

Author's Response:

Yeah ... anybody else find themselves in heavy fantasy mode after the part of the movie where Spock is in the water with the whales?  I was like -WET SPOCK!!! OMG - gimmeee.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2012 4:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

OMG...for me. You are so sweet. This was very well done. We often see Spock do that don't we. Place his hands behind his back, clasped tightly. Of course, the mere presence of this man would affect anyone.  Anyone can write poetry, you have to find it in yourself, you own reaction to something similar. Someone that you like, but are akward around him. You would try fight for control, because you don't want him to see you this way. You have found your Spock's voice. Thanks again for dedicating it for me, and you must write more now...



Author's Response:

I really don't think I would have tried writing this if I hadn't been reading some of yours - and my subconscious just went to work ... so thank you for being the spark that lit this one!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2012 1:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, Dahliaxat will love you, LOL

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2012 8:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awww.... this is delightful...and he always has those hands behind his back (if he doesn't, they do float towards Kirk a bit, don't they?).  Very observant of you.



Author's Response:

Yes - I love Spock's hands behind the back stance - always makes me think of what he'd rather be doing with them ... Mmnnnn

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2012 6:01 AM Title: Chapter 1

I like it!  Very Spock-like, nice verse etc.

Well done!  :D



Author's Response:

(blushes, digs toe in ground) Aww, Thanks!

You must login (register) to review.