Reviews For All in the Family
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/31/2017 6:22 PM Title: A Night and the Next Day

Wow, awesome part. Jim and Spock, in love but having to deal with Jim's terrible flashbacks, and the beginnings of a new relationship between Winona and Sarek. It's fascinating really, and I look forward to where you go with this. 

Thanks so much, and I hope you are well. I'm very glad to see you back. *hugs*

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2017 7:47 AM Title: A Night and the Next Day

This is a great chapter. 



Author's Response:

TYVM

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2017 9:35 PM Title: A Night and the Next Day

If you hear a boom, that will be Jim and Spock's heads exploding when they find out.  Wow!!!!!



Author's Response:

Oh, yeah. Jim is NOT going to deal well with this

Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2016 6:09 AM Title: Chapter 8: A Job Offer and More

Wow...when you drop a bomb into conversation, you drop a BOMB!  LOL  I don't know what to think, so I'll wait for the next part.  While I'm waiting, I think I'll ponder the very naked James and Spock in the 'bonding hut'. Mmmm...

Thanks so much!

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2016 2:46 PM Title: Chapter 8: A Job Offer and More

I'm going with Winona there:WHAT??????

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2016 3:45 AM Title: Chapter 8: A Job Offer and More

I knew it!  I knew Sarek would ask Winona to be his new bondmate!  Awesome chapter.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2016 3:33 AM Title: Chapter 8: A Job Offer and More

WHAT????!!!!  Indeed!!!

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2016 10:41 PM Title: Chapter 8: A Job Offer and More

That came out of nowhere! Glad to see you're writing again, CMM.



Author's Response:

TY. Yes Imissed it

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2016 5:17 PM Title: Chapter 8: A Job Offer and More

So, what is it that Sarek sees in Winona?  So far, I'm not really seeing it, myself...

 



Author's Response:

Why does anyone fall for anyone?

Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2016 11:51 PM Title: Chapter 7: Bonding Forever

A joyous Jim and Spock is a lovely thing to behold.  Bonded.  Mmmm. 

Now...Winona. Sadly, I want her to suffer - I think that she deserves it for her absolutely craptastic and failed role as a parent. I actually think that she should suffer for a very long time. :(  The problem is that Sarek does seem so drawn to her, and I hate seeing him so lonely...I'm conflicted! But I don't think it's fair that Sarek might put her in a position to remain a visible, ongoing poart of the Clan in a way that Jim would have to see and deal with.  I think he's suffered enough at her hands.  :(  Ugh...you are a truly evil author.  Congrats.  ;)

Thanks so very much!  Hope that you and yours are well - so glad to see you here.  *hugs*

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2016 6:21 PM Title: Chapter 7: Bonding Forever

I'm so happy that Jim and Spock are happily bonded.

 

I'm still not sure how to feel about Winona and Sarek. Looking forward to what you'll be doing there!

 

I am very glad you're writing again, I missed you.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2016 6:20 AM Title: Chapter 7: Bonding Forever

This is so wonderful.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2016 8:14 PM Title: Chapter 7: Bonding Forever

You're back after a long hiatus; that's wonderful news.  I was concerned about you, and I hope all is well.

Winona would have let herself be killed with George if it hadn't been for Jim?  So she had no qualms about letting her OTHER son be made an orphan?  Wasn't Sam only like four when Jim was born?  Geeze, Winona, you really ARE a slime mold!

 

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2016 4:38 AM Title: Chapter 7: Bonding Forever

The saddest thing is that she deprived herself of the experience of knowing a child's love.  That is the tragedy.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2016 2:33 AM Title: Chapter 6: The Truth Doesn't Always Set You Free

Your ability as a writer is amazing, you even have me feeling sympathy for Jim's mother.  Thank you again for taking up this challenge and doing it so wonderfully!

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2016 7:40 PM Title: Chapter 6: The Truth Doesn't Always Set You Free

Wow, I had forgotten this existed! I am very glad you are continuing with it. I really wonder that Winona had never realised what was happening - but then she'd have to have been there.

Thanks for sharing this. I look forward to the next instalment.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2016 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 6: The Truth Doesn't Always Set You Free

I once accompanied a friend on a visit to his mother, while he confronted her about her failure to protect him from the father who used to pick him up and slam his head against the wall.  His father had apologized for the fifteen years of intense physical abuse he'd inflicted on my friend, and while the two of them would never be close, they were speaking.

When my friend confronted his mother, it became clear that although she'd never laid a hand on him, she was even sicker than her husband.  Her husband knew that what he'd done was wrong, and once he was in a better place, he apologized and tried to make amends.  The mother, on the other hand, said that she couldn't take her son and leave the man who threatened his life on a weekly basis, "Because I wanted to have the Perfect American Family, and the Perfect American Family doesn't get divorced."  But it's okay, in the Perfect American Family, for the father to physically abuse the son -- starting at six months of age -- so severely that they thought several times that he would die.

The amount of selfishness and denial it took for her to think this way ... I don't excuse the father, not at all, but at least HE knew that what was going on was wrong.

All of which is to say that sometimes the non-abusive but enabiling parent really IS a very large problem, and I'm not willing to let Winona off the hook yet.

 



Author's Response:

Winona's not off the hook. She and Jim have a long road ahead.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2016 6:22 PM Title: Chapter 4 Implosion

Great Spock moment in “Your intentions were not malicious,” Spock replied. He looked at Winona once more. “I trust yours are not.”  You handled that well.  Spock WOULD be polite -- TOS Spock was always gracious, and while NuSpock has a bit more sass in him, he'd be gracious to a guest in his father's home -- but he'd also want to put Winona on notice that if she wants to hurt Kirk, she'll have to go through HIM first.  And all of that very concisely, without running off at the mouth the way I am here. :-) (Sorry, I slept very little last night, and that tends to make me blather.)

And thank heavens for Spock Prime.  I'm really bummed that they're klling him off in the new movie.  I know dear Mr. Nimoy is dead, but the CHARACTER could still be alive, busily helping to rebuild New Vulcan, as you have him here.  I hope you'll continue to have him build New Vulcan for the foreseeable future!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2016 6:09 PM Title: Not All Surprises Are Delightful

I loved Kirk's teasing Spock about spanking.  Nice to know that Spock is so nicely accommodating. :-)

I'm astonished that Selik is surprised that Kirk knows about pon farr.  Surely, if they're about to bond, it would be immoral for Spock to withhold such an important detail from his intended ... and Spock is nothing if not supremely ethical.  (Or at least, TOS Spock was.  I don't feel as if I have a handle on who NuSpock is yet.  But I'm seeing the new movie TOMOMRROW, so maybe that will help!  Er, sorry.  A little excited, here. :-D)

Great line:  Privately, Selik thought it looked like a W’Adorian crab attempting to mate with Jim’s palm, but he kindly put that thought aside.

Oooh, and another great line:  she walked through the terminal with the Ambassador to the Federation serving as her bellboy.

I'm sure the author couldn't resist springing Winona on Jim as a surprise -- it is nicely dramatic and all -- but I'd think Sarek would be a better ambassador than that.  Surely this treatment is likely to get Kirk's back up ... and Sarek knows humans well.

Sorry, I'll shut up.  I really am enjoying your nice story.  I just always have thoughts. :-)

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2016 5:54 PM Title: Wedding Bell Blues

I guess Sarek IS an ambassador, so reconciling disputes comes naturally to him.  I wonder if perhaps a certain ... other aged Vulcan ... may have put him up to this?

I laughed out loud at “With cake,” Spock noted, hugging Jim back. “Only you could negotiate that detail.”

The paragraph that starts, "She had never meant for her relationship with Jim to go down the path it had" is a rather intimidatingly large chunk of text.  I wonder if you might consider a paragraph break?  It seems to me that "In a panic, Winona had run back into space" could begin a new paragraph.

 

You must login (register) to review.