You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2019 12:07 AM Title: Chapter 5

Those last three paragraphs, that's where it's at.



Author's Response:

More to come soon.  Thank you!

Reviewer: oboe_dawn Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2019 6:49 AM Title: Chapter 5

The Grand Troika rides again. Even though they were all thrown together by the universe, that they can organically reintegrate back into their jobs and one another's lives (with only a few stubbed toes and bruised feelings) shows the integrity these men possess. That's why these characters have stood the test of time.

Now that the starting lineup is set, adventure awaits!



Author's Response:

Big smile.  Thank you!

 

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2019 2:26 AM Title: Chapter 5

That really was a Thanksgiving treat.  The family has come together.  Jim was able to forgive Spock's silence.  I am glad that Jim raged at Spock's treatment (even if it was necessary and proved effective).  I am sure he would have wanted to be there to support him through it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

 

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2019 4:26 AM Title: Chapter 4

I am certainly looking forward to the conversation in the next chapter! 



Author's Response:

I hope I can deliver what you want.  Thanks for the comment.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2019 10:01 PM Title: Chapter 4

There's just something about that bridge scene where Spock first arrives that hits you right in the feels. Its shocking for everyone that a person they all knew is a total stranger. And when Kirk's saying I was your husband, that got to me hard.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your remarks.  When I recently saw the anniversary release of TMP where I was able to see details like expressions to much better, it hit me all over again how distant and cold Spock was on the bridge.

Reviewer: oboe_dawn Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2019 10:08 AM Title: Chapter 4

Nice summarization of TMP to transition into the next part of the story.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I pulled up an online script and used it.  The internet is sooo helpful at times.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2019 5:47 AM Title: Chapter 3

I'm chewing my fingernails the tension is so right. This si going to be a fantastic story.



Author's Response:

I hope you continue to read.  Thanks for your remark.

Reviewer: oboe_dawn Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2019 10:14 AM Title: Chapter 3

My brain wants to play around with the medical science described in this chapter. Physiology and pharmacology are two things that have always interested me. There was some powerful writing here and good characterization for Sarek.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your remark and compliments on the story.

I am not medically trained beyond the fact that my work at one point required that I understood and assured that children under my care were receiving adequate medical treatment for severe illnesses so I can only hope that someone so trained would find that the medical jargan in this story holds together.

I have always regarded Sarek as being a good individual who does have feelings for his son but is caught in the web of cultural expectations and Spock's unique nature.  Sarek bashing seems to have become common, but I am not one of those people.  Yes, Sarek is flawed and he makes mistakes, but isn't that the definition of being human, too?

Reviewer: oboe_dawn Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2019 4:11 PM Title: Chapter 2

This is getting grim and I'm very interested in seeing how this plays out. It's hard to face the limits of medicine and the helplessness that brings, especially if you're Jim Kirk, forced to watch from the sidelines, and knowing no matter what you want for your loved one that your hands are tied.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your remarks  It was only after I read your remarks that I realized that some personal history was showing here.  After a life-time of severe, even life-threatening reactions to medications, I know that drugs are not my friend.  The drug given to Spock was used deliberately and to cause harm.  But, as in my case, there were other, unpredicted effects that were unintended.  I agree with you about Jim Kirk.  He needs to be hands on, especially when Spock is involved, and being unable to do anything would be a nightmare for him.

Reviewer: Jaylen0827 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 11:17 AM Title: Chapter 3

That chapter was so emotional,  it had me reduced to tears. Wonderful story! 



Author's Response:

I had to think about how to respond to your remarks, which I appreciated, given the fact that part of me felt bad that you were upset and part of me was doing a happy dance that you responded emotionally to the chapter.  It always throws me a bit when people say that they have cried over a chapter.  On the other hand, part of me is delighted that the work is effective enough for people to cry over.  For both of those experiences, thank you!

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 5:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

I do believe Sarek wanted to be a good parent.  But he had no frame of reference regarding how to raise his son, so was not entirely successful. His was the first half-breed, so there weren't even parents who had gone before.  I think of families who adopt children from other countries (e.g. China).  Today, many understand the importance of embracing that culture as well, but many early adopters did not appreciate that fact.  They loved their child, but perhaps did not give it all that was needed.

P.S.  Thank you for your comment on Not So Simple.  I think I will post it eventually as well, once I finish my longer story.



Author's Response:

I don't see Sarek as a bad guy.  He is simply locked into a tradition and set of guildlines for life which do not work for his son and he refuses to acknowledge that.  I look forward to reading Not So Simple again when you post it.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2019 5:20 AM Title: Chapter 3

First off let me say how happy I was that Sarek is not a jerk.  He may not be the best Dad in the world, but he surely could not be the worst and have a son like Spock.  I got teary eyed as Spock recalled his dream to Jim. When I read Spock was going to Gol my heart clenched. I just hope Jim takes Spock's advice:  “Remember, Jim, that our bond is the most important thing."   I am really enjoying this story (even if Spock is suffering) as I trust his pain will eventually end. 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for this very nice response. My take on Sarek is complicated as the situation between Sarek and Spock mirrors my past.  Sometimes dads want to be good parents but just don't get it.  They don't have the equipment to get it so they do the best they can.  

I read your story in the Kiscon zine this afternoon and throughly enjoyed it, too.  I like the way you delve into the emotional layers and try to get to the root of issues.  Spock is mult-layered for sure, and I especially liked their talk toward the end.

Thank you for continuing to read.  

Reviewer: oboe_dawn Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2019 8:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love a story that immediately begins with a good hook. This one's got me and I'm curious to see where this story goes, especially in dealing with what this kind of trauma will do to the boys' established relationship.



Author's Response:

At the moment, I have no idea where this thing is going, lol.  As sometimes happens, I started with one concept until the characters started talking with me and telling me I had to do more.  Welcome to the ride!  I hope you enjoy it.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2019 1:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

I am going to KisCon again this year.  Sorry to hear you won't be there, but looking forward to your story.  I contributed a story as well.   



Author's Response:

It was down to going to KisCon or getting my living space renovated.  Although there is a lot of work to do first, I am looking forward to getting rid of the 25 year old carpet and having a fresh paint job in my living space.  I will also be healthier as eliminating the carpet should help my dust mite allergy.  Sometimes we just have to be adults and take care of business instead of going to play.  I hope that you enjoy yourself.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/16/2019 2:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

Happy to see your name here with a new story.  Glad to see that you are going to involve Sarek in what seems to be a positive way and that Bones has something to do!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I don't know if you're going to KisCon, but I'll have another story in the con zine although I won't be attending.  It's good to be able to write again after so long.

 

You must login (register) to review.