You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Popcorn Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/26/2016 8:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

Still LOL!  Beans, Beans the musical fruit....

Reviewer: Ishtar205 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/21/2014 5:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

You're so right, Kock is canon ;b

Reviewer: atymer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 10:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yeah, I know Shatner did it on purpose too. But even that doesn't make up for the horror of the story.

I got a lot of chuckles off this essay.  Which is good because the movie still makes me ill.

 I did my best to patch together a re-write fanfic version of this dubious film years ago. LOL LOL LOL LOL What can I say I was desperate to save ST. LOL LOL Thank goodness my trash bin called to the story before I went down to eternal damnation.

I find it interesting that the incarnations of Sybok in the author's story make for much better characterizations.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/24/2013 7:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Okay, let's throw their asses in jail in Rura Penthe, and let the Klingons try them!

This movie DOES have more loaded lines than most of the others.

~AKO

Reviewer: SoldierGirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2011 11:14 AM Title: Chapter 1

ROFL! Jim Kirk is the Chuck Norris of the 23rd century! XD Bwahahaha!

*Ahem* But, you're right. This movie just adds MORE evidence for K/S. As if the original series and then all the previous movies weren't enough. At this point, the gen Trekkers must be blind AND dumb to deny the canon-ness of K/S. : P

 



Author's Response:

Yep, the manliest sob in the universe. But, yes, this movie simply scream K/S

Reviewer: zeugmaqueen Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2011 3:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

I should warn SPOILERS for Generations in this review.

I caught the last half of the movie on TV once, and burst out into giggles when Spock said that last line!  I was in my "tween" years, and even I could see the sparks flying.  Not the greatest movie, but it definitely proved the canon relationship of Kirk and Spock.  And it did provide some backstory and tragedy for how Kirk "dies" the first time in Generations, and how he ultimately didn't die alone.  In my head, Spock Prime gets Kirk Prime again anyway in the new timeline, so it's all good!  Excellent article and I completely agree!

Reviewer: kokoroyume Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2011 11:24 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ah ah, yeah, not a really good movie but full of K/S xD

Reviewer: stardrop Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/26/2011 9:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

Had me gasping on the floor LMAO!  I cannot believe I missed the brig "Worse.  I betrayed you"  line.  First time I saw this, I did blink, somewhat bemused, at the "Not in front of the Klingons", but I was young and innocent and had yet to discover the slashy goodness of K/S.  Gotta say tho' that the whole point of Star Trek is cheese by the  shuttlecraft-load, and in defense of STV, have you seen the travesty that is STIV?!  Futuristic killer whales with a grudge and a doomsday machine?  Really!?



Author's Response:

Oh, yeah, I've seen IV, which is bad, but not as bad as V. Actually, the only one of the original movies that is truly thought-provoling and well-written is II. After that, they becomes more parodies than movies.

Reviewer: sonnyisforlovers Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/2011 5:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

Admittedly I have only seen the Star Trek 2009, but the whole time I was watching it (or seven times...) I couldn't help but think that Jim and Spock seemed to have a lot of UST going on. I've tried watching the older movies but everytime Shatner starts talking I cringe a bit and can't continue. However, you have made this movie sound like something I must watch :)

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2011 8:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

holy fracking crap, I might just have to watch the bastard again, after all!  *amazed grin*

I remember when he said the Klingon line, we were in the theatre and I turned to my mate and asked, did Spock really just *say that*?" 

"Yup," he answered.

Dayum.  Even though in large part I *hated* this movie, right down to associating Blazing Saddles and all, that *was* one hell of a K/S moment.



Author's Response:

Yeah, dumb, sloppy, badly-written movie on a lot of levels, but two lines that pretty much settle the whole issue of K/S.

Reviewer: biddygirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 1:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

Totally agree.

Number 6 is also full of K/S.

Kirk doing something he doesnt want to do because Spock wants him to.

The really close conversations.

Ahhhhh, Spirk love!!



Author's Response:

Yes, 6 is all about Kirk going against his better judgment because Spock asks it of him, not to mention the whole triangle with Jim, Spock, and Valaris (I think that's how it's spelled), the Vulcan protege who totally wants Spock, even though he won't respond.

Reviewer: missfae Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 10:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love your review as much as I do your stories.  This had me laughing throughout.  Now I have to go watch the movie for the first time.  Hugs.

Reviewer: SlenderSail Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 10:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, I didn't remember the line "Worse. I betrayed you."! This is indeed more significant than Captain Please, although the latter in itself just points how everyone *knows* about K/S anyway. In fact, with the later movies I just have the impression that the leads are sort of OOC and playing their own reactions to their own characters - does anyone else feel the same?

But yes, "Worse..." is the highest significant line especially if we remember a Spock who (ideally in his opinion) puts the good of the many above the good of the one and doesn't realize that this creates only a void for the many as well as the one.

I certainly would not have wished the movie to be about "the search for God" in earnest - wtf? Star Trek TOS to me represents this understanding that all those power-crazed "Alien" beings are in fact expressions of Ego (at best) and that "God is in the human heart" not "out there". The only Alien who doesn't turn out to be like that is Spock, and Spock is a logical being whose "soul is the most human", and it's never about him alone - but about a core relationship that brings out his inner self and allows him to accept his contradictions. The rest is just superstition - the mark of manipulation.

I realize that each person interprets things differently, even that the same person can change over time, seeing new things in a film as they mature -- and I'm not aware of any of the leads' individual beliefs in detail (which I do respect), but I think that had the movie taken out the cheese and campness it would not have been Star Trek. Everyone on that show created something truly unique while they allowed it to go beyond themselves and while they took the piss out of every possible cultural assumption. If they begin to try and impose their own beliefs on it then it diminishes its overall value, because everyone can make a movie like that - trying to push concepts they feel are real and valuable... but it's all like "I believe I am in love with Edith Keeler" - from belief to actually being in love (which sometimes may go unnoticed) there's a wide divide.

I actually wanted to write a fic based on this movie, about God and love and the human heart (how God always appears as the Devil, the apparent WRONG thing to do, the final frontier, overcoming one's own assumptions)  - perhaps some day. All in all, I wanted to say that I always deeply identified with Star Trek while in its heyday of truly crossing that final frontier, i.e. beyond the Image. Obviously, the producers/actors never knew this about me personally - so this shows that they could connect with totally different individuals on a deep level across time and space. However, later on this "magic" tends to get diminished if we try to dig too deeply into what they as persons are capable of perceiving - it tends to be disappointing... you realize they're bound by the same assumptions and limitations that you perceive in the world around you. Which is not ultimately bad, because one realizes that the deep meaning is something that we each have to access on our own, and that we tend to project false ideals on people like movie stars (modern gods and goddesses). But that doesn't mean that the ideals we wish for, do not actually exist - so in a nutshell, the search for God through false idols isn't "bad" as long as one realizes that the idols are playing a ROLE to help consciousness evolve. (People tend to get very disillusioned if they find their ideals are not where they thought they would be - "but it's a trick, don't let it drag you down, look into your heart").

Reviewer: Ivy Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 5:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

OMG, this was delightful!  I cackled madly like a demented egg-laying hen when I read your comment about the bean scene!  It ALWAYS reminds me of Blazing Saddles! (I'm so mature--notice what it is in your whole essay that I latch on to?)

I'm reminded of a little gem I hadn't thought of in a while--had to go back and read it--"Deadly Memories, "by Farfalla--it's here on the Archives--what a hoot!)

Seriously, I REALLY enjoyed this--I read it with my morning coffee, and now I'm off to start my day with a big fat smile on my face!

 



Author's Response:

So glad you liked it. Yes, that bean-eating scene is hysterical, as is much of the rest of the movie. I'll go look up the other piece you recommend.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 4:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

"STV was originally intended to be the search for God. Instead, after the studio insisted on story changes and drastically cut my special effects budget, it became a search for an ending." William Shatner from the book 'Up to Now'

Makes you wonder what this story could have been if the changes hadn't been made. But, this was the only movie that had the same feel as the original series...the cheezy humor, but more importantly, the special friendship between Kirk, Spock, and McCoy.



Author's Response:

That might be true, although Shatner (from what I've read) had a habit of blaming all disasters on someone else and taking full credit for successes. In any event, the movie is a bit of a mess, but it does offer a very clear picture of the relationship between the three main leads.

Reviewer: Lina03 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 4:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

LOL, very good points, all of which I agree with, thank you for sharing....though I must confess, when I read 'the movie everybody hates' I actually thought of Star Trek: TMP. I like Trek V about a hundred times more than the first movie really....and I only like it because of the VERY slashy overtones you just discussed (and the comedy), not the barely-there-plot =)

Author's Response:

Yeah, ST V is a lot more 'fun' than the first Trek picture, which is slow, ponderous and takes itself waaay too seriously. But V is such a mess thematically, and the whole idea of Sybok is just plain silly, not to mention that everybody looks tired as Hall.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 4:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Woohoohoo good thing I'm doing PM shift which is catching up on paperwork (is paperwork worse, or the muttering public givin' me evils?)--the circle jerk thing had me snorting with glee--let me know if you find that blooper reel....

Oddly enough I like STV--from the weird desert opening scene (clop clop clop CLOP) to the Klingon buuurrp ("Enchanted!") to the sappy camp scene (I adore the mountain scene) and the "marshmelons" to the drole Spock not wanting to shoot his bro (after greeting him most coldly indeed) and Kirk's eeevil nasty pissed-off face in the brig and the "unwise" attempts to escape and Scotty's Morse "Sta...--and the observation deck whydoesGodneedastarship (I did NOT like God tho--at all)--and offing God and Khorr's (sp?) New Gunner--and the cherry-on-top Not in front of the Klingons!!

btw I also think you're right :)



Author's Response:

Well, yes, why would God need a starship? The whole movie is pure camp, not just the camping scene, lol. I don't hate it; I just know a lot of fans who do. And I do think it has a lot of plot holes and other problems, and I think Sybok is awful--he looks like an attendant in a bath house, not a Vulcan leading a revolution. And yes, Scotty's whole Morse code break-out is hysterical, but this is James T. Kirk, who has defeated EVERYONE, and he can't handle one fruitcake Vulcan in a bathrobe? But as noted, the movie is valuable for those two lines.

And if I ever find that blooper reel, I'm loading it onto YouTube.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 3:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

I LMAO through your whole speech because you're absolutely right, the way things go down is hilarious.  But you're also right about it proving K/S, and I've been pointing this out to my friends for years.  At the end, when Jim says "I lost a brother once.  I was lucky I got him back" (while looking at Spock) it just screams HEY THIS IS MY T'HY'LA!  The producers will grant you friend, they'll grant you brother, but we may never see them be lovers.  But WE know better.  I have been pointing out the "Captain, please" line for years.  No one would listen to me.  But I had never thought about when he says "Worse.  I betrayed you."  Now I'm going to have to watch the movie all over again just to revel in the K/S goodness.  Thank you so much for an excellent view into our boys and how the movies prove their love.



Author's Response:

Yes, the "not in front of the Klingons" line is priceless, but I do think the betrayed line is even more significant. A decorated Starfleet officer isn't worried about the ship or its crew--just about he's done to Jim. Along with "this simple feeling" from the first Trek movie, this line goes to the very heart of Jim and Spock.

Reviewer: Wingstar102 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 2:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you! I just laughed myself stupid, because the way you wrote this makes the entire thing just hysterically funny. LOL. I have to find and buy this movie and VI and I'll have them all, including the series. Can't wait.

But yeah, thanks to you, I'm going to re-watch this the first opportunity I get!

Love and cherries,

Wingstar



Author's Response:

Well, it is hysterically funny, probably the funniest Star Trek movie ever, although I don't think that was the intention. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: TLara Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 2:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

(forgot the stars)

Author's Response:

TYVM. Yes, it's an awful movie but I do think it proves our point.

You must login (register) to review.