You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 3:03 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

Also I love your dialog.  Often I have a hard time knowing where the script breaks off and you start (well, I haven't seen the episode in a long time either).  Do you use a transcript or video?



Author's Response:

Yay, I'm delighted to hear that I'm able to combine my writing with the episode writing! That's great to know, thank you! I usually only use the transcript if there's something I can't make out on screen (since the transcript doesn't tend to give the slashiest details, like the smouldering looks and the random touches) - I keep the DVD running in the background while I work and there's a lot of flicking back and forward between windows!

Reviewer: stardrop Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2011 5:52 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

Love the slashy retelling, although I gotta say sometimes the subtext on the TV show wasn't all that sub. Note how Spock blushes and flutters his eye-lashes ever so prettily at Kirk during the "emotional security" exchange... Now if that's not blatant flirtation!
Great stories so far - looking forward to seeing more from you.

Author's Response:

Wow - August, and I haven't responded yet? I'm sorry it's taken me so long! Thanks so much for this review (and you're absolutely right - there are so many moments where it's less "subtext" and more "text". Why do people still say K/S isn't canon? I have no idea... XD)

Reviewer: ImperiousTiberius Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/05/2011 3:37 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

Thank you for posting this beautifully crafted story. It was interesting to see how you were able to incorporate those subtle facial expressions and nuances from the TV episode into your storyline, and the tone of the major characters was pitch-perfect.  It was a joy following along with Spock’s introspective and insightful thought processes as he tries to solve the puzzle that is James Kirk.

The prequel Where No Man Has Gone Before was equally riveting and I’ve added Always Shall Be to my list of favourite series just on the strength of these two stories.  You are an amazing talent and I can’t wait for the next instalment - although I might be tempted to take a pass if you choose Spock’s Brain ;-).



Author's Response:

And thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review! Oh, the facial expressions and nuances are a slash-writer's dream. God bless Nimoy and Shatner - they give us so much to work with. Thanks so much for adding Always Shall Be to your favs! I'm afraid we'll come to Spock's Brain in the fullness of time, though there's a whole slash-mountain to climb on the way, and I'll admit to a bit of a soft spot for it... It's such a wonderfully cracktastic piece of slash heaven that I can't help kind of loving it. But I'll try and dazzle you with slash in the meantime so that I don't lose such a kind reader when we get to that episode!

Thanks again for this review - it made my day!

Reviewer: Verdantjoy Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/31/2011 2:39 AM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

I want to congratulate you!  The Corbormite Maneuver and Where No Man Has Gone - Wow, I really have enjoyed these.  Your slashy re-tellings are wonderful. Please keep going - all 69 episodes please!

Lots of special bits - here's one:

I  love the notion that Kirk is leary of progressing with Spock, because what he sees possible with Spock makes a mockery of his and Gary's relationship -  neat move!

I look forward to the day when with original footage and new added cgi material - your "scripts" will be rendered!  Keep writing!



Author's Response:

Wow - thank you! Yep - I'm planning to do the lot of them (though I've no idea how long it will take, but it'll be fun getting there!). I'm so glad you enjoyed the first two installments and thank you so much for commenting to say so. And I'd LOVE to see my version filmed, of course! XD

Reviewer: TLara Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2011 5:12 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

This is beyond brilliant. It feels to me as if I have been waiting a whole lifetime to read a slashy retelling of the TOS episodes which really does justice to the original TOS magic - and suddenly, the good faery of slash waves her magic wand and says her little spell, and *poof!* (no pun intended) here it is. Marvellously written, absolutely true to the characters and full of little gems and perls. The interaction between McCoy and Spock was great, the sentence "So you’re going to have to take that Vulcan logic of yours and ram it so far up Jim’s backside that he can’t move for feeling it wedged up there" will stay etched in my brain forever. And I mean that in the best possible way.
I am grateful that you share your wonderful writing with us!! I doff my hat to you!

Author's Response:

Hee hee hee... It's just possible that I sniggered very immaturely as I wrote that line. Foreshadowing? Inappropriate euphemisms? Surely not... XD

Thank you so much for this review! I'm enjoying writing this so much and it's lovely to get this sort of feedback.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2011 3:20 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

Again, another great insight into this eprisode. Comparing Bailey with Mitchell was something I had never considered before. I always thought Kirk chose him because he reminded him more of himself. Thanks for this.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! It just struck me, the more I watched the episode, that - regardless of what Bones says - I couldn't see Kirk making those mistakes at Bailey's age, but I could see Gary being less together, straight out of the Academy. Plus, I know TOS used the "Reset Button" mode of storytelling, but it didn't sit well with me to have Kirk just completely forget all about Gary one episode later!

Thanks for your review! I'm very glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Aelin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2011 12:12 AM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

Gorgeous.  Good heavens.  I felt like I was watching a Star Trek episode, with all the little things that they should have been saying and thinking filled in for me.  Elegant and compelling, and only frustrating because I want to know what happens next...



Author's Response:

*does a happy little dance and is glad no-one can see her*

That's exactly what I was hoping for! Thank you so much for your review. I'm enjoying writing these so much and I'm well into the next installment!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2011 10:02 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

My god your writing skills are truly supreme...Where have you been hiding...you have certainly done a whole lot of research into getting this done smoothly. It fits so well..all the little things we never saw but now you bring it full circle..And I loved the beginning...I do remember the name Skon...and Spock's complicated first name which is nothing more than consonants. LOVE IT ...you rock girl..and I can't wait for the next episode...

Author's Response:

Hee hee hee... I do love me some obscure canon facts XD

Thank you so much! I love writing these and getting lovely reviews like this just spurs me on!

You must login (register) to review.