You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2016 4:18 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great Story. It's hard to find decent mirrorverse stories not revolving around sex. I'm writing my own mirrorverse and its good to get some ideas flowing to see how others portray the universe. Your story was very heartwarming. I only noticed three mistakes grammer and dspelling wise, but it didn't detract from it and you did warn ahead of time. This story definitely deserves mre reviews than it has.



Author's Response: Thanks for your loc. As a teacher, (well, retired teacher), I am very concerned about errors appearing in my work, and I know they do despite how many times I review a story before it is published or posted. Please write back and identify them for me so I can correct them. I appreciate your input.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/28/2015 3:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm reading this story again because I like it so much, and I'm struck by the parallels between this story and "Report From the Rim."  (That's not a complaint, since "Report From the Rim" is one of my favorite stories ever!)

In both stories, something that seems to be horrific is seemingly transformed by Spock's goodness ... or one could look at it that the hidden goodness that was there all along was brought out, once Spock's goodness changed the landscape enough that the hidden goodness felt safe enough to come forth.

It's a theme I find incredibly compelling, and I'm happy to read as many permutations of that story as you feel called to write!  I love many things about Spock and have since 1969, but the thing I love most of all is his goodness.  It's so ironic that they frequently compare him to a devil in TOS, since it's clear that if Spock is any kind of supernatural creature, he's an angel!  (Not that I believe in supernatural creatures of any kind, angels OR devils.)

Anyway, I know I'm not telling you anything you didn't know; I'm sure everything I've said here is old news to you.  But I love your stories so much that I sometimes feel so effusive that I have to gush at you a bit. :-)  I managed to restrain myself when I reread "The Diver" earlier tonight -- even though I thought it was gorgeous -- but the theme of people being transformed by Spock's goodness ... god, I just love that so much.

I've written a couple of stories about Spock's goodness, myself (on AO3, not here, since they aren't K/S), but I don't have your gift or your skill, and I adore what you've done here.  I hope you'll be inspired to write another one someday.



Author's Response: How in the world did I miss this review? Thank you so much for your very kind comments. As always, your locs mean so much to me. As for seeing the goodness inherent in Spock's character, we're on the same wavelength there. I've always believed that one person can change the world, both for good and unfortunately, for evil as well; I.e. Gandhi, Hitler, etc., and Spock is a good person down to his DNA, (if Vulcans have DNA). Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: Kukia Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2015 2:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

One of the best mirror version fanfics I have read. Loved it.



Author's Response: Wow! Thanks for this lovely comment. Glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: Sofia Holmes Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2015 12:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hello Carolyn. My friend Joska_D had finished the translation of your marvelous work Tiger Burning Bright and she asked me to send the link of the translation to you (because she got blocked on the internet back home and couldn't have access to KSA):  http://www.movietvslash.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=111801  

You will also need an ID and passwords to view the page and reviews. You can log in with this:  

IDa306;authors

Passwordsa306;123456789  

( or I can also create a new account for you if you'd prefer it this way)  

Also, thank you for writing such a great story! I really love those two mindmeld scenes.



Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me so long to respond. I'vr tried several times but can't access this page. Thank you Joska_D and to you for the amazing amount of work you both put into this. I'm thrilled to knopw the story moved so many people!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2015 4:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  That was gorgeous!  I love your transforming Mirror Kirk with the power of Spock's love and his goodness.  Glorious.

 



Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely loc. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Seems to me Spock would bring out the best in anyone with whom he spent his time, Mirror Kirk included. A little biased, I know, but the Vulcan won my heart long ago.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2014 2:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm so glad I discovered your previous work - this story was AMAZING! and I rarely read and even more rarely for a MirrorVerse story, but this stole a whole chunk of my day as I found I couldn't stop reading. The writing was great, the inherent decency of the characters cutting across universes, and the story all came together so well. My favorite was when Jim meld w/Spock and the vision with the tiger and the snow and the forest was so descriptive, and when the tiger wanted to prevent Jim from following him into the forest - chills!

Just a great story with uplifting themes about the redemptive power of love and friendship :) Can't believe I'm saying this about a mirrorverse story, but loved the sweet ending!



Author's Response: Thanks for your very kind comments, nml. It was always easy for me to believe Spock had a touch of the feline about him. I wasn't a fan of the Mirror Universe either, so I just had remake it a little.;)

Reviewer: EmmaSimone Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2014 10:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this version of the 'Mirror, Mirror' universe.  Thanks for posting it.



Author's Response: Thanks for responding, EmmaSimone. I'm glad you enjoyed my Mirror Lite story. :)

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2014 2:19 PM Title: Chapter 1

I was lucky that someone had left a packet of tissues next to the computer. After months of reading a bit of everything on this archive I thought nothing could move me to tears like that anymore. I was wrong - and considering I had left out this tale of yours because it is MirrorVerse! This fic is - apart from being well written as all of your things are - incredibly deep, at the same time tender and fierce, showing this Jim who is almost out of place in his world become whole by meeting and opening up to Spock who has always been out of place where he comes from. Finding a home in each other they will probably make the MirrorVerse a better place. Thanks so much for writing and posting!



Author's Response: Hello, angelocustode. How nice to hear from you again! Thank you for these lovely comments. You always have supported my writing, and I so appreciate it. I know what you mean about the MirrorVerse. I don't care for most Mirror stories either. The Spock of that episode always bothered me. He was sexy as hell but could be so cruel. I just had to "tweak" him a little. :)

Reviewer: Joska_D Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2014 1:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh I can't say how much I love it!

I always love the mirror universe, especially mirror James T Kirk because he is such a paradox. It's not the fangirls' fault that he just appeared on the screen for less than two minutes and then nothing is impossible. We know almost nothing about him so he can be anything and you made him almost the golden James T Kirk.

And Spock. This Spock is just …

…Just it's always too good to see true love in that background…anyway that's a horrible universe for most of us.

I mean, I really don't know what to say but this is extraordinary and brilliant and I don't know how to convey that and I'm almost crazy.

Can I translate this into Chinese and post it at mtslash.com? I'll link back and credit you fully, if you'll allow me. 

Thank you so much for the story!



Author's Response: Thanks so much for these lovely comments, Joska_D. That Mirror Spock was just too harsh for me. So sexy, but too harsh. I just had to remake him just a little bit. Yes, you may certainly translate Tiger Burning Bright into Chinese. Thanks for doing me that honor. I'd love to read any comments on the story you get, if it wouldn't be too much trouble to translate them into English.

Reviewer: Kittenseal22 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2014 7:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your work is beautiful and I just wanted you to know that I loved reading this, and another, fic.  It touched my heart.  The emotions from a fic or a story or a book are part of the reason I read anything, and this was so filled with such subtle, yet realistic emotion that I cried... in a good way.  I sincerely hope you keep writing Kirk/Spock fics because I've rarely read anything as beautiful and wonderful as your fics.  Thanks for listening,blessings for you.  



Author's Response: Thank you for these lovely comments, Kittenseal122. I'm so glad the story touched you and that you went to the time and trouble to tell me so. By the time a story actually makes it into print, I've been over it so many times that it loses whatever emotional impact it had for me. It pleases me no end to know that it was still there for you.

Reviewer: Melpomeni Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/25/2013 9:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. Idon't usually go for mirror verse and even less inclined toward vulnerable Spock. Yet, you made it so compelling that I eagerly kept on reading. I was quite p,eased with the ending. Nicely tied up loose ends and satisfying references to TOS mirror mirror and where no man.  But I do wonder how this captain and ths Vulcan dealt with Gary Mitchell when he becomes a 'god'.



Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely comments, Melpomeni. I'm pleased to have created a vulnerable Spock that you found compelling, and glad to be a part of your holiday. Merry Christmas, and thanks for responding.

Reviewer: Ymas Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 7:50 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is a very special story. Thought-provoking and although somewhat disturbing in places, still so infinitely gentle.

Loved it. So. Much.



Author's Response: I'm not quite sure how I missed this review, but thank you so much, Ymas. I' m glad you thought the story was worth reading and commenting on.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2012 5:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

Such a beautiful Mirror story.Again you have done wonders.



Author's Response: Thanks for the very kind loc, argona. The Mirror Spock has always seemed harsh to me-sexy as hell-but a little too harsh, so I had to um, "rework" him a little. I'm glad the characterization was acceptable to you.

Reviewer: ivycross Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2012 2:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this so much. It was so well written and so touching. Makes one look at the mirrorverse in a new way. Of course it touches on something I hold to be true about Mirror!Kirk. I never believed him to be all bad.  The comparison of Spock with the tiger was beautiful and I just thought to myself, "Yes. Perfect."



Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it, ivycross. It was always easy for me to believe Spock had a touch of the feline about him. Thanks for your wonderful comments.

Reviewer: Aelin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2011 4:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think this is the first mirror verse story I've ever loved. You are so good at making us feel the brilliance of Kirk and Spock's love in any situation. It just *sings* throughout all your stories. Thank you for redeeming mirror Kirk!

Author's Response: Thank you, Aelin. Your comments are very special to me since I have a lot of trouble relating to the canon mirror characters. Mirror Spock is sexy as hell, but much too harsh for my taste. I think Spock in any universe would be an honorable man. We caught a glimpse of that at the end of the episode. It was fun to play around with the idea of how he got to be that way.

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 2:01 AM Title: Chapter 1

A Tiger. So very fitting. I thought it would be Kirk who would be topping but then again who cares. THIS was the epitome of a beautiful spirk story. Thank you very much for posting this.



Author's Response: Thanks for responding, dyk0523. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Tigers have always appealed to me; so graceful and powerful, silent and deadly when aroused. It was fun to play around with that image for Spock.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2011 8:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

I don't cry while reading, but my heart wept through much of this story. Beautiful way to tie-in the tiger imagery through out.

And I loved the scene where Bones tells Spock about Jim saving him.

This is nothing like what I expect out of mirrorverse, it was so much better.



Author's Response: Thank you, sierra scarlet, for your kind loc. I'm so glad you liked my story and took the time to say so. This is my one and only Mirror story because it always bothered me to see Spock as cruel and heartless. That's one of the lovely things about writing K/S. You can take that little step to the left of canon. ;-)

Reviewer: Dreaming_K Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2011 5:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

It's kinda ironic that Spock's the one teaching Kirk about friendship in this universe. Loved it! <3



Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story and took the time to say so. They have so many lessons to teach each other, don't they?

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/16/2011 3:28 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this - it was so beautiful.  Kirk & Spock were so recognizable as themselves - even in the MU.  It was amazing to read about how they met, and how Kirk developed into the person he was. 


I also loved that the entire story was from Kirk's POV.  Thanks so much for posting this!



Author's Response: It's very important to me that I keep the boys in character so I very much appreciated your comments, murt. Thanks so much for responding.

Reviewer: omega111 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2011 12:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

I didn't think an MU fic could be sweet, but this one was so very sweet & Jim's thoughts through the story were hilarious.  Thank you so much for posting it.



Author's Response: You're very kind, omega111. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

You must login (register) to review.