Reviews For Blues for Allah...
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2015 3:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was wonderful!  Much as I love TOS, it has its flaws, and one of them is that in most episodes, Uhura is merely a pretty face.  Thanks for giving her something important to do, while not shortchanging Our Favorite Vulcan, either.

 



Author's Response:

yeah, that was a big flaw.  then again, that's what fanfic is for, fixing the stuff TPTB screwed up, nies?  and I think Uhura could kick some serious ass, did she but have a good cuase.  glad ye liked it!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 12:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm very glad noone made you take this story down from this archive even if by definition it probably shouldn't be here. It is such a pleasure to read, the prose of an almost musical quality. - It never occured to me that Uhura might be muslim, I rather thought of her as coming out of a tribal belief-system. I love the way you portray her, a strong, capable woman, ready to try anything to save her companion.



Author's Response:

pretty sure K/S as friends are allowed here.  it's also about Spock and Uhura as friends, but only friends.  it was fun to write -- I've always liked the character of Uhura, and there are a lot of Muslims in various parts of Africa, so it seemed a good fit.  in my head canon, Uhura is fit to train for command, if she decides to do so.

glad you liked it!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2013 11:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is lovely, we rarely see Uhura from TOS.  Even rarer to see her interact with Spock.

Thank you so much for writing this and sharing it.



Author's Response:

I am honoured! *puts his paws in his sleeves and bows*  thee is most welcome indeed!

Reviewer: SparklyLala Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 9:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love how you concentrated on Uhura :). Reboot does not give her enough credit, even with the Klingon standoff in the Darkness. She is fierce, independant and BAMF in her own right, and it is so infuriating that they basically reduced her to someone who is so unprofessional as to argue with her boyfriend not only in front of the captain but during the working hours (and cutting Kirk with a "I have this bitch" hand), and basically have her only in attachment to Spock. Insulting...

Btw. love the name of the story :) :)



Author's Response:

I stole the title from one of my all-time favourite Grateful Dead albums, a really trippy one.  and yeah, TOS Uhura was awesomesauce.  I think Zoe could do likewise, if only they'd give her more to work with -- but somehow, I doubt they will.  NuTrek seems, with the second movie, to have totally gone for flashbang over substance, and it's a damned shame, as the two are hardly mutually exclusive.


Glad ye liked this!  It was the first story I ever posted online, after Dog alone knows how many years of never showing them to anyone.  what a rush that was!  the rest is history...

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2012 5:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

Great piece. I love your TOS Spock. Masculine  identity held tightly in the modicum of words you use to convey his dialogue pieces. You TOS Uhura outlines  a woman of consumate professional skill. 



Author's Response:

Thankee, sai!  *puts his paws in his sleeves and bows*  we come to serve,nies?

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2011 5:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very, very happy to read an Uhura-centric story, I loved her in TOS. Zoe was okay, I like her, but Nichelle will always be my favourite- not many actresses I've seen manage to believably make a character simultaneously warm, feminine, and completely badass. :)



Author's Response:

no lie, no lie at all.  glad ye liked it!  :)

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2010 7:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

Re-reading this as well--thanks for doing a then-Uhura story, I'm partial to TOS--and I do like the warm, loyal, restrained-jungle-panther Uhura--she had *presence*.

Author's Response:

Yeah she did.  I never shipped her with Spock, and still don't, in either universe -- but TOS-Uhura was Da Bomb Diggitty!  Thanks, yo.

Reviewer: dristi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2009 2:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

hi,

i've read this story somewhere else, but i loved it. you're right, ppl tend to forget uhura and other crew members like chekov, sulu...etc.

i really liked the strong and independent uhura, she's admirable...

always enjoy you stories, though i forget to review sometimes :)

hope to read many of your stories...keep up!



Author's Response:

Thanks!!  I've always had a soft spot for Uhura, and to me TOS is an ensemble effort, not just the Big 3.  Glad ye liked it!

You must login (register) to review.