Reviews For Fade Away
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 2:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Exquisite you can feel the life ebbing out of both men in the style and tone of your writingbrilliant quality work

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2013 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

You definitely got a visceral reaction from me.  I can imagine this was really hard to edit.  When something is so powerful, and there are characters left without resolution, it can be really painful just to read it, even when you're doing that just to clean it up.  Very good job with this story.



Author's Response:

Now that you mention it, yes it was a bit difficult to edit, even though that Kirk and Spock are just fictional characters and aren't really alive or dead to begin with. But, they are alive in our minds and our hearts and how we perceive them and what they mean to each of us as individuals is quite real. But I feel that it is a good thing to break out of our comfort zones and occasionally paint outside the lines. I find when you write from that deep place within and tap into things you normally are hesitant to do, your writing can turn into something amazing and special. I consider this story one of my favorites, despite the content.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2012 8:41 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hit in the gut is right. I just read it over again--I keep hoping it will change.. :(



Author's Response:

Yeah...this was my walk on the dark side when I wrote this. I'm generally not one for dark and depressing, but I couldn't get the story out of my head at the time. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2012 2:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very touching story, well written, and with a nice surprise ending that I wasn't expecting. Thanks!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you found it touching even with that ending.

Reviewer: Spockgirl18 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2011 1:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very well written. I couldn't stop reading this and I love how Spock was reaching out to Jim as he was. Very sad but very touching. Thank you for writing this and for sharing it with us.

Author's Response:

Your welcome, and thank you for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: missfae Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2011 6:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

I caught my breath at the lines, "With a signal from the native's leader, all the drums ended. He examined the body of the man on the sacrificial stone. Already his eyes were dilating in death. Their god would be satisfied." 

And Spock... Kirk died before he could answer his question.  Now he is fading too.

Wow.

This one broke my heart.  Well done.  Bravo.  I love well-written death fics and this was one of the best.



Author's Response:

Sorry to break your heart. It really took a lot to write this, because I generally don't like death fics. I've actually thought about doing a sequel, with Kirk and Spock together in an afterlife or something, and that question can finally be answered. Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Reviewer: kokoroyume Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2011 1:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

So sad >_<

But... thanks, it's a great story ;)



Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm usually not one for sad myself, but one never knows when, where, or how inspiration is going to hit.

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2011 5:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh. Wow. Hearwrenching really....



Author's Response:

Yes, I'm sorry. I was a bit surprised at myself that this popped into my head, because I generally don't like death fics either. Next one will be lighter.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2011 7:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

Its a great job, describing the scenery. I didnt see this end coming. Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

This story was both an experiment and a challenge for me. I'm usually a happy ending kind of person. Thank you for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: prince Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/05/2011 10:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh...It's so sad...Too late to ask and to answer...



Author's Response:

I'm going to try and write something much lighter and fluffier for my next story to counter this one. Thanks for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/04/2011 5:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

arrgh!! well-captured indeed--and neurologically fascinating!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your review :)

Reviewer: adafrog Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2011 11:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much :)

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2011 7:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

While I admit I would have been happier if you'd listed 'major character death' in your warnings (I too hate and avoid death fics; they despress me), the warning you did use was perfectly appropriate; you have the right to use any or no warnings as you see fit, and I can understand that 'major character death' would have wrecked what you were trying to do with the fic. So, you go, girl.



Author's Response:

Thanks you. You've been through this too, although I extend my thanks to lilyj for leaving an honest and civil comment, unlike what you went throuh. I'm glad you understand what I was trying to accomplish. I wanted to off balance the reader, keep them on their toes, and yes gut punch them with the ending, but it was never meant to be in a malicious way. If I had put the full warning, then there would have been very little build up, and the ending would have been anti-climatic. But, I still put the caveat lector warning in to at least give some heads up. Overall, I'm very pleased with it. I've gotten alot more reviews then I expected, and the story seems to have left an impression on a few readers :)

Reviewer: lilyj Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2011 3:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

I know that the archive's policy is "don't put warnings if you don't want to", but even though I can appreciate angst, I don't read death fics. So clearly I didn't enjoyed your fic. Moreover because I didn't expect the ending. I really prefer to be able to choose if I want to read angst -or whatever- or not.

Author's Response:

There is a "caveat lector/choose not to warn" that I put clearly under the warnings, which essentially means 'read at your own risk'. That means there could be a death, or a rape, or something else going on that the author doesn't want to give initially away if they think it will take away from the story's purpose. I'm sorry you didn't like it, and I don't expect everyone to. I was going for the shock of the unexpected twist.

Reviewer: Mirrorgirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2011 12:52 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love how you got us to end of this tale. The moment the light shines in the hut, it could have gone either way; and you took us to the bitter end...til death us do part, indeed.

Really superb Bastet :)

Author's Response:

Ah, glad you picked up on that. It was all Kirk's dream, and the light was his happiness and joy with seeing Spock. But then I had to go and pull the rug out from under everyone's feet. Thank you so much for your review.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 11:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  Wow I didn't see this coming at ALL!  I thought there would be a warm, fuzzy, happy ending and there wasn't!  You did a terrific job with this, I'm so impressed and although I was searching for fluff tonight I'm glad I came across this story.  They were bonded in a way, weren't they?  So sad, and so touching.  Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! To answer your question, as soon as Spock touched Kirk in Kirk's dream, they formed the beginnings of a bonding link. (Spock sensed Kirk's desperation, and was able to reach out telepathically) It was only in those last seconds that Spock realized Kirk's feelings, but by then it was too late. He also had been afraid to acknowledge his feelings like Kirk (even though I didn't go into that detail) and wants to follow the man who was supposed to be his bondmate into death.

Reviewer: RinRin68 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 11:53 AM Title: Chapter 1

oh my. I think I know what story you are reading. It hit me after Kirk was swimming in the river to avoid the spears. Its about a man about to be hung during the civil war isn't it? thank you for writing this.



Author's Response:

You are spot on my friend. I was indeed paying homage to the story "An Occurance at Owl Creek Bridge". And yes I did borrow the ideas from it and intertwined it with my own visions (Much in the same way that the TOS episode "Balance of Terror" was a homage to the movie "Enemy Below") I tried to capture that same gut wrenching ending, and I think I was able to accomplish that. Thank you so much for your review.

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 4:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

I should have known better than to expect a happy ending when I saw that caveat lector warning, but I suppose I can't expect every story to end with our favorite duo snoogling in bed together.  The fact that this story didn't end the way I hoped it would made it all the more powerful, and I believe it ended up being a richer reading experience.  Jim's struggle to hold on and reach out to Spock had me in tears, as did the thought of missed opportunities.  A beautiful, poignant fic.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Gets tissue box back from Denise and passes it to Steph) Ah, thanks for your review, and that you felt it was a rich and powerful read. :)

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 4:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh dear friend what a different unique story you wrote. I was expecting the ending to like this. Ending are not always happy one's which does mirror real life.. We can't solve problems in an hour or like I said make everything go the way we wish it to go...this reminds me of a story you wrote where Spock was changed into a different body....but does Jim leave him...no...he loves him nonetheless...you stories are always captivating and leaves you wanting more ....and guessing to the very end....THANK YOU for this story it left me in tears.....atleast they will fade away together.....



Author's Response:

(Passes tissue box to Denise) Yes, this is definately much different than my usual stuff. Thank you so very much for reading and reviewing.

You must login (register) to review.