Reviews For Traitors' Sons
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/23/2021 7:04 PM Title: Demands and Compromises

I was wrong! Two chapters are new to me and I'm LOVING them!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2021 9:28 PM Title: Prologue

I keep coming back to this story and still no updates... And it's such an amazing story! So sad!

Reviewer: eviltriffid Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2020 11:38 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

Is there any hope that this amazing story will be finished? I understand that the plot is very much complicated, but anyway... It's so wonderful! I'd love to know what will happen next. With all my respect :)



Author's Response:

You also commented on this fic over at Ao3, right? Either way, There is hope that this story will be finished, but it might not be for...some time yet. I know I'm disappointing so many people on this WIP/unfinished story, and I apologize to you and everyone who still have interest in it. :( Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. 

Reviewer: Ylynane Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2017 2:06 PM Title: Prologue

Hello Raven Knight !

Thank you for your answer you perfectly understood my thoughts and concerns ! I admire how you took different scenes and stories from TOS episodes and movies and composed with both of them (it is rarely seen in good fanfiction). Unfortunately for me, I disliked the last movies. I found the characters, the plots and the whole movies a bit "dumb" and "careless". With very little credible science and original ideas. The idea of a Prime Spock's character is completely unattractive in my opinion. And I always found the time-travel's plots inconsistent and illogical (whatever the movie, book, ect). I rejected that plot in the AOS movies so, I must confess, when I saw it in your work, I simply passed all the scenes with time-travel, other dimensions, Prime Spock and all. It's probably an error, I found it stupid in the AOS movies but you're good at what you do, and maybe I should have read it.

At the end, I couldn't help and I read all the chapters of Traitors' Sons. I understood what you meant about Kirk, and I have more respect, empathy for him, he's fascinating. I tried to read your other stories but beyond "The Prince and the servant", I couldn't really appreciate them like I appreciated "Traitor'Sons". I think you made a piece of work with that one and I think it is mostly because of the cruel Mirror Universe and the way you depicted it. That universe is fascinating and horrible at the same time. You got it and represented it very well in your work. I should probably re-read it, including the time-travel's scenes (I know I'm missing something important for the story here !)

Thank you again for your answer and your stories. Maybe one day we will read the end of "Traitor's Sons" ! If not it's already great. You could write original works and try to publish them, maybe, on Live Journal or Amazon.

Cécile

 

(I don't know if it's showing in my comments but english isn't my first langage, sorry if my way of writting is confusing at times :)

 



Author's Response:

Hi, again! Sorry for taking so long on this reply, too. I don't even know where time is going these days, but it is passing quicker and quicker, it seems. Thank you for such encouraging and lovely comments about my writing. I'm glad you are fascinated by Kirk and my re-imagining of the Mirror Universe in an AOS setting. I tried to put as much of my own spin on it as I could, so it is encouraging to hear you say that I represent it well in the fic. That makes me very happy. So, thank you for that!

You definitely are missing some things in the fic though related to time travel. It features heavily in this fic (and actually moreso than it does in the AOS film, because there are actual consequences and things that occur because of and after the time travelling itself, if that makes sense?). I'm hoping that I manage to unstick the problems I am having with the story so I can continue/finish it, probably as much as you are hoping I can do that. Even though nothing is being updated on it right now, I am still coming back to it periodically and trying to work out the problems I'm having with it. 

Lastly, thank you so much for that vote of confidence in my ability to write something original and try for publication! That is such a wonderful and kind thing to say, and I'm a little emotional about it! THANK YOU! ~ RK 

Reviewer: Ylynane Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2017 7:48 AM Title: Internal Conflict

Hi Raven Knight,

I fell in love with your story and I'm enjoying it for three days. I'm especially attracted by your Spock/Kirk. I find their relationship and characterization very interesting and exciting despite the whole non-con dynamic. Spock is particularly endearing in his innocence and bravery and I love that.

But Kirk's characterization disturbs me, especially since that chapter (I can't even read the next ones).

I understand that he is a cruel man. I tried to ignore the fact that he fated women to be gang raped to death simply because he got bored with her (the idea sickened me) and kept reading because I thought there were limits to his cruelty, that he have some values and that he was fairer than the others. But, did he really kill a patient so that his friend could have his wife ? And then sentence the wife to an atrocious death and have pleasure in the execution ?

I read the other comments and I seem to be the only one who is disturbed by that thing. He punished that woman to be sucked to death by salt-eating creatures while he do the same thing (and worse) that she tried to do, killing someone to avenge a friend/lover. He's not only sadistic but also hypocritical. In the same weird sickened logic, he rapes people but he kills others because they tried to rape his crewmember. He seems to be the perfect self-righteous man and it's hard to see the difference with Gary Mitchell and identify with the character. And did McCoy ever dissect someone alive ? Because you mentioned it with M'Benga's thoughts (in 9 chap) but you didn't say if it was true.


I'm sorry for asking these questions and for the intensity of my comment (you don't have to answer me of course). In any case, you have a great talent in writting and I loved reading your story so far (if I ended up disturbed it's my fault I should have stop before).

It seems that you wrote a lot of other stories (a bit less violent) so I know what I will read next time !



Author's Response:

Firstly, thank you for reading this story! I'm thrilled that the Kirk/Spock dynamic kept you engaged, particularly Spockh's characterization. Spockh is definitely the main protagonist and precisely with whom your sympathies should lie. 

As for Kirk: He is a manipulative, merciless, cruel, possessive, and vicious character. With Kirk in this story, you're not necessarily supposed to like him, but you should understand how he became the man he is at this point in the story. With this being set in the Mirror-Universe, everyone is a little skewed from the characters we are all very familiar with. AOS!Kirk (as we see in the movies) already reads similarly to a Mirror!Kirk to me, so I took those darker, rougher elements already present in AOS, and amplified them to get this version of Mirror!Kirk. However, there is a definite difference between Kirk and Gary: While there is that skewed/twisted honor in Kirk, there is absolutely none existing in Mitchell; where there is evidence of long-buried and suppressed compassion in Kirk, there is absolutely none existing in Mitchell. There is no reason for the reader to remotely like Mitchell, whereas there are moments where readers should - at the very least - pity Kirk for his past which shaped him into this cruel person he is during present events of this story. 

You mentioned the salt-sucker monster in your review. Regarding that: There are numerous little TOS tidbits I have in this story, from specific characters (and their histories) to specific events, and the salt-monster is directly from the first TOS episode, just skewed for an AOS!Mirror-version of it. The salt-sucker did kill Nancy Crater in that episode, who had been an old flame of McCoy's, but she had married another man after her relationship with McCoy ended. I took that character history and shifted the details to fit the viciousness of the Mirror Universe, where jealousy and possessiveness take a higher precedence. I took Kirk's sexual assault of Rand in The Enemy Within and took it to its more traumatic conclusion in this Mirror-verse version of events. This is not to say that you should like or support Kirk for these actions. The purpose of referencing existing events in the TOS (or AOS) Prime timeline is to show how similar situations would play out had they occurred in the Mirror Universe. 

That being said, the Mirror-Universe is - and always has been - a much more vicious and cruel and twisted world, so the characters will also operate according to those parameters. The rules are much different in Mirror-Universe than it is in non-Mirror-Universe, so things will be darker, things will be more violent, and things will disturb the audience. It's part of what makes the Mirror-Universe what it is, for better or worse. It's definitely not for everyone, though, and there is absolutely nothing wrong in preferring something lighter or fluffier in tone. 

Ultimately, do not apologize for asking questions about my work. Thank you very much for your comments and compliments, particularly, "you have a great talent in writting and I loved reading your story." Comments like that are wonderful for writers to receive! It boosts our self-confidence and can really make our days lovely ones. This is the darkest of my works, and I would encourage you to read some of my other stories - the majority of which are much lighter and fluffier, certainly, than this one. Either way, I'm glad you read this one as far as you did and took the time to leave a review on it. Thank you. I hope you enjoy some of my other, happier, works. I look forward to hearing your impressions on them. 

Reviewer: Light Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2016 8:03 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

Hi there! I'm checking this brilliant story for an update every week or so. I just want to ask if it's on hiatus or you abadoned it? Then I will stop to check for updates. I wish you a nice day.



Author's Response:

Hello, Light! Apologies for the late reply!

Thank you for being so kind in your question. Even moreso, thank you for still being interested in this story! It means a great deal to me that someone out there wants to know what's going to happen in it.

Since I completed a bunch of challenges during this past Autumn and Winter, which completely wiped me out and stressed me out to finish, the muse just hasn't been present and it's made writing extremely difficult most days, on others downright impossible. However, every time I try to write, this is the story I am working on. An update for it is so long overdue. Traitors' should be the next thing I update. I'm not quite pleased with what I have so far, but I'm trying to push through this period of zero inspiration. I consider getting even a page further to be a huge accomplishment anymore - at least until the muse comes back.

I hope to hear from you again when I manage to update again. Be assured, I have not given up on this one - not at all. It's just been very difficult to write lately. But this one will be next to update, so that is hopefully a good sign, yes? If I can push through this dry-spell, I am hoping to update...maybe by the end of this month? That is my goal anyways. Hope to hear from you then. Thank you for your excitement about my story. It is humbling and touching. Thank you! ~ RK

Reviewer: Milkyway Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2015 7:57 AM Title: Prologue

And for anyone who doesn't know if he or she should read this story – DO IT. This story will eat your soul and spit it back out but it is SO GOOD that you have to read it and you won’t be able to stop and you will DESPERATELY wait for a new update. It’s agonising and heartbreaking but an absolute must read. Superb.



Author's Response:

I missed this one too?! I feel so awful. I did not mean to indicate that I had ignored you or otherwise dismissed it. Once more, thank you to an unspeakable level for how kind you are in your reviews. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I really will try to work on this story in the near future. I'm sorry it's been a ridiculous amount of time since updating. ~ RK 

Reviewer: Milkyway Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2015 1:29 PM Title: Prologue

I came across this story and thought "Oh no, another pointless, gory, kinky (mirrorverse) Star Trek story – with more gore than plot." Which is funny because I haven't read one for a while and then I gave it a chance because I was in desperate need to read a good Spock whump/comfort story and what a surprise your story was. I never thought I'd feel so passionately about it. But the amazing power of some of those scenes—Sarek’s guilt and helplessness because of his child’s fate, Spock losing himself more and more breaks my heart every time I think of it, and Kirk’s amazing portrayal, his greyness, and strange kind of tenderness and cruelness, his leading, merciless character--well. It's just amazing. Kirk’s story is full of contraries, from being a savoir for the children on Tarsus to becoming the merciless captain. There are subtle hints that there is still goodness in him – even as an adult and we readers, now and then are able to see a moment of the good hero which is deeply buried in Kirk. This is in striking opposition to the last hurt Spock story I just finished, except yours was definitely worth one's time. Please continue soon, if possible!



Author's Response:

I swore I replied to this. I have no defense for missing this incredibly kind and supportive review. Thank you so much for every single word you wrote in your review. I'm thrilled Sarek's guilt and helplessness is coming through, that it is clear that Spock is spiritually dying and shrinking with every day longer he is kept prisoner in Kirk's control, but also I am very happy that you are enjoying Kirk's characterization of a twisted mixture between vicious cruelty and long-buried tenderness. He still does have some of the kinder traits we know and love about Kirk suppressed and he'd been suppressing them for so long that to bring them out again is going to be a struggle and a dangerous thing to do. Thank you for calling this story worth your time reading - that means a great deal to me. I know it's been a very long time since I touched this story, but I do not have plans to completely abandon it. Things have been just not the greatest or happiest in my personal/real life for the last year and half or so, and that has sucked so much of my creative drive from me asa consequence. Again, thank you so much for your incredibly kind words in this review. I'm so sorry it that I missed it when I was replying. ~ RK 

Reviewer: blackeye Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2015 8:55 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

Will you update this story soon? I can't wait to read more.



Author's Response:

I have absolutely zero excuse for this shamefully late response to you. I am sorry for that.

I've been working on this story but the muse is just not there. In the Autumn and Winter I had a bunch of challenges that took up my time - one of which completely wiped me out and stressed me out to finish. Ever since those were finished in late February this year, the muse just went away, and I have had trouble writing since. I AM working on this story before all others I have in progress, however. So the next thing that should be updated is this story. I'm not even terribly happy with what I have going on with it so far, but I am trying to push through this lack of inspiration to work on it. I hope to hear from you again when either the muse comes back or I manage to update. Again, I apologize for the delay in replying to your question. Thank you for staying interested in this story. I have not given up on it. ~ RK

Reviewer: Light Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2015 7:27 PM Title: Precarious Alliances

It's been a long time since I've been afraid for a fanfic to be over, since I've been so caught up that I want to set life aside to curl up and read. I've missed that feeling. Traitor’s Sons sustained it for the whole duration of the story so far. So I pray this story will go on and on for a long time.

 

It’s amazing to see how the story brings together several characters of the Star Trek (mirror) universe who learn various things about themselves and each other while their paths are crossed intentionally or not intentionally. The story’s strength continues to be both - character and plot; in fact, the plot might be described as very strong, though perhaps it is better described as "subversive" of the usual expectations of the mediocre Star Trek fanfiction which is so common these days.

 

In this new chapter, you continue to show your usual skill in constructing a diversity of characters who ring true and sidestep stereotype (both in personality and narrative trajectory). So far you got a lot of excellent development of out several characters. We see Spock breaking, Kirk slowly changing, McCoy trying to protect the young Vulcan, Sarek slowly learning to trust his new bondmate.

I would recommend this story highly to character-centric readers.

Reviewer: blackeye Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2015 9:14 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

Oooh, amazing atmosphere. This story is amazing. It is really *different* from any other stories in the fandom. The plot continues to be so original and the atmosphere is unique, more sinister than what we are used to or maybe not – the mirror verse is pretty sinister. However you never get over the board with the darkness, or abuse, or torture. You don’t glorify it – not like many other Star Trek and/or Star Trek mirror verse stories.

 

I love it when Star Trek is written as anything but sunshine and daisies or when the after-effects of abuse are handled carelessly. Here you can feel the danger and the creeping darkness, it's exquisite – but although there is much darkness – the light is never far away. You can feel with Spock and can see that the abuse and captivity, slowly breaks him; you can see what rape can do to a person and that’s quite unique in the fandom because normally authors only focus on the act itself but never on the aftermath. But you do focus on the aftermath and that’s just great and very respectful.

 

The new chapter itself is brilliant. I love your writing and find myself re-reading sentences. For all the semi-colons, everything feels so stripped-down to essentials and precise, and each phrase really packs a meaningful punch and yet your writing has always some strange beauty to it. It’s a pleasure to read your work of fiction.

Reviewer: buttercoconut Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2015 11:13 PM Title: Precarious Alliances

welcome back!! poor Spock ;( This story still remains long way to go but i always look forward to read :)



Author's Response:

Hello and thank you!  Spockh's situation will eventually improve - he has a lot to deal with right now, and to work through that he is very much overwhelemed.  I hope you will continue to enjoy it.  And as always, thank you for your review! ~ RK

Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2015 9:03 PM Title: Prologue

It's all good. I enjoyed every minute of it. It's just if you ask me to summarize that long chapter it boils down to  few sentences. Needs to be done though. Just scks you ended on a clif hanger.



Author's Response:

Glad you like it so far!  Well, the cliffhanger sucks for you, maybe... *evil laugh*  There will be answers soon.  Thank you for reviewing. I am trying to finish up the next 'The Prince and the Servant' chapter before cranking out this one, but the outline for it is done, so it should not be a terribly long wait.  Hope to hear from you again. ~ RK

Reviewer: Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2015 3:22 PM Title: Prologue

Forgot the star rating. Sorry. ;(



Author's Response:

No worries. ~ RK

Reviewer: Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2015 3:22 PM Title: Precarious Alliances

Dear Raven,

 

As I said in my mail to you – with this chapter you have outdone yourself. You touched me deeply and made me cry and it was simply heartbreaking to see how slowly Spockh breaks under all he has to suffer. I said before – all little flames go out when the rainstorm is too strong, as do big fires; that doesn’t mean though that those fire can’t lit up again. I thank you for the realistic and respectful portrayal of abuse; you never portray it as gratuitous or use it as a shocking tool as so many authors these days do. All those scenes are important for the narrative and you never drift into the gore sector, or excuse Kirk’s actions towards Spockh; and most importantly you show us how the abuse affect our little Vulcan; you don’t brush it over; you don’t need to portray every gory detail to make it realistic – but you certainly show us how the abuse affects Spockh and also the people who love him.

 

I know my reviews aren’t as eloquently worded as so many here and I know I don’t say something new, and many people here seem to agree with me – your writing is simply beautiful; beautiful and haunting and refreshing and amazing. Your words – like Sarek said here – are music; I would never thought about describing it that way but it fits very well. It is quite lovely how easily you write those different, three-dimensional characters, how poignant all of their journeys are. You have created that huge world and all those different people, gave them background, gave the past, gave them bad and good character traits, gave them motivations, let them love and fear and hurt and do cruel thing, let them enjoy happiness – and that’s simply amazing to me. How one single person can create this complex world and equally complex plot and characters.

 

I agree with DivaPammy I certainly want to know how Sarek will handle the abuse of his son, how McCoy can keep him calm, what Sybok is up too…;) – you answered many questions in this chapter, and we saw a lot of progress but now I have dozens more ;)

 

You know that I consider your story here the best in the whole fandom and beyond; I certainly make no secret out of it – and it is incredibly amazing to see that with each chapter you prove and prove again the point – that you’re the best writer in the whole fandom.

 

all the love,

 

Lady Shirohsika

 

 



Author's Response:

Lady S! I am finally getting to answer your lovely and kind review! :)  I am glad that you do not feel Spockh's abuse is gratuitous or unnecessary - if it were, then I would not be telling the story I have set out to tell.  So that is good to hear.  Spockh has been and will continue to be very much effected by Kirk's abuse, as will Sarek.  Even McCoy is beginning to rethink his opinions on his best friend because of how he is treating Spockh.  This abuse doesn't only effect Spockh - but his family, other Vulcans, the Terran crewmembers, and even Kirk, all to varying degrees. 

Thank you for your lovely comments about the Mirror!verse I've tried to buld and establish with this story.  It's very layered and complex, and there's so much more to come!

You're one of the best sources of encouragement during the writing of this story - for which I am endlessly grateful. 

Also, you draw me such beautiful art! :D  So thank you!

~ RK

Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2015 5:14 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

 

I’m barely active on ks archive anymore but can you imagine how delighted I was when I saw your update? But I’ll spare you the description of my feelings in that moment and will directly review.

Alright. Time for a longwinded rave. Please bear with me on this one:

I am as always struck  by the music of the your writing; of your prose. Your use of this instrument has so far escaped directly impacting on my experience of this tale but here, in this chapter, where there is movement of the two main ones in and out and against each other (and I don’t mean that in the physical/carnal sense), the extraordinary prose bubbled to the surface. Your word choice for each character is careful, and sometimes quite haunting, fitting the characters like gloves. You’re an incredible talented diverse pov writer. It was perhaps a natural choice you made way back in the blackness from where this story began – to tell this tale from different points of view - but as a tool it has been utilised to perfection at this point. It kept the power of the story at a rapid movement, like a river full and heavily pregnant after the rains.

Tied to the movement of the river was the sharpness of your imagery. You write just so incredible well. Your careful use of words and the choice you make in placing this image in our mind, that movement in our gaze, this broken, that reverberating, that smell, this colour,. . … it is all done in almost white noise and is hypnotic and starkly lays the bones out for continued cleaning by the wraiths. I felt Spock’s fear and defeat as strongly, as I felt Sarek’s desperation and anger. I even felt Kirk’s confusion and his strange sort of panic; together with him I was overwhelmed by the haunting images of his past; caught in his memories as if they were my own.


The sharpness of your images and the starkness of the discretion between scenes, between characters, between this moment in time held here in our hands and then that moment in time which is almost maybe perhaps settling in the palm of our other hand, all of it in between is dark – yes – but there is always light too. Your story is primal. It is movement, it is silence, it is darkness and it is light and hope.

 

I am enamoured with your writing. I love this tale. And I do mean love. I mean the depth of emotional attachment that takes you deeper as a person, higher as a person, punishing you by pushing you outside comfort zones and lifting you into the arms of something more amazing than anything of which you had conceived viable. I never would have imagined that I would get so attached to your characters but here I am.

I love this story.

Amazing. Beautiful. Painful. Respectful. Desperately sincere and so frighteningly brilliant. Masterful.



Author's Response:

Sarek, apologies for the embarassingly late reply!  Thank you for another lovely review that (I will admit) I had to read a few times to take it all in. :)  Deciding to write this in various POVs came after I'd written the prologue and (I think?) the first chapter.  Then, I decided to tell the story this way.  It felt like that avenue of storytelling would serve the plot progression and character development the best.  I am thrilled you're able to connect with the characters - especially with the main four, Spockh, Kirk, Sarek, and McCoy.  That lets me know I am doing soemthing right, and makes me feel great!  I'm trying to get the next chapter written - it's not cooperating much right now, but there is no way I am giving up!  Nope.  I always felt that TOS embodied hope for the future and I am rather pleased that reading this story you can get that underlying sense of hope with Traitors', too.  This is a dark story, yes, but there is also hope deeply buried in it.  I'm glad you are still enjoying this story - and I hope to hear from you as it continues!  Thank you for your lovely review!  ~ RK

Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2015 2:52 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

Such a long chapter and you decide to stop there. How come i feel like nothing;s happening when the chapter's are this long. (sweatdrop)



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing.  I'm sorry you feel that way.  :(  I hope future chapters seem to pick up the pace for you.  There is much more to come in this one.  Thanks for the feedback.  ~ RK

Reviewer: DivaPammy Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2015 12:51 AM Title: Prologue

Amazing chapter! I had to re-read this whole thing to get back into the mindset of this story. Well written. Divine characterization. Wonderful storyline. 

I ache for Spock and all he is going through. He has such strong moments of power that get subjugated by the horror of what he is suffering. And I have to say his assaults by Kirk are well written and enthralling. 

I am anxiously awaiting for more chapters. I cannot wait to see what will happen to Pike, to Spock the elder and to Scott. And I cannot wait to find out what more transpires between Kirk and Spock.

How will Sarak handle more evidence of his son's abuse? Can McCoy keep him calm? What is Sybok up to? And Nero? And what about.... 

You know what? I will wait for the next chapter! 

Keep this one going! 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm sorry it's been such a while that you had to reread it.  Apologies for that.  But!  I am very happy that you did when this chapter was posted.

As for the things you are curious about: You will see what happens to Pike next chapter.  You will see what happens to Scotty.  You may see what happens with Spock!Prime and Winona.  You will definitely see some more Kirk and Spockh.  You may see more of Sarek - though right now he's more in the background during the upcoming chapter.  McCoy will do his best to keep Sarek calm.  Sybok and Nero...well, I think I will let you be more surprised about them without many hints at all.  There are many things still going on, so get ready!  Much more to come! Thank you for reading this one.  I will be continuing it - do not fear about that. ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2015 3:43 AM Title: Precarious Alliances

*sigh*  For some reason I never got a notification for the new chapter.  Sorry for the late reply.

 

This all came together so beautifully but I'm not surprised.  Kirk certainly knows how to confuse Spockh with him almost forcing himself on Spockh and then realizing that he doesn't want Spockh to fear him.  I'm enjoying seeing the possessiveness Kirk feels for Spockh.  I can't say that I blame either Sarek or Mccoy for being disgusted with Kirk and his behavior towards Spockh, especially Sarek since he is Spockh's father.  But I think it's interesting to see that while Mccoy is loyal to Kirk, he doesn't always approve Kirk's actions.  Sarek, I thought, was great in here.  The parental urge to protect his child is strong and understandable.  I think that even as Kirk and Spockh continue to grow closer and continue to fall in love, I don't think Sarek will ever forgive Kirk for what he had done to Spockh, even if (when) Spockh has forgiven him for his actions.  I know that the Vulcans Sybok now has in his custody aren't considered prisoners, but I do wonder what exactly is going to be their fate and does he intend to try to rescue the others on board of the Enterprise.  But then, would he do anything that could possibly risk Spockh's life?



Author's Response:

Hmm, I don't know what could be done about the strange lack of notification alert.  But I am sorry you never got one. :(  I hope this didn't happen with everyone.

Yes, Kirk knows how to confuse Spockh, but he also ends up being confused himself on what he wants with Spockh.  He is definitely possessive of Spockh, though.  No question there.  Kirk and Spockh's relationship will continue to develop throughout this, and lingering in thebackground will be Sarek, who (you are correct) will never forgive Kirk for the abuse of his son. 

Meanwhile, things with Sybok and his transferred 'prisoners' will continue being revealed slowly but surely.  He and his commander have things to handle on Romulus.  ;)

Thank you for your lovely feedback!  Always enjoy it.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Mordred Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2015 1:42 PM Title: Precarious Alliances

Okay, can i say that i was truly, deeply scared of reading this? i literally stopped myself three times from starting it because i was afraid it would hurt too much. The last chapter didn’t end on a positive note. But i'm SO glad i finally got to it because THiS? This was so much more that i could hope for. This was plain awesome.

Firstly, i loved McCoy to pieces. i was quite angry with him at the beginning, because he seemed to care for Sarek and also for Spock and then still let Kirk abuse the younger Vulcan, but now i understand his motivations more. At least i have the impression now that McCoy will spend his life supporting Sarek and Spock, fighting for them and taking care of them.

And what can i say about Spock? i can see him starting to become more and more affected by the abuse. Being hurt, abused and broken and yet he seemed always going forward, submitting to Jim to help his people. However every one has a breaking point and it seems to me that Spock soon will encounter his.

 

Of course, Sarek is always awesome. Picking the pieces and trying to comfort Spock as much as possible even when he wants nothing more as to kill Kirk. But in the end, it was also Spock who saved his life submitting to Kirk.

God, i could talk about this story for hours. Thanks again for giving us something so powerful and brilliantly written.



Author's Response:

I am happy you decided to read this chapter, to say nothing about your enjoyment of it. 

McCoy, much to his own surprise, cares a great deal about both Sarek and Spockh.  He did not expect it, since he pitched the whole arrangement to Sarek without much compassion at all, but he has found himself in the position of realizing that he wants both Sarek and Spockh safe in this Empire that has claimed them as prisoners.  There is only so much he could do for Spockh, though, without inciting Kirk's anger about it, so he tries to focus on Sarek and then lets Sarek focus on Spockh.  But he first and foremost wants to see both Vulcans stay alive. 

This is going to be one of the worst (in terms of Kirk assaulting Spockh) chapters/sections for a while for Spockh physically.  He will continue to become more and more effected by what kirk has done to him, and will continue to do to him.  This last chapter brought him to a breaking point, and it will be difficult for him to recover in any kind of way being still so close to his abuser and captor.  He tried to follow McCoy's earlier advice - by proving he is worth more than just soemone in Kirk's bed, that he's intelligent, and with the way Kirk responded to those attempts at helping him, Spockh almost feels useless and as nothing more than an object for Kirk's enjoyment.  Consequently, Spockh is trying to survive Kirk's treatment of him and not trying to trigger Kirk's temper by saying or doing anything other than what Kirk wants.  Kirk definitely broke Spockh this chapter.

And I am thrilled that you are enjoying Sarek's characterization.  :)  Sarek is among my favorites, so I am very excited whenever anyone mentions liking the way I am wrtiing his character. So, thank you!

I hope you continue to enjoy this story.  Thank you for reviewing, and especially for giving this last chapter a read, even though you weren't sure you wanted to do that.  THat means a huge deal to me personally.  So thank you for reading! ~ RK

You must login (register) to review.