Reviews For Celluloid Vokaya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2020 12:24 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

There are some big chickens who've come home to roost in this chapter. Laura is in fine form to start out and then to see her continue to crumble is hard, especially when Veddah said what he did, it made me want to give him a hug. Between this and the last scene there was a pile of heartache. You know how to get a reader caught up in the mood. Can't wait for next week!



Author's Response:

Sorry I'm late with a response, but thank you. And these are some big chickens indeed.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/22/2020 11:35 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

As you get closer and closer to the problem on Pezis's Gate, I anticipate more and more how this is going to turn out.  Usually I have some idea of how a piece is going to resolve, but this time you have me clueless!  Thanks.  I like not knowing how something is going to end before it does end, lol.



Author's Response:

Glad to keep you guessing. I'd intended, from the beginning, to make this novel a little different than the standard Trek fare. I'm chuffed that it seems to be working.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2020 9:57 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

My favorite part of this chapter was the discussion between Joe and Kirk.  Now Jim knows for certain that Spock had feelings for him in the past, but he may have screwed that up.  Will be waiting for your appearance next Friday.  Have a good week!



Author's Response:

The pieces are finally starting to come together for Jim. He's forcing himself beyond his self-sabotaging perception of the world. I hope you have a good week as well. Thank you so much for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 5:26 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

A well deserved comeuppance (Silvio needed that months ago) and a load of bombshells (T'Pau is obviously way out of touch), and im left turning inside out wanting the next chapter. You put out all kinds of teeny treasures that add into a more complete backstory for this universe and that's on top of great storytelling. CBS could learn a thing or three from you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliments and praise. You're right, T'Pau is out of touch. As far as good storytelling, it's my belief there is less and less of it because people aren't being taught to develop critical thinking skills as part of the writing process. In the US, a creative story doesn't do as well on a standardized test than a boilerplate tale because the bland, uninspired one ticks all the boxes in the scoring rubric. Have a good week and thank you for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 5:08 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Supremely bad idea Jim! Bad, bad idea!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 1:44 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Holy moly, what a series of revelations. Spooks and peaches and "alterations" and guns and--I can't wait to click next chapter!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 1:05 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

I'm so happy to have some time to catch up on my reading. Christine is the worst! She can't stop screwing herself, too many real people are just like that. It's pretty sad actually. Next chapter!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2020 3:33 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Jim Kirk - boo!  I am disappointed in him for skulking around and invading Spock's privacy.  He should be more mature even though I understand he is desperate.

Veddah is doing a good job taking care of Laura, too, but I have to wonder if Vulcans in a relationship with a human will always be doing the caregiving and not the humans.  if so humanity is going to have to work to make the relationship more two-sided!

And all that loot in the cave!  Now we're getting down to the nitty gritty.  Am looking forward to your next chapter.



Author's Response:

Kirk is certainly being a boob right now and he's dragged McCoy in even deeper. I wrote his finding of the toybox in the closet as a knee to the gut because sometimes you go looking for answers and get the smack you deserve.

Veddah is a good kid and Laura knows just how lucky she is to have him.

I'll see you on Friday.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2020 12:15 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

OK, you've completely lost me with the cabbage soup mix!



Author's Response:

It's what's holding all of the toys/lubes/condoms that Tralnor gave Spock back in Chapter 30:

“It’s no wonder shore leave is synonymous with Mardi Gras-level depravity.” Tralnor entered, cardinal colored t-shirt tight across his chest, and a box marked CABBAGE SOUP MIX, tucked under his arm. “Even people who don’t think they’re stir-crazy get goofy when the gangplank goes down.”

Since this is a *very* long novel that's being read in a serialized form, I understand how something you read six months ago went bye-bye. I'm always glad to refresh memories and answer questions.

Thank you for your comments and continued support. I couldn't do this without you.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2020 1:05 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Getting a new chapter each week is the highlight of my week.  I am enjoying what you are doing and hope that you will continue to write other Trek work when you finish this one.

I was surprised by this chapter and was surprised to realize that I had never considered a reaon for Sarek' distancing in any other framework but rejection.  Your take on the situation was illuminating.  

I look forward to next week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

It was always my thought that Amanda would not have stayed married to a man who rejected their child, that there had to be an explanation as to why her relationship with her husband remained close even though Sarek and Spock had a falling out. That falling out was exactly what it was, a father thought his son could do better and a teenager who didn't agree with his Old Man. As a child, Spock saw his father's distance as disapproval and rejection of his human side as straight out rejection. That is the conclusion a young child would come to, especially if this stand-offish parent doesn't offer up a reason why. That chasm is real, something that obviously never smoothed over completely, so things were never going to be sunshine and rainbows. There was too much damage. In Star Trek III, even though Sarek's appearances aren't long, the audience is granted a short look into the ambassador's regard for his child. So, that's where I'm coming from.

Once I finish this and Home for the Holidays, I've got an idea or two kicking around for another trip through the Celluloid Vokaya universe. I've had to set Home to the side for the moment because I'm on a roll with trying to finish The Mair-rigolauya. I'm on the home stretch.

It's uplifting to hear that my writing in the highlight of someone's week. When you connect with readers in that way you know you're doing something right. It makes me happy that you want to finish this journey with me. Thank you so much and I'll see you next Friday.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2020 10:55 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Another great chapter, thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2020 8:49 PM Title: Home for the Holidays

The reference to the whales is a nice little touch. Now I've got, "That's what I said, Alameda," going through my head. I'm thinking it might be time for a TOS movie marathon.



Author's Response:

Enjoy your movies. I might have to do the same.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2020 10:22 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Glad to see you posting again this week.  It looks like things are coming to a head in this piece.  I've become so accustomed to your posting on Friday that I will miss it.  I check eachc Friday until it's up.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

We're finally heading into the closing stretch on this one. I won't know what to do with myself when it's finished either. As always, it's been great to have you along on this adventure.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2020 10:49 PM Title: Home for the Holidays

Wow, Christine is a doozy in this. She is one of my least favorite characters on the original Enterprise crew because she's vapid and all hung up on a man she can't have. It's both funny and sad how she's acting. I really liked the visit to the Big Bear house. I'm hoping those people get to spend time in jail.



Author's Response:

Glad to see you're still around. Yeah, Christine is just one of those people. She gets under my skin because she's so fucking smart/capable/educated and chooses to act like a silly little girl. About the Big Bear cousins, I wanted some comeuppance that was both satisfying and a little humorous. Once again, thank you for reading.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2020 10:06 PM Title: Home for the Holidays

I like how this piece is a complimentary story to Mair-Rigolauya. Almost the same cast of characters at different points in their lives add to your universe. I'm particularly liking McCoy in this, salty and funny is perfect.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/31/2020 1:54 AM Title: Home for the Holidays

Now that I'm doing the work from home thing like everyone else, I've the time to catch up on my reading. Seems the comments I left on this were eaten when things wen haywire at the star t of the year. I like this chapter better the second time through. It's touching ,terrifying and exciting, and I'm also glad I know that the story doesn't end right here.

Reviewer: Pookie Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2020 6:21 AM Title: Home for the Holidays

I'm liking this story more and more. At first I wasn't crazy about the flashbacks...but it works! It just seems so seamless...it's like reading two stories. Loving the humor and the drama!

Author's Response:

This is a hell of a compliment. I wanted to set myself a challenge of doing a flashback story that wasn't a disaster, as so many turn out. I'm glad you're enjoying it and that the combination of timelines/storylines and the humor/drama work for you. As always, thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2020 4:14 AM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

Dr. Okuda, that's awesome.



Author's Response:

As I was writing that scene, I was trying to think of a name for the creator of this new warp tech and looked over at the bookshelf. The Star Trek Encyclopedia was right there and I thought having a Dr. Okuda was rather appropriate.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2020 9:46 PM Title: The Mair-rigolauya

This is getting so convoluted, I'm beginning to have trouble keeping track!

Always happy to see an update from you, this one was excellent, thank you..



Author's Response:

When I started on this, I had no idea I was heading into a project that shares a lot of its structure with Joan D. Vinge's The Summer Queen (950 pages in the mass market paperback and a word count the author has put at about 400k) which is simply a huge sci-fi epic. When that book is read straight through instead of in parcels, the fuzziness and confusion fades, and details/characters/plotlines solidify, making much more sense overall. The people who've re-read The Mair-rigolauya from the beginning have told me the same thing. It can be tough to read something like this in the serialized fashion in which its put up on the Archive, but I don't want to leave people hanging and this method gives me time to do the best possible job editing/proofreading that I possibly can. When this is done, I'll have a Dramatis Personae and a couple of other supplements that you often see with novels of this kind. So, that's kind of where we are on that for now. I'm not trying to make your head spin, I just want to do the best job possible. . . 

The Mair-rigolauya is definitely teaching me that "epic" length projects are of a different sub-species of novel. Most of my book-length work clocks in between 100k-150k words, so I've never faced some of the challenges that I'm dealing with on this, a true learning experience.

As always, thank you so much for taking the time to read and review. Your time is valuable and I'm so appreciative that you leave feedback as that's the thing that allows authors to improve on their craft. Happy reading and I'll be seeing you around!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2020 7:51 PM Title: Home for the Holidays

I should know better than to read this stuff during lunch hour. Catsquatch pretty much did me in. Thanks for the laugh.



Author's Response:

Sorry, not sorry? My friend who gets to hear all of this read out loud as part of my revision process almost fell out of the chair at the catsquatch. I'm glad it works for more than me and that person because humor is quite honestly not the easiest thing to write. What the writer finds hilarious might fall flat on its face for anyone else. I'm always happy to see you here. Thanks for reading!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.