Reviews For Courts of Honor
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 8:13 AM Title: XXXVIII

I feel like the postman of Pablo Neruda. Metafor. You're bringin' it old school. Word to the master. Mad props.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 7:34 AM Title: XXXVI

Wow, Rho basically had a mental breakdown. As Kirk would say, that's extraordinary.

*smiling because so rarely do fiction writers describe these kinds of mental breaks or moments of dissociation so realistically*

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 6:43 AM Title: XXXIII

omg, that's what Kaimos Encar was! ((((!))))

this chapter:+++++++++

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 6:18 AM Title: XXXII

I'm loving the Sarek and McCoy conspiracy. Vulcan stubbornness vs. Southern cussedness--classic!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 6:05 AM Title: XXXI

Couldn't have been easy to write a sex scene like that, but I think it was worth it... Can't wait to see Spock's reaction to what he just did.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 3:10 AM Title: LIV

What a rollercoaster of a ride this was. What an amazing ending. The theme of the story is timeless, an oppressed society raging to become free. How ironic that it was posted during such turbulant times we see right now. The love between Spock and Kirk is so beautiful. The other story between the Romulan commander and Tal also just adds to the flavor. I enjoyed your portrayal of her. Plus McCoy and Rai...my goodness there was just so much going on here, and all interwoven and you made it look so effortless. How I wish I could write something like this. Thank you Syn for giving us this rare gem. Thank you Killa and all those who arranged for this to be put online.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 12:54 AM Title: XXXI

"I showed Admiral Harnum that recording," Kirk began quietly. "Edited, his comments boil down to the fact that the inhabitants of Riga are not Federation citizens, nor are they refugees, until they arrive at and are assimilated on a Federation planet. There is a strong precedent against uninvited Starfleet interference in alien affairs. Admiral Harnum expressed concern that Enterprise involvement could be construed as military coercion, thus invalidating the election held on Veith. You're all familiar with the argument." Kirk's voice was carefully uninflected. "It is important to the admiral that no such criticism be voiced about the decision made by Riga. Until such time as Federation citizens are endangered, my orders are to keep myself and my officers aboard this ship."

This could slot neatly into a Kirk vs. Picard debate. (I go with Kirk. I always thought Picard was a right bastard and a coward to insist on protocol and "how could we possibly know" hand-wringing to override the demands of compassion for others. Although "Who Watches The Watchers?" was a great episode.)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 12:35 AM Title: XXX

love how things are moving now--a real page turner. Kaimos Encar sounds familiar but I've already forgotten why.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 11:43 PM Title: XXVII

cool

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 11:12 PM Title: XXV

omgggggggggggggggggg love this bit!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 11:01 PM Title: XXIV

Shoulda seen that coming. *smack*

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 10:17 PM Title: XXIV

I was thinking nine-armed officials would be pretty fabulous, until I realized you weren't talking about officials with nine arms but nine officials with, er, arms... sigh.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 10:01 PM Title: XXIII

He erased his file, its contents, and the fact that it had ever existed at all, thus performing that most important of all military duties. He covered his own ass.

Now that got a laugh out of me. Been there, seriously thought about doing that. :D

 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 9:44 PM Title: XXII

wowwwww. nice.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 9:16 PM Title: XX

awesome chapter!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 8:43 PM Title: XIX

I really like this chapter. The culture shock is very realistic. I like seeing Dia take charge, even in a sort of vague and bumbling way. And Spock is such a silly creature.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 8:42 PM Title: XIX

Reality quenched the fires. It was McCoy's voice, not Jim's, and it was Spock, and not the rest of the universe, who must be banished from the glowing presence of one charismatic human. There was no other way.

Poor, stupid Vulcan.

 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 7:58 PM Title: XVIII

Ha ha, Spock's stone Vulcan routine is not working on ... himself. Karma's a ... sehlat in rut.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 7:39 PM Title: XVIII

At the end, under the flashing dismount, she saw the bull turn, saw in miniature how the human assessed Onion's intent and his partner's position--and remained motionless in the path of the horn. Reaching out, she found the control that froze the action and played that part again.

THEY HAVE DVR IN TEH FUTUR! PRAISE THE LORD!!!

/is very silly

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 7:35 PM Title: XVIII

Must be this guy:

Jeremy CampbellThis is a featured page

In information theory thermodynamics, Jeremy Campbell (c. 1952-) is an English-born American journalist noted for his 1982 book Grammatical Man: Information, Entropy, Language, and Life, described as “an attempt to tell the story of information theory and how it evolved”, in which Campbell reports his communication interviews, via letters and conversations, of several key figures surrounding the famous 1948 article “A Mathematical Theory of Communication” by American electrical engineer Claude Shannon, the creator of information theory. [1] Campbell gives a simplified and positive spin on the relation between information and thermodynamics, in a way that positions information as an equal counterpart to matter and energy. [2]

Hooray for Google. One of the pronovel writers must have been reading to same book, with the result of blathering on and on about Surak and entropy and the heat death of the universe. Not that it isn't all true... it's more of a question (to me) of how much it matters.

Life is the damn entropic gradient, though. Not a force, just the path of least resistance, therefore making life not only possible, but practically inevitable.

////stopping the nerd-talk, I promise

You must login (register) to review.