Reviews For Distant War
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2017 11:50 PM Title: Incident, Part 3

This chapter was less hard on the nerves, loving McCoy and kudos to Amanda and how you write her and how you write how others precieve her. I'm a little suprisied by Jim's, I was going to saying underwhelming, but I guess really non-reaction. I understand about "emotional strain" - sometimes you just know when you can't handle something, but Kirk and Spock? :(

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2017 3:44 AM Title: Incident, Part 2

O.M.G. 

I liked him not able to retain control when asked if he missed Jim though



Author's Response:

Poor Spock :(

(secretly: heh heh)

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2017 12:02 AM Title: Learning Opportunity

I know my last review was a makeup for all the ones I missed, but when closing my tabs - this one needed it's own kudos! You keep writing the two of them together so well - I feel for them very much :)



Author's Response:

No ordinary sex allowed. --Me apparently.

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2017 6:04 PM Title: Incident, Part 1

Oh no!!!!!!!!!  I've been expecting Spock to get attacked by a gang of seniors.  You've done a great job of describing how he deals with it--his taking care not to injure his attackers is perfect.  

I NEVER expected this outcome, though.  It's a credit to your writing that I'm on pins and needles waiting to read more about "The Incident".  Plz post more immediately, if not sooner.  Can't wait to see: What will the Academy, Lt. Grange, Zienn, Sarek, and T'Pau do about this; will Spock fully recover physically; will he want to stay in the Academy?  You can probably write a chapter on Kirk's reaction.  



Author's Response:

:-D Thanks! I love chapters like this. So wonderfully painful.

I'll likely post Tuesday again. Got a long weekend of family coming up.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2017 4:15 AM Title: Reach

LOVED Spock's realization about why Lolita had distressed him so much.  Would be interesting to see him share that with Shutan :).  Puts an interesting light on how concerned Sulu was about Kirk's possibly being abusive.  

I hope the senior cadets find another target.  I understand about Spock's earning his way, but give the guy a break!!!!  What exactly IS their problem with him?

BTW, welcome back!!!!!!



Author's Response:

I was going to hold off on the Lolita revelation but decided that two chapters from now no one would care. Not with other stuff going on. Glad it worked for you. 

Yeah, Spock is getting picked on, but he got a break early on like Kirk said.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2017 2:40 AM Title: Reach

I have so many tabs open to comment on for this story - at this point it's easier to just say how much I'm enjoying this story. Not only that, but I am in awe of how of how you're keeping this incredibly intricate, incredibly detailed story going - it's just amazing!



Author's Response:

Funny you mention detailed and intricate, and long. These are things I feel I must constantly fight against to keep it accessible. I WISH this were a problem with my original novel. First world fanfic problem? Or something about the process is different?

Truth that I do spend way too much time thinking about this fic and not the novel. Self-fulfilling problem.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2017 3:55 AM Title: Learning Opportunity

Another great chapter.  Absolutely loved the reception!!!   P'Losiwst's attitude and interaction with Spock are so much fun.  "Sic 'em".  lol  Cadet Jaek has to be sooooooo bent out of shape at the way the Antaras rep treated Spock after totally ignoring him. Wait till he finds out about the "real recruiting meeting".  

As always, thanks for continuing to post new chapters.  I look forward to every one.



Author's Response:

>Cadet Jaek has to be sooooooo bent out of shape

Yup.

Thanks for sticking with it. I don't see any particular end in sight from my side.

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2017 5:00 AM Title: Tutor

Well, Sarak is back to his bad old ways.  It's good he doesn't want Spock to accept doing poorly in Galactic Literature, but does he have to be SUCH a jerk about it?  Looking forward to more interaction between Spock and Shutan.  I hope Spock is wrong about disappointing him.

Enjoying seeing how Kirk is preparing for his new command.  Made me think about what you said way back at the beginning of Colony War about his not being so assured in the AU.

As always, thank you muchly for the frequent updates.



Author's Response:

Sarek is back to normal Vulcan parent ways. It's a victory that he cares Spock do well at Starfleet Academy. Shows he's learned to value it as something worth putting an effort into it. Spock isn't putting up a fight because he knows this is Sarek's way of caring.

Hopefully I can make an update this week. Been distracted. Usually I live and breathe this story and that certainly helps propell the writing along.

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2017 6:02 AM Title: Examination

Love this story and the others.  Keep going please!

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2017 12:20 AM Title: Examination

Love this story and the others.  Keep going please!

Reviewer: TREKKIEE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2017 10:00 PM Title: Departure

I cried i admit at their goodbye :( waiting to see what happens next.



Author's Response:

:(

Trouble. Trouble is what happens next. Story's been too quiet. :-D

Reviewer: TREKKIEE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2017 9:59 PM Title: Impatient

i read this series too fast now im done with distant war. I love this story please continue it



Author's Response:

I have the same problem with the series I'm reading now. Trying to slow down. (Patrick O'Brian in case you are curious)

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2017 4:31 AM Title: Need, Part 6

Perfect!!!!  This chapter is perfect.  The different ways that Kirk "adores" Spock are wonderful:  Their physical relationship (you think Kirk could get Spock to let him record those moans?); his feeding Spock; how supportive he is; and how he is willing to let Spock make his own decisions/mistakes.

Thank you so much for not leaving us hanging on this.

I liked that Overlander put the note in Spocks' file (liked the wording of the note too).  So nice to see him getting recognition for how kind he is.

Finally, I laughed at the final section in Spock's dorm room.  I like Kirk's cocky attitude and it was great to see Lt. Grange again.

 

 

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2017 10:06 AM Title: Impatient

Love this chapter! They are both just so damn adorable and you write them so well. Great job!

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/17/2017 3:53 AM Title: Need, Part 5

I especially like the last section of this chapter, both for the interaction between Kirk and Loomis and because of Loomis' questions and instructions.  He really has Kirk figured out.

 I love this question:  "I want to be sure I have this straight. Going back for a few days to adore your boyfriend who adores you in return scares you but an active war zone does not?"

And this one:  "Two months from now when you are out on some mission in a cold alien night and it's quiet and you are waiting for an attack that might not come tonight or ever, what are you going to wish you'd done with regard to Spock and this need for a meld?"

Wonderful!!!!!

Looking forward to seeing how (if?) Kirk follows up.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2017 3:26 AM Title: Need, Part 4

This chapter really reminds us that this Spock is very young and still immature.  He hasn't had the experiences and developed the judgment that TOS Spock has (Judgment comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgment :) )  His reluctance to follow orders and determination to have his way seem very teenage rebellious, but I guess he's entitled after all those years of Sarek's telling him what to do and how worthless he is.

I loved it when he discovered his padd's halves wouldn't fit together "as if it had suffered structural damage."  Well duh.  

The way he allowed enough time to get assigned readings done if everything went well but not consider that they might not reminds me sooooo much of my students.

On the other hand, his reaction to Kirk's ranting was very mature, very un-teenage.  I'm sorry,though, he didn't do whatever it is he does to calm Kirk.  I hope that's just a result of the disciplines he's practicing and not gone for good.

I also liked how he's managing to get the data from the Apollo in spite of Chief Ping.  That was very neatly done on your part.

 



Author's Response:

It probably seemed like a throw-away at the time, but Zienn told Spock to stop practicing that calming art, since it's more advanced than Spock realized and he needs to be trained.

I was thinking that Spock's response to Kirk showed a bit of helplessness and rote application of the same solution as last time. As opposed to stepping back and trying to deal with the situation as if it might be novel. He would need a lot better communication skills to pull it off, since he relies on Kirk's skills too heavily to bridge the gap with Kirk behaving the way he is. So, Spock does the best he can. But I'm not sure it's mature or just not succumbing to emotion in the heat of the moment as a stand in for maturity.


Yes, Spock needed to learn that allies can come from any place (re: absom and the data). And creative problem solving in organizations means keeping an open mind about what anyone can do for you.

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2017 10:02 AM Title: Need, Part 4

So what's going on with Kirk? Is he still feeling the effects of the neural neutralizer? He better straighten out and stop upsetting Spock and me. Looking forward to see what happens next!

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2016 4:46 AM Title: Need, Part 3

Sooooo much to love about this chapter.  I really like the way Spock comforts Hully so calmly and matter of factly:  "I do not think there is anything wrong. This seems a perfectly normal response of a feeling being." He took hold of her arm and held it. "One gets too busy to attend to attend to the response, and it appears to wait for its turn. With great patience, it waits."

You know he's speaking from experience when he says that.  

I also liked the way you snuck M'Benga in there.  His interaction with Spock had me half way expecting McCoy.  I'm looking forward to seeing your take on McCoy and THIS Spock.

Now if you'd just fix Chief Ping's ugly wagon.  I've "mind written" several ways to deal with him.  I'll bet you'll surprise me though.  

Once again, I really appreciate your frequent updates.  You're the BEST!!!!

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks! We will see McCoy at some point. I've got that one written in my head, or "mind written" as you say.

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2016 9:59 AM Title: Impatient

Poor Spock. He really is going to feel terrible about all this. I hope he can help Jim with the Noel love thing.

Author's Response:

I'm writing toward that scene. Should be good.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2016 7:07 AM Title: Inmates, Part 2

I almost feel better now Adams has shown his hand, that brooding sense of menace had me so on edge. Now I just have to wait to see what happens next!

I must tell you how much I appreciate this fic, for over a year and a half now, you've updated nearly every week, at least - it's something extremely pleasant for me to rely on even when things aren't good. And another source of enjoyment when they are. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Aw, I really appreciate your ongoing encouragement. So we're even!

You must login (register) to review.