You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Cyn2K Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2019 3:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

Okay, I'm one of those that actually admits that I read death fics, although I'm picky about them and I have to be in the mood. I read the previous reviews and others were saying they didn't expect it. Man, as soon as I realized what was going on with Jim, I totally expected it, and I loved seeing them on Vulcan with the baby sehlats and planning on visiting Amanda.

The loss of the Enterprise and killing off everyone, though? Total left field! Well done! Jim wasn't there to figure out how to meet the Organian challenge, so they all died. Yep, I can see that happening.

Reviewer: victorviolet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 1:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was incredibly hard for me to read. I've read it before, and I love it, but suicide fics are hard for me. I almost passed by it this time around since I'm looking for fluffy happy fics to combat the depression that has set in recently. I usually watch Robin William movies but the news of his death just made it worse, and I don't dare watch his movies right now.

 

Despite tha, I'm glad I read it again. Even though the ending is more bitter-sweet than truly happy, it is an ending that leaves you with hope. I do feel really bad for Bones though. He goes 2 months mourning the loss of Jim and his love is one-sided. It makes me wonder what their reunion would be like. Especially since, just for that short period, he had let himself hope. And now I'm getting all maudlin, which is NOT what I want. :P

 

So, great fic, sad, bitter-sweet, but hopeful. Not many writers could take that idea and end it on such a hopeful note. So thank you.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2014 12:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

I cried when I read this. Seriously.

Reviewer: ShayAlyce Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2013 7:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Heart wrenching and sad, yet satisfying.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2011 3:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

I just wanted to give you another review of your story.  It's such a good story, it has haunted me for days now.  I didn't tell you what I thought of your "happy" ending.  I didn't think of it at first.  I didn't see it as happy, especially when the entire Enterprise is destroyed.  But the happiness I get out of it is the possibility of love continuing even after death.  Death being a portal to permanent togetherness.  I can see that as positive.  But the whole story deserved such attention.  Jim's dissolve into madness, Bones' love and patience in caring for him.  The love and loss.  It's epic.  If I could recommend stories to people to be read I would.  I know one writer I'm sending over here as soon as he can get here.  This is too good to not share.  Great job.  I hope you're getting warm reviews over it.



Author's Response:

TYTY. It's not the happiest story in the world, but yes, the final message--love through all time--is a happy ending. People are being nice to it; I wasn't sure they would be. Thanks again.

Reviewer: skepticallady Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2011 2:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

At first I thought maybe you had lost your mind, but then read the story.  They were true t'hy'la and Jim could not live without Spock.  Spock realized too late but could not leave his t'hy'la in the afterlife.  I love it that they were together forever.  Very good. 



Author's Response:

I most likely did lose my mind, but it was a different type of challenge. Thanks.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2011 11:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

What was it the Horta said? "Weep for the end of things"?

This is absolutely devastating in its elegance. It took me a couple of days to decide to read it, but the solution is perfect (devastatingly).

I hope Bones as well found his Jim.



Author's Response:

Yeah, poor Bones. Wait till he gets to the afterlife and finds out Jim is taken, sigh.

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2011 7:50 AM Title: Chapter 1

I normally skip the stories with "major character death" but I read this one because I was curious to find out how you would deal with this challenge. I should have known, Spock and Jim united for ever in the after life in Vulcan paradise. Your are simply the best!!

Author's Response:

I don't like major character death stories either, so what possessed me to write this one I'll never know. But I'm grateful you gave it a chance.

Reviewer: CORGIMOM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 11:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh... My.... God!!!! You killed off the whole crew!! How evil. But it really was a perfect ending to a story that was both sad, and eerie, and perhaps maybe just a wee bit hopeful as well. I found myself sitting here staring at the screen at the end, not quite believing what I had just read. You done good.  :~) Freaked me right out.  Nice job.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I killed off the whole crew. When I do angst, I don't half-ass it, lol. Thank you very much for understranding that the story was supposed to be sad, eerie, and ultimately hopeful, depending on whether you believe in life after death.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 10:42 PM Title: Chapter 1

OH MY GODS!!!  This was so freaking sad!  I kept reading but my mind was saying "No!!"  Poor Jim.  And it's questionable whether Spock would have ever returned to Jim (which I believe was one of your requirements for the challenge.)  Oh jeez that was the saddest story I have ever read.  Ever.  Ever.  I need a hug now, seriously.  You write such loving fluffy fics usually.  Kudos to you for taking on the nastiness and conquering it with grace.  This, along all your other works, goes in my favorites.  100/10.  Sheer perfection.



Author's Response:

Oh, yes. Spock would have returned. If he hadn't died from lung fever, he would have realized that he and Jim were meant to be together. Once he was dead, he had to come to Jim, which, of course, snapped Jim's hold on sanity. And I'm sorry it's so sad; I didn't really want to do it,but the challenge kept nagging my brain, and I don't want to do the same thing over and over again. As I told another reviewer, I expect my fan base to riot, so I'd better get something happier up soon. Thanks so much for giving it a chance.

Reviewer: shamrock220 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 9:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

Ouchhhhhh...my heart just broke.

Shamrock220

Author's Response:

Sorry; it's a sad little piece, but it's a sad little challenge. More happy stuff up later.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 9:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

Captures the capability of the propensity for mental illness to hide itself behand a veil of sanity.

Must admit I did work out what was coming. Its a bit like SSRI can take one from catatonia to sufficient motivation for suicide.

Poor Spock Prime. Couldn't save Romulus, Vulcan or the enterprise.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I didn't expect the suicide to be any surprise. Never trust anyone who's calm, that's my motto. Yes, Spock Prime is striking out all over. I suppose I could have had him take Jim home to New Vulcan...

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 8:55 PM Title: Chapter 1

I shouldn't think I'd be able to do better, but maybe someday I'll give it another go...  LOL, riots - people'll be throwing virtual pink stuffed sehlats at you over the internet!  And as for the angst - yeah, I suppose you did kill the whole crew... But they'll all be together in the afterlife!  By the way, have you read Abomination by Acidqueen? That's kind of my benchmark for angst...  

Thanks for this story - loved it!



Author's Response:

That particular tale is a little too angsty for me. I really don't like angst unless I can turn it around. BUt as I said, I would hate to get stale.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 8:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

Ooooh...  I'm glad you answered this challenge!  Funnily enough I was just toying with it the other day, but I don't have to now so it's all good...

This is a very good fic - it strikes a fine balance between understated tragedy and hope, which must be hard to do, and you do it very well (what don't you do well though, let's be honest!).  I would have liked it to be darker and more angsty, but then that's just me...

I liked the way you got Spock prime into it...  I wonder if he really thought he'd cured Jim, or if he just wanted to get him back in command and not take his (imaginary) t'hy'la away?  I wouldn't be surprised if it was the latter.

Poor Bones as well...  If Jim had got better then maybe they could have been happy together...  Jim's suicide was an interesting twist - I wasn't expecting that!

And finally, I like the way you referenced Errand of Mercy.  Always like a bit of continuity...  Thanks for this fic - it's infinitely readable!



Author's Response:

Frankly, since I killed off the whole damned crew, I thought it was angsty enough, lol. I'm expecting my fan base to riot, because this is not what I usually write, but one does not want to become stale. Thanks for reading and reivewing. (And you can still answer the challenge; maybe you'll do better than I did).

Reviewer: Vulcan Pearl Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 8:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

I don't handle death stories too well, but this is wonderfully written, as always.



Author's Response:

I usually hate death stories, but I like to think this is more of a life after death story. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: muggy44 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 8:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

SORRY, BUT I CAN NOT READ A STORY WITH ONE OR BOTH DIE. AS MUCH AS I LOVE YOUR STORY'S. I JUST CAN'T DO THAT TO MYSELF. BUT  I AM SURE IT'S GREAT. XOXOXOXOXOXOX



Author's Response:

Well, that's okay; you don't have to read it. I don't like death stories myself, but that's the challenge, and I believe in stretching myself.

You must login (register) to review.