You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2017 4:23 AM Title: Chapter 88

Oh dear, I wonder what is next for Spock.  Great work!

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2017 3:03 AM Title: Chapter 87

So the good news I know Spock will live.  Because clearly he is not about to die saving this woman.   The bad news is I fear he will be hurt again.      Hopefully, my favourite character Dr. Puri will convince the Federation to come back and help them before their is too much pain and anguish.

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2017 7:06 AM Title: Chapter 87

Hi,  Carmina.  Just wanted to drop you a quick note to let you know I'm still a big fan of this story and it's always great to discover a new chapter has  been posted.  I have to say the Farhannsu really shot themselves in the foot by not accepting the Federation's overtures.  I suppose history had to repeat itself before they're truly ready to start making wiser  decisions.  

To answer your question in the note, I read fic because I like spending time with the characters.  There are plenty of shows, movies, and fictional characters I enjoy,  but very, very few drive me to seek fan fiction in order to spend a little  more time in their company.  I can count on one hand the number of fandom I've participated in over the last 30 years.  Trek seems to be my go -to. That said,  I stick to  Kirk,  and company, TOS and Kelvin.  Not a fan  of any of the Berman era Trek incarnations.  

I hope you're recovery from your surgery continues smoothly.  a86;

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2017 6:36 AM Title: Chapter 87

You did a great job in writing this chapter.  It's wonderful.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2017 3:21 AM Title: Chapter 86

Glad to get another post.  Happy to see that the Farhannsu man recognized Spock as his brother.  Hopefully things are looking up and will be able to outwit the Romulans.  Wondering when Spock will meet JTK?



Author's Response:

Soon. Spock will meet Jim soon. After we finish this part of the story (another 4-5 chapters), we will return to the academy. Jim joins the academy in a year. And since I am following the 2009 story, you will see a lot of the observactions that Spock would make about Jim even though they actually meet only little at the hearing.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/30/2017 11:39 PM Title: Chapter 85

I have been away for a bit and just caught up today with this story.   So glad to see that Spock's worth is finally being appreciated by Pike and that perhaps the people who tortured him will understand that it was unjust.  Looking forward to Spock getting back to the Academy as well.   

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2017 2:10 AM Title: Chapter 85

Amazing work as always.

Reviewer: WriterPam4 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2017 11:20 AM Title: Chapter 38

C'est magnifique.



Author's Response:

Merci Beaucoup :)

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2017 2:28 AM Title: Chapter 84

Lovely work on this chaper.  I enjoy seeing this side of Pike we just don't see too often.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2017 7:16 AM Title: Chapter 82

This is a wonderful chapter.  I'm so glad that Spock is able to have some soft moments.  And I love him playng his harp at the end. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2017 5:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

Sometimes fluff is exactly right! 

it sort of feels a bit Saul and David except Pike would never be as nasty as Saul. Though it has given me the perfect excuse to go back several chapters to check on Spock's hand injuries as playing would have to be adapted.

Your idea about the kind of music is a good premise and the throw away line about who taught him to play with an edge on human hermonics is interesting. I have an image of the man needing to be a little more emotionally expressive than most Vulcans and Amanda as partner and muse. 



Author's Response:

You are right about the music bit. He would normally need to adapt how he plays. But since a Vulcan lure is not like human string instrument, from what I noticed, it requires one hand to play the chords and the other one to actually so the melody. And the hand that does the chords is mostly in the same position at the bottom of the lyre. But good point. Someone else asked me this too. I think I'll address it in the next chapter. And the AOS Spock is more expressive than TOS Spock, so I think that helps with the music. 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/06/2017 6:05 AM Title: Chapter 81

I'm so glad that Spock rendered that guy unconcious.  Great chapter.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2017 9:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

I hope that St Laurent gets his just deserts and there is no nasty sting in the tale. Most of all I hope that Pike and Spock rescue the situation and do not fall foul of Marcus' potential machinations. 

 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/03/2017 6:45 AM Title: Chapter 80

Ugh, that St. Laurent is such a scumbag!  And poor Spock has to deal with this guy and it makes me nervous what he's planning.  Great work on this chapter.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2017 3:46 AM Title: Chapter 79

I'm so happy to hear that you're all right now.  :)

And you've done a beautiful job on this chapter.

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2017 6:31 AM Title: Chapter 79

Carmina, it's wonderful to hear that you're well on the road to recovery after your surgery.  I wish you nothing but the best!  I've been checking pretty regulary here and on AO3 for word on how your surgery had gone so when I saw you'd updated this story today and added another I was amazed.  Writing must be a very theraputic activity for you. :-)  

I'm enjoying this story very much even while I'd like to drop-kick Starfleet admiralty and the diplomats, lol.  Poor Spock can't seem to catch a break.  He deserves better all around.  

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2017 9:54 AM Title: Chapter 78

I hope your surgery will be a success and that you will be back on your feet shortly.  My thoughts are with you.

And as for this chapter, it was brilliant.  I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next and I know Spock will find the strength to go on.

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2017 3:48 AM Title: Chapter 78

First of all, I wish you very good luck on your surgery, Carmina, and a speedy recovery.  :-) Save your energy for your health. Nothing but good vibes from me. 

I've enjoyed this fic so very much!  It's fascinating to watch Spock evolve.  Life has been especially challenging for him.  A lesser person would have withered into bitterness and self-destruction.  He needs some allies in his corner.  Shame on Starfleet for making him their scapegoat.  Grrr! They're lucky Spock doesn't up and quit the Fleet after this, depriving them of his contributions.  I can see how having Kirk as his captain will be a transformative life experience. 

 

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2017 12:39 AM Title: Chapter 78

First of all I want to wish you all the best on your surgery.  Hopefully writing this story is giving you something pleasant to distract yourself as you sound like you have had a lot to deal with in your personal life. 

I really love the O.C.'s you have created.   I am big fans of Sobik and Dr. Puri.  It is glad to see other individuals who see the worth of Spock and fight for him.

You wrote the Spock put his "broken heart into a box of cold, hard logic".  Hopefully he does not stay that way.  Someone I hope will be able to thaw the ice.

I am off for a bit of vacation myself and truly hope when I return that I'll see a post as it will mean your surgery was a success. 

 

 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2017 11:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hope surgery goes well. 

This chapter I enjoyed because of the contrast of logic versus politics. I can't help but think of TOS Pile becoming jaded towards the end of his  final mission and this kind of thing explains how the man got that way. There are so many little life lessons in this set of scenes. I especially like your healer characterisation. 

I am hoping that the fleet's ideas become a mess and that Spock saves the day ensuring he cannot be the one hung out to dry. However I can see him evaluating loyalty and becoming more aloof as both emotional protection and also because he evaluates who deserves loyalty in the fleet and who does not. 

You must login (register) to review.