You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2016 8:49 AM Title: Chapter 11

A second reading and the side characters become the main ones. I enjoyed your exploration of similarities and differences of Terran culture and vilcan culture. Also your exploration of the variations in Vulcan culture. What hits me most though is how Spock becomes exactly what T'Pring described   A legend.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/11/2015 10:52 PM Title: Chapter 11

The final scene is of such poetic beauty, so sensual in a wonderfully relaxed way. She has come a long way since she has arrived on Earth. She has found her path, has found her joy, probably she has found herself. Beautiful story, such a joy to read!

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/27/2015 9:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

Glad to be of service. I'm a sucker for Spock in earth clothes. The pea coat and drainpipe jeans. Ooh! I might need a cold shower!!

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/27/2015 1:25 AM Title: Chapter 11

Love this. Great ending!!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I enoyed reading your comments on this story! Much appreciated. Dee

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2015 12:17 AM Title: Chapter 11

Yes, very good. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2015 6:12 PM Title: Chapter 10

Theodore Roethke. Very nice touch.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2015 4:27 AM Title: Chapter 9

Great chapter!

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2015 6:17 AM Title: Chapter 8

This is a very interesting and enjoyable story.  :)  I'm looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you! Just posted another chapter! 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2015 6:16 AM Title: Chapter 7

I'm really enjoying this fic.  I love reading outsiders' pov on Jim and Spock. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2015 1:29 AM Title: Chapter 8

I love the way you show Remberele's reaction to the multiple values and points of view she is encountering at the Academy. And of course I love seeing her unfolding perspective on the relationship of Kirk and Spock. I could quibble about the geography of Cairo in the previous chapter. But the multitude of plot threads that you have thrown up is so intriguing -- it is the mark of a great author to keep so many dramatic arcs in play at once. I am looking forward greatly to seeing how all the threads are resolved. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Dunyazad, for the feedback!  I, too, enjoy seeing what is going on in the world directly outside K and S as well as taking a peek at them every once in a while from another's perspective, which is usually a fresh one.  I wish there were more fiction like that, which I guess is why I've written my own!

 

Yes, thanks for not quibbling on Cairo details!  Never been to Egypt, I just looked at a map and some pictures and tried to sprinkle in a little bit of flavor.  It's always a bit of a gamble to throw in those types of details so I'll use my the "poetic license' pass on that one!

 

 I hope I do not disappoint in the upcoming resolution! 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2015 3:02 AM Title: Chapter 7

Love this! It's sweet to see the way they are together and I love how your young vulcan girl coming around to the idea of love bc of Kirk and Spock.

Reviewer: Miltonway Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2015 6:57 PM Title: Chapter 4

I'm loving how this story's progressing.  You write beautifully, and I like how you are portraying Starfleet, even though you have given it a more miltaristic feel than most. Your portrayal of T'Remberele's social culture shock is well drawn.  I can see how a young Vulcan could struggle with the social aspect.  

I love your dialogue (wish I could write dialogue as good), and I'm really excited about Spock taking her under his wing.  

So she has to find a Halloween costume eh? :)

Oh, and I've remembered to add some stars this time.

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for the rating!  And for providing feedback! Dee

Reviewer: Miltonway Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2015 7:55 AM Title: Chapter 2

Well, I got here at last!  

I must say it's a very interesting beginning.  I like how you are exploring what I assume to be a K/S story (after all it's on the K/S Archive) from such a unique angle.  It gives you all kinds of potential to show how someone reacts and settles in to such a new and alien environment. I see that Remberele has already taken Saevaen's advice, (even though his attitude and mannerism perterbed her), and dropped the T from her name. 

I'm interested in following more of her story, and it's nice to see Spock as a trail blazer for his people, though I'm sure that not all the consequences will are positive.

You write really well and the story flows easily.  I look forward to reading more.



Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, it's taking me a bit of time to move this new character from stranger to inner circle with any plausibility, so bear with me.  I know the build up is slow. This isn't going to be a big dramatic story, just a quiet little one and I wanted to take some time and do a character study more than anything.

And I was always intrigued by T'Pring in Amok Time mentioning that Spock was a legend. I wanted to explore that.  I'm glad his people embraced him after ostracizing him as a child.

 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2015 6:10 AM Title: Chapter 5

Yay! first comment again! Here's some more love for you. I know I get lonely when noone comments too.

I love the idea of that girl dressing up as Scarlet O'Hara. In that green curtain dress of all things! I'm looking forward to seeing how this shapes up! She seems tight with Spock!

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2015 6:06 AM Title: Chapter 4

Here's some love since this chapter has no reviews.  YAY! First review!  This is sweet. Spock being mentor to a young Vulcan who feels like a stranger in a strange land!



Author's Response:

thanks for the love!  i was getting lonely!  :)

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/24/2015 2:50 PM Title: Chapter 3

So glad to see you back! This story is off to a great start. I love the way it captures the enthusiasm and sense of possibility of a young woman on the brink of adulthood, the astonishment of having a dream fulfilled, in this case being accepted to Starfleet Academy, the exciotement of starting college in a new and strange place. Tjhe glimpse of Kirk and Spock is quite suggestive. Just superficially, I  get the sense that they have already come a long way from the tumultuous events of "A Different Corner." Kirk at least seems to have lost some of his selfishness. The gesture of bringing Spock a warm coat spoke volumes, suggesting that Kirk has come to put Spock's needs first almost instinctively.



Author's Response:

Glad to be back, Dunyazad - thanks!  It took me a long time to think of a follow up story - a plot line that hasn't been done to death ! Yes, indeed, our boys have grown up and grown closer since the all the 'sturm und drang' of ADC. They weathered the storm and learned their lessons and are working together to make the relationship work, not working at cross-purposes to each other.  I've always been intrigued by 'the voyeur' perspective in stories, so I wanted to provide that little peek into their world from another character's perspective.  Thanks for commenting!  Like all the authors here say, feedback really is food!  :)

 

Dee

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2015 9:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

The concept for this fic is one I have not seen tackled before and it reminds me of the technique I once heard from the great tribble creator, the what if game. What if Spock had been a trail blazer What effect would that have had on his home planet? What would earth look like to a newly arrived Vulcan? What is Vulcan society like? How do people cope in an alien environment what traditions stay and what go. 

I also like the way you are exploring the difference between the ranks at Starfleet And the details of life at the academy. It's easy to forget that this is a military organisation.



Author's Response:

Soral -  thanks for the feedback - yay, first one!  It's always a little daunting to post the first chapter or 2 of a new story. (Are they gonna love? Are they gonna hate it?) 

I have been racking my brain for several months now, trying to come up with a new perspective and fresh story.  With the variety of fanfic out there, and the sheer number of stories,  it becomes harder and harder, that's for sure!  D.

You must login (register) to review.