Reviews For Still, Like Dust
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2017 10:15 PM Title: Chapter 11

I feel an Underground Railroad coming on. Love how you've connected up McCoy to the trio



Author's Response:

Good guess there! I'm glad you liked my introduction of McCoy.

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2017 8:31 PM Title: Chapter 11

Yay, the boys are all together!  Now hop onto the first frigate, blow up Earth, and don't look back! 

Keep 'em coming, Sita!



Author's Response:

Good idea :)! Well, the boys will come up with something... thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2017 5:43 PM Title: Chapter 11

Yay. I am so happy. McCoy is with them now and he's gonna help ! Yipppeee. 



Author's Response:

Those boys need a little hope, don't they? Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2017 2:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

I've been following this story and finally decided to comment. I just can't believe how cruel Frank was to Spock. A vet clinic for Vulcans sounds so deplorable. I'm sure they're good vet clinics, but they don't seem to be treated like you'd bring in your family pet. I'm so glad Jim found McCoy. You're doing an amazing job describing how Vulcans are treated. You've got us all hooked to see what will happen next. Update when time permits. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting! You're right, even if the clinics are good, the idea behind them is deplorable. That's the sinister thing about slavery, I believe - even if someone is treated fairly (like Sylon was, to a degree), they are still at their owner's mercy and can be downgraded from "family pet" to workhorse at any moment. Hope you'll continue reading - more to come soon!

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/23/2017 12:42 AM Title: Chapter 10

Enjoying this story very much!  Is it a bad thing that I want another alien society to blow Earth to smithereens? What putrid humans.  Slavery is so ugly and intellectually dishonest.  I fear Spock and the rest of the Vulcans have a long, even more difficult road to freedom.  It would nice to see them put some of their intelligence to work, putting ignorant humans on notice that they won't be so easily subjugated.  It's going to take a major societal shift to end this horrid institution.  

Looking forward to the next chapter :-)



Author's Response:

Thank you! I see what you mean, a society like this *needs* a revolution or a major shift in thinking. Luckily people like Jim, Spock and Bones may just be in the right place to set it into motion...

More to come soon!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2017 8:56 PM Title: Chapter 10

I am enjoying your story.  Several years ago, I tackled a similar story line in my In The Zone which dealt with Vulcans as second class citizens whose lives were highly controlled.  It is interesting to see how someone else takes on the topic so keep writing so I will find out.  Best wishes for your continued writing!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I read "In the Zone" a while ago, and I liked it very much - great world-building and a bleak but very realistic scenario of what might happen to a group of alien refugees on Earth.

I'm glad you're enjoying my take on the topic - more to come soon :)!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2017 7:33 PM Title: Chapter 10

ANAZING. This is a wonderful chapter. I like your attention to detail and I am particularly gladdened by the fact that you're bringing in McCoy. He's one of my favorite characters. And I love Jim's caring attitude towArdis Spock. This is a brilliant story. And I am glad you are updating so frequently. 😊😊😊. I should stop rambling. But oh, I just love this story so  much. 



Author's Response:

Thank you :)!! Bones is one of my favorite characters, too, he's just such a complex personality. I'm glad you're enjoying the story - and I'm very much looking forward to the next chapter of "Finding Spock", my favorite fic at the moment!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2017 12:18 PM Title: Chapter 10

IAm loving this chapter great concept of what if and chilling when you consider that such things happened to slaves not so long ago. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2017 8:13 AM Title: Chapter 10

IAm loving this chapter great concept of what if and chilling when you consider that such things happened to slaves not so long ago. 



Author's Response:

It's a chilling thought, that's true. Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2017 1:05 PM Title: Chapter 9

I know I'm commenting for the second time on this. I apologize. I read this chapter first while half-asleep. I read it properly just now. And oh my god, I can't believe it that Frank could be this horrible. I am hoping Spock will be okay. But since Jim did not punish Spock, they will send him away to the juvi. Who will look after Spock, then? I am scared of Frank's brand of cruelty. 

Great Chapter. Desperately waiting to find out what's coming next. 



Author's Response:

Please don't apologize, I certainly don't mind getting two reviews :)! As for Frank, I think he's the kind of person who thrives in an unhealthy way on having another being at his mercy. Jim was and is subject to his abuse, and Spock is even more of a target since he's not protected by the law.

Thank you for commenting!

 

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2017 5:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Such a painful and powerful chapter. Kinda reminds me of Ishok from my story. But Jim has a greater degree of courage and I'm glad Spock has him. I can't wait to read more. Will we see Sylon again ? 

Reviewer: GabrielaSylar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2017 12:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great chapter, I liked the fact that Jim wouldn't hurt Spock just to get out of trouble, on the other hand, now I really begin to hate Frank.



Author's Response:

I see what you mean - Frank isn't a happy person, and he's taking it out on Spock. Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2017 2:20 PM Title: Chapter 8

You have me on the edge of my seat. I feel bad for Sylon. I wonder if his owners are two-faced hypocrites, or if they are simply how most people in a slave society would be, mostly normal but occasionally cruel to their slaves. I hope you will tell us what happens to Sylon. He is so young, I don't want to see him hurt. But if it does come to that, I hope there will be someone to help him. As for Spock. I am scared of what Frank's about to do. Great work on this chapter. You are a masterful storyteller. 



Author's Response:

Thank you! I believe Sylon's owners are actually the latter - 'normal' people in a slave society, cruel to a certain extent and completely convinced that they have the right to treat Vulcans the way they do. It's certainly hypocritical, but a hypocrisy that is institutionalized in that society's moral and legal code.

Thank you so much for your feedback - I love the opportunity to exchange thoughts on our stories and fic writing in general :)!

 

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2017 1:03 AM Title: Chapter 7

Nooooo, please. Don't hurt Sylon. Please.

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2017 9:58 PM Title: Chapter 6

You've got me hooked. I can't wait for more. And I feel so sorry for poor Sylon. But I sincerely hope he doesn't get hurt anymore. Amazing job on this chapter. Keep it up 😊



Author's Response:

Thank you! Poor Sylon's in a bad situation, but at least he's not alone anymore. More to come soon :)!

Reviewer: crimsonart Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2017 8:14 PM Title: Chapter 6

Please keep the chapters coming! Loving the plot and characters. :D



Author's Response:

Thank you :)!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/2017 11:47 PM Title: Chapter 5

I love this. You are writing a wonderful story. I can't wait to read more. Kudos !



Author's Response:

Thank you! It makes me happy to know that people are enjoying the story, thank you for letting me know! :)

 

Reviewer: GabrielaSylar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2017 12:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great story, poor Spock , but I really love how Jim is learning vulcan. I look forward to reading more.



Author's Response:

Thank you <3!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2017 6:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

Frank seems tgese days to have a parallel with supporters of a certain style of POTUS. 



Author's Response:

Yes, I think Frank would probably approve of some current developments, in the United States and elsewhere.

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2017 1:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

Poor Spock!  I already want to tip Frank, and every other human who thinks like him, into a black hole.  Looking forward to reading the rest.  Promising start! :-)

Author's Response:

Frank is a piece of work, isn't he? Thank you for reviewing :)!

You must login (register) to review.