Reviews For Duet for One Voice
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2015 4:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wham,  this just so fits with Jim's reaction in  TMP and also the description of Spock's feelings before he acknowledges and realises that Jim not V'ger is his destiny.  I would find it hard to write any other solution to the Gol question because this just fits so perfectly



Author's Response: Wow! Thanks for these very kind comments. I'm so glad we shared the same feelings about Jim and Spock's motivations. I can so see Spock running from those strong feelings he has for Jim. Feelings he doesn't know how to deal with. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2014 11:00 AM Title: Chapter 1

This story went off in a direction I wasn't expecting and I think it was too TMI for poor Bones, but I liked it, even though it made me sad :(

I liked the writing and the story was very bittersweet, I can see it for the TOS characters, and I'm gratified that he had hope and faith in their love at the end!



Author's Response: Sorry for making you sad, but It's good to know Spock comes back just like Jim Kirk knew he would. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: KeBo Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2014 6:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think you caught the atmosphere of TMP really well. I always had the feeling that this movie was more about the realtionships between the Characters (mostly between Kirk and Spock but also between some others) than the search for V'Ger. That kind of thing is boring for some and very interesting for others (like me).

Great work!



Author's Response: Thanks for your kind comments, KeBo. I'm so glad you think I caught the atmosphere of the first movie. It always seemed to me that there would have to have been an overwhelming reason for Spock to leave Kirk's side and his home on the Enterprise to return to Vulcan. Thanks for telling me my way worked for you.

Reviewer: Akaiii Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2014 9:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

To quote George Takei... "Ohh myyy". Because well, that's what first comes to mind I guess. This story is just. Jim, oh poor Jim, realizing too late... Spock and his runnign awya to Gol, trying to purge out everything he loves.

This story all conveys it. /sigh

Thanks so much, I really enjoyed it!



Author's Response: Thank you, Akaiii, for these wonderful comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed my story and took the time and trouble to tell me so.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2014 1:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

In rereading this story after some time I finally find words to thank you for it. I guess the first time I was just subdued to silence. You manage to put all that Jim's and Spock's relationship in TOS was into those lines, the tension that draws and links them together, the interdependence, the depth of feeling. It all culminates in this encounter and it is from here that Jim finds the certainty of hope that will make him go through the years of seperation. Deeply moving, splendidly written with an oh so pleasing language - thank you ever so much!



Author's Response: Thank you for these lovely and very kind comments, angelocustode. I am thrilled that the story held up for you during a second reading. We never got to see them part when Spock goes home to Vulcan and Gol, but it must have been traumatic on both their parts. I've always wanted to be a fly on that wall. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2013 2:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

Stunning!

 



Author's Response: Thanks so much, WeirdLittleStories. I'm glad the story caused that response from you. I appreciate your comment.

Reviewer: 23174611 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2013 12:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

this is such a beautifully written piece and it touched me in so many different places. you were true to the characters and it perfectly captured the depth and complexity of the relationship between Spock and Jim. thank you.



Author's Response: It means a lot to me for someone to say I kept Jim and Spock in character. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for responding.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/2012 5:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

Like GoClimbATree, I am an older Trek fan who began watching the show (and loving it) while it originally aired.  I have written some fan fiction and have been published in a few zines, but I have read much more fanfic than I have had published.  This is the sort of story I want to read.  Yes, I enjoy the poetry, the ficlets, etc., occasionally, even some PWP when the mood is right.  But what I want to read...and write about...is the inner lives of these two fascinating, mature men. This is a lovely piece of adult fiction not in that it contains descriptions of sexuality but that it deals with how mature, adult individuals deal with relationships.  Well done.



Author's Response: Oh,my. Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it. I never caught the sshow when it first aired, but when I did I fell hook,line and sinker. I, too, write what I want to read. Thanks again for responding.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2012 9:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great story.Gives so much more to the motion picture.



Author's Response: Thanks, argona. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Your locs havemade my month!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2012 8:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is an amazing piece. The form chosen to convey the story is inspirational. But more than that it fits Jim's behaviour in TMP and the undercurrents in Roddenberry's TMP version. The last lines encapsulates Kirk's response in sickbay, which sort of says well Soock you finally caught up with me.  Seldom do you find  a fic that says, this is the cannon version that makes the most sense. This is undoubtedly one of those rare Fics. The kind all dream of writing but few of us reach the hallowed halls.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, SORAL179. Wow, what a lovely review! I'm glad yopu enjoyed my story, and I so appreciate your taking the time and trouble to respond.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2012 10:01 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this so much. It was only Jim speaking, hence the title. It was passionate, filled with such emotion. Brilliant...

Author's Response: It's always very special when someone responds so favorably to a story, and for you to do so more than once touched me deeply. Thank you so much. I'm glad the story worked for you the second time as well as it did the first.

Reviewer: nothingcomestomind Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2011 3:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

This story is utterly amazing, in every imaginable way.  I usually notice technical errors in nearly every author's work. If even one was present here, I didn't notice or can't recall it. I was so consumed by the drama unfolding before me, I felt like something more substantial than a fly on the wall.  The atmosphere, characterizations, integrity... Amazing that you could uphold such respect for these characters that you could make K/S seem not only NOT OOC, for me, but virtually inevitable. 

I also loved this story because it had the best mix I've perhaps ever come across of angst, hurt/comfort, and OPTIMISM!  Perfection!!!  You write so well, express your characters so beautifully, and concisely (I bet if I read the story again, I won't find a single superfluous word).

I've read tons of ST FF and I doubt a better story has ever been written.

Please, don't stop writing ST FF!



Author's Response: Wow! I'm so glad you enjoyed my story. As a teacher, I do try to make the writing as clean as possible, as we all do, I'm sure. Still mistakes do manage to creep in. Thanks for your lovely comments. It pleases me that I was able to convey some of what I feel for these two extraordinary characters.

Reviewer: Kirkinadream Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/27/2011 4:00 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a unique way you have to telling the story of leaving for Gol and what preceded it.  Kirk's voice was true and real.  I could hear him in my head as I read your story.  Remarkable.



Author's Response: I take it as a great compliment that you found Duet For One Voice written in a unique way. With forty-five years of K/S as a legacy, to write something fresh is a distinct challenge. It pleases me so much that you think I achieved that, Kirkinadream. And that I captured Kirk's voice. Thank you.

Reviewer: Kara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2010 9:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

I don't know how you do it, but this is yet another story of yours that made me cry... And I'm not very prone to tears. Usually ;).

Wonderful.



Author's Response: Your LOC means a lot to me, Kara. By the time I submit a story I've usually reread it so many times that it loses whatever emotional resonance it once held for me. Thanks so much for telling me it was still there for you.

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 9:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

Breathtaking. Quite simply one of the best. Thank you for this :)



Author's Response: Wow! Your comments were wonderful to read. Thank you for responding. I'm so glad the story worked for you.

Reviewer: titC Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 10:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

*gloups* heart-wrenching and very believable take on the end of the mission, K/S style... *snif* thankfully I know it all gets better afterwards! Spock, um. Dies. BWAAAAAAAAH! but hey, Jim always gets his Spock back in the end, whatever the means!

thanks for the powerful, moving read !

 



Author's Response: I'm so glad you found the story emotionally moving. Thank you for taking the time to tell me that it touched you. It's very gratifying to know that I've transmitted some of what I feel for Spock and Jim Kirk to someone else.

Reviewer: GoClimbATree Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 4:09 AM Title: Chapter 1

I can't tell you how refreshing it is to read a story like this. Well written, very much in character, vivid and beautifully en voice, this story gave me great pleasure to peruse.

For more than forty years, I've been immersed in at least the readership of this fine fandom and K/S was my first pairing so far back in my pre-teen days that it's hard to remember the dawning of it.  I always enjoyed the richness of character and, for the most part, the seriousness and beauty of the writing of it.

I always found, at least in my, admittedly choosy, reading experience, that ST:TOS had some of the most well-written and mature stories of most fandoms out there.  Such is, I've found, the case with many of the "old" fandoms out there.

Sadly (and this is stated as a fact of personal preference only), with the coming of the movie (which I did, in fact, enjoy) came a new type of story; one that went beyond what I enjoyed in this fandom.  It was one that sometimes went beyond the faithfulness to canon and more into the personal preferences of the writer.  There is absolutely *nothing* wrong with this, but it's just not my cup of tea, especially for this fandom.  I'm not an "mpreg/genderswap/let's see the guys as high-schoolers/crack for crack's sake type of reader".  If I want to read those genres, I'll pick another fandom altogether, or read original fiction.  If I want to read K/S, then I want my characters to BE K/S.

Yours are.  Wonderfully, beautifully.  And it goes far to remind me why, in the angst of my long forgotten youth, why I was drawn to this show and this pairing so deeply and strongly.  And it gives me hope for the future; that there are still wonderful, in character, stories out there for me to read.

Thank you so much for sharing your talent with me.  It is a joy to behold.

 



Author's Response: That you think I kept Kirk and Spock in character means a great deal to me. That is always my intention whether I'm writing canon or AU, though the latter is, of course, more of a challenge. Thanks for your insightful comments and your very kind review.

Reviewer: estralita Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2010 3:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh wow, this is absolutely perfect!  Simple and beautiful.



Author's Response: Your very kind comments were lovely to read. Thank you, estalita. I'm glad you enjoyed my story.

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2010 1:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

Poor Jim all those years with Spock , only to get one night of passion.



Author's Response: Yes, but think of all those nights of passion to come when he returns a wiser Vulcan. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2010 12:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

Carolyn I love you..there I said it. This was so wonderful I cannot even tell you how much.  It was exactly how I would picture the last day on the Enterprise.  Jim would be ticked off at his best friend...He would yell, scream, call him names...and then he would make love to him..and Spock would let him...one time.  I love how you wrote it also...you have it spoken by Jim explaining it all to McCoy but no one else speaks...a duet for one voice...how perfect a title to go with a perfect story.  Jim at the end knows the truth deep down...He will come back...and we all know he does....



Author's Response: Dahliaxat, I'm so glad you liked the story. I can think of very few things that would have caused Spock to leave his home on the Enterprise, though I suppose every K/Ser would see it a different way. Thanks for telling me my way worked for you.

You must login (register) to review.