Reviews For The Bodyguard
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2017 7:26 AM Title: Betrayal

What a cliffie. I will neer to re watch  Mirror Mirror as I'd seen this as and AU  it feels

more like the backstory to that famous episode. Loving the style and characterisation.

 

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2017 6:03 AM Title: Emotional Roller Coaster Ride: Spock

It's also that way in the comics tied to the movie.

(told you I read and re-read these chapters, wherever posted!)



Author's Response:

Yeah, the comics was actually the first place I found out, but i wasn't sure if the comics were written by a third party or not.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2017 4:03 AM Title: It's a Date? Part: 2

This story always has me waiting for the other shoe to drop. Not necessarily a sense of foreboding, but this being MirrorVerse the feeling that it could all explode violently and irrevocably at any time. It's not bad, but I do always first go to the end of each chapter (which I do w/almost all works anyway), saying "please let it end well." :)

I get Jim being freaked. Discovering strong emotions is always scary and esp in this environment, what he has planned is a survival mechanism. I know that I've brought this  up before, it's my take as a reader - the very fact that he has an option to distance himself is b/c he lucked out in having Spock for an "owner." As a slave, he is making a decision for his person - that's something slaves of other masters (except maybe the lucky Orion) don't get to do, practically by definition. The whole being on a vacation he realizes is something slaves don't get, Spock speaks to him well and is not disdainful (except in the slut dept but it's not as though Jim isn't helping there). Even if the museum is not his forte, the very fact that he's not so lost is b/c Spock gave him education - something that no one will ever be able to take away and opens so many opportunities.

Anyhow, I hope he called the twins right away so Spock doesn't awaken both betrayed and vulnerable. I feel so bad for him :(

On a non-story note - I didn't know you were going to school in Japan, from everything I hear, it's lovely. Good luck w/your studies and thanks for continuing to update!



Author's Response:

Aw, don't go to the end of the chapters, that will spoil the chapter. Will it make you feel better if I say no one important will die? It's part of the surprise!

On Spock's part, I don't think he ever considered Jim as a slave and more an unruly underling that he had to ensure wouldn't kill him and do his job. For Spock it is litterally on paper only. I think the fact Jim kind of sees Spock as his owner is his own mental barriers. Spock pays him and gives him days off. I think it makes an even bigger impact in the fact officially, Jim has only been a slave for 3 years, captured thanks to Kodos (which I should probably expand on that since I mentioned it but never went into detail). He was just so poor since he was running from the empire he never had any luxuries such as vacation just to put food on the table. The fact he does have some of this slave mindset I think shows how much the arena did affect him and chip away at his sense of individuality and self worth that even 3 months away hasn't healed. But you are right, Jim never had a chance to get  formal education and Spock has been teaching him by just conversations over chess and personal tutorings in literature. Of course, the textbooks Jim can now read helps as well.

As always, I enjoy conversing about the characters psychology and possible actions and thoughts. It helps seeing how others see Jim and reminds me if I might have forgotten something that could effect their actions. It's a bit funny to talk about Jim pretty much living in pretty much in a LDC because I just finished a Development Economics course.

I think I mentioned coming to Japan in chapter 16. Ironically, I am more punctual in my updates when I am in school or working alot rather having months of free time. Thus since coming to Japan I have updated almost every 10 days. Hopefully I keep it up. I still need to finish my other Star Trek story I started and ignored in favor for this story.

Thanks for reviewing as always. I quite enjoy them. Feel free to shoot me a message if you ever want to continue discussions like this.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2017 10:47 PM Title: It's a Date? Part: 2

The way you leave unexplained undercurrents is tantalising



Author's Response:

Why thank you. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/2017 3:53 PM Title: Until Death Do Us Part

First, let me address you’re A/N, I don’t think your descriptions are repetitive at all and most important, you don’t need to apologize at all – you (and all fanfic authors) are doing this out of the goodness of your heart and as readers, it’s truly appreciated! I’ve been reading fanfic only a few years and there’s A LOT less of it and less of good quality regular contributors – so THANK YOU!

Re this chapter – it’s keeping the momentum of the last few and just getting better! I love that Spock is beginning to ? decompress, ? relax around Jim. There was also so much in this chapter, but I also have lots of questions! Some you might not be able to answer for story development purposes, but I’ll put out there. Is this weapon going to be like Tantalus Field or like the ancient mechanism in Turnabout Intruder? There’ve been different hints and both female protagonists but different ways. Also, I’m assuming he knew that Janice was going to try and kill him b/c he knew there was a drug in the wine, but did she mean to kill him w/the knife in her hand? (a knife and drug might be overkill) I had to go back and re-read b/c I thought he killed her, whereas she seemed to want to rule together and also wanted him. I completely don’t understand why he staged the “murder” scene and he was expecting Spock to do. They seemed to be getting along well or at least not negatively.

More minor queries – when he was irritated that Spock when to Uhura’s quarters alone, I thought it was b/c he was worried about him being reckless and going anywhere alone esp with the assassin still out there, but it was b/c he was jealous? Also, Sovik is upset he saw him w/Janice b/c the knows about the trysts w/Spock not b/c he actually wants Jim – this may be obvious, but anything else is oooky :)

Finally, going back to your last response, yes, Jim has always had to fight to survive, but he’s fighting for his survival and a modicum of dignity. Whereas, poor Spock, is fighting for his survival and of his people – so much is riding on him and that’s an awesome responsibility, and then there are obviously interpersonal dynamic issues that would drive anyone crazy. I imagine him strung so tight all of the time that he could just shatter. Which is why it’s so nice he could have that time w/Jim when he doesn’t seem so much on his guard. And he has done so right by Jim – I remember reading about Jim’s joy at having his own room. And he’s taught him – an education is a gift that keeps on giving and can never be taking back. That sentence where Jim is grinning just b/c he can now read email was great – as anyone who has worked w/past illiterates knows, there’s joy there and empowerment. And Spock gave him that – he didn’t have to. Also, re Bones, he might be mentally prepared for betrayal but that’s even worse b/c he’s still trying and he does seem to be a decent doctor and not the nightmare some MirrorMcCoys can be.

I went on so long that it’s going to negate what I have to say next that is none of business – I anticipate updates to this story very much, but the end of the academic year is nigh, so focus on that! I wish I could go back and pay more attention to exams (and now I harp on my son to work more). Good luck w/classes



Author's Response:

I'm actually in Japan so i just started the semester 5 weeks ago. Not so much studying, though the Japanese university does not allow me to indulge in my bad habits of skipping class and using my computer in class.  So I'm not missing much yet. Thank you for your consistent support in both my personal and fanfic life. It means a lot

Thankfully, most of your questions have already been stated, implied, or is not important to the main storyline so I can answer them. When Jim found the file, it specifically said Tantalus Field on the file. So yes, it is the Tantalus field. Yes both female antagonists were mentioned. I chose Janice because she seems like a black widow type who would kill any man she was interested in. Especially since she tried to kill him in Turnabout Intruder.

next, jim is very well informed and has heard of her reputation. In addition her language implies that she hates men in power or men who might get over on her.  added with the sudden di, it was a safe bet the wine was poisoned and she was going to kill him. The wine itself was a numbing agent. Mostly so he couldn't fight back so she could kill him. It would be difficult for a woman to take down a trained man in physical strength alone. also jim hasn't touched anything he has not seen someone drink from or he hasn't made himself throughout the story. The fact he did drink it will be cause for suspicion later. You have to remember that seduction is a useful tool in this world to get an upper hand, especially if you're physically weaker. It can allow you to get close. Janice (and Jim himself when he was in the arena) have used seduction to get what they need.

 

i think jim believes Spock can take care of himself one on one. Spock is fairly capable and he would be cautious entering the room. He'd also have a guard with him, which he did. He is starting to display jealousy and passiveness over Spock. Sovik is pissed that he's seeing him with Janice because he's sleeping with Spock. He doesn't like the idea of Spock's partner sleeping with another especially since he has an inkling that Spock sees Jim more than a good lay. 

 

You have to remember as well, Spock started doing these things for him to either increase his efficiency or to make him behave accordingl. It wasn't out of the goodness of his heart. Granted these actions led to more interactions between them and made them become closer. But essentially you are right.

 

sorry if there are spelling errors, I'm typing this response in class and on my phone. Thank you for taking time to review.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2017 4:40 PM Title: Know my Weakness

These are the best 2 chapters of the really good story so far! I like that they are starting to ? care ? be nice to each other.

I read your response to my earlier review, and I you're right this is a vicious universe so they can't go all soft. I guess my ?uneasiness was b/c even their thoughts to themselves were harsh, but they are a product of their surroundings. I do love the underlying softness you show in Jim - both w/the book and the dog.

I do feel bad for McCoy - he sees it as it is and can't help doing and I hope he doesn't pay for it. Same also for Spock - I worry about these 2 characters most in this story - he's really decent and trying to make to survive in this alien and very hostile atmosphere - Jim could've done a lot worse. Betrayal is my hobgoblin, and if Jim turns on them, it'll be so hard.



Author's Response:

I think the harshness in the characters' actions and thoughts is what makes Mirrorverse interesting. Its a chance to see characters who are the same but different because of the change in their enviornment adapt to these harsh situations. No human (or Vulcan) is just pure visciousness. Out of the three characters, I think Jim has suffered the most in this universe, having to do anything to survive, so his thoughts are the darkest and most unforgiving. Everything he's loved was stripped from him, so he made a silent vow to himself never to be that vulnerable again only to slowly let Spock in. It is no doubt that Kirk and Spock would not take betrayal well. McCoy I believe expects it, but is more mentally prepared for it.

I apologize, I love talking philosophy and the possible nature vs nurture argument and theory in general. I did not mean to ramble. I'm glad you are enjoying the story. Thank you for leaving a comment as always.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2017 10:58 AM Title: Tell Me How You Want It

I'm happy to help with sex scenes or any other beta-ing you'd like. Email me: ashayatreldai (at) hotmail (dot) com. I'm so glad to see you updating this fic.



Author's Response:

I never really abandoned a fic, it just might take me a really long time to update lol. Sorry about the wait, hopefully the next chapter will not take so long. I have already started the next chapter and should have a lot more going on than it did in the last chapter, so it should be of decent length. My chapters have been kind of short recently and I absolutely apologize for it.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/2017 9:03 PM Title: Tell Me How You Want It

well, this chapter was not expected, very interesting though - I keep looking for deeper meaning between Jim and Spock, but even if none, it really was a good read, thanks for the update!



Author's Response:

I think you missed it, this chapter showed quite a bit of spock's character. He's getting possessive as well as jealous. A man who's so cautious that he'd never leave a chance to be vulnerable is allowing Jim to stay in his bed and even while he's meditating. He has also for the first time, shown a gentle side to Kirk, taking the time to clean him up and make him comfortable. If this was the begining of their sexual relationship, SPock would have never allowed it. Spock has also been keepin ghis guard down around Kirk, letting him walk up behind him and reach over his shoulder to touch the chessboard. It's showing trust towards Jim. Jim has also shown certain levels of trust in comfort by just coming into Spock's room to borrow books, play chess, and most of all just lounging about on the couch. He's not primed and ready to fight Spock as he was in the beginning. However, due to the universe they are in, neither is consciously aware of it and would be scared to even consider that it might be a possibility. Spock touches on these changes at the end when contemplating his behavior that night, but the pound of bricks won't hit him until it becomes a bit more obvious. As for Spock's behavior in liking to see a submissive, I am trying for the angle involving Spock's Vulcan half, unconsciously being pulled towards kirk cause he's t'hy'la, pon farr, and the weakening of the vulcan race.

In short, there is a deeper meaning between them. Since they can't say what theyre really thinking, their true thoughts and feelings are emerging in their sex which has gone from completely cold and just lust, to showing Spock is starting to lose control of his rationality and decision making as well as see his wall crumbling bit by bit in this one. I hope this explaination helps.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2017 7:22 PM Title: Connections

Thanks for the update! I was hoping that you hadn't abandoned this story. And you came back with a bang. I still worry about where you'll take this story b/c Jim and Spock still seem to have such an adversarial relationship, I believe the Jim would betray any second (and feel bad about for maybe only a second). The Janice Lester appearance was definitely a surprise.

Hope you're enjoying Japan!



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting. I am enjoying Japan so far. Hopefully I can update while I'm here. I apologize for taking so long to update. AS for the story itself, I can't say much cause things will happen. Descriptive I know. As for Janice.....hahahahahahhaha.....yeah.... Well yeah, Janice. Like I said, things will happen. Probably not how you'll expect them too. Thanks for reading and even more, thanks for taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2017 3:21 PM Title: Distraction

Loving this fic. Bring on another chapter!

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2016 4:17 AM Title: Days After

He's already researching it.  Or just beginning to find it.  Question is how will he use it in this timeline.



Author's Response:

How indeed? fuhuhuhuhuhuhuhu.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2016 11:22 PM Title: Days After

A tantalising ending



Author's Response:

I see what you did there. Very nice.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2016 2:37 AM Title: Dignitaries

Spock you are one confused dude.  Is Amanda aware who Spock is to her?



Author's Response:

Of course. Spock is aware of who she is as well.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2016 12:15 AM Title: We Meet at the Arena

Many things. (Background, future things, relationships, family issues.) But to have them answered would be like spoilers...



Author's Response:

Hm, I suppose. Thanks for reviewing every chapter as always. I appreciate the support.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2016 11:43 PM Title: Parental Love

now this chapter was fascinating... so many answers and so many more questions!



Author's Response:

You're the second person to say that today. What more questions did I make you ask exactly? I wasn't aware I brought up more questions.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2016 10:55 PM Title: Lust/Hate

Hmmm.. that wasn't very nice Spock.  Will Spock get what he wants?  What will happen to Jim?

Reviewer: ShayAlyce Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2016 6:37 PM Title: Maybe He's not so Bad After All

I'm really enjoying this story. I was hesitant at first, but it's sucked me in and I'm hooked. :-)



Author's Response:

I'm so Glad that you are enjoying it. Thanks for taking time to comment.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2016 11:01 PM Title: Maybe He's not so Bad After All

Interesting and fascinating.  I look forward to seeing how Jim's and Spock's reactions to each other change.



Author's Response:

I do too. Can't wait to find out.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2016 5:09 PM Title: The Illusion of Strength

I'm so glad you post here also b/c I completely missed it on the other site and I would've been loath to miss this chapter. If they have to go 1 step back for every 2 steps forward, this isn't too bad, at least they weren't hurting each other on purpose (although I think this level of trust and accomplishment deserves more than 2 steps ;>). Glad Spock found out about Jim - I hope it helps Spock with Jim :)



Author's Response:

Yeah, AO3 isn't the best about informing you about new chapter updates unfortunately. I'm glad you caught it though. And thanks for reviewing as always.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2016 7:40 AM Title: We Meet at the Arena

An entertaining tale. I especially like your slow reveal of Spock's  back story and I wonder how deep Pike's plotting goes. 



Author's Response:

I wonder myself how far it goes. Thanks for reviewing.

You must login (register) to review.