You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2014 5:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Why would Kirk and McCoy even tell Spock that the illness had come from him in the first place?  If there was nothing anyone could do to help the infected people, and if Spock didn't do it on purpose, why tell him?  It seems terribly gratuitous to me; I have trouble believing that either of them would do that to him.

 

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2013 11:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this was heartwrenching, and there can be no happy fluffy ending to it, can there?  I like stories like this, because they remind me the world (and the worlds beyond it) are not always pleasant places and death happens everywhere to everyone.  But the final image of Jim holding Spock, and "maybe you'll finally see what's been clear as a bell to me and half the damned crew for the past three years" made me happy.  You did an excellent job with this story.  Thank you so much!



Author's Response:

 Thanks.  My apologies for not getting back to you sooner.  I hope to get a few more stories posted soon.  Problem is that I always find a million things wrong so end up rewriting a lot, which makes what should be a rather straightforward thing into a major project.  Oh well.  After all this time I don't suppose that's ever going to change.

Reviewer: lah_mrh Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2013 8:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really liked this. It isn't easy to make Spock breaking down in tears believable, but I could see it happening the way you wrote it. Someone who reveres life the way he does would be devastated in that situation, even if he knew logically that it wasn't his fault. And the way Kirk comforted him when he finally did break down felt very true to character as well.

Reviewer: String Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2013 4:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh wow I'm really enjoying it.

May I have the honour of translating this fanfic into Chinese and sharing it with my friends @mtslash.com?



Author's Response:

Of course you can.  That would be really amazing.

Thanks for the feedback.  I hope you liked the ending.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2011 2:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Great.It's a real Sc-Fi story.

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2010 9:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

For the first time ever, I am crying over a fanfic!  Although I have a healthy appetite for KS stories, I tend to read most of them with a vague detachment because I can't take them seriously.  Not so with this one! You handled the plot and the characterization with amazing tenderness and realism.  Your portrayal of Kirk, Spock and Bones goes way beyond the usual caricatures I've come across in fanfiction and when Spock was weeping in Kirk's arms near the end, I was bawling as if I were in the room with them.  Thank you for your amazing contribution to the world of KS and for irreversably setting the bar higher for me as a writer! ^_^



Author's Response:

Wow.  Thanks so much. I'm in a bit of a slump now and your kind words couldn't have come at a better time. Makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Reviewer: kamelion Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2010 6:58 AM Title: Chapter 1

BRILLIANT!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the feedback.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/14/2009 3:53 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a deeply moving, upsetting, gorgeous piece of a story. I expected this to go the standard way, Spock finding a miracle way to go back to the place he'd inavdvertently infected, McCoy curing most of the people, Spock letting Jim see his relief and the two of them falling in each other's arms. But instead you turned this into a totally human and much more realistic story. In true life there are very seldom miracle solutions; all we can do is try to accept our mistakes and learn to live with them. That it was Spock, the controlled but so not emotion-free Vulcan who had to deal with the knowledge of the devastating consequences of his... not actions, since he didn't willfully do anything, but his presence, in the warped universe, made for a very powerful and heart-wrenching story. His already lowered barriers with Kirk and his worry for his friendin the beginning, his complete withdrawal trying to hide from his emotions at what happened on the planet, the way McCoy saw right through it, Jim in turn worrying sick about him, then his reaching breaking point and collapsing in the arms of the one man he knows he respects, admires and yes, love most, and realizing that Jim would never think less of him...simply awesome. When he started going on about hearing the cries of the children in his sleep I wanted so badly to hold him, too, but I knew Jim was there to do the job, and was undoubtedly more welcome than I would have been. Those last few scenes between Spock and Jim, that spoke of acceptance and love, are my favorite. Even without slash, the relationship between the two of them was beautiful and gripping and deep and I enjoyed it to pieces. And I love the glimmer of hope for more for them given through McCoy's eyes. This is emotional hurt/comfort at its best.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  Feedback is very important to an author, makes all the hard work (and, in my case at least, it is hard work), worthwhile.  Your review was thoughtful, detailed and extremely encouraging.  It means a great deal to me.

 

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2009 5:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

Damn, but this story Kicks Ass!!  What happens is so fucked up, and so very realistic and believable.  Spock's reaction to it is spot on; that's Spock, that's what he *does*.  Yow!

I only see one teensy glitch -- at the very end, where it says they will be going past that world in six months or so, I thought the world was in a different universe, so they *couldn't* get back.  Is *very* teensy; the story itself rocks to the max!

Greywolf, impressed as all hell



Author's Response:

Arcadia did exist in both universes.  They were going to bury him on their side, where the warp had opened.  That was as close as they could bring him to his own world. 

Sorry if it wasn't clear. 

Thanks for the review, to you and the others.  It is very gratifying.

Reviewer: Dee G Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/07/2009 2:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/06/2009 9:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

Dear Debbie,  What an incredible story involving suspense, denial, loss, the list goes on...oh i forgot to mention the best of all.  Love...love for a friend that needs it so bad.  The reader just feels everything they are going through.  Guilt is a horrible emotion and can eat u up inside.  For Spock to finally give in to release made me cry but made me happy that he had his best friend to share it with.  The end was great because who are they fooling these 2 wonderful souls belong to each other forever and ever.  Thanks so much for a wonderful story.  Dahlia

You must login (register) to review.