Reviews For Finding Spock
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/27/2017 1:59 AM Title: Chapter 43

This is a great chapter.  I always love mama bear Amanda and I'm glad that she has gotten a little insight into husband and knows he isn't disappointed in Spock.  Spock's first mission should prove interesting and I can't wait to see what happens.

I also would really like to punch Damien, but at least Hamid did that and it was glorious.  I do think Damien is proving that he could be potentially dangerous to Spock and I'm very curious to see where that will go. 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2017 3:03 AM Title: Chapter 42

This is really exciting and I'm looking forward to seeing Spock's experience will turn out.  This is fantastic.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2017 2:58 AM Title: Chapter 41

I really like seeing Hamid's thoughts on Spock.  He's one who knows there's more Spock then anyone else realize.  Spock doesn't realize it, but I'm glad that he's on Spock's side.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2017 2:50 AM Title: Chapter 40

You really nailed what the first day of college is like. It'll be interesting to see how Spock deals with the various of humans surrounding him.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2017 2:42 AM Title: Chapter 39

Awww, I feel so bad for Spock for not knowing how to deal with humans.  Amanda is a real acception when it comes to dealing with Vulcans.  Great work on this.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2017 2:37 AM Title: Chapter 38

I love seeing Spock's growth and everything behind his decision to join Starflleet.  It's difficult for him, but I'm looking forward to seeing his life there.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2017 2:27 AM Title: Chapter 37

Absolutely amazing chapter.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2017 3:15 PM Title: Chapter 42

Mmh I expect more than meets the eye is going on here. looking forward to your hpdates

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2017 12:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

I can see the difficulty it's hard trying to move from seven to late teens and weall tend to have memory blanks about that stage in life limiting the experiences to draw on for fic writing. 

Keep going it will come. I like your crash course in euphemism for Spock. One thing you do capture is the way our socialisation affects life at college. My ex grew up with servants and needed  ancrash course in  lavatory cleaning. 



Author's Response:

Hehehe. I am still at college but it is my first time at an American college. So I have never really lived by myself. Even my current roommate is my best friend from my home country. I am large drawing from the experiences of the kids downstairs who fight ALL THE TIME, on dumb issues like grocery money. They are undergrad students so that might be a factor. But yeah, this is supremely difficult to write. I'm trying very hard to not make this tedious. But thank you for staying with this story. And please, particularly through this phase, I would appreciate feedback and advice on what I could do to make things better in the story. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2017 3:48 AM Title: Chapter 38

A superb ending to this arc of the story. I liked your idea of the conditions that were put in the VSA entry it fits very well into Spock's concept of who he is. It places Amanda'S willingness to have her Son fully Vulcan in stark contrast to the VSA lack of acceptance of all Spock is

Your portrayal o the cost of the VSA rejection in terms of the parental link Fits wellwith Spock on Romulus saying he personally had not melded With his father. It's only just  struck me that to meld may be an active verb and that Spock had no initiated anmdWith  his father.

Sobik as an anchor alloeing him the space to be himself is a good idea. Working in the clinic is a good way to honour the Selhat's memory and use his experienc of pain to offer understanding to the disadvantaged in society.

But what is impressive is that you have achieved exposition in away that is seemlessstory telling rather than a long cumbersome vehicle. This is the mark of a skilled writer. It bodes well  for the return to the present and the outworking in the fleet of all that was learnt in arc one.

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Your analysis is on point. In a number of stories, people do not make the connection between Spock's conversation with his mother and the audience with the VSA. Kolinahr is not to be taken lightly. I do think that he had made his decision even before they implied that his human mother was an obvious disadvantage. Also, it is a little upsetting that after everything, this is what creates this serious rift between Spock and Sarek. There is more to it. And that will be revealed in the later part  of this arc. Thank you so much for reading. It is always a pleasure to hear from you :)

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2017 2:39 AM Title: Chapter 36

This is so heartbreaking.  I know it had to happen, but poor Spock and poor I-Chaya.  What a powerful chapter.  Great work on this chapter.



Author's Response:

I know. I didn't want to put Spock through more torment. He has been through enough. And yet, in order to become the person we know, this must happen. But it will get better. He is strong. And he will make it out of all this alive and victoriou. 

Reviewer: laustic Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2017 2:31 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awww, thanks and sorry for not posting reviews sooner.  I've been working so much, but rest assure that I'm always eager to read your latest chapter(s) and I'm simply waiting for some free time to actually be able to sit down and read it.  :)



Author's Response:

No worries. And please don't' apologize. I just love hearing from you. You are the first person to have ever reviewed this story. And your words are always uplifting and encouragin. So I wait for them easterly. Thank you. 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2017 6:01 PM Title: Chapter 35

Thanks for the playlist.  It looks fantastic and I'm definitely checking it out.  I like how Spock met I-Chaya and how he is caring for him, despite of his own injuries. 



Author's Response:

I missed your reviews so much. Glad to see you back here. I am glad you are enjoying the story. As you have rightly pointed out, our hero is an amazing, strong individual. And it is this very strength that will see him through. 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2017 5:54 PM Title: Chapter 34

I love animals too!  I also love Spock being an animal whisperer as well.  I love that Spock is so strong on the inside even when he and others doubt it.  Great work on this chapter.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2017 5:50 PM Title: Chapter 33

This is really a beautiful chapter and I think it is important to Spock's journey.  I love that Spock wants to recreate Starry Night on the cave wall.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2017 5:39 PM Title: Chapter 32

This is such a movie chapter and I'm glad that Spock has a sympathetic therapist. 

Reviewer: Sita Z Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2017 9:03 AM Title: Chapter 35

I really liked this chapter, although the le-matya worries me... will I-Chaya be allowed to stay with Spock?

Very nice job on I-Chaya's point of view in the last scene!



Author's Response:

Your question will be answered in the next chapter. Your encouragement and understanding means everything to me. Thank you for reading. I hope you will stay with the story even after the next chapter. :)

Reviewer: Sita Z Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2017 8:05 AM Title: Chapter 34

I've been following this story ever since you started posting, and I'm sorry I'm only now leaving a review!

First I'd like to say, I love your style of writing - the chant in the chapter before this was a wonderful example. Very poetic and fitting for Vulcan culture. I especially enjoyed the last two chapters about the Kahs'wan and the change in Spock's mind. It's clear that he's starting to discover himself and the way he wants to be and to interact with his environment: gentle even if everything around him is rather harsh and unforgiving. Speaking of which, I'm glad your description of Vulcan and Vulcans does not make them out to be all racists and bigoted, but that there are nuances and those who accept Spock despite his Other-ness. I also love your thoughtful depiction of T'Pring - like Spock, she's just a young child trapped in an arranged marriage, and tries to deal with it in her own way.

I'm sorry for rambling on like that, it's just that there are so many things I love about your story! To be honest, I prefer the Kirk/Spock pairing over Spock/Uhura, but it doesn't really matter in a tale so well written. I'm very much looking forward to the upcoming chapters!



Author's Response:

I'm so happy to read your review. And please do not apologize for ramblin. I love, like absolutely love long and detailed review. It makes my day to read people's thoughts on this story. And I'm glad you like my characterization. Someone told me that they found my Spock wimpy. And I was a little sad about that. Also, this story will eventually feature a T'hy'la bond between Kirk and Spock but I am not about to give much more than that at this point. Just that it will be a lot deeper and metaphysical than how one commonly sees the friendship between men. Thank you for reading. I am so grateful to you for reviewing. Looking forward to more such insight as the new chapters are posted 😊

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2017 12:06 AM Title: Chapter 34

I am enjoying this it reminds you of the great resilience of children and the healing powerof having something that you can help to deflect you from pain. It is a way Spock moves from the danger of being a victim to finding a deep inner strength that moods his future. 



Author's Response:

So true. And I actually came to this exact conclusion because i have worked closely with children, and they never fail to surprise me with their tenacity and their ability to bounce back. And most times, animals have a lot to do with it all. Thank You for the review. I'm glad you're still with this story. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/16/2017 12:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

All is silence within family comes to mind: isn't that what Selik told Sarek in TAS or words to that effect. Given we know how illogical Vulcan kids can be and the deeper emotions perhaps your take is more Vulcan than others imagine to be the case. 

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you think so. I am so heavily invested in writing this story. It is strange but it feels as if I'm simply a medium. That someone else is narrating it. And like a good scribe, I'm just writing it down. 

You must login (register) to review.