Reviews For The Need For Stars
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2014 7:53 PM Title: Chapter 1

Such a bittersweet story. Beautiful!



Author's Response: Thank you, Ashaya. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I do so appreciate that you took the time to respond.

Reviewer: Gabrielle Andrille Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2014 4:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  Very, very good. 



Author's Response: Thank you, Gabrielle. I'm thrilled the story pleased you. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2014 7:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

This story is gorgeous.  I thought the whole thing was wonderful, and then I got to the very last line and needed an adjective beyond "wonderful" to describe the perfection of the last line.

 



Author's Response: Actually that last line came to me soon after I began writing the story. Thanks for telling me that it moved you and for all your lovely comments. I'm sporting the biggest grin!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 3:24 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is a lovely piece of writing, even though it is very sad.  I really want the boys to be in love and to be happy, but sometimes the stories I find the most touching are the ones where they aren't or where they are struggling toward what they should have together.  Love isn't easy.  Regrets are hell.  And missed opportunities, I have found, can be the hardest of all.  You seem to understand that well.  Thanks for this lovely piece of writing.



Author's Response: I'm so sorry to have missed responding to this loc. Don't quite know why that happened. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, Painted Bird. I have enjoyed your writing in the past and would love to see another story from you. I know what you mean about stories that highlight missed opportunities. At least in this one, they remedy that situation.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2012 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful! I always wondered what Jim really meant by saying those words..."I feel young." You gave meanning to them perfectly.It broke me heart because I realized that scene was not showing him getting over spock and starting anew.It was showing how sad and lost Jim felt.How he felt without his Spock.Beautiful fiction you have created.



Author's Response: Thanks, argona. I will admit that this story might be my favorite of the ones I've written. It just poured out, and the only job I had was writing it down. That "I feel young" remark bothered me as well.

Reviewer: nothingcomestomind Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2012 4:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

I rarely re-read a story, but a second reading of your works always reveals so much more to appreciate. I believe I've found and read TOS & 2009 stories from all of the best writers. You are the best of the best. That your stories don't turn up on rec lists is astounding and highlights disservice to all those you haven't reached. Perhaps you should post on LJ, if you haven't done so.

I could go on forever and never properly credit your skill. Your characters are more thoroughly developed, dimensional, and believably flawed than those of the most accomplished authors. I come away feeling like I know these guys on a level that should be reachable only through a mind meld. Your balancing act with Kirk's character is amazing: another pinch of selfishness and ego and he'd be a narcissistic personality beyond reach of my empathy and hope for redemption. But you manage to make me embrace this complex, selfish, self-aware, loving, struggling man hopefully--but without sympathy (what a fine balance).

I'm a Spock fan; never charmed by Kirk's lusty ego: and yet, here, you draw him at his worst and most real and I like him better than in any other depiction--in story, series, or film.

Pleeeaaase; when can we expect a new story!?



Author's Response: Hello again, nothingcomestomind. Thank you again for your lovely comments. I'm so glad the story held up for you after a second reading. That compliment meant a lot to me. Lyrastar and Cantalenamara put my stories on the archive as I am hopeless about how to do this. I don't know how to post on LJ either, so it's not likely my work will appear there anytime soon, but thanks for thinking it's good enough for rec lists. I'm presently getting another story ready to appear on the archive. Hope that one will please you as well. Carolyn

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2011 7:14 PM Title: Chapter 1

Well crafted, I love the maturity in the way you write. Especially the difficulty Kirk has in being vulnerable and open to Spock.

The suspense not knowing whether this would end before of after Khan was acute.  Thank you for giving us the pleaseure of your writing skills



Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely comments, SORAL179. This story is very special to me since it flowed effortlessly. Believe me, that's all too rare. I'm glad it worked for you.

Reviewer: nothingcomestomind Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2011 7:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really appreciate that you keep K & S in character (discrete, professional, neither of them weepy or overtly vulnerable) even while expanding their characters beyond canon - making it believable that you have behind the scenes access. While I far prefer prose to poetry, you seem to twine together the two, at times, seamlessly. I'll likely read everything you write - to the detriment of my projects schedule!



Author's Response: I can't imagine what caused me to miss your very kind comments about my work. I particularly enjoyed what you wrote about characterization. It means a lot that you thought the guys were kept in character. That's always a danger when exceeding canon. Hope the other stories don't disappoint. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: sola Katerina Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2011 10:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

You are brilliant.



Author's Response: Your three little words put a huge smile on my face. Not so,sola Katerona, but thank you very much for thinking so. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: titC Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 10:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

That's a beautiful story - the theme, the longing, the writing, the characterization... loved it all! thanks for the read!



Author's Response: Thank you, titC. The story just seemed to write itself. That doesn't happen often to me, so it's a favorite. I'm pleased you liked it.

Reviewer: spirk-sporked Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2010 4:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

*Flails* Pardon my French, but HOLY SHIT. That was... gah! You write so beautifully. The level of detail is insane. I am awed, envious, and just overwhelmed. "My lover lies with his eyes instead of his tongue, but he is a very poor liar just the same." <---- That was my favorite line. That, and Kirk talking about how Spock was cold when he was dead. That made me go "awww!" very audibly.

I don't think there's much else I can say. I loved it. <3

-Spirk-Sporked >: )



Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on my story. I'm so glad you liked it. Your very kind comments came the day before my birthday making it a special day indeed.

Reviewer: 1billsookie Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2010 2:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

(contiuned) and Kirk with Spocks' body was just.... oh my god i've never read anything as heartbreaking as that.



Author's Response: Thank you for those very kind comments, 1billsookie. I'm so very pleased that you liked my story. It's always a thrill when a reader is moved by something you write, and I so appreciate that you took the time and effort to comment.

Reviewer: 1billsookie Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2010 2:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

this is the most heart wreanching thing i've ever read. you can feel Spock's longing, fear, love, and saddness so promintally it's like you're really there. i was crying from start to finish. love it completly, and it's going in both of my favorites. 20000/10

Reviewer: dreamlittleyo Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2009 8:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

Also, just wanted to let you know that this fic has been rec'd <a href="http://community.livejournal.com/crackenterprise/38331.html">!  Still one of my absolute favorites!

 



Author's Response: Is this your doing, Dreamlittleyo? Thank you. Your comments made my day!

Reviewer: bandriv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2009 3:52 AM Title: Chapter 1

Carolyn, I'm SO glad you finally posted one of your stories! I just read this story again for the first time in several years, and it gave me chills all over again, and I cried again when I read it. This story would have to be included in any list I would make of my all time favorite K/S stories.

Linda



Author's Response: Linda, thank you for your comments. It's a real thrill to think a story of mine made someone's favorites list. You have always encouraged me, and I so appreciate it.

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2009 5:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

Finally, an antidote to all that fluff!  If there is a more poignant, beautiful story out there, I've never seen it.  Please, please write and post more.



Author's Response: Mila, how can I thank you for that very kind review! Your comments touched me deeply. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and thought it was worth an LOC. I hope to be posting more stories shortly.

Reviewer: omega111 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2009 4:14 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh!! This is such a beautiful, touching story. Thank you so much for sharing this.



Author's Response: I'm so pleased that you liked it, Omega111. Thank you for your very lovely comments. They mean so much to me.

Reviewer: Judi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2009 5:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Incredible beautiful story.  I cannot say more but that the author truly knows the Capt. and his first officer...eyes and hands and stars, and love.  Thank you for a wonderful story. 



Author's Response: Hello, Judi. Thank you for your lovely comments. They really mean a lot to me. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the story and took the trouble to say so. Keeping the captain and his first officer in character is very important to me, and I'm so glad you think I did that.

Reviewer: Dee G Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/07/2009 12:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

Powerful! Bloody brilliant! Thank you for giving us this beautiful story.



Author's Response: Oh, Dee G, thanks for responing to my story. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Your comments made me blush and put an ear-to-ear smile on my face.

Reviewer: Jules Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/06/2009 9:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

That is the first time I have read a story and cried at the end. It was beautiful.

Love

Jules



Author's Response: Hi, Jules. Thank you for your very kind comment about my story. I'm so glad you liked it. As many times as I go over a story as I'm writing it, it tends to lose its emotional impact for me. Thanks for telling me it was still there for you. Love back at you.

You must login (register) to review.