Reviews For From Choice
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2013 2:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

It was very refreshing and original.
I loved the idea, I felt that it was able to continue and develop.
I was sorry it was over so quickly (and I get tired from long stories)
Good Luck!

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2012 6:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this story so much...  I can completely believe in the world you've created, and when James says "I hope it was educational" I can absolutely hear Captain Kirk!  It really is very beautiful and tender, and also hot at the end...  I hope Spock grows up soon so he can reciprocate ;)

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2012 7:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

very unique and nice to read!

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2012 10:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really like this fic. Thanks for posting!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2010 8:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hm, I don't know how I feel about this story ending on this ambiguous sex scene, but never mind that--Yes! Spock is such a badass!

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/14/2010 4:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Nice job. This story was different, but I like the ideas presented.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 8:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a delicious AU! I've read a lot of Vivian Gates stories these last months, but this one was completely new to me and I think it might just be my favorite by her so far. I love the setting, Jim as the broke new PhD professor and Spock as his discrete, indispensable servant. I also liked the concept of te indenture for the story's purpose, even though it strikes me as barbaric that someone would have to PAY in any way for being rescued, especially in the future. The characterizations were great; Kirk was a brilliant, kind-hearted man, just as he normally is, even-tempered with a few quick surges of heat at times. SPock was self-sacrificing, completely devoted to Jim, and oh-so-willing to do anything possible to remain with Kirk. My heart squeezed a little in sympathy - and sympathetic anger - when he told his sad story, and I couldn't help a knowing grin when he confessed to being a VSA graduate. It is SPOCK, after all; he couldn't be anything less. I think it's only then that Jim fully realized how attached Spock was to him, to offer to remain forever in the shadows at his side if necessary when he was so over-qualified. The buildup to their getting together was very well done. I could feel the feverish quality in the air while the end of Spock's indenture approcahed, and Jim's analogy with the days before a wedding was a very apt one since it would mark a new beginning for both of them... although I'm sure he didn't quite expect his new, irrepressible fantasies about Spock were about to come true :). Kudos for making Spock's response to the sexual encounter different from the common, human-like one; it is always a risk in a fic. It workd because it was clear that Spock enjoyed the sex, and we could extrapolate that after he became sexually mature, he'd be able to respond physically to Kirk too.

Great concept and great story! 

Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 5:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, that last line just kills me.  Beautiful.

Reviewer: Amanda Warrington Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 9:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

I own the zine this story was first printed in, but haven't read it in a long time.  I'm a big fan of all Vivian Gates work and was thrilled to see this posted on the K/S archive.

This AU story brings Kirk and Spock together in very different circumstances.  There is a subsequent difference in the power dynamics between them, and while Kirk appears to be in control, it is Spock who takes matters into his own hands and drives his own destiny with Kirk following uncertainly until Spock's finally reveals more of himself.

The story is a compelling one, and despite being AU, there are still aspects of Kirk's and Spock's characters that are still somewhat recognisable when compared to their TOS counterparts, that come out in the dialogue.

Definitely a recommended read if you like AUs!

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 7:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

What a beautiful story...I really enjoyed the intimate scenes...so different than what I am used to...wow...you need to write more...thanks so much for sharing...

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 6:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

Mmmm, *tasty*!  I remember reading this once before in the way back when, but now here it is again!  Yummy story -- I like how different this Earth is from ours or Trek's usual 'verse.  Not a very nice world at all -- but our boys manage to find each other and connect anyways.

Mmm, very nice.  I love the project to bring the older stories online.  Way to go, y'all!!

You must login (register) to review.