Reviews For All Along: Fortune
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: doomedpassion Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2013 11:45 PM Title: Epilogue

so beautiful =)

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2013 7:15 PM Title: Epilogue

I look forward to the sequel.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2013 6:45 PM Title: Chapter 11

wow, somebody needs to punch that guardiem ad litem, fer reals

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2013 6:12 PM Title: Chapter 7

wow, this is just fascinating

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2013 5:58 PM Title: Over the Edge

Spock has been a sneaky bastard for too long. I have three responses: call 911, call 911, call 911.


Enjoying this story a lot, even if I disagree with you on some things. For example, McCoy is not a pediatric doctor, but if he were an intern on rotation and Jim were the first case of child abuse he ran into, that would explain his extreme interest in the case. Also, I never passed long notes like that in school--used shorthand--would have been caught otherwise. But I'm really enjoying the relationships between Jim and his friends and many of the details of Jim's life really ring true with people I knew who grew up in abusive households. Jim's emotional journey is truly fascinating. And I also like the way you portray Spock's limitations.


Also, Spock's behavior could TOTALLY come off as child molestor grooming a victim. Obviously he's not, and Jim's mother is too neglectful to intervene. In this case he's exactly what he appears to be, a caring adult. But I do find it kind of amusing.



Author's Response:

Thank you for such a well thought out review! :) lol, the child molester thing has been pointed out by several people. I was too close to the story when I wrote it to see it, if you know what I mean, but when I reread the story earlier this week I saw it. I edited the versions on ff.net and Ao3 to try and correct it, but I haven't gotten around to editing the version on this site. No major changes, just tweaking to make him more in character and less weird. Yeah, I'm not too knowledgable about the internship phase, and I was homeschooled, so yeah, you're probably right. Glad I got the emotions right though - never been around abused kids much so it was me guessing and trying to put myself in his shoes. So glad you like it!

Reviewer: Zzickle Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2012 2:58 PM Title: Epilogue

As a completed story, this should not be in the WIPs category.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 4:22 AM Title: Epilogue

Thank you for wrapping up this story. I do hope that soon you find yourself in a situation in which you can write the sequel, or other story of your choice.

Its been great to read your work.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 4:18 AM Title: Permanent Home

dang.. why is it that bullies keep being bullying!.. let me at him and... grrr...

but whoot!! they are family now!

 

 

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2011 4:17 AM Title: Chapter 11

Thanks for the update!

I can see the opinion of the court in here, that Jim needed both parent influence, and stable ones.

From Jim's reaction, I am almost fearing a semi link has been formed.

 

Reviewer: wanderer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2011 12:36 PM Title: Epilogue

Thank you. Lovely Jim&Spock. ^^

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2011 9:27 AM Title: Epilogue

Nice job. I like the way you finished this. At the moment they were contented. They still have a long way to go.

I could see a sequel to this. Lots if possibilities.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2011 8:22 AM Title: Epilogue

Thanks for a wonderful story and I found the vid......great job......thanks for sharing....

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2011 3:09 AM Title: Permanent Home

I'm glad it all seemed to work for Jim and Spock.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2011 3:57 AM Title: Chapter 11

So, Spock doesn't know how to ask Jim what's going on? They're both misunderstanding each other.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2011 5:48 AM Title: Chapter 10

oh boyy, I want to punch Finnegan in the face now... I think injuring him would put Jimmy into more trouble, so I am glad it didnt come into that.

It is interesting how the lack of communication is already causing a misunderstanding.

Thanks for updating!

Reviewer: Bastet Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2011 3:34 AM Title: Chapter 10

This is coming along nicely. I suspect that Jim's curiosity will win out and he's going to check out that memory device he saw hanging in Spock's room.

Reviewer: Mostillogical Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2011 7:58 PM Title: Chapter 10

Oh interesting that Jim found young Spock, I am wondering what will happen with that!

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2011 4:53 PM Title: Chapter 10

Poor Spock and Jim.  They need to talk. They both have the wrong idea right now.

Will young Spock call Jim?

Reviewer: Tonati Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2011 9:47 PM Title: Chapter 9

omg, I think this is one of the sweetest scenes you have painted for us. Thank you.

Winona is rising my red flags, though. Hey, just because one is paranoid, it doesnt mean there is no one out to hunt!

Thank you. I enjoyed this read and it kept me warm.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2011 4:19 PM Title: Chapter 9

I'm glad Winona didn't cause problems for Jim and Spock when they were picking up his things.

I really liked the enterprise tour and simulation. It was nice seeing Pike before he was a captain.

Nice job.

You must login (register) to review.