Reviews For What Are The Odds
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2019 6:30 AM Title: Chapter 9

Awwwww.......poor Spock.  I can not feel any real sympathy for Kirk at the end of this story....because he abandoned Spock, which was just cowardly. I do not care what this Universe's Kirk had as childhood issues, Spock offered him total loyalty, acceptance, friendship, and status as his T'hy'la....and this Jim Kirk betrayed all of that, because Spock was no longer perfect physically.

 

it fascinates me that this story is so radically different from your sequence of stories, starting with Loud....when Pike is in charge of Enterprise, when Vulcan is attacked, destroyed and Kirk thinks Spock is killed on the other ship, then rushes to his aid when he is brought to Enterprise, in Psychic Shock. In that Story, and the 2 that follow, Kirk is Totally There for Spock.

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2019 6:18 AM Title: Chapter 7

Oh and  in Chapter 7 , the scene between Uhura and Spock brought tears to me eyes.

 

and the when Spock realizes that Kirk has never come to see him, not once....ohhhhh....how could Kirk do that?

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2019 6:14 AM Title: Chapter 7

Chapter 7 is very intense....way to go Bones, first....for punching Kirk a good one, I actually would have liked to see that Scene filmed so I could watch it over and over again,

and for calling out THIS UNIVERSE's Kirk For being exactly what he is!

 btw....the Real Jim Kirk from the Roddenberry Universe, would Never Abando the Real Spock! 

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2019 5:55 AM Title: Chapter 5

Kirk is a totally immature jerk! Spock deserves somebody way better!

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2019 5:47 AM Title: Chapter 4

Why did you do a story like this that created such terrible injuries to Spock? Assuming you have no intent on ever writing any Trek Stories with Spock in an active role in Start Fleet, did you just want to like create a super damaged Mian Character to toy with in your fan fiction?  As a Spock Fan, I find this story line cruel.

Reviewer: Elaine du Lac Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2014 7:42 PM Title: Chapter 9

Oh, my heart. I think you broke it. 

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 8:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

can't get my review to stick--you have to read the last first--tried several times...sorry--is it the thought that counts?

--Madame Lo Tek

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 8:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

review II part:

I wanted to hurl too.

Also, thank you for the description of nurse. from one.

5--"away for the weekend"?? How dare you???? Well...take care, anyway.

Description of the crying jag way convincing.

Unease from ship's gossip; more unease at Jim'a absence from sickbay.

True about words that wait in ambush, rise up and strike.

Punch in the gut re the arm--wasn't expecting that. Nightmare quality of story increasing.

Dario Argento, eat your heart out.

6--Damn--I was hoping he could regrow stuff.

"appreciate an explanation as to why"--Lady and Lord above. Surreal.

Spock on the beach....incredible word-painting.

And Sarek/McCoy as Vucan/Human archetypes--awesome.

7--I'm an "Old" Uhura fan, but you come perilously close to making me like C'Uhura (Counterpart-Uhura).

The McCoyRage is so...McCoy. Feels good to smash something when all you want is a rock to crawl under.

Budding comprehension of Jim's desperation, beyond the initial shock.

8--May end up really appreciating C'Uhura.

But the goodbye, there--baaad. I mean sad.

And the expression, "It's time."--always hated that--reminds me of executions. Which is why it works so well here,

I guess.

9--I seem to have run out of words--stuff like masterful, superlative, etc, to describe your treatment of Jim's

spiralling emotions, would sound too precious.

And your own word, "haunting", semms to me the best one for Spock's feelings just now.

So--each with his own terror--and his own brand of denial.

 

I'm gonna go read something fluffy now--it's 22.30, I was on PM shift, and tomorrow have AM.

 

btw there are too birds on Vulcan--at least in TOS timeline ;)

 

Thank you very much!

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 8:44 PM Title: Chapter 9

 

 

I read almost straight through "Odds" w/out a word of review so will now do penitence and write what I thought during/after each chapter.

Don't know what it's worth, as I don't write f/f (doubt I would be capable)--but it's sincere and appreciative.

1--I keep expecting the sea to turn acid or the sand to grow teeth--good suspence.

Love, very hot, very sweet,brief and to the point. lol

McCoy in training for Crotchety Old Doc--cool.

The phrase "

 

neatly folded cliff face" makes the blood run cold.

btw your use of the appellative "Old Geezer Spock" has been referred to T'Pau....'ware Vulcan wrath!

2--I think the beam-moving-a-mountain is very clever.

And the transporter beam acting funny cos of mineral matter or ion storms or such...canon!

3--I am suddenly aware of ragged cuticles. How did that happen?

4--That.is.a shocker. I spent all chapter running through worst-case scenarios underneath the reading--did get as far as

 

 

wheelchairs, actually--but never thought of...that.

Reviewer: jedimonkeyspock Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2011 4:35 AM Title: Chapter 9

wow. i really should have paid more attention to the tags on this. soo freaking sad, but so beautifully written that i couldn't stop reading it. i feel empty after reading this- my emotional response is riddiculously strong. the only way i can think to comment on this story is to say that it was hauntingly beautiful. and now i'm gonna go read the second part

Reviewer: CMM Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 2:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

I should clarify; I'm not threatening to chop anything off you--just myself, in total frustration, starting with the hair I'm pulling out waiting for them to get back together.



Author's Response:

You might wanna staple your hands to the desk, then...

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 9:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

fuck, man, u has killed meh and I is ded... XP

damn. the one will be most interested to see where you're going with this, right after I try to shove a boot up Jim's arse for being *such* a twat.  I'm glad Bones gave him a good clip round the ear.

ouch. this could so happen, that's the thing.  it could.  shit like this happens to people in the service all the time -- not always physical, but wounds just the same.  and poor Spock -- after all that, to end up back on what amounts to Vulcan again, as if he'd never left.  and with no Amanda to soften the hatred.

I already want to go there and kick all their arses too.

phewwwwwww... *sniffles some, mumbles something about hayfever, scrubs face with sleeve...* Wat!

I'm no stranger to seriously!hurt!Spock, either, so here I say it: this story is a thing of beauty, sharp and spare and deadly serious like the finest of blades.

mm. *chinhands*  moar pls?



Author's Response:

Thank you very much :D I think there's a line forming for the arse-kicking (even I want to boot Jim up the arse and I'm writing the damn thing) but moar is definitely coming soon!

Reviewer: mazaher Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 6:20 PM Title: Chapter 9

I'm heartbroken. In the most beautiful way (this story is shining of a black obsidian light), but still heartbroken.

Given that life is cruel enough by itself, please wield your power as a writer and create a Part Two with a better ending. Sometimes writing one is all a guy can do.

Thank you for a brave, hard, perfectly written story.



Author's Response:

There will be five parts to this story arc, so there's a long way to go yet!

Reviewer: Redstar Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 5:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is a great story!  I can see Kirk acting this way. In Operation, Annihilate! Kirk couldn barely stand to be around Spock when he thought he was permanently blinded, so it's in character to have Kirk avoid Spock when he's disabled. I hope Kirk comes around before it's too late...

Reviewer: CMM Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 2:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

OK, quit yanking my heartstrings and get them back together. I'm begging you. I'm going to start chopping things off if you don't.



Author's Response:

Erm, what things exactly?

Reviewer: Cutting love Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 1:07 AM Title: Chapter 9

aww this is so sad!! I think I'm crying

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2011 11:32 PM Title: Chapter 7

I really hope Jim comes around soon. I hope Bones got through to him. Spock really does need him.  is this going to start looking up soon?

Reviewer: Kacs Spock Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2011 3:06 PM Title: Chapter 7

Hi,

I love this story!  You are my read during my train commute, and believe me, you have me on the edge of my seat on this one.  Very interested to see if Jim comes around, how Spock deals with it, and what happens next.  I am glad you update so frequently. Keep em coming! :)

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2011 2:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow - I echo the other comments here.  This story is upsetting for me, but yet I'm still enjoying reading it!

 

One small caveat though, is regarding Pike's comment about Spock never being able to continue on on the Enterprise with his injuries.  I feel like in the 23rd century, with their technology, it might be possible -- even today, there was that recent issue with the runner with amputated legs wanting to race in the regular Olympics rather than the special Olympics.  I think I remember that the Olympic committee wouldn't allow this because the runner's prostheses gave him too much of an advantage over the 'able-bodied' runners. 

Anyway, great story!



Author's Response:

The regulations Pike and Jim are arguing over re: disabled officers, is something that gets returned to later in the series. So the caveat is being paid attention to, but after I slow down the emotional tortue somewhat :P Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: Redstar Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/02/2011 11:53 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is very well written and heartwrenching. Please update as soon as possible.

You must login (register) to review.