Reviews For Sacrifices
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HeronS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2017 11:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love that this story lets it take time for Spock to grow into his emotions. It's slow and gentle and loving.

Reviewer: mightymads Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2016 9:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of my favorite stories. I read it several times, and it's such a pleasure to return to it. Gosh, I love all its intricate, subtle themes: Kirk's joy and yet heartbreak of having and yet not having Spock back, the concept of all memories fully present but disconnected from emotions and thus without their full value, an amazing parallel between Pike and Spock, the additional scene and backstory for Talos IV episode (Kirk's forgiveness always struck me, and the background you gave for it was just exquisite), Spock's meditation robe and how it served as comfort for them both, and finally a new print of the old holo - everything is just perfect, so unique and memorable. Thank you so much for sharing! 



Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting!  I came up with the initial idea for this story when I rewatched “The Menagerie” and saw the parallels between this episode and later events.  I’ve also read many post-fal tor pan stories with Spock struggling to regain his memories, and I wondered what would happen if the concept was flipped - if he actually had all his memories back, but they were disconnected from emotion.  The flaw in the Vulcan ideal of non-emotion is that without emotion there is, as you said, without full value.

Reviewer: fandomlucky Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2015 7:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is an absolutely gorgeous story - your attention to detail is extraordinary. I could FEEL Kirk's pain and turmoil; it touched me very deeply. Spock's journey in discovery of his memories and love for Kirk felt natural and worked so well. 

I loved your inclusion of Captain Pike; the Menagerie is one of my favorite episodes, both from character study and slash points of view. 

Thank you for the lovely read!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2015 10:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

That was wonderfully done, with a delicate touch and a deep understanding.  Beautiful!

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting; I'm glad you enjoyed it!  :-)

Reviewer: BadBoysAreBest Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/19/2013 12:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

AwwAwww so romantic :)

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2013 5:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

I had to break out the Kleenex for your story.  This was great.  I don't know how to tell you what it made me feel -- the horror of a precise and cold Spock, the pain of an abandoned Jim, the betrayal of a forgotten Amanda.  And how they were all remembered and rejoiced and treasured finally, it was beautiful.  You really have a gift, and I thank you for sharing it with us.  I'm keeping this.

Reviewer: teiku5 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2013 3:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love EVERYTHING about this story! Your writing is brilliant. 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2012 10:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely story.  I particularly enjoy this sort of look into our guys' inner lives and internal workings.  Post Genesis Spock always grieves me.  He is so lost and everything, at least initially, is so hard.  I like your story and its progression of his healing.

Reviewer: Rhaegal Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2012 5:45 AM Title: Chapter 1

I can't believe I forgot the this extends beyond ST4 - that scene in their apartment in particular actually makes me shiver. I love this fic so much - a perfect finish to our fun movie rewatch :-)

Author's Response:

Thnk you so much!  :-)  The rewatches are so much fun; I'm glad Jaylee is organizing them.

Reviewer: Jaylee Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2010 10:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, this was positively stunning in its beauty. I've been hankering for fal tor pan fics, did a search, found this gem and am kicking myself for not discovering it sooner. The depth of feeling to this piece, particularly to Kirk's anguish during Spock's recovery, and Spock's turmoil when emotions coursed through him once more was so vivid, so engrossing, that it was tangible. Truly, reading this was a visceral experience. And the flow was amazing, your way with words is positively inspirational. Thank you for the wonderful experience. This fic fulfilled my yearning and then some. :-)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the wonderful  feedback!  :-)  I've very glad my story fulfilled what you were searching for.  I approached it almost as if I were writing a poem.  (A very - long - poem.  :-)

Reviewer: TLeynti Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2010 5:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this story. In particular I loved your use of Christopher Pike and the events of The Menagerie. The empty wheelchair in the wood made my heart hurt in the most beautiful way.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the comments.  "The Menagerie" is one of my favorite episodes.  I've also always been intrigued by Pike; I enjoy stories which involve him.  When I realized how closely Pike's actions in saving his cadets mirrored Spock's actions in saving the Enterprise and the crew and cadets, I knew I wanted to do something with this concept.   This story evolved from there.  I'm glad you found the imagery of the empty wheelchair so moving.  I was pretty ambitious with this story; I'm glad to see, by your comments and those of other people, that I succeeded in conveying the ideas I was working with.

Reviewer: vvatima Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2009 3:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

This story is so beautiful --- every word is so perfect...  I made myself read much more slowly than usual to try and savour every word.  Thanks so much for posting it.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  It was a very "slow" story to write.  It came to me a few sentences at a time.  I'd get home and maybe write one paragraph a day.  I knew there was a lot going on in my subconscious and I needed to let it take its own time in becoming complete.

Reviewer: dreamlittleyo Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2009 6:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this was JUST beautiful!  So sweet and satisfying and wonderfully written.  I love seeing Spock successfully put himself back together this way, and the hope and happiness that ends the fic.  Beautifully done!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.  :-)

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/20/2009 6:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ochoyeh... this is *good,* lass.  Damn -- hadn't seen it before.  I like very much the bit where Spock remembers sitting in the brig, not being able to answer Kirk, and just then realizing quite how sharp the pain of his chosen course was going to be.  And the bit where he first reawakens emotionally, where he's looking at the holos of the Enterprise and David, realizing *his home* is gone, and that David died to save *him*...

And then Jim comes home, and it's *perfect.*  Very very kewl indeed.

Greywolf, who ddeply regrets not taking part in the Legacy project.  'Tis a grand thing!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  Yes, the Legacy project was a grand thing indeed.  Jenna and all concerned did an amazing job. 

It's odd, isn't it, that rewatching "The Menagerie" was my inspiration to write a post ST3 story, but that's how it came about.  While rewatching, the parallels between The Menagerie and ST2 and 3 were so striking:  Pike and Spock, exposing themselves to lethal and near-lethal radiation, sacrificing themselves to save a ship full of cadets.  And Spock and Kirk, both willing to sacrifice their careers to save someone of crucial importance to them.  It took me ages to realize what I wanted to do with this idea.

"The Menagerie" is one of my favorite episodes.  I've always wanted a "missing scene", between K&S after Kirk got back on board the Enterprise.  And, from the pasty and ill look Spock has during the courtmartial, it seems clear to me he had no idea of what he was getting into - emotionally - when - for whatever reason - he chose to do the Talosian's bidding. 

Thanks also for commenting on the scene where Spock realizes how much was sacrificed to restore him to life.  What a horrific realization that would be....

Reviewer: bandriv Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2009 4:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

This author is so talented. This is one of the very best stories about Spock recovering his memories after the fal tor pan that I have ever read.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  This one came from such a simple plot bunny - I rewatched Menagerie, and it suddenly struck me that what happened with Pike, when he sacrificed himself to rescue those cadets, almost exactly mirrored what happened to Spock - though Pike survived (barely).  And then I wondered.... what do I do with this idea?  And then I figured it out.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2009 7:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this is so beautiful, what talent!  Thank you for sharing your gift with us!



Author's Response:

You're very welcome - thanks for your comments!  :-)

You must login (register) to review.