Reviews For Observations
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 8:28 PM Title: 104- War and Diplomacy: The measure of a leader

Gripping

Reviewer: goleh1990 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 7:56 PM Title: 1- Introduction: Spock

I simply loved it . Your stroy has been told and it will remain with me for the rest of my life. Thank you for being in one chapter of my life .

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 7:21 PM Title: 1- Introduction: Spock

A wee problem -- as it stands, chapters 230, 232, and 236 are all blank.  Were they supposed to be blank?  Cos the ending seems kind of jumbled and confused, I'm thinking those 3 missing chapters would help a lot.  I like your Jim voice very much indeed; Spock sometimes sounds right and sometimes too colloquial for me -- but hell, that isn't a big problem,ya?

City on the Edge of Forever is my favourite part, and also the bit where Jim first was rescued from the Gamesters.  Got to say though, there is an awful lot of barely punctuated stream-of-consciousness; it's not that it's badly written, but after a while I got to the MEGO point, sorry to say.  Perhaps as much my fault as thine, O Author, for I am definitely Captain ADD and Hyper-Man, to the max.

*However* -- tis a grand read, I've been utterly absorbed for days; even the bits I disagreed with were nicely done, and I am amazed at the amount of work and time you must have put into this.  If at some point you wanted to add an appendix with translations, etc., that would be seriously cool.

I'll check back in a day or so and see if you got the blank chapters problem repaired.

Greywolf

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 6:56 PM Title: 103- War and Diplomacy: War

Wowee

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 5:13 PM Title: 101- The City on the Edge of Forever: December 21, 2009

Loved it!  Thanks for writing it and publishing it here.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 4:57 PM Title: 100- Let me help

Wouldn't it be wonderful if Spock doesn't die because of Genesis and Kahn?  There are other ways to prove one's' devotion  and love.  But I remember what they say :  There's no greater love than when a man gives up his life so that his friend may live.  What kind of life is it that we have if we must live it without that one special love?  Best to die together.  Well, that's just my thoughts about it. 

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 4:01 PM Title: 97- The City on the Edge of Forever: Two trees

Those trees are lovely.  Just the leaves of the Ginkgo are pretty to see.  I hope in this Reboot universe the newer Spock and Jim never part.  I hope they spend Spock's pon Farr togethre too. 

Oh, I forgot to mention that I loved the cleaning robots Very comical. 

And I should have included underexpressed love with unexpressed love as tragic. 

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 3:09 PM Title: 96- The City on the Edge of Forever: Complications

Spock cursing was funny.  There've been other very funny moments in this story already.  The K-force stuff and the chocolate for Vulcans scenes were hilarious.  Chess boxing?  IT's funny, but somehow quite plausible too.   49 gigs of porn downloaded in 7 work shifts?  That guy musta been a porn addict.  Jim's trash talk throughout is funny too.  Well he is in the future's version of the navy.  Sailors are known for their dirty mouths!  There were some very moving moments in all these chapters so far, as well.  I normally cn't make myself stop long enough to review.   I wonder if everyone is gonna be so damn ggood lookin in the future? 

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 10:34 AM Title: 88- The City on the Edge of Forever: New York

beautiful.

Let there never be a second Atlantis made of New York city.  War will happen, but it need not be so destructive anywhere or any longer.  I'm probably just wishing upon a star.  Why would nukes ever be discarded now?  That  would be out of character for humanity.  You never can tell what'll be, though.  The idea of New york or Tokyo or Rome or wtv becoming real life Pompeis is disturbing. Those places don't just belong to their citizens.  They are commonly owned properties in truth, like the Gulf of Mexico (I live less than an hourand a half from the Gulf) or the rainforests in Brazil.  I'm so glad you put them in our time.  It's a refreshing change from the old episode and all the stories written about and from it in the last 4 decades. 

Thinking about it more, I prefer "man-to-man " to "hand-to-hand.  It sounds right and new too.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 10:11 AM Title: 87- The City on the Edge of Forever: Reboot

Bones made himself a real pain in the neck.   This episode from TOS always made me sad.   That's all irrelevant nonsense, of course.  I'll read on, now.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 8:15 AM Title: 82- Blindness: Oblivious

 I love how you used the prime directive!  The Swalili adages are memorable.  At some point, I fthink friends should interfere to end denial in love. Unexpressed love is such a tragedy, it must be vanquished.  I think deafness isolates people too much.  Communication is what keeps us from feeling alone and lonely. 

Everyone should read this book. 

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 7:52 AM Title: 81- Blindness: Sulu, Chekov, Scotty

I wish I knew Russian or Spanish.   I always wanted to learn Russian and Latin, at least.

Great chapter, as usual.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 5:31 AM Title: 72- The Enterprise: First Contact, Nyota

This would have made a great movie or episode.  The means of communication and the symmbolism are so fascinating to me.  Great stuff!

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 4:56 AM Title: 71- The Enterprise: Apprentice

The science, math, and technology in this novel seem very well researched .  I often feel amazed at the details given.  It really seems like Spock is writing these entries. 

Thank you for this novel.  I love it!

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 1:09 AM Title: 68- The Enterprise: Chess boxing

I just wanted to let you know that the conventional phrase isn't "man-to-man" it is hand-to-hand-combat.   It isn't important. 

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2010 4:07 PM Title: 59- Singularity

Brilliant!

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2010 3:33 PM Title: 57- The Most Dangerous Game: El Cazador

Exciting! 

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2010 6:43 AM Title: 46- A leisure

A long time ago when I first began watching the TOS series, I use to wonder why a pacifist  Vulcan would put up ancient weapons on the walls of his quarters on ship.  Over time, but I can't remember why,  I realized that Spock wanted to validate his existence to himself and any interested parties by drawing attention to Vulcan's past ways.  Old Vulcan was wild and free with their feelings, like Terrans are in this Reboot universe's present.  By reminding people that Humans now and Vulcans once long ago were notably similar in words and deeds, Spock is integrating both of his cultural heritages.  The Terrans aren't so alien when compared to the pre-reform Vulcans, which comprised most of the history of Vulcan.  Deep down they're relatively alike.  The logic and extreme self-control were lessons learned and taught by Surak and his followers, not inborn Vulcan traits or boilogically inevitable characteristics of the poiny eared green blooded species.  Spock wanted to honor humans, and by so doing, honoring his mom and his being.  Nonemotion was adopted by Vulcans, but not naturally occurring to them, anymore than it is naturally occurring in Terrans.  What do you think?

I thought I should mention that I'm really enjoying your e book.  You've developed the characters from the films and TOS quite nimbly.  This really feels like Spock and Jim and Bones and the rest.  I  appreciate the episodic nature of this work.  Thanks for writing it.  I'm so glad I started reading  Observations .



Author's Response:

That's an interesting interpretation of Vulcan culture, a different take from what I chose to focus on.  I wanted to explore and emphasize the logical aspect of Vulcan society-- what does it mean to live a life ruled by logic?  (And underlying that question-- what is logic in the first place?)  How does one (particularly Spock) reconcile the devotion to logic with the seeming illogic of emotions?  Chapter 18 was an important turning point for Spock in realizing that emotion and logic do not lead to a contradiction, nor are those paradigms completely disconnected.  In that respect, I think that my interpretation isn't based in biology, but psychology.  It's interesting that you state that logic and extreme emotional self control aren't inborn traits and do not occur naturally in humans-- I disagree.  I think that logic is as essential to human existence as emotion.  Ask any mathematician.

 

Thanks for reading, and I'm glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: DreamTime Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2010 12:16 AM Title: 1- Introduction: Spock

Quite riveting - and so literate *grin*  Didn't think that there were many out there who'd read the Vicomte de Bragelonne.... 

Working my way through your piece and enjoying it hugely.

Carolin

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2010 10:17 AM Title: 132- Equality: Earth, my likeness

Beautiful.

You must login (register) to review.