You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2010 4:42 PM Title: Chapter 9

I can't believe I neevr read this story before!!! I'm a sucker for UST and not only do you have some in spades it, but you're managing to make it last and last, and last!!! You're my new best friend :-D. I love your plot , your writing is powerfully evocative and I love the way you've managed to give the Talos situation a different ending, but it is really the dynamic betwen Kirk and his Spocks (because I'd sau both are his here) that really got to me. By the way, IMO you left "pre-slash behind a while ago; to me this IS slash - they simply haven't gotten around to the sex yet ;) All those moments between Kirk and Spock, full of love and yearning and tension thick enough to cut through wiith a knife keep me on the edge of my seat. I think my favorite is the bit at the end of chapter 2 & beginning of chapter 3, Kirk activating Spock's emergency booster, and Spock looking at him in agony, before grabbing him for the desperate tandem transportation and their elation when they materialize on the ship, grabbing at each other.... When I read the line "Spock looked at him as though the thought of never seeing him again was a lot worse than the thought of drowning alone at the bottom of a power plant" I just turned into putty.

And the UST with Spock Prime as well... hou là là! *fans self*  I have to admit it gives me a slightly guilty little thrill every time. Poor reboot!Spock is so jealous and uncertain, but how can we deny dear Spock Prime just that little hint of the love he lost? I want all the Spocks and the Jims to be happy. I don't know where you are heading with this story now, as the Vulcan colony seems to have been saved already, but I'm following you anywhere. :-D And I'm hoping for a glimpse of the dressing down Jim is going to give Spock Prime :-DDDD Thanks so much for sharing!



Author's Response:

Me, too. :). I want all of the Spocks and Jims to be happy, but I just don't think I can swing it. So, in the meantime, I figured why not give everybody at least a little taste of happiness. They all deserve a good day now and then.

Reviewer: mila Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/2010 3:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

How incredibly refreshing to read a Reboot story where Kirk does not sound like a potty-mouthed, half-moronic, thirteen-year-old girl.  Unfortunately there are so many stories out there these days where the Kirk portrayed is hardly worthy of command of a garbage truck, much less a flagship of the federation and the idea that Spock would fall in love with such a creature is nothing short of propostrous.  The Kirk in your story is brilliant, interesting, brave and most importantly, worthy of Spock. ..and I seldom get the distinct urge to spank him :) Thank you for renewing my faith in Reboot fiction.  I look forward to the next installment, as I do to all your work.  You are truly one of the very best in our fandom.  Bravo.



Author's Response:

man, high praise. I'm glad you think my Kirk is worthy of command. It's kind of a thin line I'm walking-this is a story set after he's been captain for a while, so I want him competent and relaxed in his command style, but I also want him recognizably rougher and younger than the way I write TOS Kirk. I'm glad he's coming across as somebody actually likeable.

Reviewer: xam Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2010 9:43 PM Title: Chapter 9

I've been reading this story for quite some time but have never reviewed since I was not a member of this site.  My desire to tell you how much I enjoy your writting prompted me to become a member in order to leave you this review.  I love your character development and the pace of this story.  I also enjoyed Spock Prime's role earlier in the story.    I look forward to reading more of this soon (unfortunately I have found few stories that have enjoyable plots and really good character development...so I really appreciate it when I find a gem like this one!).   I hope you are able to update again soon.  Best wishes!



Author's Response:

wow, I'm really glad you like what I write. Spock Prime isn't done here yet (I like him too much).

Reviewer: Sahviere Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2010 7:57 AM Title: Chapter 9

Just had to leave another review and tell you that the high expectations you created with your early chapters on this are being fulfilled beautifully. Enjoying this very, very much, and I look forward to each new chapter with anticipation.



Author's Response:

awesome. Hope I didn't disappoint. :)



Author's Response:

awesome. Hope I didn't disappoint. :)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2010 1:07 AM Title: Chapter 9

uh, wow, I really wasn't going to comment on this chapter, but then you ended on that particular note. I am hooked.

 

BTW, what exactly did Kirk agree to with the Talosians? I wasn't quite clear on that.



Author's Response:

That he'd go off and get some diplomats and scientists and smart people to help them with their dying civilization, and in return...erm...the Talosians wouldn't mindrape and imprison them when they arrive. Kinda one-sided, actually. (Well, there's the implication of friendship and sharing of staggeringly advanced technology-but that's only if the diplomats don't screw it up)

Reviewer: mazaher Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/21/2010 5:01 PM Title: Chapter 9

"Amazing thing, reality”. Plato disposed of at last, in just three words. Hooray! (I wonder how exactly do you do it? do you take lessons from Old Spock?)


“They saw the piece inside of each other that was exactly the same”. Oh *yes*, that’s how it feels. I feel like crying of joy at this phrase.


This is a great story, and this chapter is among the most vivid. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Hmm. A bit. Also Marcus Aurelius, who, with all due respect, could have kicked Plato's ass. Or, you know, ordered it kicked.:) I'm so glad you like it!

Reviewer: Barn Bunny Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2010 5:49 PM Title: Chapter 9

Holy Moly and OH MY GOODNESS!!!

Here i am, just having discovered your story, just having left a review - and there you are, posting another chapter!  Which was very awesome, by the way.

Once again, i LOVE how you had Kirk and Spock and Bones interact with their world. Also, the way you went about having Kirk convice the big-headed aliens to accept help...brilliant! Not only was his speech short and to the point, you demonstrated his ability to come up with different plans of action quickly and under pressure in a way most beautiful!

THANK YOU!!

Now, I shall anxiously await your next post, in which you will bring the character of Spock the Elder into play.  Whom, of course, you also write and describe very awesomely.



Author's Response:

Thanks. Spock Prime is always fun to write.

Reviewer: Barn Bunny Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2010 2:20 PM Title: Chapter 8

HOLY CRAP THIS IS FREAKING AWESOME!!

I am in love with your story right now - and i can't believe there aren't any more chapters to read!

I adore your characterizations of both Spocks and Kirk, and all their little interactions together - it all seemed so real, while I was reading it, that I've only just now realized i completely lost track of time!

This is a great story, and I can't wait to read more.

Thank you for sharing this!



Author's Response:

Oops. Actually, there is another chapter. I just put it up. I'm really glad you like the Kirk/Spock interactions, I try to make them seem believable and emotional without getting sappy.

Reviewer: diversam Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/26/2010 1:44 AM Title: Chapter 1

Kiera Marcos got me started on this site, and I am so lucky to have found this story.  Thanks for several great evenings of reading.



Author's Response:

My pleasure. I'm glad you're enjoying the story and the site.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2010 3:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

Woo hoo hoo, way to totally kick the Talosians' asses!!  Heh heh heh...  "You want some rage?  Here, have some moar!!"

Heh heh heh...  loving this BB -- write moar anytime!!

Greywolf, grinning



Author's Response:

Oh yes. When I remembered the Talosian's 'weakness' I positively cackled with glee...

Reviewer: Saharra Shadow Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2010 6:10 AM Title: Chapter 8

Oh my. This just keeps getting better and better. I'm so excited about whatever idea Kirk's got in his head now. :D



Author's Response:

just wait. I love it when a plan comes together, and it's coming together now...

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2010 2:06 AM Title: Chapter 8

absolutely rocking chapter. so messed up and awesome. it feels great to see Talosian ass getting kicked.



Author's Response:

yeah, they kinda deserved it. :)

Reviewer: avictoriangirl Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/2010 4:05 PM Title: Chapter 7

This is just amazing. I have been avidly devouring all of your fic here on the archive and have to tell you that I love each and every one of them. Your characterizations are simply perfect! It is the rare writer than can actually make me picture the characters in my head while I'm reading. Please never stop writing K/S. And please hurry with the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Honestly, I don't think I ever will. I love those guys too much-I'll keep writing even if nobody's reading. And the next chapter's up, as requested.

Reviewer: twisting_vine_x Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/2010 5:37 AM Title: Chapter 7

Oh my god, this is fantastic beyond belief. I'll be checking every day for more... I just... oh my god. Breaking my own WIP rule here, because this is just way, way, WAY too good. You keep reaching into my chest and tugging every heart string.

<3



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like it! WIP'S aren't all bad...every now and then you get a little surprise treat when you check the site.

Reviewer: verizonhorizon Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2010 5:56 PM Title: Chapter 7

I'm still loving this fic, so I was psyched to see a new chapter. Of course Jim wants Spock there...Ahhh, angst...hopefully hurt/comfrot and they'll make a dashing escape!



Author's Response:

hope it was dashing enough for you :)

Reviewer: Sahviere Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2010 3:05 AM Title: Chapter 7

Loving how Kirk's attitude and approach to the Talosians is so wonderfully *Kirk*, and nu!Kirk at that. Really great re-vamp of The Cage, and just echoing everyone's delight at your K/S relationship nuances, really looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I really enjoyed going through that episode and picking out the decisions Kirk would have made differently. I'm glad he seems nuKirk to you, I have to be careful when I write not to slip into classicKirk sometimes.

Reviewer: verizonhorizon Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01/15/2010 5:16 PM Title: Chapter 5

I just read everything that's here so far and LOVED it! So many parts that were just amazing. I loved how Kirk saved the day with the powerplant. I absolutely was floored when he and Spock shared the transporter beam. I actually thought they might try that, but then I was like no, that won't work! But then it did work! So I was super excited. It felt just like the movie, where Chekov and Scotty work their magic wonders - outdoing the expected. Kirk outdid the expected several times arlready in rescuing the drowning Vulcans (and how heartbreaking that some came back in pieces) and saving Spock Prime - twice! I love, love, love stories in which nuSpock is jealous of Spock Prime - so you've got me hooked like the Kirk-fish Spock snatched up out of the water. It was cool to find out that Kirk wasn't as allergic to everything as people think, and it was cool to include the obviously one-sided Chapel-Spock. This last chapter had such an intense conversation between Kirk and Spock Prime. Wow. Cackling tension. I think Kirk is right to be worried how overwhelming it will be when he gets with nuSpock; and, according to Prime, nuSpock will be equally overwhemlmed. Be careful, boys!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked everything!

Reviewer: mazaher Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2010 5:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your Spock Prime gets better and better in time-- I'm more than half in love with him myself. How true that class never gets old.



Author's Response:

I love Spock Prime. My diabolical goal is to make everyone else love him too.

Reviewer: Sahviere Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2010 9:37 AM Title: Chapter 4

“Goodnight, sir,” Spock replied, pulling his hands away from Kirk in a manner that seemed to suggest his hands were against the idea.

I need to stop re-reading this line, my face seems to have stuck in helpless smile mode, and I'm blaming you.

 



Author's Response:

guilty :)

Reviewer: Phoebe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/28/2009 6:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

Love this story, Jackhawksmoor, and I'm all giddy that you're writing more K/S! You need to flesh out the "Menagerie" reference--pleeease!!!  I wanna see how Jim and Spock in this universe deal with super smart brainy aliens (i.e., the Talosians).  Should be fun times.

 

:)



Author's Response:

That's the plan...might be a chapter before we get there, though. Those poor, poor Talosians don't even know what they're in for...

You must login (register) to review.