Reviews For Babel On
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kitbaker123 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2015 8:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a FABULOUS story and so beautifully, unmistakeably, TOS!

I LOVED it and it actually hit me, afresh, how much I appreciate and miss the Kirk & Spock of the original series!  I was there watching the first episode (though barely old enugh to understand it) after all!  I am usually slightly wary of this 'verse as the writing can 'jar' a bit with my ingrained recollections but... this reminded me of how lovely it is to read the oh-so-carefully correct and polite dance between our two protagonists! 

That said, I think that your use of Sarek (in a rather tastefully, updated, sassy way) was brilliant!  The gall of the man, to speak the TRUTH, and the horror for Jim to be unwilling to (deny it) admit his confusion! Loads of cringeworthy fun!

I think that writing the original K/S, without inadvertantly letting the reboot 'pretty boy vibe' bleed into your writing, is a formidable skill and I am VERY appreciative!

Oooh!  You have another story on KSA!  I am heading in that direction IMMEDIATELY!!! :-)

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your very kind words. Being an old-schooler myself, with no interest in the reboot (no bad feelings about it, just not interested) I'm not surprised you detected a kind of old-school vibe. Probably there's a lot of been-there-done-that to my stories, but what the heck. They're fun to write, and if people get a kick out of them, so much the better. I'm delighted to hear you got a kick. :-)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2015 10:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

great characterization! great read from start to finish.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I've enjoyed your stories here, so I really appreciate that you enjoyed this one.

Reviewer: Raven Knight Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2015 8:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

I thoroughly enjoyed this.  Unintentional matchmaker Sarek is awesome, and in character for him - how he kind of sidesteps what anyone else would blatantly just say - and Spock claiming it is due to his not quite understanding humans.  Oh, dear, Spock.  This was very well done.  And this sentence: "“You mean there will be,” Jim said, turning Spock’s theory into a fact – into a promise, one that Spock clearly heard." really struck me and made me pause for the 'turning the theory into a fact' phrase.  That is brilliant and beautiful all at once!  It shows how clearly Kirk understands Spock's way of thinking about things.  So this was great! ~ RK



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and I appreciate your comment about Kirk understanding the way Spock thinks. Even though this is a light fluffy fic, I do try to keep them "real" and in character, so I appreciate that you found that it made sense!

Reviewer: Werewolvesarereal Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2015 4:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

Quiet and lovely - and what I love most is that when Kirk learns about Spock's regard, he just pauses, considers it, then thinks, oh, yeah, that sounds right. Excellent.



Author's Response:

Thank you - I do feel that they know in their hearts they're a perfect match. :-) Thanks for reading and for commenting!

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2015 11:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed reading this. I think it it was a fresh take - every author, even if they've written about the same topic as before, that writing is still new. This is a 50 yr old fandom, I think if peopole didn't like reading about things again, in different ways we wouldn't be here!

Thanks for taking the time to write and share!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I appreciate your comments; I know it was rather a cliched idea (I don't mind reading or writing them, myself, and I know others feel the same way, but some people hate them), so I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2015 10:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

There's nothing 'seen this before' about this! Lovely.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much for that. It is a familiar trope and all, but I had fun writing it and I'm delighted you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2015 7:58 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very well-written and a perfect "after" story. The dynamics between Kirk and Spock and Kirk and Sarek were utterly believable. I found myself nodding and saying to myself, "Yes. This is how it would be."



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - "believable" is a terrific compliment! 

Reviewer: Cate Adams Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2015 4:39 PM Title: Chapter 1

That was lovely!  Wonderful characterizations and I loved Sarek in this.  Vulcans are realists, indeed.  Well done!  -Cate



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's just a bit of ep-tag fluff. I seem to be addicted to writing that kind of thing. :-)

You must login (register) to review.