Reviews For Unexpected
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/25/2016 2:35 PM Title: Departures and Promotions

I had such a yen to read this again during this time of year - still a great read :) Merry Christmas!

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2016 6:51 AM Title: Epilogue

That was great! Great job! <3<3<3



Author's Response:

Aww, thank you so much!! I'm glad you liked it! <3

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2016 6:35 AM Title: Ashayam

I cried. ;_; <3>3



Author's Response:

Aw Yohtan, I did too while writing this! There were a lot of tear-jerker moments. I'm touched the writing moved you!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2016 4:31 AM Title: Epilogue

A nice closing of a story with everything ready for the sequel. Thank you for sharing your talent with us!



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you! The honor and pleasure as all mine in getting to share my story and talk with you about it along the way. I've really appreciated your constant feedback. Over the last few days since you've begun reading and now finished the fic, I've been getting geared up for writing the sequel. I liked that I would wake up for work, check the archives, and see that you had left another comment. It was really sweet, even completely unncessary but muchly appreciated! Not all readers are as considerate and insightful as you.
As of tonight, I did post the first chapter of 'Human Nature' and I'm waiting for an edit of chapter two. =]

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2016 4:00 AM Title: Bonus Chapter: Spock in San Francisco

Lovely chapter, don't you want to insert it where it belongs or is it too complicated? I think it would be great to see at that point of the story what Spock is up to and what his considerations regarding their relationship are.

Ah, and I like his interaction with Uhura a lot. She is a splendid woman,  perceptive and empathic, with a good sense of humour.



Author's Response:

It's a little too complicated I think, plus I didn't want to break it up between Jim's housewifey moments and Spock's 'gettin shit done' moments, haha. I can see how it might fit, but I wrote it almost like an after thought just before finishing the fic. I may move it later, actually.

I enjoyed writing Uhura actually, and this is coming from a previous 'Uhura hater', I used to dislike her a lot between the TOS and first AOS movie, but then I started reading fics where writers were painting her in a much better light and so I began to change my opinion of her. I really like putting her as a good friend to Spock. I also loved writing that conversation in particular, because I think it gives us a little looksie into how their prior relationship with one another had been. Also, I like to write her in as an adoring aunt-type figure to David. =]
Thank you for yet another wonderful review, you're so deticated! =0

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2016 3:10 AM Title: Ashayam

Realistic and heartbreaking. This farewell scene is utterly moving, giving justice to the multiple layers of complex feelings such a situation is likely to trigger and taking the reader on the  roller coaster ride along with Jim. Very moving.

I also loved the sex scene, appreciated the realism there as well. The somewhat awkward mechanics of a first time for both, threatening but not succeeding to ruin the beauty of the moment - you bring the reader right there and there is nothing voyeuristic about it. Really well done!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I was actually sort of worried that Jim might come off a little, I don't know...bi-polar? But I'm glad you feel it fits with the scenario. =]

I love writing 'first-time' fics, it's always exciting writing that first encounter because it's as fresh as it will ever be and so emotional and introspective at the same time. Phew! My readers don't feel like voyeures! =D One point for me then. Thank you for your honesty and awesome reviews!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2016 9:20 AM Title: Christmas Surprises

Sex in front of the fireplace, yes indeed!!! I love it that your sex scenes are always organically growing out of the rest of the story, never an end in themselves. They are sweet and powerful at the same time, laced with a bit of sadness for the future separation that is drawing closer. 

I find that you have put the same care in choosing the various Christmas presents that you would have put into choosing the ones of your loved ones and it warms my heart for an inexpicable reason. There is all the love and consideration in them and more: there is the acceptance of what has to come, of the time they will have to live apart. The gifts are such as will help the other to live through the years to come.



Author's Response:

I love semi-sweet sex scenes. =3 The bitterness mixed with the passion is a great medium with which to write with! Thank you so much for your added support, I think I was most self-conscious about this scene because it was putting Jim in a much more submissive light for the first time. I like to make our boys a little more equal in the bedroom...

Oh God, I love Christmas shopping. Ask any one of my family members or friends, I buy way more for other people than I do for myself. I love gift giving! Which means, I put way too much thought into the gifts my characters give, eh-hehheh. I love your feedback on this, thank you! <3
Also, I just wrote Chapter 1 of the sequel; Human Nature. I have yet to post it here, but I am hoping to later tonight after I finish writing Chapter 2! =D

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2016 4:01 AM Title: We See With Open Hearts

The Christmas theatre with Joseph turning Ninja and attacking sheep and baby Jesus - that is priceless! One has indeed to be glad Jim didn't have time to get him the forgotten stick. 

The scene in front of the fireplace is so very telling for what they are, each individually and as a couple. I love Spock's quiet strength in the certainty of the soundness of what links them, of its being eternal. And that he doesn't play down the risk that something might happen to him while away.

 



Author's Response:

I loved writing the Christmas Concert scene actually, because it's all based on the ones I had to attend as a kid growing up. I wasn't in any play, but I did play  handbells for a few years. Then I joined the choir.

Bahaha, yes David with a stick would have been terrifying at that point. A teacher would have had to intervene.

I'm trying my best to make this very realistic and less 'fairytale', logically there is no way Spock can guarantee Jim that he will return unscathed, or even at all if an emergency calls for his sacrifice. Needs of the many over the few or one, of course. But he does take his strength in knowing that he's act least gotten to experience this connection with Jim, and he realized before that fireplace that even though he was certain of their connection, Jim was not. So it was like a pre-Christmas gift sharing that reassurance with him. Even if it won't protect him, it brought Jim a little peace of mind. <3

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2016 3:18 PM Title: With Friends, We Give Thanks

You managed to make this a very festive chapter, even if you are probably right and your better at writing the three person/small family dynamics than this kind of crowded party thing.  But I enjoyed it a lot anyway. I almost choked on my coffee when David explains that Spock is his father's girlfriend. 

 



Author's Response:

People enjoy the big scenes though, with all the bridge crew, so I like to try. =]
Bahaha! Don't choke! I was imagining the old Bones' expression in the TOS series where Spock's mother reveals that Spock had a pet sehlat and told them to imagine it as a big teddy bear. And McCoy's face is all 8D A teddy bear??
And Spock explains it's a teddy bear with six inch fangs, haha! That was the exchange I was going for when Bones asked him if Spock was David's nanny. =P

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2016 7:16 AM Title: Date Nights and Sleepovers

Oh yeah, you write the hotter stuff well too! This first time is full of need and crackling energy and yet suffused in the warm light of wonder and worship.



Author's Response:

Oh God, I'm so self-conscious of the sex scenes, I think most writers are actually. I'm really glad that the raw emotion came through to you, I was nervous about making it too sexual and crude. Since this is a 'family' fic and having a five-year old kid in the story makes me want to dim down the vulgarity, I tried to make the sex as classy as possible, haha!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2016 11:51 PM Title: New Memories

A.I. cars are hilarious, especially when named by an overenthusiastic small kid. I had to smile at the brand names of the cars, still the same as some centuries before. As is the lady in the loans' office by the way,must be the same one who refused a small credit to my husband some years ago in such a humiliating manner - some things never change. I might send her David to play with her plants...

Of course I couldn't but adore the kiss in the kitchen and David's reaction,  Jim doubling over in a fit of laughter and Spock trying for a reasonable answer - priceless! 



Author's Response:

Oh man, I loved writing the dang loan lady. Haha! I loved making David a little deviant too, it's definitely going to be a precursor to how he'll grow up to be later in the sequel. (I'm actually in the middle of writing chapter one for 'Human Nature', the sequel to 'Unexpected').
You're welcome to borrow David for some vegetation destruction.

I knew I couldn't write Spock and Jim tip-toeing around David for the rest of the story, I didn't want it to become something they hid from him so I had to have him find out early on. Thank you so much for the amazing review, I'm stoked you're loving it! Also, way to go, reading what...three chapters today? Woot, wooot!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2016 10:42 PM Title: Collisions

I love Spock's steadfastness. He is the perfect balance for Jim. And I'm glad his Christmas present is going to resolve Jim's financial problems. It is hard to strive as a person and head of a family  never knowing if you will be able to find the means to pay for the most basic things.

The whole stiching scene is great. Such a good idea to have them have this talk over the closing of Jim's wound and quite symbolic too,  now that I come to think about it.



Author's Response:

I couldn't agree more. Jim has always seemed like the erratic and risk-taking one in the pairing while Spock is always a strong constant.
Oh wow, now that you mention it, I do see the symbolism I wrote for the stitching scene. I actually just love writing about someone getting stitches, does that sound morbid or sadistic of me? I don't mean to, haha! But that level of pain sort of lowers a person's inhebitions too, making this conversation a little easier to broach with Jim unable to censor himself due to the discomfort.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2016 2:38 PM Title: A Different Kind of Housewife

The part of this chapter you call boring is a very realistic portrait of what the life of a parent,  especially a single parent often is. You write it so well that I am suspecting that you are being helped by some first hand experience. The feeling of standing in front of the cashier and not having enough money, the surge of protectiveness when one's child is ridiculed at school, the difficulties in the morning, when necessary tasks have to be done all together while keeping an eye on the progress of the kid...Yeah,  having someone else to share it all would be...desirable. 



Author's Response:

Actually, I'm kidless, haha! I'm not even married yet, but I think I've befriended enough single moms and listened to their woes and struggles enough to have at least a second hand experience with it. I just continue to draw on how unprepared Jim felt and still feels in regards to raising David, he had never seen himself as a Dad-type before this whole incident. I definitely tried to touch on some of the major points of a struggling parent and I think one of the most embarrassing things could be to stand at check out and realize you don't have the money for what you need. It's embarrassing, frightening, and frustrating; I'm sure. Nature intended a child to have two parents, and when one is missing, the other tends to have to pick up the slack and so Jim is not only a father, but also having to the play the roles of a mother as well with David. So not only has he had to learn a greater capacity for compassion and caring, he's had to learn how to express the necessary emotions to make David feel safe and wanted, to try and repair what Carol had allowed to remain broken. Winning a child's trust is an amazing, and sometimes complicated thing, especially if they've been let down once.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2016 5:18 AM Title: Small Goodbyes

There is so much warmth and intensity in this chapter, such a deep longing taking shape. The way you write their interaction in the kitchen scene is truly brilliant. I'm at a loss for words that might give it the deserved credit. And when they are in front of the fireplace, Spock's openings come as much as a surprise to the reader as to Jim, the warmth growing in our chest proportional to Jim's. I love the way Spock uses his entirely Spockian language and Jim sees without effort beyond, understanding the depth of emotions his friend is not equipped for expressing. With this chapter you enter into my list of favourite authors. Thank you for sharing your talent with us.



Author's Response:

Oh wow, that's quite an honor you've given me! Thank you so much, I appreciate all the lovely comments you've given me so far and how invested I feel you've become in my fic. I loved writing the fireplace scene, even if it was hard to get Spock's dialogue exactly right without being overly emotional (being a human, can't fault me for that). I feel that Jim has known Spock long enough at this point, at least over the year they spent together on the Enterprise; to be able to catch the flavors of what Spock means to say at most points. Also, their close proximity in each others company lately has made Jim notice the smaller nuances, me thinks.
Thank you so much for being an inspiration and a clear and rewarding voice throughout your reading. Your feedback is quite the pleasure to receive, and motivating me to jump back into the fray with the sequel I'm planning. =]

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2016 4:20 AM Title: Lights in Our Eyes

Ah, I so much enjoy this quiet, unhurried development of confidence between them, and the cold/warm, snow/fire thing that seems to make my own skin tingle.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm pleased you're enjoying it, because I thoroughly enjoy the cozy rustic of winter too. Maybe I'll find a way to write a holiday fic every year, because I really do love the settings of it. Also, who can resist a cold/cuddly Vulcan? Certainly not me. =]

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2016 10:30 PM Title: Faceless Fears

Know what? I'm glad I'm reading this story now that it is finished. You make the affection between them grow so slowly but constantly that I'm addicted and truly happy the next chapter is there already.



Author's Response:

Me too! But I'm just happy you're reading it at all, haha!
I'm a sucker for slow-builds... ;P

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2016 9:05 AM Title: Ghosts and Groceries

Among the things I love most about this story so far is your ability to glimpse something under nuJim's sparkling and buoyant surface,  a capacity for commitment, for compassion and sacrifice. 



Author's Response:

Why thank you! I like to think that Jim's outward nature is mostly just a front. He has his own insecurities, as does most everyone, and like a lot of men, he disguises emotions seen as weakening with other emotions. I like making the comparison in the AOS world that Jim could relate to a child with an absent father, since his own chose heroism and a twisted part of him sees that as a kind of abandonment. He didn't want to do that to David, or he would be no better than George Kirk Sr.
Also, Spock is deserving of a compassionate mate.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2016 8:50 AM Title: Truths and Promises

I love the quiet interaction between the friends, the familiarity and the awkward moments. You write that really well. 

I didn't quite understand why you write:"after what Spock's counterpart had done to the planet Vulcan". 

I find the image of Spock as a silent messenger in the pouring rain really poetic.

You are right, I shun WIPs, don't trust writers to finish them. Have been left hanging too often.  :)



Author's Response:

Why, thank you!


The reference you mentioned is actually a flash-back towards Spock's involvement in the destruction of Vulcan at the hands of Nero. But I've been considering it, I might actually remove it, because I don't think Nu!Spock would blame Spock!Prime for his actions, not enough to think about it in that context anyway.

Thank you, I like it a lot too, I'm a sucker for rainy scenes. (Probably due to The Notebook, or something).

I don't blame you for waiting for this one to be finished, I've been left hanging on a few fics too and I know the disappointment. But don't worry, I fully intend to finish the sequel as well. =]

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2016 8:38 AM Title: Small Introductions

Charming! I like the way you show us Jim's situation across Spock's eyes,  letting us discover this new Jim along with him.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you like it. =]

Reviewer: DDM Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 10:56 PM Title: Epilogue

This has been such a wonderful story! I'm such a sucker for slow building romance and angst, it makes the glorious get-together all the more satisfying.  Can't wait for part two!



Author's Response:

Thank you, I couldn't agree more! I am excited to start working on part two, but I'm making myself wait and take a break. So in a few weeks hopefully, I'll begin my work anew. Thank you for reading and reviewing, it's my inspiration. =]

You must login (register) to review.