Reviews For Abandoned
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2014 11:48 PM Title: Abandoned

I agree with you; I thought "I feel young" was a ham-handed attempt to give us a happy ending, but it was horribly wrong under the circumstances.

 

Reviewer: Petraneferu Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2013 4:10 PM Title: Abandoned

I've been thinking that maybe Kirk said he felt young because the body of Spock was beginning to regenerate and he felt that through the bond? It's the only thing I can come up with that explains the statement, because it makes absolutely no sense under the circumstances.

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/11/2011 11:34 PM Title: Abandoned

Personally, I thought that line worked- partly because of David's attempt to comfort, but mostly because there's something about the tenderness and humbled look in Kirk/Shatner's eyes when he says that line that I associate very much with being young and feeling sort of emotionally 'raw'/melancholic in a bittersweet sort of way/very caught up in and aware of one's emotions, not just innocent and careless (or maybe I'm just reading too much into it- being young is, in the end, a quite subjective experience).

In any case, you've got a beliavable, thought-provoking and moving fic here, with an in my opinion good re-interpretation of what that line could mean. While I indeed believe in Kirk feeling 'young' in that very moment, this one seems to me a plausible version of how Kirk might feel later, when he's had had time to reflect and 'calm down' a bit.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2010 3:14 PM Title: Abandoned

Thanks--I've never bought it either. So many things I've wondered about have found an answer in ST lit, or research, or fanfiction--but that? Never.
A great story and God it really hits you in the gut. Never to...never more....
It really is like that.
But somehow I doubt you need me to tell you.

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2010 7:31 PM Title: Abandoned

I cried

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/17/2010 6:20 PM Title: Abandoned

I watched WoK for the first time last week and the "I feel young" line had me all "WTF???" Someone who was at the very least your dear, dear friend has just died in front of your eyes giving his life for you and your ship, and you're filled with wonder at the birth of a new world and feeling YOUNG?? Er, so NOT. That line felt more than illogical and out of place to me, it was downright insensitive, and it also seems at odds with what I've heard of Kirk's state of mind over Spock's death at the beginning of STIII. I like your version of what "I fell young" might actually mea much better. This was sad fic, but a nicely written and touching expression of Kirk's grief and unavowed love.

Reviewer: CheetahLiv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/21/2007 8:20 PM Title: Abandoned

What a touching story. I never bought it when Kirk said, "I feel young," either. What a beautiful and sad story! I'm going to have a good cry now.

Reviewer: CheetahLiv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/21/2007 8:20 PM Title: Abandoned

What a touching story. I never bought it when Kirk said, "I feel young," either. What a beautiful and sad story! I'm going to have a good cry now.

Reviewer: CheetahLiv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/21/2007 8:20 PM Title: Abandoned

What a touching story. I never bought it when Kirk said, "I feel young," either. What a beautiful and sad story! I'm going to have a good cry now.

You must login (register) to review.