Reviews For The Rover
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/20/2015 11:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

You sure write a haunting, delightfully poetic prose, it gives this story an addictive quality. You know, there are stories that you want to be finished and the ones you want to go on forever. This story for me is of the latter kind, I felt kind of bereft when it ended. There is such beauty in here, Jim's mindvoice is crystal clear and flows like music. I loved the part when Jim lives in a dream that fragment of another universe that is Gary's death, great idea.

 



Author's Response:

thee is most kind!!  dreams cross other sorts of boundaries with ease, so why not this?  I didn't want this one to end either, but it wanted to go there, so...  I am honoured and delighted this pleased you so much.  *bows*

Reviewer: 4dogshome Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2015 1:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thanks for your reply! I've read all of your works multiple times. Your grasp of the characters is amazing, and your descriptive imagery is wonderful. I hope you continue to grace us poor mortals (😁) with more great stories for many years to come!



Author's Response:

I hope so too!! and thanks for the great review, it made my morning!

Reviewer: 4dogshome Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2015 4:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

One of my all time favs, and my "go-to" story when I want to feel (ahem) warm and fuzzy! Seriously, I love the characters and having it in Kirk's POV makes it feel very immediate. I wonder if anyone has ever done any drawings, paintings, etc., showing their first meeting in the transit-caff; wish I could draw more than stick figures. But from your wonderful description, I can see it so very clearly in my head. Thanks!



Author's Response:

I've tried drawing that more than once, but so far no joy.  still ya never know...  delighted it works so well for you, always a good thing for an author to hear.  thanks right back atcha!

Reviewer: bonnysprite Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2014 2:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

marked for later



Author's Response:

ta ever so, luv!  hope ye enjoy it!

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 1:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. Can't praise you enough. Loved your descriptions of life on the road. Loved even more the fact that your characters - both of them - are so mature, they know life as it is, they have incredible sex but don't feel overwhelmed and hoping for a happily ever after just afterwards. Everything happens in its own due time. Their responsibility and experience makes this story so very real.



Author's Response:

woweee!!  high praise, thanks very much!!  Always had a soft spot for this one.  it got stalled for years about halfway done, and then one day it just started unreeling again, woo hoo!!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2012 4:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great story!Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

I am honoured.  *bows*  we come to serve...  =)

 

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2011 4:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

I truly enjoyed this story- it kept me up reading all night, I think that pretty much covers it :) Though I'd still like to point out a few things, for example that the description of constantly changing environments and on-road life is very well done as far as I can tell, as is the pacing and characterization. And the sex....! Brain-meltingly hot, simply.



Author's Response:

I am honoured!  I like this one very much, tis one of my favourites and I put a lot of meself into it, one way and another.  :)  thankee kindly, sai!

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2011 11:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

So I've read this one over again,too. Wonderful as always. I don't suppose you have another story brewing? Even only a five-year brew? Has the tasty lad returned?



Author's Response:

awwwww....  (big goofy grin)  ye giz' me da best sugar!!!

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2011 3:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

ONly one word: Awesome. This is simply too good to be true.



Author's Response:

Y thankee, sai!!  We come to serve. (puts his paws in his sleeves and bows)

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2011 5:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

Re-read this one too--it has such a lyrical, ancient-knights-in-the-future feel to it.

You seem to have become my grey sunday afternoon comfort zone, as well as just where I come when I need a bit of simple perfection.



Author's Response:

Aw, wow, man...  dayum, that's nice!!  I is honoured indeed!!  (happy sigh)  My work here is done :)  Hope yer Monday is better, love.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2010 6:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for sharing and posting here, Greywolf. A pleasure as always. Love the hot truck stop pickup. Very old school alt.*, isn't it? The stuff these kids are writing these days is a completely different asthetic. I also love the internet because I was able to look up all the Spanish slang I didn't know. :D (And ... Gaelic? You sneaky, furry ass.)



Author's Response:

Yep, Gaelic!  Heh, heh...  And yeah, it is kinda alt.* -- when I started writing this assgm was brand new and lots of fun.  It's degenerated pretty sadly over the years since then, but hey, it was fun while it lasted!

Glad ye liked it, lovie.  w00t!

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2010 3:14 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love everything this author writes. While I'll admit that Spock making a living as a rent boy is stretching matters just a bit, it's so well-handled that I'm willing to suspend disbelief. That's what AU is for, after all.



Author's Response:

Y thank thee!  And yeah, it might be a bit of a stretch -- but maybe not such a big stretch now, as 40 years ago in the Time of the Beginning.  The world has moved on since then...

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2010 3:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

wonderful! (as usual, but never "usual") and--haha! you and your "weasels in heat"! in italians it's hedgehogs...I kinda favor the weasels....

Author's Response:

Heh heh heh... me too!!  Viva Mustelidae! ;-)>

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2010 3:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Holy shit. This might be the most scorching K/S story I've read so far. From the first attention-grabbing lines it was heavy with erotic tension, yet far from detracting from the emotional intensity of the story or the plot, it actually fueled them. Your entire first half is mostly sex, yet you manage to never make it feel repetitive (and that's an understatement - as I read this illicitely at work, I kept glancing at my co-worker, worried she'd notice my accelerated breath) and we could feel a genuine connection developing between the two men.  Damn, how I LOVE that :-D.

I love your premise. How eerily premonitory it sounds, now that we've had the 2009 movie that featured a Kirk and a Spock about the same age as yours here, and Kirk nearly getting expelled for his Kobayashi Maru cheating. This could actually be a reboot story just as much as a TOS one. Of course, it being an AU helps :). I enjoyed your characterizations. Jim was resilient, dedicated and a hedonist, all traits I consider intrinsic part of him. Spock is the one that made my heart squeeze though; to see our proud, dignified Vulcan at the mercy of strangers, reduced to selling his body when he has such an amazing, brilliant mind and gentle nature pained me to no end. Then the agression he lived through, and to realize NO ONE ever offered him the comfort of mind touch before Jim, not even his own father....oh, I'd have gladly kicked Sarek. But that is part of what brough him and Jim together: the same false start in life, the same crushed dream of the stars, the same stubborn willingness not to be brought down, the same emotional loneliness. And I love how despite such different circumstances, Spock and Jim found their way to each other anyway (one of my favorite tropes - they are just MEANT to be, in any universe), and you managed to bring them back into the Starfleet fold in the nd, to resume the destiny that should have been theirs all along.  

Really, a fantastic story. Thank you so much for sharing!

P.S. One question: why exactly was Spock traveling that much, too? After their first encounter he said he had to be in San Francisco the next day at 10, but that was before he started the precedures with Areel for Terran citizenship. So what kind of appointment could he have? It doesn't seem practical that he'd take set appointments with customers yet travel around the US the rest of the time to the risk of not being back on time...

P.P.S. Loved the little references you dropped here and there. Jim's Silver Lady was a hoot!



Author's Response:

Wow...

Day-um!!  Wow again!  (sits on the floor, kinda dazzled)  I am very greatly honoured indeed!  Many thanks for such a lovely long review, w00t!!

It *is* weird how much it echoes the Reboot, huh?  I wrote the first part of this one clear back in 2001, and it languished for years until one day it suddenly started unrolling itself in my head again and I was off and running.  I had a lot of fun throwing all them references in there; figured, they're fun to look for, no? 

As for him travelling so much, I figure he must have had a website or some such, a way for people to contact him.  I figure he probably got his start at truckstops, but by the second time he and Jim meet up, he's got more $$.  I didn't really go into a lot of detail there, the story didn't seem to need it.

But thanks again, ya made me night for sure!!

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2010 2:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is a great story. I really enjoyed the characters and the hopeful ending.

Author's Response:

(puts his paws in his sleeves and bows)  Thanks muchly!! ;-)>

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 9:25 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your stories are always wonderful, Greywolf and this one is no exception.  Enjoyed it very much, thanks!

PS - The Silver Lady was a nice touch.



Author's Response:

Thankee, sai...  I quite liked the Silver Lady meself!

Reviewer: Ivy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2010 2:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

You rock!  Totally!  What else can I say?



Author's Response:

w00t!!  Thanks luv, ever so!  (bows)  We come to serve...

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2010 11:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

Dakota Storm

It is midnight... the in between time... between night and day.
The wind is warm and I hear the stream just beyond the tall grass.
You have walked ahead of me, but not too far.
You are my protector.
We stop and sit by the water’s edge.
You lay your head on my thigh and are still.
The night is ours and I stroke your soft fur...
You are my companion.
Soon you stand and walk to the edge of the water to stand on a tall rock
You raise your regal head and sing to the moon
I am awed at the beauty in your song.
You are my soul
We will walk this path together until the time the spirit world calls.
If am first I will wait for you and listen for you to call to me
And if the Creator allows, I will find you...
For you are my... forever.

I wish I could write poetry like this..it is about the greywolf...but I found it appropriate for your beautiful story. A companion that you keep with you and travels with you for as long as the god's allow. You are very gifted my friend..merci beaucoup...



Author's Response:

(puts his paws in his sleeves and bows deeply)   I am most greatly honoured, O friend, honoured indeed!

I write what my Muse gives me to write -- sometimes I really enjoy the result.  This was one of those times. ;-)>

Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2010 1:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great read.  Very moving.  I am oh so happy about the ending even though I could read this story forever.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thee is indeed most welcome, sai.  The one is happy to serve.  (bows)

Reviewer: Verdantjoy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2010 4:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

As usual, Greywolf lives up to the highest of expectations.  I was unsure as I started the story, as I usually don't care for contemporary, AU stories, or where one of the two are prostitutes- not my favorite thing! It was not long, however, before I was beguiled.  The first person, from Jim's POV, is nicely done and what I imagine is the "guy -perspective" throughout  seems fresh to me.  Thanks very much for the pure pleasure of a fine read!



Author's Response:

Woo hoo hoo!!  Man, I tell ya -- reviews is what we authors live for!!  The one is most honoured to be of service. ;-)>

You must login (register) to review.