Reviews For The Other Boot
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/21/2020 4:36 PM Title: Chapter 6

Sooo GUT,

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/07/2015 8:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

Love the twist of ulrss Jim and masterful seducer Spock 



Author's Response:

Oh good!  I enjoyed thinking about how Spock might go about pursuing Kirk and had fun with this.  I'm glad you enjoyed and THANK you for commenting.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2014 8:39 PM Title: Chapter 1

*smile*  So many stories have a clueless Spock who knows nothing about sex or who doesn't know what he wants.  I love your savvy Spock who knows what he wants and plans a careful campaign to get it!  Oh, more of this Spock, please!

 



Author's Response:

Hee hee.  Oh, I'm SO happy you like this Spock.  I do too.  For some reason I've been on a writing hiatus and need to continue some stories or maybe start some new ones.

Reviewer: Logic_and_Reason Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2014 1:57 AM Title: Chapter 6

This was great. Did I miss any hints at what the runes actually meant? I'm curious to find out. I also really liked the touch of uncertainty and awkwardness we all experience the first time we are with someone new or are doing something new. Made this very real. Kudos.



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much for the review!  I love it when people tell me what they like.  No, you didn't miss any hints at what the runes actually meant, because I'm still playing with it a bit in my mind, trying to decide where this story goes next.  However, since it may be a while before I'm inspired enough to finish it off, I'll share with you that I believe the runes say something along the lines of 'paths to bonding', since of course Spock would be meditating on the possible ways in which he could bring Jim along the path to becoming his bondmate.  

I'm so happy you enjoyed it.  Thank you for the appreciation.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2013 4:13 AM Title: Chapter 6

On the one hand, I had trouble believing that Spock would be willing to do this on a landing party.  On the other hand, the interaction between the two was very nicely done, quite lovely, in fact.  I especially loved the line, "There was possession, admiration, desire … Jim could hardly breathe in the light of that look."

 



Author's Response:

Yeah, a little suspension of disbelief is probably needed here.  I think even Kirk would be too professional to deliberately engage in anything so intimate during a landing party.  I tend to 'pretend' that their attraction for each other is just so overwhelming that it overrules their judgement, but I'm not sure that's really very believable.  Thank you so much for your comments!  I'm really hoping that by the beginning of the year I can find time to go in and fix a few things here and there that were a little hurried, or perhaps just not well thought out - so thank you so much for this criticism.  I will keep it in mind and maybe can find a way to make it a little more believable.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2013 3:53 AM Title: Chapter 5

One minor correction for this chapter:  TOS never called them "away teams;" only the shows that were made after TOS went off the air in 1969 did that.  TOS called them "landing parties."

 

 



Author's Response:

Ah - thank you!  Will note that and correct it.  A lot of my influences were many of the Pocket book novels which may not be considered canon, or may have not been as true to TOS episodes, and then I did watch some of the later series, although haven't yet gotten through them all.  What a wonderful reviewer you are!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2013 3:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hee!  LOVE the transition from "What’s the fucking big Vulcan secret that you’re not talking about" to “What there is …” Spock continued, “... is a big Vulcan who has secretly always wanted to be fucking you.”

 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Yes - I giggled writing that part.  Fun, hmm?!  Thank you SO very much for commenting and picking something you like.  I so very much love reviews!

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2013 7:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

I liked the doubtful Kirk and the awkward moments. Also, Spock's determination and affection is impressive. And - ah - the sand paint.



Author's Response:

Oh - thank you so much for your review, and I'm so sorry it took me so very long to respond.  I am happy you enjoyed the story.  I really do want to do more with this at some point - have many more ideas for that sand paint.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 3:35 PM Title: Chapter 6

Oh, all right, I think I saw an oasis that should have been oases somewhere near the top--or maybe in the previous chapter?

Most marvelous tension in this chapter! I kept expecting:

1) an indigenous monstercreature to turn up;

2) a crew member to turn up;

3) that the submerged wiggly bits might be something else than anatomical parts of the boys;

4) that you would hang us all over the cliff again.

XD



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Went back and fixed that and found an 'on' that should have been 'one' so got a bonus fix in as well.  Love your ideas ... maybe the boys will have a rest and then attempt a round two and ... hmmm.  (Did you want to be cliffhung again?  Thought that might just be too mean.  Gotta give an end to the tension here and there, right?)  Hope it was satifying.  Thanks so much for your comments.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 2:18 PM Title: Chapter 4

*facedesk*

Indeed. You're welcome.



Author's Response:

(evil laugh)  At least I posted this chapter and the next two without a week or two inbetween .... lol

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 1:59 PM Title: Chapter 2

Fan, please!



Author's Response:

Hee hee.  

Reviewer: oyboh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 1:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love it, and it can be any U you like!

I especially like the part re categorization. (well, intellectually anyway)



Author's Response:

Had fund with categorization - but more because of the interplay of the characters than content.  It's been way too long since that sociology class I had in college to have any idea if the concept is even somewhat valid - but hey, this is fiction!  Thank you SO much for commenting.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2013 6:33 AM Title: Chapter 6

This kind of reminds me of those old zine stories. I don't think your psychology or character voice is off but I see what's happening as Kirk sort of expanding his erotic and physical reperatoire in a way that's kind of mindblowing and expansive and a little bit addictive and you've used this language of conquest which seems kind of silly, I mean Spock conquered his heart a long time ago and the sex act you described was not one of dominance and humiliation but a very carefully and tenderly orchestrated lovemaking. JMHO.

 

I like the way Kirk is overcoming his fears. Interested to see how they attempt to integrate their lives in an ongoing relationship. So far they're not doing that great... kept waiting for Ensign Schmoe to turn a corner and find them in a compromising position.



Author's Response:

Really, really appreciate this perspective.  I didn't let chapters 5 and 6 sit written and then go back to them as much as the prior chapters, and they may not be quite as - oh, solid or consistent maybe?  I'll have to go back and look at the language and see if maybe I let it go slightly off from the intent.

You're absolutely right that it is certainly not a dominance/humiliation - but I do think Kirk and Spock both would like getting little bits of dominance played out in their play from time to time.  But not here - here is just as you say - tender.

Have no idea how they will negotiate their public relationship.  Well, shouldn't say that, I do have a few ideas.  I never read any old zines (discovered slash last year) but did read a ton of the Pocket book novels over the years and may have picked up some preferences/thought biases from those.  Thank you once again for your review!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2013 6:15 AM Title: Chapter 4

Hm, isn't that the cliche, followed by Kirk having second thoughts, I mean most people do when they work themselves up to something scary, then don't do it, it turns into the biggest, scariest thing ever. Although despite what Spock said so unfairly, Kirk is no coward.

 

Like the tribal sand rune body paint whatever. Sure, there's totally no evidence Vulcans do anything like this, but it is pretty damn cool. I'm going with it.



Author's Response:

Ha. Yes, exactly - things become so exaggerated when we have time to think about them!  And we both know, Spock only called him a coward to get him mad ... a mad Jim Kirk is a much less cautious or rational Jim Kirk (grin).  Sometime I want to do more with the runes/sand paint.  Maybe when I have time to put some more chapters together.  Glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2013 6:11 AM Title: Chapter 3

“You will agree, will you not, Jim,” Spock purred, “that lovers should give each other pleasure … that it is not for only one to give?”

Ooo, good one, Spock. Gold star for you, today.



Author's Response:

Oh - you picked out a line you liked, ah - what a very, very lovely reviewer you are.  Thank you.  

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2013 6:08 AM Title: Chapter 2

dry intercourse? seriously? going to pretend that didn't happen...



Author's Response:

Lol - yeah, sorry about that.  This WAS my first story and I suppose sometime I should go back and fix this ... You can likely tell I'm not writing from ... ahem ... personal experience.  If it is in any way redeeming, I did do a different story later where I tried to find a whole different solution to the problem.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2013 6:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

Love the intellectualism of the story even if I totally disagree (sorry, just not going to sweep biology under the rug here, plus imo these firm notions about the 'right way' to be heterosexual sound like the real story here in sociological norms, not crypto-bisexuality), and I love the way you're writing these characters and I'm totally sucked in. I like that Spock is working towards a goal but not always achieving his aims perfectly and Kirk as usual is intuitive and perceptive but sometimes he takes guesses and those guesses are wrong. The whole thing with the first kiss and how they unpack it really worked for me. Spock needs to give Kirk a chance to be a full participant and Kirk needs to take a leap of faith because he's clearly afraid of change although it's past time to move forward. Also, your writing style works really well for this kind of story. It just flows so smoothly between their thoughts and pov's. Well done.



Author's Response:

Ah...  Thank you so much for so thorough a review!  Would love to talk to you more sometime about the 'totally disagree' (would love to know exactly what you mean - both regarding sweeping biology under the rug and crypto-bisexuality).  I love ideas and by no means think that what is written is necessarily true ... certainly am neither scientist not sociologist.  Very, very happy you enjoyed it enough to keep readIng despite that disagreement.  Love to hear what different people like out of this (or don't).  Thank you for the compliments!

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2012 12:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, I so needed a good laugh, and this story did it with bells on! I was giggling and laughing out loud thru the whole thing. And yeah, I do think this is the TOS universe as much as any other story claims to be. And yeah, the warnings were way excessive! More please!!!



Author's Response:

Oh good!  I'm so happy you enjoyed it.  Just posted something pretty short and not as funny - but maybe still worth a read.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2012 2:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, you are back, and you didn't disappoint. Love the awkward moments, because let's face it, sex can't be always perfect, but the fireworks are there at the end. Great job. Hope to see you write again soon. 



Author's Response:

So glad it wasn't a let-down.  Not sure I'm as good with the hot sex as the characterization ... but I'm willing to try!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2012 1:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

Also...where the hell is everyone this week? I can't be the only to have noticed that it seems kind of empty around here...like, all the usual suspects have taken a mass vacation. Is there a KisCon going on that I don't know about or something? And if so, why wasn't I informed?

You must login (register) to review.