Reviews For Exposure
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2017 1:16 AM Title: Chapter 7

I really enjoyed this story.   I always have wondered a bit what Spock thought of Kirk getting married so quickly to Miramanee.   Although you never really delved into that it was clear your take was that he was hurt and at least Kirk apologized.   The ending reminds me a bit of Gone with the Wind (a favourite of mine).  Kirk is a little bit like Scarlet O'Hara - "after all tomorrow is another day".   I am not quite convinced he agreed to wait 2 years and that is alright with me as I am sure the crew would get past that. 



Author's Response:

I was surprised by your comment.  Once my stories get off the front page generally people seem to quit reading them and rarely make a comment when they do.  I'm glad you enoyed the story.  For me, it was a bit of a writing challenge.  As far as your statement that you don't think Kirk would wait 2 years, I agree.  I think he would push before that, but as Scarlett says 'tomorrow is another day" and that is another story

Reviewer: Varro Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2017 12:45 AM Title: Chapter 1

I too re-watched The Paradise Syndrome recently; it's a good example of an episode where one thinks, if this happened in the sort of series they make these days (or even TNG, to an extent), we'd spend at least the next few weeks dealing with the fall-out (emotional, engineering... potentially legal, as you point out). It's a shame, in a way, that we're so often left thinking "then what happened?!?" On the plus side, however, more room for fancfic to make it up! I've read a few stories that do so, for this episode, and I was very interested to see another... which is another way of saying, I enjoyed the story! Thank you :)



Author's Response:

BBC America is rerunning TOS as you probably know, and viewing these lush, updated versions of the original episodes which I saw on grainy black and white has been interesting and sometime inspiring.  There will likely be more episode based stories in my future.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2017 10:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

Babel blues.

reminds me of the Goodies comedy group LP and a song called sick man blues. The lyrics would be great parodied especially the line, "Now five years 'ave been travellin' an' 'ave thrown up everywhere." 

Must work on this in case there is any filking at kiscon 2017.



Author's Response:

KisCon?  I have a story in the con zine and plan to attend.  Will see you there.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2017 11:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think your sacrificial Spock is spot on. We know that Kirk does carry on after this point with females. I would love your take on the next few episodes and what in your Trekkiverse sends Spock to Gol. 



Author's Response:

We see Spock offer up his life repeatedly throughout the series in addition to actually giving up his life in ST:WOK so I believe that he would protect Jim and their friends in any way he could.  I'm glad to see that you agree.  It is not the romantic ending some might have wanted but seemed to be more true to the story at hand.

I am working off episodes at the moment, but it is more a function of being able to see the old episodes in multiples each Friday on BBC America.  It seems to be triggering my enthusiasm for episode based fic at the moment.  I don't know that I will do as you suggested and take on the next few episodes after this one, but I won't say that I won't if the right story pops into my head, too.

Next up is Babel Blues which I should post in the next week or so.  Hope you enjoy it.  Thanks.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2017 3:09 AM Title: Chapter 7

great story and excellent, realistic (if not fanfic happy) ending - thank you for posting!



Author's Response:

And thank you for commenting.  It's always good to have feedback about how well a story does or doesn't work.  Thanks!

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2017 5:51 AM Title: Chapter 6

This has been bugging me as well.  I've never heard of anyone being charged with damaging a ship.  Something fishy is going on. I don't trust Steele or Stone. Hopefully, Mr Cogley will find something to clear the charges and restore Spock's good name.

Now, what of the relationship between Jim and Spock. Is it doomed before it even begins? I don't see Jim Kirk waiting two years. He has no patience. lol.  

Looking forward to the decision that is going to be made.   Great chapter.



Author's Response:

I would imagine that there would be a rule about damaging a ship.  After all, they are a huge investment of resources!  After all, in the movies Kirk was charged with stealing the ship and returning to Genesis where he was able to save Spock.  But I think there would be a difference between a bonehead damaging a ship and a decorated officer trying a theory, don't you?

As for the rest, I won't say too much because I don't want to ruin the story, but thanks for your usual thorough comments, D.  i do appreciate them very much.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/17/2017 10:20 PM Title: Chapter 6

Masterful



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2017 9:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

I just had to look up that theory. The Alcubierre drive or Alcubierre warp drive (orAlcubierre metric, referring to metric tensor) is a speculative idea based on a solution of Einstein's field equations in general relativity as proposed by Mexican theoretical physicist Miguel Alcubierre, by which a spacecraft could achieve apparent faster-than-light ...

How cool is that.  I have to say, I loved your Spock on the stand. You channeled his voice perfectly.  Plus, I just love Mr. Cogley, and can see him so clearly questioning Spock and the others that were present.

I also enjoyed the background in Spock's career, the beginning of it, and where it may lead to in the future, with James Kirk.

Side note:  At the beginning you mention Commodore Steele questioning Spock during the procedure, later Commodore Stone is present as well.  Is this an error, or is Commodore Stone part of the hearing?

I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter, and look forward to the next. 

 



Author's Response:

I professed my ignorance of science in the chapter notes, but that doesn't mean that I can't learn someting new, lol.  So when I was faced with the need for an explanation as to why Spock might have exceeded the limits on warp drive I needed to know more about warp drive.  As it happened, I came across an article about the Alcubierre warp bubble theory which mentioned that Gene Roddenberry had based the warp speed vessels in Star Trek on the Alcubierre theory.  What could be better?  While sciencing is still not my strong suit, I hope that I managed to pull this off.

As for the confusion about the people in the hearing, i apologize.  Commodore Stone was established as the person who notified Jim Kirk that he was being charged in Court Martial so I used his character.  In the episode, he is not given a first name, but in one of the novels he is referred to as Commodore David Stone so I used that.  However, Stone is the head of the hearing board while Steele is the prosecutor.  I thought about using Areel Shaw who was the prosecutor in Kirk's case, but I decided that their former romance would be distracting to the plot line.  I'm sorry you found this confusing.  Perhaps I should have avoided these similar surnames.

Thanks for your positive comments.  I always enjoy hearing from you, D.  Thanks.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2017 6:23 AM Title: Chapter 4

I just loved McCoy's speech. I could hear DeKelley as Bones loud and clear. Excellent work my friend.  Looking forward to hearing Spock's point of view.



Author's Response:

I have always considered it an advantage in writing McCoy that I also live in the south and have spent a lot of time in Atlanta.  Plus even though I don't live in the deep south there is still a touch of honey in my speech, too.  Thank you for your comment.  As always, D, I am happy to hear from you.

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2017 9:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

I always enjoy stories based on episodes and this one is no exception. Please keep writing, you are too good to stop.

Author's Response:

i am glad you like stories based on episodes since that seems to be the way my writing is moving at the moment.  My next story that I'll post, Babel Blues, was clearly based on Journey to Babel and published in a print zine last year.  I have permission to upload it here and will begin that after Exposure is complete.

As for writing, when I stop it is not because I want to do so If I could, I would write every day of every year because I love the process of creating a world with my words.  However, unfortunately I have suffered from debilitating depression since I was a child, and it has taken a lot from me - my writing, my friends, and sometimes even my family.  I love writing, and I will always do it when I can.  It's just that sometimes the depression takes the writing, too, and then I have no choice.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2017 11:41 PM Title: Chapter 1

i enjoyed your concept of warped  getting them there potentially faster. Hopefully Rhaegal can tell us if it works as a theory. I loved the Spock as a hopeless liar idea. I wait eagerly for you to explore what  Cogley thinks he is unearthing in terms of motive for the trial in the first place. good chapter 



Author's Response:

I am glad that the warp theory derivation sounded legit at least.  Generally, I try to avoid sciency stuff in my fic due to my deficit in the area of science, but after getting into the story already there was not much I could do other than wade through and give it my best attempt.  I would shudder to think what a real rocket scientist would say about my little Alcubierre theory derivation.  I don't often rue my many lit classes I took in preparation for the writing career that never happened, but I do when I try to write science.

I liked the idea that Spock would be a hopeless liar.  He is always so honest and straightforward that it just seemed right.  But I have to admit that I have seen it used somewhere before and just felt obliged to do my version here.  It did seem to work pretty well in the story line.

As for the next chapter, I will stay silent for the moment.  There is still a ot more to reveal.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2017 5:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love when you write something we never saw.  Almost everyone got a chance to be cross examined, now we wait for McCoy's testimony. Looking forward to the next chapter. Well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you, D.  Don't be too mad, but I'm having some trouble with the next chapter so it may take a little while.  Unfortunately, I have found that my almost total lack of knowledge regarding warp theory and temporal anomalies is creating a challenge with this one.  i'll have to remember next time to avoid science at all costs!  Hopefully I will get it together soon, but if not I've got a couple of other stories cooking, too.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2017 11:31 AM Title: Chapter 2

Poor Spock, he's really thinkiing the worst, he sounds almost depressed. Now, he knows the truth, and hopefully Mr.Cogley can get him off of these charges.  



Author's Response:

One of Spock's flaws to me is that he is overly responsible.  He wants to do everything perfectly, and if it's not perfect that he is wrong.  I totally understand him doing that b/c I tend to do the same thing.  As far as he's concerned, he was the captain so he broke the ship, lol.  Now let's just see if we can find a way to get him off, right?

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2017 11:28 PM Title: Chapter 3

Enjoying your story.   I have always wondered what Spock was feeling when he learned of Kirk's marriage during their months apart after he worked so hard to save him.   I always appreciate when authors can weave a story around the events in the series.   Looking forward to Chapter 4.



Author's Response:

I am glad that you are enjoying the story.  At this point, it appears there are at least two more chapters worth of story, and the next chapter is complete in draft.  I hope that there will be surprises for everyone by the end, but I guess we'll just have to wait and see, right?  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/17/2017 3:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

Why do I forget my password when good fics are available to comment on! I love the spanner that Scotty introduces you tantalise with its significance. Though I can see a plot twist that you could have hidden behind this. No I can concerive of two twists and wait impatiently to see what direction the boys have taken you in. Possibly even a third. 

 



Author's Response:

Me?  Have a plot twist?  No, never.  I would never, ever have a plot twist.  Well, to be completely honest I might consider one.  Or two.  Or maybe more.  But I guess you'll have to wait and see, right?  Sorry.  Couldn't resist.  All I can say is that there will be more chapters soon.  Not sure whether there will be one more or two, but who knows?  It might be more than that, lol.  Thanks for your comment.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2017 7:34 PM Title: Chapter 1

Good stories worth waiting  for 



Author's Response:

I hope so!  Third chapter is now complete tossed and am rewriting it entirely. Hang in there!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2017 10:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great style wonder how coggley is  to get Spock out of this or if Spock still goes to Gol how this is going to pan out in your take. For sure whatever the scene you will write it believably and we wait on tenterhooks to find your strategy



Author's Response:

Unfortunately you may have to wait a bit as I have decided to completely rewrite the next chapter.  Please have patience with me in the meantime.  Thanks for your comment.

Reviewer: Jane Herrell Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2017 3:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm delighted that you're writing (and posting) again! I have only one critique: type faster!



Author's Response:

Lol, I am writing but I am not yet up to speed.  It took me 2 months to do these 2 chapters so I'll comply if able but don't take it personally if the story doesn't come faster.  Fortunately, I do have a complete story that I can release in July that may be posted in its entirety.  in the meantime, if you hear shrieking and moaning all the way to your place, that could be me trying to finish this piece.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2017 1:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Looking forward to seeing how you develop this!



Author's Response:

Now you have a chance to see.  New chapter up!

 

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/26/2017 4:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great premise for a story. The prose flows well. I am looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

As often as I've seen the original episodes, it does help now and then to see them again.  Thanks!

You must login (register) to review.