Reviews For Seeking Asylum
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2019 3:57 AM Title: Chapter 14

Intense story! But what happens to Spock now?

Reviewer: aki_anri Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2017 6:10 AM Title: Chapter 14

So happy to see Spock and Jim back together. I feel that this story needs one or two more chapters to end, right? So please keep on updating. Thanks for your great work. I really love this story.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2017 9:57 AM Title: Chapter 14

I love this story!  I'm so glad you updated.  If Jim and Spock are going to be together, it should take time.  They have a lot of issues to work through.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2017 7:12 AM Title: Chapter 14

I'm really glad that Jim and Bones apologized to Spock and Spock forgave them.  And I'm glad that Jim knows that the baby is his.  Great work on this chapter.

Reviewer: Gmm Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2017 6:54 PM Title: Chapter 13

would love to know whats gonna happen to spock now

 

Reviewer: arsenicand Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2016 1:21 PM Title: Chapter 13

This is the hurt!Spock fic we deserve, look no further. It feels so satisfying. I did not know I needed a Spock! prime that is so protective and considerate of his younger self, but I do, and I want more! I can't wait for the issues to be resolved, and maybe a scene in which Jim holds Spock's hand and nothing more through the cold, scary night? Can't wait for more! 

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2016 10:30 AM Title: Chapter 13

OMG!!!! What a cliffhanger.  Please update when you can.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2016 3:56 AM Title: Chapter 13

I'm thrilled with this new update!  I hope that Spock will be okay and tell Jim that he's the other father.  Great work!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2016 8:05 PM Title: Chapter 13

What you leave us in mid air

Reviewer: mi17 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2015 2:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

So I just reread this and wow I wept just as hard, if not harder, as the first time.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2015 6:54 AM Title: Chapter 12

I know that you're probably busy with other stories, but please don't forget this one.

Reviewer: buttercoconut Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2015 8:46 AM Title: Chapter 12

this story ended up here? no~~~~

Reviewer: Kimiko Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2015 10:08 PM Title: Chapter 12

At least! Thank you so much for update, I'm in love with this story. Hope you update soon. 

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 5:22 PM Title: Chapter 12

Thank you for updating. This is a great story and I'd hoped you would finish it. Jim needs to work really hard to regain Spock's love and trust. I don't think that the baby should be kept secret, but he doesn't deserve to know for a while.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2015 1:24 AM Title: Chapter 12

I just discovered this story, and I wolfed it down in one big gulp. So good! I love a realistic MPREG story, and this is an excellent character exploration. I love your insight into the different needs of the two men, that are perhaps fundamentally the same need, but expressed differently, and the way you subtly but dramatically show how the two men's backgrounds affect their expectations of the relationship.

I am glad in a way that I came late to this story and didn't have to wait so long for more instalments. But it is one of the joys of this site that stories may unfold over the course of years, and that we may be pleasantly surprised at any moment by a long-awaited update of a much-loved story. I am now officially one of the many readers anxiously awaiting the next chapter of this compelling story.

What didn't work for me: the trial. It seemed clear that it is a criminal case, in which Spock's rapist was prosecuted by the Federation. Yet in this chapter, the trial is depicted in a manner that is much more like a civil trial, with Spock as the plaintiff (and Areel Shaw as his attorney) and the rapist as the defendant. Of course Spock could bring a civil lawsuit of his own against the rapist, just as the families of the victims brought a civil lawsuit against OJ Simpson after the conclusion of the criminal prosecution brought by the State of California. But those are two very different types of cases. A guilty verdict and criminal penalties like jail time are available only in a criminal action. 

I know this is science fiction, and the system of justice in the Federation of the future could very well be different from the system we have now. But the episode "Court Martial" suggests that criminal prosecutions do occur in the Star Trek universe. In that episode, Areel Shaw was the prosecutor, acting on behalf of Starfleet. In the trial of Spock's rapist, it would have made more sense for Areel to serve as a special prosecutor, appointed by the Federation, or perhaps she simply works as a prosecutor or a Federation district attorney at the time of this story. In a criminal prosecution, the victim is not a party, and is not typically represented by counsel.

In a criminal proceeding, the prosecution presents its case first, and the defense does not present its case (except for its opening statement, which is offered after the prosecution's opening) until after the prosecution rests. This is not totally arbitrary -- the reason for it is that the prosecution has to prove its case beyond a reasonable doubt. The rule that requires the prosecution to present its case first allows the defense to move to dismiss the case immeditely after the prosecution rests if the prosecution has not met its burden. So, I found the organization of the trial, in which the defense was given the floor at the beginning and there seemed to be no rhyme or reason for the order after that, to be confusing and unrealistic.

I appreciate that civil vs. criminal procedure in the legal sytem of the 23rd century is not an issue that many readers will care about, and I emphasize that my reaction is mine alone, and offered only as such. I mention these things only because they detracted from the realism of the story for me -- and I emphasize, for me. Spock's testimony was very effective and in character, and I am glad the rapist was convicted. 

Reviewer: Miltonway Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2015 6:41 PM Title: Chapter 12

Glad to see you've updated this. I thought it had been abandoned :)

I'm happy that the verdict is guilty and hopefully Mardox will now get the punishment he deserves.

I can't wait to see how things go between Spock and Kirk, and how they can re-build something from here, how Kirk can forgive himself for doubting Spock in the first place. Kirk's destroyed the trust and it'll be hard to re-build that. Plus I can't wait for Jim's reaction when he finds out about the baby.

Thanks for updating.

Reviewer: mos25 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2015 4:48 AM Title: Chapter 12

Oh thank you so much, i love your story when are you going to update again?

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2015 1:32 AM Title: Chapter 12

I'm so glad to to see this new update!  I love this fic and I'm eager to see what happens next.

Reviewer: Kayln Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/28/2015 8:15 PM Title: Chapter 11

Finish it, for cryin' out loud!!

Reviewer: ryokoyuy Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/20/2014 10:44 AM Title: Chapter 11

This is absolutely fantastic. It breaks my heart in all the best ways.

I hope one day you'll share with us how it ends!

You must login (register) to review.