Reviews For Chasing Ghosts
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2019 1:42 AM Title: Epilogue

Wow, this was absolutely lovely. I love that this Jim isn’t married to his ship - that he wants to commit his life to another being, even if it’s dirtside. Love. Yours and a few other author’s stories have given me a crazy craving for Kirk/Spock!Prime. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: rosebud Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2018 5:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

This deserves way more reads. It's one of the best of this pairing. The part when Spock surprises Jim that he actually does dance stood out to me. It demonstrates how comfortable Spock has become with who he is, exactly what Leonard Nimoy wanted to express in the reboot films. Well done.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2016 10:16 PM Title: Epilogue

Oh oh oh! What a beautiful fic, full of sexual tension! I don't know whether to love or hate you for the inference that they are together at the end, and the hints at a long future together! You leave me thirsting for more, thirsting for the obviously hot hot hot and incredibly tender that would be their coming together...

Brilliant job.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2016 4:20 AM Title: Epilogue

I love this sweet simple love story.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2016 10:08 AM Title: Epilogue

It's SO good to have you back here on this Archive! You still write some of the best prose up here. This story reads so good that one would like to step into it and never come out again. Your Jim is lovely, troubled by not disturbed, with depth of feeling and a full dedication to his job. I love it that for once Winona isn't the careless bitch we often find her portrayed as. She has her strangnesses, but not much more than most. 

I strongly hope that you are going to honour us with your presence again soon. 

Reviewer: Gabrielle Andrille Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2016 7:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very good story.  I liked very much that you addressed the issue of which Jim Kirk it was that Spock Prime was feeling his current feelings for.  And the choice to have kept the original Jim and Spock an unrequited story was very enlightening.

I agree with WeirdLittleStories about the line about James Kirk and his life-long Duranium love affair.  It really brought home the stark realities of choosing service and exploration over family.

My only concern was that the massive age difference was never addressed.  To be clear, I have no objection to their having a relationship with their age difference, I merely think that one of them (probably Spock Prime) would have expressed some concern about it.  After all, in the 2009 Star Trek, Spock Prime looks ancient even for a Vulcan.  

It does make one wonder what Jim would feel if he waited 2 years to leave Star Fleet, and then were to be widowed a mere 5 years later.  He might feel that the 2 years he waited (while finishing the vaunted 5-year mission) before resigning his commission were too many years to be apart from someone with such a short amount of time left.  But perhaps I am overthinking it.

So, to sum up:  Very good story, and thought provoking if the thoughts it provoked are any indication.  :-)

Thanks for the story,

Gabby

Reviewer: Aech Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2016 10:22 AM Title: Epilogue

Almost every Kirk/Spock!prime fic I have read, including this one, feels like cheating--and not the Kobayashi Maru kind either. The depth of connection is fake and manufactured. I feel dad for what k/s has become. 



Author's Response:

May I suggest, then, that you refrain from reading fics that contain pairings you don't like. 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2016 3:33 AM Title: Epilogue

Thanks for a sweet little story. I do adore the NuKirk/Spock Prime pairing.  (Zachary Quinto does a great job as NuSpock; he's really an excellent actor, but Leonard Nimoy will always be the Spock of my heart.)

And this line blew me away: James Kirk had vanished into an energy rift after a lifetime of service, the thing he loved most in the universe constructed of duranium. That wasn’t how Jim wanted to go. That's insightful and poignant and important; that line hit me like a rocket blast.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2016 3:31 AM Title: Chapter 3

Oh, my. How bittersweet.

And Jim, do be careful of the old Vulcan's heart. Don't play with it. He's been through so much already.

 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/13/2016 11:53 PM Title: Epilogue

An unusual take on what might have been

 

You must login (register) to review.