You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: k1of7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2020 7:05 PM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

Sweet

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2015 7:26 PM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

That was lovely!

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2013 2:55 AM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

This is a nice, quiet story, one that may not garner a lot of attention although it is deserved.  I like that Spock can demonstrate his caring without necessarily being able to articulate yet his feelings, and I like the juxtaposition of ancient Egypt with this futuristic story.  Well done.

Reviewer: wanderingsmith Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2011 2:13 AM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

beautiful balance between the heatbreak of the broken bond (love the image) and Jim's forcefully reminding himself of the friend he still has.

and though I can't repress my romantic half from wanting to see Spock find his way to accessing his missing memories.. still, the feeling that he is still the man who once *learned* the feelings he's lost -and therefor could again, if needed-, has a warmth not to be denied

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2011 3:24 PM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

Egypt with it's ancient pyramids and belief in immortality is a great locale for this beautiful story of death and rebirth and hope in the face of adversity.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2010 3:01 AM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

I really liked this! This story is full of hope and philosophy and friendship - some angst too, but the hope conqueers it. I had never before noticed the paralells between Vulcan and Ancient Egypt - hot, desertic, prosperous, and all the mysticism and those beliefs about the ka/katra... your fic was aptly named! An interesting and original angle to address the much-exploited theme of Spock-not-remembering-his-bond-to-Jim-after-fal-tor-pan. I like that you gave them some time to themselves between their return to Earth and Jim's court-martial. You gave us just enough of a glance into their bonded life to make it real (OMG I loved the scene where Jim climaxed right there in the doorway at the mere touch of Spock's hand on his crotch), and showed just enough of Spock's confusion and painful tries to remember, looking at Jim and feeling on the brink of realization, to make us believe he will suceed someday. Really nice.

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/17/2010 4:18 PM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

How hard it must be for Kirk to have Spock back but not really.

Reviewer: CatalenaMara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2005 1:54 AM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

This story left me breathless with its beauty! Every detail you chose - every line of dialogue - underscored the pain of what they have lost and the promise of what they might regain.

Reviewer: Killa Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2005 12:12 PM Title: Selections from The Book of The Dead

I'm more than slightly obsessed with this part of the canon timeline, and this is one of the most thoughtful and evocative stories I've read that addresses the question of, how do Kirk and Spock go on when so much has been lost, and everything's changed? The end of it always raises my spirits and fills me with love for these characters. I've read this a bunch of times, and I never get tired of it.

You must login (register) to review.