Reviews For Worlds Apart
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sivath Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/19/2017 2:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful and genuine celtic story of the 23rd century. Absolutely wonderful. I wished it had an epilogue, at least, if not a sequel.

Reviewer: Emilia Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2015 12:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

A lack of connection to the Enterprise and its personnel, but this story is just amazing. You are such a talented author! Hopefully you'll understand that you don't need to write so many words in the future, but I just loved this piece. 

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2015 8:48 AM Title: Chapter 3

It is very beautiful but the rush of words for a single chapter exhausted me.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2015 8:34 PM Title: Chapter 2

This gruesome as it poignant.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2014 6:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

this story..must wonder to me.

Reviewer: museattack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2014 6:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

So I literally DID stay up until 3am last night and read all but the last two chapters, which I just finished.

This is spectacular. I lost track of how many times I cried. I really enjoyed the worldbuilding, the lonely feeling of this isolated planet. It was tough to read in spots because I felt so horrible for what Spock had to endure, but I liked how strong he became through his friendship with Jim. Winona frustrated me so much during the first half of the story, but I adored her transformation when she finally saw Spock as a person. That was one of the most touching parts in the story. And while I feel bad that Amanda won't see her son often (if ever again), I'm glad her life is better now too. Jim's dad was, hands down, my favorite character. I absolutely loved everything about him. 

Thank you so much for writing and sharing this. 



Author's Response:

Having pulled a few near-all-nighters reading K/S myself, I feel very flattered by your reaction to my story. Sharing it is my pleasure, and I truly appreciate everything you said. Creating the AU was an interesting experience. It sort of took on a life of its own, and became so engrossing that I remember feeling bad about leaving it when the writing was finished.

Very glad that you liked both Winona and George. Winona's change of heart was very satisfyng to write, and I'm glad that you found George's character believable. I like him, too. I think I felt that under the circumstances of the AU, Jim needed a strong and positive influence from at least one parent if he were to have a chance of growing into the sort of man we know from TOS.

Thanks again for reading, and for your very kind words. They mean a lot.

Reviewer: museattack Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2014 2:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Well...I might be pulling a 3am night tonight. This is brilliant, devastating, and I can't wait to see where you go with it. 

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2013 7:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of the few paper zines I own, I've had it for years and I love it! Back in the day, when there was no online fiction (sigh) . . . life is much better now.

Im so excited to see you've posted other work here, I can't wait to read it.

Thank you so much for writing this, and for sharing it here for everyone to read.



Author's Response:

Thanks! So glad you like the story, and I'm grateful to be able to share it on the archive.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2013 1:53 AM Title: Chapter 1

ME Carter, I've been reading my way through the archive and every time I come across one of your stories it is with great relish i open and begin to read. Your craftspersonship is remarkable, and this one was just a jolly good tale. I hope you'll keep writing.



Author's Response:

Thanks very much! So glad you enjoyed it, and I have indeed done a bit of writing lately.

Reviewer: officiumdefunctorum Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2013 8:37 AM Title: Chapter 10

So many feels. Wonderful story, thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

With sincere apologies for this very belated reply...thanks for your comment! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2013 2:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have this zine in print - bought it on eBay 6 or 7 years ago. I'm so glad I get to tell you how much I love it!

Wonderfully touching story, with fabulous detail - you are such a good writer. Thanks so much for contributing this to us all. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for your lovely comments. I'm happy to know that you like my story, and especially that you appreciate all the details!

Reviewer: Gabrielle Andrille Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2013 5:52 PM Title: Chapter 10

Wow.  I hope to write more in review later, but for now all I can say is: Wow.

 

And: Thank you.

 

Sincerely,

Gabby



Author's Response:

"Wow" is very much appreciated. Thank you!

Reviewer: Youssii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2013 7:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this story, and I adore your writing style. Your attention to detail is superb and created a very solid universe for the events to take place. 

I'm a very poor reader but I read this in about four days (we call that a record pace, even if it's actually rather pathetic). I greatly enjoyed the way you managed to flesh out characters of Kirk's family, especially Aurelan, and the fact that you did not turn away from the humiliating aspects of Jim's return to the academy, or bring about some great resolution to the problem of ingrained prejudice, which I feel many authors too desperate to do.



Author's Response:

Thanks, I really appreciate your comments. Hey, four days isn't bad considering you were reading such a long-winded story! I'm glad that the details worked for you, and I agree about the matter of prejudice. Generally I prefer the realism of leaving such large societal issues unresolved, even though I wanted things on a personal level to turn out well for Jim and Spock.(And I must say that Aurelan was fun to write!)

Reviewer: HaveYouHeard Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2012 9:18 PM Title: Chapter 8

WOW! Speechless, so far!! =D

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/19/2012 5:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

 a truly amazing story. thank you very much.  

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/29/2012 2:10 AM Title: Chapter 10

I just wanted to let you know how wonderful this story is; it's the whole reason I joined this fandom.  I wanted to leave a comment at that time, but for some reason my browser was incompatible with this website and wouldn't allow me to.  Now that it's fixed and I've found you again, I wanted to urge you to write a sequel.  There is so much for the boys to discover now that they're finally off planet.  I would love to see the captains face when he arrives on shift to find one of his passengers making himself at home in his chair, or Spock tearing apart the transporter and putting it back together just out of curiosity.  I can just imagine all of the blood, sweat and tears that await them on their journey to Earth and through Starfleet . . . there's a bold new world out there for them to discover and your just the person to write it!



Author's Response: Thanks for your very kind words. It means a lot to know that the story touched you in such a way. I do indeed have ideas about a sequel, and with such great encouragement I may yet get it written!

Reviewer: WiseDraco Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2012 9:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

I am …without words. I noticed you had written this sometime ago ’96 I believe …that was quite a while ago. And as such I’m sure you have gotten one million and a half responses to your story, both criticizing and praising. This, of course, is to praise. It is only the first chapter which is wonderful because that means I have nine others to go. I thank you for publishing this somewhere it could be found easily.
The sentence which you wrote about Spock not wanting to touch the book because his hands were too dirty made me cry. You see, books mean so much to me that I an only imagine how he feels to never get the chance to read because he wants to.
Anyway ..I’m off to read the next chapter!
WiseD

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your very kind words. WA was indeed written quite a while ago, so it's great to know that new readers still enjoy it. Hope you like the rest.

Reviewer: Pionuschick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2012 1:07 AM Title: Chapter 10

This is a wonderful story, and a great way to wile away the hours while doing laundry! I only wish I could see the bumpkins at starfleet.

Reviewer: Wildchartermage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/20/2011 9:06 PM Title: Chapter 10

just wow...this is just a phenomenal story!! One of the best K/J fanfictions I've ever read!!! I certainly had a hard time stopping reading this story!! :D :D :D

Reviewer: stardrop Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2011 5:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was amazing! So well-written, with incredibly well-drawn original characters. The families in particular, are beautifully imagined. And although very different versions of the boys than what we're used to, still so recognisable and true. Kudos on making Spock's difficult homelife believable, but also creating a Spock who is not bitter and is able to love and be a part of a healthy relationship.

I also enjoy that the 'end' is more of a beginning, in that you have suggested so much possibility for their future (including the bond you hint at!).

Author's Response: Sorry about the very belated response, but I wanted to say thanks for your comments. I'm happy to know that the story felt believable to you and that you liked the families, which I really enjoyed being able to create.

You must login (register) to review.