Reviews For Riverside
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TSeren Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2016 8:56 PM Title: Chapter 3

"At no point during the course of our discussion did he attempt to fit the terminal point of his lower limb into his oral cavity."

^^one of the greatest Spock lines I have ever read.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/01/2014 8:36 AM Title: Chapter 4

This story is perfectly lovely in all its parts! The quiet companionship of the two, each treasuring the other without coming out in the open, the dynamics between Winona and Jim, how they try so hard to overcome them and never really succeed - I like it that is stays difficult even after they agree on a new start, that's realistic and believable - the growing attraction between Jim and Spock and finally the really hot sex. All of it is very well conceived and brilliantly written.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for letting me know which parts resonated the most with you and why you enjoyed that. I really appreciate your feedback and am thrilled u liked the story so much. I had a lotta fun writing this as well. :)

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2014 5:49 PM Title: Chapter 4

This was enjoyable. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: pintospirk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2013 8:06 AM Title: Chapter 4

God I loved this so much. Very good.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! :)

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2013 8:05 PM Title: Chapter 4

Wonderful story. I'm glad Spock helped Jim's relationship with his mother and it's great that your  Winona isn't evil and simply has to make peace with herself.I loved it that she did her best in bringing them together.Thank you for sharing this story.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading this and letting me know you enjoyed. Winona was a lot of fun to write, and Spock and Kirk were a joy to write too. So it makes me very happy that you liked their interactions.

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2012 4:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think after having read this story for the 10th time or so, its time to leave a review. Sorry that it won't be anything eloquent though, my English just isn't good enough for such things. But still I wanted to say that I LOVE this story, really, I've read it so often, my ebook-reader already is groaning each time come across it :-D. I wonder if you've written more than the 3 pieces that can be found here at the archive?

Author's Response:

Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this enough to read it 10 times. ;) That's awesome! I haven't written anything in K/S other than what's here for the moment, but I've been meaning to work on some of the plotlines I've got sitting catching dust in my various PC folders. Who knows, I just might do that at some point, hopefully sooner rather than later. :) Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: roswellfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2011 1:09 PM Title: Chapter 4

Thanks for sharing this with us.



Author's Response:

You're welcome. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2011 6:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very well written story with excelent pacing. I never felt rushed or bored.  You are obviously a very gifted writer.  A few comments:  I don't think I've ever seen the codom angle in any K/S fic before that involved the boys being in starfleet (as opposed to an AU when the are circus performers in the 1930's or something).  I guess most of us figure that Bones would make sure they are both healthy and AIDS and other STD's are not going to be a problem for them in their time given their positions.  So, I guess I don't really know how I feel about that as it made the interaction feel a little more "casual". 

And what about Tarsus? Did Tarsus not happen in your universe? It's OK if it didn't but if it did, that would have made Winona much more culpable.  If she had sent Jim to Tarsus to some boarding school or cooprative farm so that she could pursue her career....  Just a thought...

There was one place in this story where I was thrown out of the wonderful mood that you have created.  Unfortunately, this is a condition that I see often in Reboot fiction.  I don't know if you have ever watched Looney Tunes as a kid but at some point in the last decade the powers that be decided that our children were too stupid to be able to identify with the very interesting and funny characters of the original Looney Tunes.  So they created "Baby Luney Tunes" who were just a bunch of winey shadows of their former self who practiced the dubious art of baby talk.  I see that happening a lot with Reboot fiction Kirk (at to a lesser degree, Spock).  Your Kirk's reaction at Spock's confession seems to be that of a 13-year-old girl.  "You LIKE me.. like LIKE LIKE.." to be enhanced with the "this very cool guy thinks I'm hot".  Not what I would have wanted to hear from a Starship Captain (even though he may be in his 20's) about a man that he has been very close to for two years.  Maybe it's just me, but that part was very Baby Luney Tunes to me.

I hope you take the above as constructive criticism as that is how it is meant. I truly appreciate the effort that it takes to write K/S and the courage that it takes to post it.  You are one of the best authors that our fandom has and I'm very grateful to you for giving me an opportunity to read this story.  I just hoping that my comments can be of some use but if not, please disregard them.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for your thoughtful review and the comments. The baby Looney Tune part made me laugh out loud. I guess.... you could see him as acting like a 13-year old girl... however, that was not my intent. I was just trying to convey his wonder and surprise at the confession, but maybe I didn't succeed very well? I don't know.... I do find your critique very useful though, and I'll keep that in mind for future stories. :)

In this universe, for this particular story, I didn't envision Tarsus in Jim's background. There was already a lot on his plate... and you're right, Tarsus would've made Winona much more culpable, and she was already guilty enough as it is. I might write a story with Tarsus at some point, or I may not. We'll see.

As for condoms.... this was the first time I have personally used them in a Trek story. It was just a spur of the moment thing for me. I've seen them used in other Reboot fics before. But yeah, it makes sense that in that day and age, STDs might not be that big of an issue, but that doesn't mean they would be completely eradicated, and so perhaps they do use condoms still? Again, it wasn't a planned thing.

Thank you for reading and your comments. You're very kind and I appreciate your writing to me.

Reviewer: tropicsnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2010 6:34 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was such a phenomenal peice of fiction that I have TEARS in my eyes from all the joy I experienced. I enjoyed how you treated the subject of Kirk's mother, by not making her evil and neither making her blameless. It read like a true relationship, complicated - messy yet saveable. Also Kirk's reaction to Spock's confession was just so wonderful and made me so giddy. I loved this, it was sososo great.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for letting me know you enjoyed the character dynamics between Jim and Winona; it was fun playing with that. Also thrilled you found the K/S interaction enjoyable too. :)

Reviewer: bistokidsfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/15/2010 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a well-written and moving story.  I love domestic fics that aren't schmoop - that really have a good plot.  It was very emotionally satisfying and funny and poignant.  Your Spock and Kirk characterizations are very good and Winona was interesting - a unique take on her I think.  I love a happy ending and I love this story :D



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I'm so happy you found the characterizations plausible and the plot interesting. It was fun to get inside all their heads. I appreciate your lovely note. :)

Reviewer: thallissa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2010 1:35 PM Title: Chapter 4

Fabulous story!



Author's Response:

Thank you! :)

You must login (register) to review.