Reviews For Berengaria Seven
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: KeBo Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2014 6:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very interesting perspective. That was something new. There are some stories from Bones' POV. But this one, from a fellow Vulcan, was new, and well done at that.



Author's Response:

Thanks; I'm glad you enjoyed it!  :-)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2014 7:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

A lovely tale and very much reflecting the spirit of Trek, thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks; I'm glad you enjoyed it!  :-)

Reviewer: ironland Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2011 3:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

WOW!Small story, vast world.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the comment!  :-)  I do love worldbuilding, but I usually go "long".  This has to be the shortest piece I've ever done in which I tried to convey the sense of an entire culture.

Reviewer: titC Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 10:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

beautiful - the images, the love, and the POV... loved it!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much - I'm glad you enjoyed it.  :-)

Reviewer: Natasha Solten Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2010 11:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a beautifully written story.  Also, the point of view filled me with that old Trek feeling of the loneliness of long distances, the longing for the stars.  And I love to see Kirk and Spock through another's eyes.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your comments!  I do love writing 3rd party POV stories.  I'd been struggling with this story concept for ages (it was originally supposed to be a "challenge" story for an issue of the ezine Side By Side).  That didn't work out.  Then the Grandmother character just came to me. and the story practically wrote itself.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/15/2010 3:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

What a lovely story! This was beautiful way to celebrate coming-togethers and inter-species alliances, incarnated both in Kirk and Spock themselves, and the Federation and Berengaria on the other. In few words you managed to depict a whole world, its people and their traditions. I love how you chose to introduce us to Berengaria through the eyes of the grandmother... elders have so much knowledge they can share, so much wisdom. It was also a great way to let us see the generation gap that would form on a world after First Contact, and the difference in way of life it would bring to those who were born after it and those before. we see how the grandmother can't truly understand what life it is her granddaughter lives, but she stills listens and loves. And of course, it's always wonderful to see Kirk and Spock through someone else's eyes, what facade they present to the world and the little details that reveal  their love for each other. Kudos too for the pro-environment message which is much more efficiently in this allegory than a moralistic speech would be. Beautiful tale.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!  :-)  I very much enjoy writing outsider POV stories; it's an excellent opportunity to see Kirk and Spock from an entirely different perspective.  I also enjoy worldbuilding - I'm a SF fan from way back.  Thanks so much for your comments on the character of the grandmother.  I'd recently been thinking quite a bit about my grandfather, who passed away at the age of 98.  He was born in 1878 and passed away in 1976 - it's hard to grasp the incredible changes he saw during his life.  I'd been tossing around various ideas for this story, which had been the merest germ of an idea for two years now, ever since Farfalla issued her "dragon challenge".  I knew then that I wanted to write about Berengaria Seven - but until Grandmother showed up and "started talking", I didn't know precisely what I wanted to say.  Gotta love the writing process.   Thanks also for your comments on the environmental message.  I've been wanting to write a "classic" TOS story - i.e., one that incorporated a message, just as so many TOS episodes did. 

Reviewer: Mara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2009 10:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

An extraordinarily beautiful story that brought tears to my eyes.  Wonderful visual images and so very tightly written without any wasted words.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I'm very happy you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Mara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2009 9:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

An extraordinarily beautiful story that brought tears to my eyes.  Wonderful visual images and so very tightly written without any wasted words.  Thank you.

Reviewer: thisthat Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2009 12:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Excellent. This is a beautiful story, to the point where I'm genuinely unsure how to best compliment it. The writing style itself is unbelievably beautiful, and it has such a wonderful, warm feeling to it (though that may just be me.)

I really hope that you one day consider writing your own novels. You're wonderfully skilled with words.



Author's Response:

Wow!  *blush* Thanks for the wonderful review; I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.  I write poetry, and I know I bring some of that way of looking at things to my stories.  I have been pro-published, though not in ages.  I haven't felt any compelling need to pursue pro writing - I can write exactly what I want to with fanfic.  I have a friend who writes pro novels and also writes fanfic, and she told me that the shelf-life for her books is usually  only a few months, but she still gets comments on fic she wrote 20 years ago.  And I really love writing as part of being involved in the fannish community.  That said, if the right non-fannish idea comes along, I'll definitely pursue it.  Thanks again!  PS, I have a couple of older K/S novellas, dating back to the 80s, that I plan to post to this archive in the coming months.

Reviewer: DreamTime Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2009 3:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

Beautifully done - made me smile last night!  Dragons and my favorite pair of guys sketched tenderly from an interesting POV.  Well-written, too - an important criterion for this grouchy comp instructor :-)

Carolin



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it!  I enjoyed writing outsider POV stories, and I also like having some SF with my K/S.

You must login (register) to review.