Reviews For Distant War
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2017 3:55 AM Title: Learning Opportunity

Another great chapter.  Absolutely loved the reception!!!   P'Losiwst's attitude and interaction with Spock are so much fun.  "Sic 'em".  lol  Cadet Jaek has to be sooooooo bent out of shape at the way the Antaras rep treated Spock after totally ignoring him. Wait till he finds out about the "real recruiting meeting".  

As always, thanks for continuing to post new chapters.  I look forward to every one.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2017 5:00 AM Title: Tutor

Well, Sarak is back to his bad old ways.  It's good he doesn't want Spock to accept doing poorly in Galactic Literature, but does he have to be SUCH a jerk about it?  Looking forward to more interaction between Spock and Shutan.  I hope Spock is wrong about disappointing him.

Enjoying seeing how Kirk is preparing for his new command.  Made me think about what you said way back at the beginning of Colony War about his not being so assured in the AU.

As always, thank you muchly for the frequent updates.



Author's Response:

Sarek is back to normal Vulcan parent ways. It's a victory that he cares Spock do well at Starfleet Academy. Shows he's learned to value it as something worth putting an effort into it. Spock isn't putting up a fight because he knows this is Sarek's way of caring.

Hopefully I can make an update this week. Been distracted. Usually I live and breathe this story and that certainly helps propell the writing along.

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2017 6:02 AM Title: Examination

Love this story and the others.  Keep going please!

Reviewer: Txgrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2017 12:20 AM Title: Examination

Love this story and the others.  Keep going please!

Reviewer: TREKKIEE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2017 10:00 PM Title: Departure

I cried i admit at their goodbye :( waiting to see what happens next.



Author's Response:

:(

Trouble. Trouble is what happens next. Story's been too quiet. :-D

Reviewer: TREKKIEE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2017 9:59 PM Title: Impatient

i read this series too fast now im done with distant war. I love this story please continue it



Author's Response:

I have the same problem with the series I'm reading now. Trying to slow down. (Patrick O'Brian in case you are curious)

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2017 4:31 AM Title: Need, Part 6

Perfect!!!!  This chapter is perfect.  The different ways that Kirk "adores" Spock are wonderful:  Their physical relationship (you think Kirk could get Spock to let him record those moans?); his feeding Spock; how supportive he is; and how he is willing to let Spock make his own decisions/mistakes.

Thank you so much for not leaving us hanging on this.

I liked that Overlander put the note in Spocks' file (liked the wording of the note too).  So nice to see him getting recognition for how kind he is.

Finally, I laughed at the final section in Spock's dorm room.  I like Kirk's cocky attitude and it was great to see Lt. Grange again.

 

 

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2017 10:06 AM Title: Impatient

Love this chapter! They are both just so damn adorable and you write them so well. Great job!

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/17/2017 3:53 AM Title: Need, Part 5

I especially like the last section of this chapter, both for the interaction between Kirk and Loomis and because of Loomis' questions and instructions.  He really has Kirk figured out.

 I love this question:  "I want to be sure I have this straight. Going back for a few days to adore your boyfriend who adores you in return scares you but an active war zone does not?"

And this one:  "Two months from now when you are out on some mission in a cold alien night and it's quiet and you are waiting for an attack that might not come tonight or ever, what are you going to wish you'd done with regard to Spock and this need for a meld?"

Wonderful!!!!!

Looking forward to seeing how (if?) Kirk follows up.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2017 3:26 AM Title: Need, Part 4

This chapter really reminds us that this Spock is very young and still immature.  He hasn't had the experiences and developed the judgment that TOS Spock has (Judgment comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgment :) )  His reluctance to follow orders and determination to have his way seem very teenage rebellious, but I guess he's entitled after all those years of Sarek's telling him what to do and how worthless he is.

I loved it when he discovered his padd's halves wouldn't fit together "as if it had suffered structural damage."  Well duh.  

The way he allowed enough time to get assigned readings done if everything went well but not consider that they might not reminds me sooooo much of my students.

On the other hand, his reaction to Kirk's ranting was very mature, very un-teenage.  I'm sorry,though, he didn't do whatever it is he does to calm Kirk.  I hope that's just a result of the disciplines he's practicing and not gone for good.

I also liked how he's managing to get the data from the Apollo in spite of Chief Ping.  That was very neatly done on your part.

 



Author's Response:

It probably seemed like a throw-away at the time, but Zienn told Spock to stop practicing that calming art, since it's more advanced than Spock realized and he needs to be trained.

I was thinking that Spock's response to Kirk showed a bit of helplessness and rote application of the same solution as last time. As opposed to stepping back and trying to deal with the situation as if it might be novel. He would need a lot better communication skills to pull it off, since he relies on Kirk's skills too heavily to bridge the gap with Kirk behaving the way he is. So, Spock does the best he can. But I'm not sure it's mature or just not succumbing to emotion in the heat of the moment as a stand in for maturity.


Yes, Spock needed to learn that allies can come from any place (re: absom and the data). And creative problem solving in organizations means keeping an open mind about what anyone can do for you.

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2017 10:02 AM Title: Need, Part 4

So what's going on with Kirk? Is he still feeling the effects of the neural neutralizer? He better straighten out and stop upsetting Spock and me. Looking forward to see what happens next!

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2016 4:46 AM Title: Need, Part 3

Sooooo much to love about this chapter.  I really like the way Spock comforts Hully so calmly and matter of factly:  "I do not think there is anything wrong. This seems a perfectly normal response of a feeling being." He took hold of her arm and held it. "One gets too busy to attend to attend to the response, and it appears to wait for its turn. With great patience, it waits."

You know he's speaking from experience when he says that.  

I also liked the way you snuck M'Benga in there.  His interaction with Spock had me half way expecting McCoy.  I'm looking forward to seeing your take on McCoy and THIS Spock.

Now if you'd just fix Chief Ping's ugly wagon.  I've "mind written" several ways to deal with him.  I'll bet you'll surprise me though.  

Once again, I really appreciate your frequent updates.  You're the BEST!!!!

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks! We will see McCoy at some point. I've got that one written in my head, or "mind written" as you say.

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2016 9:59 AM Title: Impatient

Poor Spock. He really is going to feel terrible about all this. I hope he can help Jim with the Noel love thing.

Author's Response:

I'm writing toward that scene. Should be good.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2016 7:07 AM Title: Inmates, Part 2

I almost feel better now Adams has shown his hand, that brooding sense of menace had me so on edge. Now I just have to wait to see what happens next!

I must tell you how much I appreciate this fic, for over a year and a half now, you've updated nearly every week, at least - it's something extremely pleasant for me to rely on even when things aren't good. And another source of enjoyment when they are. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Aw, I really appreciate your ongoing encouragement. So we're even!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2016 1:17 PM Title: Correction

Wow, this was a massive chapter! I actually had to make notes before I reviewed.
Zienn is so cute with his fruit boxes! Like a little kid (don't know why I think of fruit boxes like that, but I do). I was thinking how nice it was to see Zienn and Overlander again when you dropped a bomb! A child, that's huge! How I'd like to follow this universe for the next thirty years. To follow all the threads you're weaving in and out.
I really enjoyed Spock’s interaction with Zienn. Even before Spock likened him to a father, I was making that comparison myself.
I'm fascinated with your concept of realms. When you (or Zienn) initially mentioned it, it was after Sybok’s death, and I thought you were referring to the extended period of time that Spock felt as if he were half in the world of the dead. I thought that it was connected in some way to his ability to assist souls towards death, but that his creation of realms was a skill he had acquired (learned?) at that time, recently.
The way you describe him as sensing emotions (that's not the right word, but I can't find a better one) in Kirk as a membrane, I assume I'm correct in thinking that's part of it? I don't remember that before Sybok’s death. Maybe you used it before that, and I just didn’t notice. But now Spock says he's been doing it for years, and my faint understanding completely fails me. Will we learn more of it from Spock and Zienn? And does Spock understand it much better than I do? It would seem as if he possibly doesn't.
I am delighted that a language such as Vulcan has a word for, “stodgy”!
Zienn’s description of his parents and (lack of) childhood puts me in mind of Mao’s Last Dancer. Not that I've actually read it, but the practice of identifying talent early and removing the child to a training institution seems similar.
You've mentioned it before, but today the name, “Tantalus Colony” finally registered. Whether anything will happen, or if Kirk will just meet Dr Adams in passing, I don't know. But I'm getting a bad feeling for the Vulcan prisoners. Somehow I don't imagine their time there has been pleasant.
Spock’s discussion with Kirk was instructive. Sometimes when I read from Spock’s point of view, I commit his error of not seeing the bigger picture. I did laugh at his description of needing one’s nose rubbed in one’s mistakes! And at Kirk’s comment – some things never change, and every iteration of Spock I've ever read has a sassy mouth!
When Kirk said, “No wonder (Admiral Justin’s) not popular among the other Admirals,” that's what I identified with. Regardless of the situation, he was showing up a senior officer in front of a junior, and openly using a junior officer to score points. It smacks of a leadership style that doesn't win you any friends. And yes, I know that Spock isn't an officer at all yet.
I am curious as to how, in the future, you're going to sort out an answer to the comm sex problem!
Thank you for a long, detailed and fast moving chapter. I enjoyed it immensely, and look forward, with a certain amount of dread, to the next one.

 

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/07/2016 2:16 AM Title: Pike

Another terrific chapter!!!!!  Soooooo happy you got all of The Pike stuff in one chapter.  Love this Spock and the interaction between him and Grange.  

Are we perhaps going to see more of Jaek and Horton in those "All Arounds"?  With them not doing QUITE as well as they expected? :)

Really liked this passage:

Spock:  "I was not aware that I was different in that way, sir."

Justin's voice became gentle.  "You are, Cadet".  

Thanks again for the frequent updates.  You make my week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2016 3:03 AM Title: Want to Bet?

Amazing!!!  The chapters just get better and better.  2 more to add to the "Spock's antagonists" list:  Cadets Jaek and Horton.  Jerk and Jerk in Waiting.

The jury is still out on Capt. Pike.  Sooooooo looking forward to Spock's winning the admiral's bet for him.  Any chance Pike is going to want to duel Sulu and Kirk for Spock?  lol

Thank you very much.

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for the encouragement. Been too busy to work on this and encouragement reminds me to keep at.

 

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2016 12:24 AM Title: Debriefing

Verrrrrry interesting.  I wonder what they'll find at Tantalus V? :)

 

 



Author's Response:

I may have to rewatch the episode...


Based on some of the comments (not this one) I suspect quite a number of readers haven't seen it. I may have to flush out things a bit more than the usual companion story.

Reviewer: Sceleta13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2016 2:53 AM Title: Impatient

Great to see you're continuing this series.  I hope Spock somehow makes Chief Ping eat crow!!!!  Already hate Ensign Oppo.  Please have Hully fix him but good--maybe with a little help from Spock.  :)



Author's Response:

Spock has a lot of antagonists to juggle in this story. Good thing he's up to it.

Reviewer: hortababy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2016 7:29 AM Title: Impatient

So glad to see the continuation of this series. I've been hooked since the beginning and can't wait to see where it's going.

Author's Response:

Thanks for continuing to read! This one is less self-indulgent so hopefully it's better rounded.

You must login (register) to review.