Reviews For Distant War
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2017 3:30 AM Title: Uniform Plan

ANOTHER marvelous chapter--I keep saying that.  Thoroughly enjoyed each section. I've been thinking of Cadet Jaek as Cadet Jerk and now you've made him human.  What a surprise to find that he really doesn't want to build ships.  And his reaction when he finds out the price of his staying in the Academy is great.  I'd been anticipating what Justin would do to Horton.  Hope we get to find out what's in his file.

Looks like Chanel picked a perfect partner for Spock in the team project.  I like Carrom and how he already appreciates Spock.

BUT the best section is the last one.  Roflmao when I read P'losiwst's revenge plan.  She said it was going to be monumental and it is!!!!!  I'm kinda surprised--but pleased--that Spock is participating.  Love the final exchange: 

Spock said, "I will look through the systems I have access to."

"Carefully."

Spock nodded. "I have no other mode."

Looking forward to updates on all of these.  I hope you have a better internet soon.  Miss your weekly updates.  But thank you for continuing with this story.

 

 

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2017 3:31 PM Title: Message

Love this story! Check it for updates a lot so thanks for posting!

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2017 6:59 AM Title: Message

loved the scence w/McCoy - I'm a Spock girl, and I love K&S but I have soft spot for Bones and this shows why. He's good at what he does and he's a good guy.

Spock's message was one of the most honest pieces of writing I've read - both for the character and just in terms of a soul in turmoil.  But also, for me, so romantic. That another person can do this to someone to .. I don't know ?open up ?explore feeling - I know it when I feel it? Kinda reminds me of "this simple feeling" scene.

And "That I miss physical contact with you to a point of experiencing the effects of a severe lack of food or water?" - who wouldn't want to be loved that way? or afraid of loving that way?

that's some heavy duty emotion that Kirk is getting



Author's Response:

I like that Spock is so out of touch with his own experience that in finally opening up, he thinks he's just making a point to Kirk, less so expressing himself. It's that end-run around his pride that makes it possible to be honest. Thanks for commenting that it worked for you.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2017 3:48 AM Title: By Design

Great chapter.  Ive been looking forward to getting back to the Advanced Design class and this is wonderful.  Loved how Chanel made it clear that Spock is NOT "a computer" and how valuable he is.

Will be interesting to see how she decides who gets in a group with Spock.



Author's Response:

Spock has this last project in Advanced Ship Design. Glad at least one reader is ready for more of the topic!

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2017 3:57 AM Title: Incident, Part 6

This whole series is amazing!  With the history of hazing and the recent deaths that have been in the news I can't help but think that some expulsions were in order.  I'm not sure I would trust my back to someone that could so cavalierly risk harm of a fellow being just to humiliate them.  I can't wait to see what P'losiwst's revenge entails and I hope it's going to carry a wallup!  Thanks for all of your hard work and for sharing it. 

 



Author's Response:

Yes, I saw those articles. In a future with transporters and amazing medicine I assume people engage in more risk taking behavior/ have reduced their perception of risk. Just like we no longer live in terror of encountering rusty metal because of tetanus shots.

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2017 3:31 AM Title: Incident, Part 6

I love this series and check in frequently for updates. I'm looking forward to the K+S reunion but I'm enjoying the in between too. Pay backs are hell and coming😇. Thanks for sharing your talents!

Author's Response:

Thanks! It will be a bit before the reunion. I've abandoned the concept of pacing, which is funny in that this is the first story in the series with something like an outline. Maybe that outline is making me overconfident....

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2017 3:35 AM Title: Incident, Part 5

Great chapter!!!  Vice Admiral Justin's comments about the senior cadets' responsibility for Spock's injury are great and LOVE the hand-to-hand combat exercises he's requiring.  Not so taken with his characterizing Spock's psychic attack as "harrowing " and putting it in the same category as the phaser stunning.  But I'm sure you'll settle that in your usual creative way.

I do have one question though:  How can Justin be sure that the phaser turned in to Lt. Grange was THE phaser used in The Incident?

Spock's comments about McCoy are "fascinating".  :)  

Thank you.

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2017 2:52 AM Title: Incident, Part 4

Great!!!! Loved how Y'Rishick has fooled everyone--particularly P'Losiwst and Spock :)  You had me worried that he would pull P'Losiwst out of the Academy.  I don't usually care about OCs but you made yours so real that I want to know what happens to them too.  They're not just filler.

Waiting with bated breath to see how the perpetrators of "The Incident" are handled officially (or unofficially by Lt. Grange).  I understand that hazing is supposed to have team building benefits, but surely phaser stunning someone, especially when you don't know or care about the effects, is not kosher.  

As always, thx for the timely updates.



Author's Response:

Y'Rishick scene was fun to write. He screwed himself over by not wanting to give into his daughter, so he ends up having to admit things to a Vulcan. Fortunately, Sarek understands too well where he's at.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2017 11:50 PM Title: Incident, Part 3

This chapter was less hard on the nerves, loving McCoy and kudos to Amanda and how you write her and how you write how others precieve her. I'm a little suprisied by Jim's, I was going to saying underwhelming, but I guess really non-reaction. I understand about "emotional strain" - sometimes you just know when you can't handle something, but Kirk and Spock? :(



Author's Response:

Kirk is so determined to perform flawlessly that he can't attend to what's happening at a distance. Especially to Spock.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2017 3:44 AM Title: Incident, Part 2

O.M.G. 

I liked him not able to retain control when asked if he missed Jim though



Author's Response:

Poor Spock :(

(secretly: heh heh)

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2017 12:02 AM Title: Learning Opportunity

I know my last review was a makeup for all the ones I missed, but when closing my tabs - this one needed it's own kudos! You keep writing the two of them together so well - I feel for them very much :)



Author's Response:

No ordinary sex allowed. --Me apparently.

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2017 6:04 PM Title: Incident, Part 1

Oh no!!!!!!!!!  I've been expecting Spock to get attacked by a gang of seniors.  You've done a great job of describing how he deals with it--his taking care not to injure his attackers is perfect.  

I NEVER expected this outcome, though.  It's a credit to your writing that I'm on pins and needles waiting to read more about "The Incident".  Plz post more immediately, if not sooner.  Can't wait to see: What will the Academy, Lt. Grange, Zienn, Sarek, and T'Pau do about this; will Spock fully recover physically; will he want to stay in the Academy?  You can probably write a chapter on Kirk's reaction.  



Author's Response:

:-D Thanks! I love chapters like this. So wonderfully painful.

I'll likely post Tuesday again. Got a long weekend of family coming up.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2017 4:15 AM Title: Reach

LOVED Spock's realization about why Lolita had distressed him so much.  Would be interesting to see him share that with Shutan :).  Puts an interesting light on how concerned Sulu was about Kirk's possibly being abusive.  

I hope the senior cadets find another target.  I understand about Spock's earning his way, but give the guy a break!!!!  What exactly IS their problem with him?

BTW, welcome back!!!!!!



Author's Response:

I was going to hold off on the Lolita revelation but decided that two chapters from now no one would care. Not with other stuff going on. Glad it worked for you. 

Yeah, Spock is getting picked on, but he got a break early on like Kirk said.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2017 2:40 AM Title: Reach

I have so many tabs open to comment on for this story - at this point it's easier to just say how much I'm enjoying this story. Not only that, but I am in awe of how of how you're keeping this incredibly intricate, incredibly detailed story going - it's just amazing!



Author's Response:

Funny you mention detailed and intricate, and long. These are things I feel I must constantly fight against to keep it accessible. I WISH this were a problem with my original novel. First world fanfic problem? Or something about the process is different?

Truth that I do spend way too much time thinking about this fic and not the novel. Self-fulfilling problem.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2017 3:55 AM Title: Learning Opportunity

Another great chapter.  Absolutely loved the reception!!!   P'Losiwst's attitude and interaction with Spock are so much fun.  "Sic 'em".  lol  Cadet Jaek has to be sooooooo bent out of shape at the way the Antaras rep treated Spock after totally ignoring him. Wait till he finds out about the "real recruiting meeting".  

As always, thanks for continuing to post new chapters.  I look forward to every one.



Author's Response:

>Cadet Jaek has to be sooooooo bent out of shape

Yup.

Thanks for sticking with it. I don't see any particular end in sight from my side.

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2017 5:00 AM Title: Tutor

Well, Sarak is back to his bad old ways.  It's good he doesn't want Spock to accept doing poorly in Galactic Literature, but does he have to be SUCH a jerk about it?  Looking forward to more interaction between Spock and Shutan.  I hope Spock is wrong about disappointing him.

Enjoying seeing how Kirk is preparing for his new command.  Made me think about what you said way back at the beginning of Colony War about his not being so assured in the AU.

As always, thank you muchly for the frequent updates.



Author's Response:

Sarek is back to normal Vulcan parent ways. It's a victory that he cares Spock do well at Starfleet Academy. Shows he's learned to value it as something worth putting an effort into it. Spock isn't putting up a fight because he knows this is Sarek's way of caring.

Hopefully I can make an update this week. Been distracted. Usually I live and breathe this story and that certainly helps propell the writing along.

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2017 6:02 AM Title: Examination

Love this story and the others.  Keep going please!

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2017 12:20 AM Title: Examination

Love this story and the others.  Keep going please!

Reviewer: TREKKIEE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2017 10:00 PM Title: Departure

I cried i admit at their goodbye :( waiting to see what happens next.



Author's Response:

:(

Trouble. Trouble is what happens next. Story's been too quiet. :-D

Reviewer: TREKKIEE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2017 9:59 PM Title: Impatient

i read this series too fast now im done with distant war. I love this story please continue it



Author's Response:

I have the same problem with the series I'm reading now. Trying to slow down. (Patrick O'Brian in case you are curious)

You must login (register) to review.