You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/18/2018 2:45 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

I know I read this before, but happened to watch this episode yesterday and was in the hunt for something connected to it and came across this gem.

I confess I never was a fan of Christine, but this put her in a whole new perspective.  One in which she seems like a grown adult.  I love the parallel between her and Spock.  I love that Spock tells her that he does not see her as T'Pring or Leila - she is at least open.  

And I think it was neat that she was in the role of match maker.  Telling Spock to put his feelings on the table.

This makes me feel good each time I read it.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2017 6:33 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

I love  Chapel realises fics. Perhaps the only addition I might have made is that Chapel's Sense of vocation moved towards an MD as she reflects. Spock certainly knew about that change even if McCoy didn't 

 

 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/2017 10:31 PM Title: The Secrets We Keep

I love this strong Christine and your portrayal of a chivalrous Spock ensuring that thenaitnis cleared between them both. Great idea for alternative perspective.

Reviewer: Rhaegal Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2015 5:19 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

Had to read this after Sunday's watching party and I love it! I like that Christine doesn't deny her jealousy and Spock, oh, Spock. That whole episode was so invasive and awful. At least he (maybe? presumably?) got Jim-sexytimes out of it :)

Author's Response:

Hi Rhaegal!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  Yes, he indeed got Jim sexytimes, but all very discreetly, of course.  :)  It was really interesting to write this story-I'd always been slightly cold towards Chapel's character, and then a reader challenged me to see things a bit differently.  Writing from her perspective encouraged me to try to fill things out a bit, and, of course, we're all a little bit in love with Spock so it was dangerously easy.  -Cate

Reviewer: Blackbird Song Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2015 12:46 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

This is gorgeous, Cate. Thank you for writing it and letting me know of its existence. I love this look at Christine, painful as it is, and her genuine strength. I think you've done a wonderful job of doing that without flinching from her canon vulnerability and failures at romance. I also love the glimpses you give of Spock's conundrum. His awkwardness about relationships (of any kind) and tenderness of spirit are palpable here and living together in as flawed and perfect a way as one could hope to see. This is a story I'm unlikely to forget.



Author's Response:

Hello!  Oh, thank you so much for reading, reviewing, and putting up with my shameless suggestion in the first place!  :)  I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and it was so lovely to meet you at KisCon!  -Cate

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2015 10:27 PM Title: The Secrets We Keep

This was great.  I really enjoyed the view from Christine's mind, and the dignity you gave her.  Sometimes I just see her as the woman who pines after Spock with no hope, but she really is a dynamic and impressive woman.  And Spock appreciates her.  I'm so glad you posted this.  Thanks a ton.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  It was fun to try to get into her head in this story, and it made me think a lot about her possible past and motivations.  I'm glad you enjoyed it!  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2015 12:11 PM Title: The Secrets We Keep

It's always such a pleasure to read your stories, I love your language and how you use it. 

Is good to have for once a closer view on Christine, e piece that adds depth to a character that is frankly a bit pale in the series. You capture her so well, her double faced nature, her isolation. Good work!

 

 



Author's Response:

Hi angelocustode!  Thank you so much for your lovely comments!  I enjoyed delving into Christine's character a bit more; as you say, aside from her appearance in "What Are Little Girls..." and inferences from other small scenes, we don't get much about her background.  Thank you for reading and reviewing! -Cate 

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2015 1:31 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

You're really a very good writer - this is different and still "you." I did like this episode and don't think I've seen it "done" before. Also, Christine's is an interesting and rarely used voice - at least to me it is, if it wasn't from you, I probably wouldn't have read it. It's a nice thing about liking the author, if they do new things you can follow b/c you trust them. The overall story is interesting, and some especially nice touches. I like how you wove the Roger Korby storyline, and the line about how spouses watch each other and how much she wished Roger looked at her like that made my heart ache for her.



Author's Response:

Hi nml!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it; thank you for reading and reviewing, and for taking a chance on the story!  I'm so happy to have your trust as a reader, and I'll keep doing my best.  And, yes, those looks between Jim and Spock!  *swoon*  -Cate

Reviewer: Foxglove Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 6:01 PM Title: The Secrets We Keep

Aaahh this is amazing & I love it!

I love the perspective and i love your development of Chrisine's character, especially since I've seen far too many KS fics that just portray her as an annoying little bitch who always gets in the way.

This piece is fucking wonderful!! Keep up the good work!! :)



Author's Response:

Hey!  Thanks so much for your review!  I have to admit, my perspective on Christine wasn't very complimentary until I thought about writing this story.  And I'm glad I did. I'm so glad you liked it, and thank you for reading!  -Cate

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 4:36 PM Title: The Secrets We Keep

Love it. Very nice story. Poor Christine.



Author's Response:

Hi CMM!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  Yes, indeed, poor Christine; but she did get some closure, and Spock got some good advice.  :)  -Cate

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 4:19 PM Title: The Secrets We Keep

When I started reading, i was a bit confused about what was occurring and had to read the first couple of paragraphs twice.  However, once I got into the swing of things, I really liked this story.  The perspective is, indeed, unique, and I liked the interaction between Christine and Spock.  This is an unusual take on an episoe that is not often reflected in fan fiction.

 



Author's Response:

Hi PaintedBird!  Yes, I can see what you mean about the first two paragraphs; I edited the summary (after reading your comment) to be more clear that it was from Christine's point of view-thank you!  I'm glad you liked it overall!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 11:05 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

A premise we all feel happend but few have chosen  to write. Perhaps the other half that connects with this is the cannon/cannon idea that Spock encouraged chapel to transfer to a medical degree hence her reaction in TMP.



Author's Response:

That's a wonderful idea about Spock encouraging Chapel; I hadn't known that was canon!  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 7:13 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

I agree with WeirdLittleStories. Thanks for writing a TOS story. I never really thought about this perspective before.  It was a very interesting read. We get to know more about Christine, what she's feeling. l'm glad Spock really listened to what Christine had to say. Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Hi Dahliaxat!  I'm excited to write some more TOS, and have a few ideas in mind.  Christine's perspective was something I had never thought of doing before and a conversation with another fan encouraged a new point of view regarding the nurse.  I enjoyed writing this, and did enjoy getting into Christine's head, so to speak.  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 2:41 AM Title: The Secrets We Keep

It's nice to see you writing TOS!

Yes, Spock and Chapel would have some insights into each other after "Return to Tomorrow," wouldn't they?  (I wrote a story about it from Chapel's point of view.)

 



Author's Response:

Hi!  I hadn't read your story (until now; hadn't been checking the Chapel/Uhura tags), but I loved it, and you are so correct about the fertile ground for interpretation that the episode left us with.  I was inspired by a conversation about the Chapel/Spock dynamic, and felt like I wanted to delve into Christine's mindset a bit as I'd never done so before.  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

You must login (register) to review.