Reviews For The Elements
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2019 1:39 AM Title: Air

I couldn't figure out how to reply to your comment, so I've just added another one.  Read your reply and it made total sense to me.  I've always sort of thought Spock might over compensate based on his experiences when young, but your explanation that family styles might differ make absolute sense to me.  I mean I was raised Cathololic, but we never said grace while my cousins households did.  Just a small observance, but clearly each family / broader community might differ.   I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.  

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2019 12:24 PM Title: Air

I very much enjoyed this story and look forward to the rest of the series.  In particular, the relationship between Spock and McCoy. I personally can't imagine you could share someone's katra and then have no greater appreciation for what drives them. This story recognizes that wonderfully. I was so glad when Leonard asked Spock for assistance. I also like the developing relationship with T'Kray. 

I admit I am not entirely clear why she is less reticent in expressing her emotions.  I am curious as to whether she was always this way. If you don't mind me asking, are you suggesting that there are different degrees of adherence to Surak's principles on Vulcan.  OR that she is an outlier and has made a personal choice.  I think the former makes a lot of sense, but I was not clear. 

I also liked how you explained the difference between a first arranged marriage and later pairings. The logic worked for me.



Author's Response:

First of all: Thank you very much for the rating and the review!

And secons ... *clears throat* You asked for this.

Generally, any philosophy can be read in different ways. I have two colleagues who remind me of that on a regular basis. They are of same faith but very, very different views. I love listening to them debating and reading completely opposing things in the same text. The same will be true for Vulcans. The truth is, we have no idea what exactly Surak wrote, how precisely he worded his philosophy. Perhaps not all that exactly because to him it was all very logical and he presumed anyone else, who also applied logic, would come to the same conclusion. So my assumption was always that the interpretation of Surak’s teachings varies from family from family with a bit of individual interpretation mixed in.

T’Kray is a bit of a foil to Spock – although not an antagonistic one, as is often the case. Spock seems to try to out-vulcan all the Vulcans, at least until the end of TMP. I never had the impression that any other Vulcan we meet in any of the series is that … Vulcan. It makes sense. He’s ridiculed as a kid and makes up for it tenfold. Then he decides to join Starfleet, has a falling-out with his father, and – in my universe here – runs into T’Kray. He’s in a bit of a recalcitrant mood at that time, which is why he helps with her thesis, spends time around a Vulcan who wouldn’t give a damn if he’s a hybrid or not, and he mellows a bit. That is until he goes off on a starship with a bunch of humans, who have a certain expectation of a Vulcan – and he fulfils that. In Where No Man Has Gone Before he does seem a bit softer than later, his expression more readable. That had other reasons, of course, but that isn’t stopping me from saying he flipped a small switch somewhere between that and Charlie X. Maybe McCoy with his teasing was the cause, since he doesn’t join until then. He’d be horrified by that.

As for T’Kray, I assume her stance – imprinted by her family – was always on the more liberal side. She went to study psychology and the subject of her major thesis would confirm her stance that suppression is not the way to go but control. Also surrounded (mostly) by humans, she didn’t try to fulfil expectations but to function in their society. She would try to seem somewhat more approachable, or she’d have a hard time doing her job. On Dainam, where she landed only a brief time after she left the Academy, this continued. Where Spock became more rigid in a similar social environment (both the crew of the Enterprise and the rebellion are tight-knit groups with a common interest that takes precedence over personal matters), she let herself soften by raising a child with special needs and becoming the right hand of a strongly telepathic priestess with no understanding of personal space.

To answer your question: a little bit of both. She started out on the more open-minded end of the spectrum and her individual experiences and choices reinforced that and made her what she is here. How a bunch of other Vulcans see her and what they think of her comes up in Fire.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2019 2:29 AM Title: Air

I know you posted this quite some time ago, but so glad you posted a German translation.  I put the first part through google translate and it told me that there was an English version.  You are reeling me in like a fish on a line.  Enjoying how you are slowly providing more details.  It is keeping me guessing.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it! I had half a mind to just send the German text to a friend and not post it. Now I'm glad I chose otherwise. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I appreciate it a lot - especially six years later.

While translating this, I remember how much I enjoyed writing it and how much I forced myself out of my own comfort zone (for example keeping the rating low in the main story despite the occasional horrible stuff that goes on). Now I force myself to get my head into a mindframe for creative writing in my native language because I haven't done that in a long, long time. It seems this is where I go when I need to exercise.

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2014 3:05 PM Title: At the End of the Day

Hiya - balance was meant literally, as in, it took me a while (perhaps, I shouldn't admit!)to figure out that Spock must be kneeling tall or kneeling back on the bed, when he's topping Jim, because how else would he hold himself up/balance - and, the bath must be a deep one, like a hot tub, at the beginning... Oh, the conversations we have on this archive! We shouldn't, more than likely! Just a throw away couple of lines would sort that, and help idiots like me. cos I had to stop reading, figure it out, and continue on.... Also, as far as words that translate for anatomy - 'member' is one... Oh, again, the conversations with total strangers!! The story is, overall, very amazingly written though!!!!

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2014 9:01 PM Title: At the End of the Day

VERY HOT, very well written for the most part - though I think balance would be an issue in some places (!) - it's all about angles! - And, the shape of the bath (!) at the beginning! I'm far from naive, but I did think 'balance?' a few times! The emotional stuff - and the confiding moments are more than enough to make this worth reading NOT just for the sex (just, maybe, think up a few more words for their anatomies, now and then)....



Author's Response:

First off, thanks for taking the time to review!
Next, I think you're right in many points, I will, for example, add some descriptions (eventually). Not too many, however, because I want people to form their own pictures in their minds. But there is something that needs more emphasis.
Anatomical descriptions are something I have a problem with. You see, I have an aversion to the more vulgar words as well as the Latin ones because I both diminish the romantic aspect. That's all me, of course, but I can't feel the one is crude and the other too clinical. The more colourful metaphors often border on the ridiculous. I'll have to jump over my shadow in one way or another, however. Here, too, you are right, of course.
I haven't got the least inkling what you mean by balance, though. But I think there we're back to precise descriptions that I abandoned for the sake of brevity.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2014 5:09 PM Title: At the End of the Day

Wow, that's more than hot and sweet at the same time, it has depth and colour and light! Very, very well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! :)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/14/2014 3:20 AM Title: Fire

I love the AU you created and hope more writers are tempted to play in it.



Author's Response:

Oh, anyone who wants to is welcome to do so!

Thanks for staying till the end!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/14/2014 3:18 AM Title: Fire

Thank you for not killing T'Kray! Gosh! I love her. Anyway, I had to read 11-14 together because the action was getting too hairy and I couldn't take the suspense. Hope you forgive me.



Author's Response:

There's nothing to forgive, quite the contrary! I'm glad that you were captivated like that :)

I'm glad I didn't kill her, too :P

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 2:45 AM Title: Fire

Awesome chapter once again!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! XD

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2014 3:17 AM Title: Fire

Whoa, really getting into this chapter--exciting stuff!



Author's Response:

Thank you! :)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2014 12:29 AM Title: Fire

mosaicism is so cool! I know, apropos of nothing, but i just had to say it.



Author's Response:

I was tempted to go further into the subject and get into the difference of problems during mitosis as opposed to meiosis but then I whacked myself over the hand and refrained :P

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/2014 9:15 AM Title: Fire

A realy interesting set up for more. True trek they ask us to do something but give half the data needed and put us at risk



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2014 3:46 AM Title: Water

I'm somehow picturing this badass Vulcan duo saving their bondmates--whether by brains, or brawn, or being cold stone crazy... you know they will.



Author's Response:

Spock is one hell of a stubborn guy. Add a brilliant mind, fury that would be there if allowed, love and friendship, then add another Vulcan with a much more slippery grip on herself but also more intuition and acquired empathy ... either method sounds likely

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2014 5:11 AM Title: Tomorrow's Menu Reads Forever

I enjoyed reading this very much.  :)



Author's Response:

I thank you kindly! ;)

Reviewer: vixis Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/11/2014 9:09 PM Title: Tomorrow's Menu Reads Forever

Oh go on - you know we'd visit you xxooxx



Author's Response:

Well, at least I'd have company then! XD

 Thank you ;)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2014 12:52 AM Title: Water

the bacteria "force field" is brilliant

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2014 12:46 AM Title: Water

‘I know. But I’ll go to sleep alone, I can’t smell you or feel you.’ Gentle fingers were twined into his hair, and he looked up. ‘I mean … I know it’s not for long, but it’s the first time since we bonded.’ Spock nodded solemnly and leaned down, placing a light kiss on Jim’s forehead.


 


+500 guhhhh



Author's Response:

Thanks! XD

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2014 12:18 AM Title: Water

I hate to be like this but I really got confused by the whole dialogue between Capt Kirk and the Admiral, which I guess is supposed to introduce everyone? Is there one Andorian in the crew or two? And this sentence:

‘Your navigator and helmsman sound very much alike. And it seems you didn’t press your point?’


Were the last two named the navigator and helmsman? I mean, Kirk doesn't say who does what on the bridge, that might have helped me keep up. And what does he mean by "press your point"? Is he referring to what Kirk just said or something that happened earlier? I confess I didn't finish Air, so....


I know you're busy, it's just, I really want to know what's happening. I just would like to be clued in. I love your writing and that whole founding of the Federation trope is kinda cool. Is there a Betazed in the crew?



Author's Response:

Since I don't have a beta, I'm more than grateful for pointing things out to me. I usually post directly after I'm done proofreading, and I proofread immediately after I'm done writing. That's less than ideal.

It should be clearer now. I didn't point out precisely what everyone does, because that's awkward ... like it's awkward in TV when someone echoes what the other says on the phone ... Ndaga sees where they all are, so he knows what they're doing. But I did mean to add a remark about the helmsman and the navigator. That slipped my mind.

Just as it slipped my mind to say what the hell Ndaga means when he asks if Kirk pressed his point. Yeah.

I didn't consider if there's a Betazoid among them. The founders are Earth, Vulcan, Tellar Prime, and Andoria, and there's at least one of each on the bridge.

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2014 12:39 PM Title: Air

I wrote most of this review and somehow it disappeared - so I'm trying again. 

This story was a pleasure to read. Very creative. Nice to see some science in the science fiction. McCoy especially was beautifully written, as was Spock. And I agree, the  bacteria had to be kept from the outsiders  - too  bad T'Vray couldn't find a way to preserve it for the Vainal. And how are the humans on Dainan to be cured of their genetic defects and thier version of neonazism? Bring on the sequel!



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!

Given their side-effects, the bacteria couldn't be left to the Vainal. The sequel hasn't got anything to do with Dainam, directly, but in the third or the last part I'll answer all the open questions (about the bacteria and what happened to the humans on Dainam).

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 1:43 AM Title: All You Need and More

Intense, loving and incredibly hot.



Author's Response:

Many thanks for reviewing!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.