Reviews For Still, Like Dust
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/26/2017 3:43 PM Title: Epilogue

What an amazing story! Thank you for writing this heartbreaking tale. It doesn't matter how it's framed: human beings are animals. It just so happens that occasionally they are kind and loving and have a conscience.

 

Well done!

Reviewer: Silver-thyla Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/25/2017 10:09 AM Title: Epilogue

Brilliant.

Please Sir or Ma'am, may we have more (lots more).

Would love to know more about Amanda and Sarek (and anyone else you please)

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/25/2017 8:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wonderful story. Really enjoyed it. Thank you.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/25/2017 6:42 AM Title: Epilogue

It's soemthing the privileged can never truely understand but we should not stop trying as when we stop trying we are in danger of forgettting and that is one step nearer to  the complacency that leads to repetition. 

This is a plot but the themes are profound and disturbing. They are thought provoking.

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2017 10:53 PM Title: Epilogue

This is beautiful. When I first saw the words "final two installments," I was so distressed. I was so sure that i'd ask you to write a sequel or something. But then I read the last chapter and the epilogue. And I cried. This is perfect. Oh, how I wish that there were more. But this is so perfect. I wish you will write another story soon. Because your writing is amazingly powerful. And I love how your story came a full circle, with excerpts from two very different books, but books nonetheless. Excellent. Remarkable. Thank you so much for this gift of a story. 

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/20/2017 6:22 PM Title: Chapter 22

This is my favorite chapter in your story so far. I love that McCoy has a Vulcan wife. And little T'Joan's antics. Oh my, how I love that little girl and her papa. I love this chapter and I am glad Kirk and Spock are safe now. I am so very excited to read how they become closer friends with McCoy. Good Job! 

Reviewer: Jadzia Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/19/2017 4:53 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your story brought me finally to register with this site. I've been browsing the stories here for some time, but this is a unique plot, and I always look forward to read more! I'm still scratching my head why the Vulcans seem to be so helpless and submissive though. However, I love this story, even the heartbreaking road Jim and Spock were taking, and hope Spock gets to meet family member(s) soon. Thanks!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I understand what you mean, submissiveness isn't really a Vulcan character trait. So far, many of the enslaved Vulcans in this story were children or teenagers like Spock, who don't really have the resources or the agency to defend themselves. The new chapter will introduce some adult Vulcans who take a more active role in the underground movement and work towards helping others. Hopefully, this will provide a more rounded picture.

I'm very happy to know that you're enjoying the story!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2017 6:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

A good fic provokes you to look at real world issues in a new light . I find myself wondering why McCoy has chosen this dangerous life. 



Author's Response:

The new chapter will reveal something about him that might explain his choices...

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/2017 5:37 AM Title: Chapter 18

This chapter is very distressing. I cannot imagine toddlers getti hurt. And it breaks my heart that Spock looks after the children like a parent even though he is a child himself. And the fact that he looks for kindness in the eyes of the strangers who come to take the children away-- I almost cried at that part. I hope things will get better from here. This was a very painful chapter. But, as always, great writing ! Keep it up 😊



Author's Response:

It's painful to think about these children and the emptiness in their lives where Vulcans need mental bonds and a stimulating environment. It is the reaction I was going for, and I'm glad you found the chapter emotionally engaging! Thank you for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/2017 6:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

So matter of fact until the last line 



Author's Response:

Yes, Jim managed to break through Spock's numbness... and made him vulnerable. Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2017 9:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

It is one of those moral situations that we know should not lead to murder yet often does. I have so many follow on scenarios that could happen and all of them scary. 



Author's Response:

Yes, Jim didn't have many choices in that situation, and so he went for the one that would eliminate the threat completely. Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2017 3:50 PM Title: Chapter 17

That was so hard to read, but so brilliantly written. You are a gifted storyteller. I am worried though. The whole situation seems so odd. What will happen to them when they are found? And considering the kind of world they live in, I am scared of what might happen even if they try to run. But seriously, very well written. Keep it up :)



Author's Response:

Thank you! I see what you mean, and no, they wouldn't get far without someone helping them :).

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2017 9:46 PM Title: Chapter 16

More. I want more. I love your story so much. And i love the humanity your Spock has. Will we get some of his backstory as well ? 



Author's Response:

Thank you!! Yes, Spock's backstory will be explored in one of the upcoming chapters.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2017 4:32 PM Title: Chapter 1

I can recall primary school slave  trade teaching and  the horror I experienced. What changes for adults that we become numb to the wrongs man reeks on man and the dubious ethics used to justify actions. 

I can can only imagine the breeding programme elements and the cost to the 'sire' what justification can there be?

Jim's LLAP is so TIC. 



Author's Response:

I can see the humans in this society (ab-)using Pon Farr to force the Vulcans to mate by just pairing them off when the time has come. You're absolutely right, there is no justification for it, but then, humans tend to forget the lessons history teaches, sadly.

Jim took a leaf out of Spock's book with the LLAP :).

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2017 2:36 AM Title: Chapter 15

So heartbreaking for T'Lin and T'Mai.  I have to wonder if Seren is better off, less time to suffer...

Seriously, humans suck.  ::sniff:::



Author's Response:

Humans do suck sometimes! Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2017 6:51 PM Title: Chapter 14

This story is getting better. I like your OC Soval, who must have been about 100 and well educated in Vulcan mind rules at the time of the "rescue". He must be a powerful telepath to pick up on Jim's bonding. I hope we see more of him.

It is interesting to contrast Chapel who thinks of Vulcans as "talking dogs" who should be treated with compassion with McCoy and the Vulcan/human Underground Railroad.

 



Author's Response:

Soval was born on Vulcan, yes, and immersed in Vulcan culture before his abduction by Terrans. I see him as one of the Elders who try to pass on as much of their culture as they can to the younger Vulcans who were born on Earth and only ever knew slavery. I would have loved to explore his character further but it didn't fit into the plot, unfortunately.

Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2017 6:35 PM Title: Chapter 15

Amazing. So powerful. Keep up the good work. I hope Spock's okay, though. 



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2017 2:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

A powerful chapter this is how intimacy should be written!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2017 7:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

A powerful chapter this is how intimacy should be written!

 

Reviewer: Yur_favorite_trek_boi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2017 3:50 AM Title: Chapter 1

The way you started out this story with Jim's textbook, was really cool and unlike anything I've read on here before. And I've never read a story like this before. I also like how you have written each character to be fully fleshed out and multi dimensional. I'm not sure what else to say, but this story is one of the best ones I've ever read.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing :)!

You must login (register) to review.