You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2015 1:50 PM Title: For better, for worse

Good Trek is always about hiding contemporary issues and consequences in a future format  and asking how this will affect people. Maybe I should write one about Bones taking a cut in salary and being unable to care for Joanna without going into space/emigrating. The choice of a kids future education versus absent parent .....

The theme is valid and worth further exploration. As earning woman I have often debated whether I can really appreciate the pressures a man in my society feels regarding providing and supporting a partner losing that ability seems to be de masculinising to an extent I as a woman perhaps cannot truely get to grips with. I think given the  theme worth writing a longer serious angle  fic  considering the core issue. Whilst some issues may go away in future will the idea that the need to support and provide for a partner I hard wired. 

You are not rubbish writer aNd all themes are worth exploration. Sorry Gene but even religion deserves exploration in future. (If only to have in Kai Wynn a wonderful nasty person)

keep writing 



Author's Response:

Thanks Soral. That would be a good theme to pick up and run with.

Thanks for your encouragement!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2015 3:51 AM Title: For better, for worse

Sure, I'd love to beta your story for the KiSCon zine. Send it to me at Dunyazad9@aol.com. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2015 1:19 AM Title: For better, for worse

Ashaya, I love to beta-read as long as I don't have a deadline or other obligation in RL tht conflicts. If I beta read for someone I want to be able to do the story justice. I know that reality is just a crutch for those unable to deal with science fiction, but mine can be a bear at times.



Author's Response:

I'm plotting out a story at the moment for the KiSCon2015 zine... would you be up beta-ing this? I wasn't planning for it to be a terribly long story... maybe 10K?

Reviewer: ShayAlyce Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2015 8:07 PM Title: For better, for worse

You're more than welcome. I love good authors! You can quote me, if you like, any time!



Author's Response:

;-) I'll put it on my resume...

 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2015 4:49 AM Title: For better, for worse

Very interesting read. To me, Spock's disappointment at being "disinherited" was somewhat overdetermined -- i.e. there were more reasons given why he claimed to need the stipend than were necessary to the story. I'm not sure we needed to learn that Federation citizens do not have universal health care for purposes of this story (but that may just be my personal bias as a left-leaning TOS fan who hopes single-payer will be a reality in my country by the 23d century just as it is in most of the civillized world today). Nor did it seem necessary to this story for Spock to feel the need to be able to "support" Kirk financially. It all seemed to boil down to the orphanage, which was a good and sufficient reason for Spock to feel pain at being displaced as heir. Just my personal schtick, and I enjoyed the unusual story, regardless. 



Author's Response:

Hi again Dunyazad, and thank you again for an excellent critical review. Do you ever do beta-reading?

Like you, I hope access to universal health care is a world-wide phenomenon by the 23rd century (if we don't blow ourselves up before we can achieve peace, or cause the planet to heat so badly that we kill ourselves with greed).

The point of the health care and "support" reasons was that they were completely irrational - Kirk thought one thing, Spock thought another - and both were wrong. The clincher of course is that the one thing Spock did have to worry about was the orphanage - and Prime saves the day. Perhaps I didn't handle those particular themes as well as I could; I'll confess I've been struggling a bit with my writing lately, and I wrote this partially in defiance of the little voice within telling me I'm a crap writer and have nothing more to say... (Because the little voice can go suck big hairy smelly balls, as far as I'm concerned.)

Reviewer: ShayAlyce Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2015 2:51 PM Title: For better, for worse

Full of angst, nasty Vulcans, Spock Prime, and a classic Jim Kirk giving (and receiving) lots of comfort. Humiliation and Humor generously sprinkled throughout and a great mental visual just add even more spice to this delicious confection. Can you tell that I love this story?! LOL



Author's Response:

:) Thanks for stopping to say as much!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2015 4:32 AM Title: For better, for worse

Such a good read! A bit of tragedy, a bit of humour and above all a sketch of the difficulties an individual faces when he must accept the possibility to not be able to maintain his former standard of life, not as much for himself but for who depends on him. Jim's attitude (nothing matters as long as we are together) and Spock's willingness to share his problems open the door for an unexpected generous offer of help. I like it!



Author's Response:

Hi angelocustode! Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed it and found meaning in the story!

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2015 3:18 AM Title: For better, for worse

I loved reading this so much.  I have to give it to Sarek for trying to fight for Spock to stay as heir, but I'm still disappointed in him for not telling Spock before arriving to New Vulcan. 



Author's Response:

Oh absolutely. In my head (it didn't make it into the story), T'Pau instructs Sarek not to warn Spock... ie, the whole responsibility for this fiasco is laid squarely at her feet. Which makes Sarek a bit of a fool, a puppet. But anyway...

Thanks for leaving your thoughts! I'm glad you enjoyed this story.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2015 8:16 PM Title: For better, for worse

Grear story! For a so-called logical species Vulcans are bigots. They really need to be called out. It would really be payback if New Vulcan were to have a celebration and the Enterprise crew were invited but declined the invitation and Starfleet refused to order them to attend.

Author's Response:

Oh yes! I like the idea of that senario! *tucks idea away for future possible use*

You must login (register) to review.