Reviews For Left or Right
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/2016 1:55 PM Title: The Memorial Plaque

I echo  last reviewers comments about minor characters. I love your pick up on demora and Scott. Never liked Harriman. But sometimes slow updates let us re read a fic and remind ourselves of good quality!



Author's Response:

Yeah...slow updates. I know. But...heyyyyyyyyy...I ACTUALLY -finished- this one now. Look! I can actually finish my stories. It's true. Even if it takes me a year or two or five. *face palm*


But thank you! I love using minor characters, just because they are largely a blank slate, so I can do what I want with them. Besides, Hiromi Sulu (aka the Starfleet Captain who sponsored Chakotay to the Academy) had to come from somewhere...so why not have Hiromi come from a union between Demora and Scott Heisenberg? And it is fun to use minor characters as a way to approach new angles and interpretations of our favorite pairing. How ARE Kirk and Spock perceived by the people around them? How does their relationship impact the people around them? What ripples does their relationship make through time? These are questions which I love to explore.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2016 3:44 PM Title: The Adventure Continues

I was pleased when I saw this story updated this morning and read it quickly.  I like that you are using minor movie characters and are filling out their histories and lives in this story.  It's something that is not always done a lot.  And, of course, I always love TOS Spock, even a grieving Spock.  It is also good to see a writer here who knows how to make paragraphs, sentences, and punctuation appropriately  My one complaint - such as it is - is the speed with which you are updating.  I would really like to see this story updated more frequently.  I know that there are RL issues out there.  I am not currently writing myself due to them. I just thought I'd let you know that I like this and would be pleased to see it updated more frequently.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2016 6:51 AM Title: The Adventure Continues

Some stories really stick some worlds seem so right.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2015 6:02 AM Title: The Memorial Plaque

I admired you were able to finish such a sad/calm/ pwerful piece, just likes Spoke told this stroy by himself thought your mind. 

This piece is not only about  two lovers,  but also leaders, warriors.

I wish I could give you 1000 stars if I can. 

 

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2015 2:32 PM Title: Que Sera, Sera

Aww. Poor Saavik. It's a relief her CO didn't try to drag out the inevitable. That would have been painful for all involved. I think her proximety to Spock will help him in kaiidth. At least she will be safe to raise Solkar. Great chapter. Thanks.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2015 2:56 PM Title: In the Shadow of Giants

i will be the first to admit that I took a dislike to Captain Harriman the first time I saw the movie.  Now I find myself having to reconsider those long-standing feelings.  Diverting Jim Kirk once he has made up his mind is a task that Spock attempted for decades with mixed results.  Why should I think that a new Starfleet captain could do it better?  I am enjoying the perspective you are creating in this story and may have to re-evaluate the captain of the Enterprise B in its wake.  Great job!

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2015 2:25 PM Title: In the Shadow of Giants

I can't imagine the burden of being the captain of the ship on which one of Starfleet's greatest heroes lost his life.  The sense of guilt--however misplaced must be overwhelming.  And then to have your officers start to desert you--I think it says more about them than their Captain.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2015 1:24 AM Title: The Outer Circle

Respectable, this was what my feeling when I readed this story.  They were the most eminent and respectable. 

You did an harsh and  great work. Thanks. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2015 2:16 AM Title: The Outer Circle

Fascinating chapter. I love the perspective from the transporter room, and it is one that you would think we would see more often! Mr. Adventure is right about the intense revelations of the two guys' feelings, and the fodder for our fannish imaginations, that occurred there.



Author's Response:

I agree -- I think it IS surprising that we don't see that perspective more often. Because it's so true when you watch TOS: there are always people in the background (and frequently the SAME people in the background in episode after episode, like Mr. Kyle) who don't get much camera time, rarely get much to say...but they're always there, silent witnesses to the events unfolding around them. Play the silent witness long enough, and you might just notice that something is going on between your Captain and your First Officer. And it is there, in that murkiness of silent implication, that slash is born and dwells and flourishes.

That's one of the perks of writing an entire set of stories all set in one big series. I can imply something in one story, and if fancy strikes me I can go back and write the original of the implication in another story. I love creating these interlocked stories that can stand alone yet fit together to create a much bigger picture of K/S and how everything and everyone around them is touched by it in some way, shape, or form. The story telling potential is all but limitless!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2015 6:23 AM Title: Self-Imposed Isolation

A memorial to the undead would not be appropriate. Loverly chapter 



Author's Response:

Certainly not in the minds of us readers, no! Alas, they don't know that Jim is actually still alive in the Nexus. The best part is the fact that Spock actually has a very logical reason as to why he wants to have the memorial removed. Of course it has to be logical -- he's a Vulcan!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2015 10:01 PM Title: Self-Imposed Isolation

Oh delicious!  It's hard to think about Kirk being gone, whether he's dead or just in the Nexus.  Poor Spock.  It had to have been so hard on him.  I'm definitely looking forward to seeing more of this story.  You're doing a fantastic job!  More please!



Author's Response:

I can't even begin to imagine how hard the death of Jim would have been for Spock. And though this story happens after that event, it doesn't really cover the time period of Spock's greatest initial difficulties in accepting his bondmate's death. This is the calm after the storm -- Spock has emerged into public society, restored to some semblance of his former self. And though it is odd, Spock finds that it is he who must provide wisdom and comfort to others, rather than others providing that wisdom and comfort to him. Which somehow is very Spock, in my mind.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2015 2:45 AM Title: The Memorial Plaque

This story immediately drew me in, with its compelling, nuanced characterizations and building mystery. I love Harriman's honesty, his desire to do the right thing and his struggle with his own perceived failure. I'll be waiting eagerly for more instalments.



Author's Response:

Unlike so many of my other stories (so, so many, to my shame!), I had most of this one already finished by the time I posted the first chapter. It's also a shorter story, with only a handful of chapters. So I can assure you that the waiting period between chapters will not be extremely long. I'm glad that you've liked what you've read thus far. It's a fact that I take a great deal of delight in highlighting characters who are not often addressed, fleshing them out and giving them greater life on the page than they were ever given on the screen. Characters in the "K/S Peanut Gallery," I call them. Life is frequently most interesting when seen from the Peanut Gallery, and I find it a joy to include the "Peanut Gallery" characters in my stories whenever possible.

You must login (register) to review.