Reviews For Lost and Found
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2017 8:52 PM Title: 1/1

Oh I just love this gigantically OTT kirkian triumph of a fic!

Reviewer: Dindraine Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2014 8:06 AM Title: 1/1

Why does a loving caring relationship between 2 (3 if you count McCoy) have to be Slash.  All right, all right, I know that it's a part of the canon and I accept that, I just don't always see the need for it.  

Anyway, rant over, I truly, truly enjoyed this.  Such a great, great story. Characterisations, plot, story they were all there.  Utterly brilliant.  For all the characters, such a good story.

Reviewer: Romanse Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2013 4:01 AM Title: 1/1

UKJess, It doesn't really matter how many times I have both read and listend to this story - each and every time I do my opinion that this is one of the SINGLE BEST TOS gen stories in the fandom - and that it is, in every respect, a classic, remains unchanged.  The writing is beyond first-rate -it's professional level. 

I absolutely pity any so-called fan of TOS fanfiction who would not read this because it isn't slash.  

I'm thrilled to see your work has been preserved here.  May I inquire about that other brilliantly written fic of your's "Fortune's Favorite Son"?  It would be a tragedy to lose that story so that future generations will not have the joy of reading it.  Won't you gift this archive with that one as well?

Lastly,  I realize that Lost and Found was written a long time ago and that probably are not even writing fanfic anymore.  However,  my dearest wish, and one in which I would seriously pay a very high amount of money to see would be a sequel story.  Why?  Because YOU have the vision and talent to understand that Kirk and the Enterprise will have a happy ending, but that there has to be a whole lot of time, patience, angst and pain to get there after they return to Earth.  Your readers are ready, willing, and DYING to take that journey with Kirk.    Who knows....Jim has a lot of healing left to do and there 's no telling where the relationships, particularly Kirk and Spock's will end up.  

Maybe if you give it some thought, the Muses will come a callin'.  Either way, alll the best, and a HUGE THANK YOU for having written a tale so superior that I have enjoyed it time and time again!

 



Author's Response:

Wow! I should really check back here more often.  Thanks so muuh for taking the time to review.  As for Fortune's Favoured Child - that's available on my own website as I reckon it's even less KS than this one which at best is K&S. 

Jess

Reviewer: Ymas Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2013 8:12 AM Title: 1/1

Brilliantly written. I loved the characterization. So much happening nonverbally. Their actions speak for themselves. Beautyfully done. Just had to tell you before running off and reading everything else I can find from you!

Reviewer: lone_sehlat Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2011 4:26 PM Title: 1/1

Excellent job, very intriguing, thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/02/2010 1:06 AM Title: 1/1

This is a great story.  Characterizations, battle tactics, political understanding, and so much more were absolutely perfect.  I'll definitely be reading this one again and again.  Thanks for writing it and posting it on the archive. 

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2010 5:05 AM Title: 1/1

I was on such an adrenalin high at the end of this story I had to step away for a few minutes before I was able to write anything coherent. Holy freaking Christ. This is, hands-down, one of the most outstanding stories I have ever read. Masterfully written, in turns powerfully moving and exhilarating, it's a rollercoaster of emotion that kept me on the edge of my seat to the very end. I'd be hard pressed to say what I enjoyed most, from the hurt/comfort of the first part or the action/adventure of the end. My heart broke for Kirk at the beginning... so subdued, so full of shame and guilt and palpable pain. It was so hard to see him so broken by his ordeal and the galaxy wide-disavowal, but God, that moment when he realized his whole crew and his best frioends were still behind him 200%, never doubted him and would still follow him to the end of the universe was a truly amazing moment. He slowly came back to th living from then. That scene where Spock reaffirms his respect, loyalty and friendship to his Captain, was a beautiful moment.

As for the final confrontation with the Romulans and triumphant save of the fighter ships and Terran liner? That was the stuff of legends. I thought Kirk's/your assessment of the situation and what would happen even if the Fleet acquitted him during the court-martial was dour but realistic, and I was wondering how the hell you'd pull that off - because you simply couldn't abandon Jim to such an undeserved half-life. But you did pull it off, brilliantly, showing Kirk's genius and leadership talent at their best and ramming home to the whole galaxy what a hero he had been all along and how needed he was. I'm still laughing out loud at the image of Romulans in those tin helmets *g*

Anyway, as I said, outstanding. This is going straight to my rec list. Thank you :).

Reviewer: avictoriangirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2010 3:23 PM Title: 1/1

I just had to tell you how brilliant this is. Somehow you made me both cry and laugh out loud all in the space of the time it took to read this wonderful and moving story. <3 

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2010 5:10 AM Title: 1/1

Fuckin' A, this story kicks ass!!  Found a link to it somewhere Out There (oh yeh, au-love on lj) and am very pleased I took the time to read it.  I agree with the folks on lj -- for me this story works equally well in either the TOS or the reboot universe -- it's that nicely woven.

Very worth the read!

Greywolf, who hardly ever reads gen -- but Jess is always worth it ;-)>

Reviewer: suus_mahna Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2009 12:05 PM Title: 1/1

This is definitely one of the best Star Trek fics I´ve ever read. You have an amazingly acute characerization going on and the plot was so exciting I couldn´t stop reading. Dropping in a bit late to tell you that, but I felt the need to do so. XD

Reviewer: TShaya Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/22/2008 7:47 PM Title: 1/1

Absolutely amazing story. Absolutely. I'm blown away. Perfect in every way, from characterization to plot to action to emotion to .. everything. Wonderful writing. Congratulations for having become my most favorite writer online ever.

Reviewer: Mara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2008 5:08 PM Title: 1/1

Glorious characterisation and a superb eye for detail. A story I know I'll come back and read again.

Reviewer: T Jonesy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2005 8:31 PM Title: 1/1

One of my all time favorite stories. This should have been the first Star Trek Movie.

Reviewer: Rabble Rouser Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/29/2005 9:25 AM Title: 1/1

I have to concur with the above reviewer--one of the best Kirk character stories ever written plus, moving and uplifting, great action-adventure and deft characterizations of even minor characters like Uhura.

Reviewer: Jenna Sinclair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2005 11:49 PM Title: 1/1

Lost and Found is simply one of the best Star Trek stories ever written. I suppose, at a stretch, one could call it a K & S story; it certainly isn't K/S. Don't read it expecting that. Expect deft characterization, humor, drama, and a whole lot of cleverness. This is one of the best Kirks I've ever read, and I stand in awe of the author who has captured him this way. A superlative story.

You must login (register) to review.