Reviews For The Squire of Eros
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: burning_spirit Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2017 4:48 AM Title: Part 5

Oh my gorn... I forced myself to take a week to read the whole thing because it was so good I didn't want it to end!!  Absolutely loved your plot, characterizations, skillful craft/wordsmithing, originality... and (of course) your use of Trelane! ^__^  A beautiful story, thank you for writing and sharing! :) :) :)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2016 4:51 AM Title: Part 1

Continuum characters are great tools to carry a story that would not work in the real world. 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2015 5:37 AM Title: Part 5

That was a delightful story!  You've captured Trelane very well, and I greatly enjoyed your Spock.

Love this line:  "Jim had seen things beyond any human’s comprehension, but nothing could compare to Spock’s face contorted in ecstasy."

 

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2014 6:08 AM Title: Part 5

I do not recall ever read, such worship to each other.
exquisite and heart speeds.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2014 3:36 AM Title: Part 2

(Eyes wide open, not breathing)
My God!
And I thought they made so good!?

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2014 1:47 PM Title: Part 1

Funny. so farr I am enjoying.

Reviewer: Red Eft Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2013 2:00 AM Title: Part 1

This was delightful! The letters at the end were priceless.

Reviewer: ivycross Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/19/2013 7:39 AM Title: Part 1

This was perfection. Well written and easy to read I love every moment. I adored the scenes with Spock and Trelane bickering. Well really I adored your Trelane. Just like in the show and it was too fun to see him in action.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2013 11:50 AM Title: Part 5

Such a wonderful story.Vey well-written and in character.Your Trelane is exactly the way I remeber him.This story  is just like another original series episode. A very awesome episode.Thank you so much for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I love fics with an episode-like format, so I'm glad I captured that for you. :)

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2011 1:20 AM Title: Part 5

I think I pretty much haven't stopped grinning since the first line of this story (okay, with the exception of the arrow incident, of course). Thoroughly enjoyed reading this, it was fun to see Trelane again. He's one of those characters that constantly annoy me, but in a good way that is so much fun- he's like an omnipotent Mudd, kinda. :)



Author's Response: I'm glad to hear it made you grin almost constantly! It made me grin a lot writing it, thanks to Trelane (I quite agree with your assessment of him). Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2011 1:35 AM Title: Part 5

What a fun fic you have served up!  I could actually hear William Campbell in my head as if he were doing a voice over - you know you've got your character down when a reader tells you that.  I think Jim and Spock owe Trelane a huge thank you, because goodness knows if they'd ever gotten together without it - Vulcan poetry, regardless.  And thanks to the visual at the end, I'm sure I know the heart-shaped object that the captain will be contemplating when Spock is checking out his viewer.  Enjoyed it immensely and thank you for sharing :)



Author's Response: Awww, I'm very glad to hear you say that! I tried very hard to channel that obnoxious, flamboyant voice when I wrote (which ended up being WAY too much fun). And how could I resist taking a stab at that ridiculous science station setup? ;D Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2011 6:54 AM Title: Part 5

**squee** I'm so thrilled that you did post this here in the end!! Although I'm sorry for al the formatting nightmares it gave you. This story was such a highlight of the Valentine calendar for me and one of my nicest new fanfic discoveries since the beginning of the year all around. I'm not going to repeat everything I said in my LJ comments but at least I can use the opportunity to mention some points I forgot then. Did you know you made me go looking  for Caravaggio and St. Sebastian stuff so I could understand your references better? :) I found them very appropriate, and so in character for Trelane. I can actually picture him giving those same coy looks as Cravaggio's victorious cupid - trying to look innocent as he is accused of major mischief. Muahahaha. Same would probably go for Q actually - for the little I know of him. I actually thought it an established canon fact that the two were part of the same "race"... it's only as I read some of the other's comments that I realized it was not. But it makes so much sense to me that I am very glad you went that route. Boy, the note! :-DDD "Aw, sorry man, his mom thought he was with his dad and dad thought him with mom and the naughty kid wandered off on his own. Hope he didn't break anything valuable or like, kill somebody because I guess that might just suck. For you, I mean." *eyeroll* Priceless! And yeah, sure, won't nterfere again... I love the foreshadowing there.  

Another thing I especially loved was one seemingly offhand comment of Jim sometime midway through the story, I think, about how after so much explicit it was the subtle that now got to him. I thought it a very insightful remark. I do think that Jim, indeed, would have had to reach a certain level of maturityy before he could fully appreciate Spock on a personal level, and even more so come to love him in a romantic way - even though TOS Jim isn't as arrogant and brash as the reboot one is ;). I think TOS Jim got used to the easy way during his first years of service and then command, women throwing themselves at him everywhere for his rank and beauty, so it's only after working along with Spock and getting to know him that he'd realize how rare, unique and infinitely precious the man is. And god I love how they came together. The confesion of their feelings, Spock's hilarious "I was under the impression that sexual intercourse was customary at this juncture", then the tender lovemaking. It wasn't perfect, but very real, and when they arrived together on the bridge, both late and making it so blatantly obvious why, I just et out another squee. And then another touch of humor to sceal it all... "appears have misunderstood the concept of the exclamation point"... "I don't suppose there's a return address"... Lolollllolololoool. :) Thank you so much again for a lovely story!



Author's Response:

Awww, thank you for commenting in both places!  Comments like yours are a huge motivation for me to keep writing and pushing myself!  I can't convey how happy they make me.  And as an amateur art history geek, I'm delighted to hear you looked up my references and learned a little something about Renaissance homoeroticism!  Good times.  I figured such relatively dated references would be in order, considering Trelane's limited knowledge and tastes.  Also, Trelane = Q has been stewing in my head-canon since I read that John de Lancie (TNG Q) sort of interprets him that way.

I struggled with that whole scene in which Jim, uh, "appreciates" the subtle, so I'm happy it worked out well.  Your interpretation of Jim's psyche over time is pretty spot-on with mine, and I like how you articulated that slow development.  And while I enjoy flawless, perfect, cosmos-moving smut every now and then, I usually prefer to write imperfect scenes, because I feel like the characters are too human for anything else; how can they not hesitate, or get cramps at awkward times, or accidentally elbow each other?  Heck, my friends and I often go to hug, but whoops, we both turn the same way so now our faces are smashed together.  Things like limbs are difficult to coordinate without explicit direction, you know?  :D   I'm glad the ending made you laugh.  By the time I re-read the silly parts about 100 times, I started to hate them and think they weren't funny anymore.  Thanks again for your kind and encouraging words - it means a lot to a relative newbie in the fandom (just around my 1-year anniversary of TOS fangirling now)!

Reviewer: Lina03 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2011 6:50 PM Title: Part 5

LOL, hilarious and romantic, I loved reading it. Thank you for sharing! ^_^

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting!  I'm glad you enjoyed! :D

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2011 7:53 AM Title: Part 5

I did enjoy! thanks for sharing! mwahaha. it was delightful... and now I must join in the boat of sleep recovery.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing!  And I'm glad I forced you to join the sleep recovery boat (it's all part of my evil, insomniac plan).

Reviewer: bistokidsfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 9:43 PM Title: Part 1

Snerk!  This was a hoot.  I love Q stories and Trelane's always can stand revisiting.  And, poetry - sigh....luv it!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  It was a hoot to write, that's for sure!  I'm tempted to do a little sequel based on the poetry, since I scribbled down a few "excerpts"... we'll see how that goes.

Reviewer: crullna Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 8:56 PM Title: Part 1

This was just a wonderful and well-written story. Great characterizations and plot.

I especially loved the way how you described the love scene in the last chapter - not the uber-perfect first time as it is described in so many stories, but the excited, a bit uncoordinated but very sweet and funny coming together of two new lovers...

Thank you so much for sharing!

Best regards,

Crullna

 



Author's Response:

I adore imperfect love scenes!  There's so much humor and awkwardness inherent to sex (I mean, it really is absurd if you think about it), so I'm glad you appreciated that element!  Thank you for your lovely comments!

Reviewer: Cutting love Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 7:33 PM Title: Part 5

great job! I love that Trelane ended up to be a Q... there always were similarities between them, but I never read a fic that could sum it up so perfectly while having a brilliant plot and perfect characters. Magnificent!



Author's Response:

I was definitely intrigued by the connection between the Q and Trelane when I started writing this (I kind of interpret him as a fledgling Q).  I'm glad you enjoyed that element as well as my plot and characters!  Thanks for your comment!

Reviewer: Tech_Duinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 5:41 PM Title: Part 5

I just adore this story. It seems to me that it's very difficult to inject the perfect amount of camp (and/or humor) into TOS stories, and you definitely succeeded. Also, I think you write Trelane better than anyone I've ever read. I look forward to seeing more stories from you in the future.

-Tech Duinn



Author's Response:

Awww, thank you so much!  I love the TOS universe for its camp, but it is a tricky balance, even within canon (Spock's Brain, anyone?).  So I'm glad it worked out.  And I'm so glad you liked my Trelane!  He's amazingly fun to write.  Thanks again for your lovely comment!

Reviewer: Tech_Duinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 4:52 PM Title: Part 3

It seems that a portion of the fic got deleted in the middle of the 3rd chapter, immediatly following Jim's orders to change course to the PSR C50312 system.

Just thought you'd like to know.

-TD



Author's Response:

Oh gosh, thanks so much for pointing that out!  Formatting for different sites has been driving me up the wall, and apparently this one deletes anything in < >.  It should be fixed now.  Hopefully.

Reviewer: vixis Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 4:21 PM Title: Part 5

oooo, more sleep deprivation if this is the result! well done :))



Author's Response:

But... but... early classes, and homework, and... oh screw it.  Aye aye, captain!  XD

Thanks for commenting!

You must login (register) to review.