Reviews For Unbelievable.
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 10:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Whoops, that should read, "The Circle".

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 10:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

How did I not read this before? This is a wonderful story. It's almost taken for granted in Abrams Universe that Jim was sexually abused by his stepfather, but no one really bothers to explore the idea properly.  And his relationship with Sam is hardly ever touched upon. You've done a wonderful job, thank you.

By the way, I highly recommend the "Dan Lenson" novels of David Poyer - not only does he write great books, but they're set in the (fairly - beginning 1970s) modern US navy & you incidentally get to learn about naval concepts like who has the conn, as opposed to the bridge or the ship. Twenty years ago I had the same misunderstanding as you, and I stumbled on the answer quite by accident when I found these novels! I think "The Cirle" is the first in the series.

Reviewer: bonnysprite Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/11/2013 9:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

{{HUGS JIM}}

LOVE protective, unconditionally loving Spock. I'd kill the bastard too.

Bones rocked, as always. I like it when he and Spock openly get along.

It's a pity Spock couldn't give Winona a tongue lashing, in his own way.


Thank you for sharing!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/19/2012 8:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

A very good story. Very authentic.

And thank you for explain "con". I always heared "com" and always believed it means "have the command". ;-)

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2012 11:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

A very good story overall - I really enjoyed it. But the end is too pat and comes too quickly.  You could always write another chapter detailing how Winona finds out what really went on and Jim is able  to find release from his hatred. Perhaps a familial meld moderated    By Spock? Just speculating.  But please don't consider this a flame. I really liked the story. Loved the scene where Spock backs Jim down on the bridge and then consults with McCoy.

 

Reviewer: aminasjk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/03/2012 8:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

What! Please tell me thats not it, that this at least has a sequel where Frank gets arrested or SOMETHING!

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2012 3:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

Gah, I'm in the mood to seriously kick some butts, one of those preferably being Winona's. I can't believe she didn't believe her boys, that she had been so blind and ... uncaring.
I would have loved if Uhura had told her to please shut the fu** up in the mess when her stories became more and more embarrassing, not only for the Kirk brothers but for the audience as well.

However: good story :)

Reviewer: frasa Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2012 8:55 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow... The story is great if somewhat disturbing. These matters always leave me with a wish to rip someone's throat off and with no evident victim... frustrating a bit...

But I wanted to comment on "leave the con" phrase. I always thought it "leave the console to you" thing until you wrote your notes on the subject here... You know, the console being the main feature to control something digtal like a ship, or a computer. I actually registered on this site to write this.
THanks again for a story :)

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2011 11:31 AM Title: Chapter 1

As a person that was molested as a child by a 'trusted' neighbor, I could see all of the signs in Jim's anger and avoidance of his mother, but I'm sure you weren't trying to hide them.  I wanted to slap Winona when she was telling embarrassing stories to Jim's junior officers.  I'm a mom and we all do it, but not with your child's co-workers and where they need to command respect to do their job - Winona is so clueless and self absorbed that it's unbelievable to me that someone hasn't slapped her or given her a piece of their mind.  Despite her history with Jim, I don't like her or find her amusing (she reminds me a bit of my M-I-L)!  As much as I enjoyed this story for the insight into the inner workings of James Kirk and the support of Spock and McCoy, I still feel like this story is unfinished - like it had more to tell, but you're the author and I thank you for sharing.  



Author's Response: You're right-- I wasn't trying to hide them. I also wasn't trying to make Winona into a likable character necessarily. I occasionally find myself around people that I *try* to like but just can't seem to do it, and that was kind of where I wanted to put her-- someone who is difficult to like, but also not a villain. Just a little oblivious. Thanks for your comments

Reviewer: StarlightScribe Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2011 12:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Loved this Tanks for writing. I think my favorite was Sam. Although I did want to slap Winona for a minute there but that's just...well...



Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed

Reviewer: magpie1600 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2011 8:08 PM Title: Chapter 1

I back Spock. Jim should never forgive his mother. What bitch.  I'm angry enough to spit fire. Words fail me.



Author's Response: Thank you. It's a great compliment that a story elicits an emotional response.

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2011 12:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nicely done. Poor Jim.



Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: missfae Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2011 11:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very good handling of a sensitive subject.  I enjoyed reading it and I hope you will write more.  hugs



Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed. *hugs back*

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2011 4:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Nicely done essay on a deadly-serious topic. Winona reminded me in a way of the mother in the movie Precious. Sadly, some people have kids who really don't have enough going on upstairs to be responsible for them. Frank sounds like a true sicko. At least as a society we're getting wiser to how this stuff happens. Not just the stranger-with-candy trope from M.

I'm glad Kirk decided to reconcile with his brother.



Author's Response: I haven't seen the movie, so I'm not sure if that's what I was going for or not. Thanks for your comments.

You must login (register) to review.