You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2015 6:41 PM Title: Chapter 10 - Revelations

You know how much I adore your writing and this chapter! I fangirled already in my mail to you. But really, this chapter was so amazing and heartbreaking and I'm still a little bit broken, even after rereading it dozens of times.



Author's Response:

Thank you, my friend.  Yes, you did flail in the email you sent and it made my day! Eventually, things will be alright for our lovers in this story, but it will not be an easy fix.  Hang in there. ~ RK

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/15/2015 2:06 AM Title: Chapter 10 - Revelations

So I saw you'd updated this fic and sat down this morning to read the whole thing, and was utterly hooked! Can't wait for the next update!

;-)



Author's Response:

Thank you, Ashaya!  Wow - can't believe you read the whole thing in one shot.  Goodness.  But I am glad you did and are enjoying it so much. :)  That makes me happy.  But, first I have to get through T'hy'la Big Bang, and then the New Year's story.  After that, it is back to this and Traitors' Sons. Lots of writing to do...so much writing. ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2015 6:04 AM Title: Chapter 10 - Revelations

I really do love how Carol is being portrayed.  She's trying to help Spock out and yet she does realize and understand that Natasha and the others don't completely trust her (yet).  And ohh, Jim and Spock having that last rendezvous was so heartbreaking and sweet and beautiful.  This is just so amazing.



Author's Response:

Thank you, laustic!  I'm thrilled you are enjoying Carol's role in this story - she is very important and has some more good moments coming up.  She is much smarter than her father and sister give her credit for, but she is guilty by association in the eyes of their servants, unfortunately.  That will change soon, especially during the events surrounding and following the Masque.  Also, very glad you liked how the last meeting between Jim and Spock went.  That took so long to get right!  Glad you enjoyed it. Hoping to update this one once I get two more fics written.  Thank you for faithfully reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2015 1:50 AM Title: Chapter 10 - Revelations

A aargh please urgent update. 



Author's Response:

Soral!  Thank you for reviewing!  I will try to update soon. Had to write the K/S Advent story, and am working on T'hy'la Big Bang next.  Then it is back to this and Traitors' Sons.  Glad you are enjoying this.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Milkyway Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/10/2015 7:24 PM Title: Chapter 9 - Consequences of Rebellion

I love everything on this story. EVERYTHING!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Things will get a bit harder for our romantic leads for a little while before they get better.  Hope you still enjoy it.  (Apologies for the delay in responding.)  New chapter just updated. ~ RK

Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2015 11:04 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Consequences of Rebellion

It is a very rewarding story, though a frustrating one; both because it is easy to see how Kirk could be Spock’s way out of his misery and at the same time Spock choosing Kirk could have terrible consequences for his real family (Pike etc.). This story is a magnificent Cinderella AU, bringing us characters filtered through entirely different experiences, given greater challenges, larger than the original in both their triumphs and their limitations. You write the characters so three-dimensional without ever losing the basic plot of the fairytale and that’s what makes the story so great. I continue to enjoy this story. Your writing is the only reason – I’m still coming back to the ks archive.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Sarek!  You are correct: Kirk could ease Spock's misery, but it could definitely devastate Pike and his family as a consequence.  Thank you for always levaing some feedback.  It makes my day.  Apologies for the delay.  I hope the wait is worth it.  I've had a long period of either no time but the muse was really active, or a little more free time but serious writer's block.  It's not been fun.  I'm so glad you are enjoying this story.  Hope you enjoy it to the end.  And, as always, thank you for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2015 12:50 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Consequences of Rebellion

The tension is really unbearable. Ironically, it was relieved a bit by that horrible confrontation in the house. I'm so afraid for Spock's 'family', the servants--that is how I think of them. I have no doubt if I watched the movie you based this on I would be sorely disappointed because there is no way it got this deep. Spock's personal struggle/journey is so believable. I am rooting for him to stand up for himself. Your writing is so compelling. Kudos.



Author's Response:

I did change a few things, and bring other elements in the film more to the forefront.  Though a few things I completely made up to enhance other aspects.  The film does tend to follow a standard-type of formulaic approach to the Cinderella story, but it is still a very enjoyable film.  One of my favorite versions of Cinderella.  I am glad that you are enjoying this story so much.  Thank you for reading as always, and also for leaving your thoughts on it.  There will be another upcoming confrontation in the upcoming chapters - so prepare yourself for some more tension (for which I kind of apologize). ~ RK

Reviewer: Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2015 12:33 PM Title: Prologue

Hey!


You know how much I love your work and with this chapter - like I said in my mail to you - you have outdone yourself. People say you are an incredible great character writer - and I agree you are. But it's not only the characters which come to live when you write them, which are so vivid and multi-layered and incredible fascinating but also the plot is very wonderful. I know you follow the Cinderella movie we all love but nevertheless you succeed too add something to an already amazing story. You make this story yours and that's just amazing. Thank you for sharing!



Author's Response:

Aw, thank you, my friend!  I'm so happy you are enjoying this one so much.  We both love that film I've based this on, so it is very exciting to hear someone say I add elements and made its basic plot my own version of it.  Very exciting to hear.  Hopefully, it stays that way.  Things will diverge a little in the upcoming chapters, but - I hope! - for the better. ~ RK

Reviewer: HaveYouHeard Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2015 8:14 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Consequences of Rebellion

Have only just discovered this story! And just read the whole thing through! I seriously can not waaaaaait for next updaaaate! kirk in this is just toooo cute ^_^ 



Author's Response:

I am glad you discovered it! This is definitely the fluffiest version of Kirk I have ever written - without question.  I am working on the next update - so...all things permitting it, hopefully there will be an update soon. ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/13/2015 2:54 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Consequences of Rebellion

I wanted to punch Janice for throwingSpock's poetry book into the fire.  I'm looking forward to when she discovers that Jim chose Spock over her!  This was an absolutely wonderful chapter.



Author's Response:

When she and her father realize that Jim chose Spock instead, things will not be pretty.  :/  Not at all.  Thank you, my friend, for your review!  (I am hoping to send you an email tonight, actually.  Things have been a little hectic and insane.)  Glad you liked this one! ~ RK

Reviewer: Khiori Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/13/2015 12:42 AM Title: Prologue

The movie this story is based on has always been one of my favorites and I've often thought of writing a K/S story based on it, but could never figure out how I could do so.  I have to say, you've done a marvelous job thus far with your adaption and I'm enjoying this story as much as I enjoy the movie. Keep up the good work!



Author's Response:

Oh thank you!  I am glad you like it!  I love the movie and I'd been very anxious to write a Kirk/Spock version of it for some time.  I had trouble casting a stepfather, however...then Into Darkness came along and with that corrupt admiral came along Carol.  From then on, it was easy to slot the characters where they needed to go.  Than kyou for reading this one! :)  Hope it continues to prove enjoyable as we move forward with the plot. ~ RK

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2015 11:03 PM Title: Chapter 9 - Consequences of Rebellion

If almost forgotten this story. All the more poignant after reading ayan hirsti Ali autobiographyMand realising that such slavery and ill treatment is part of today's world not just in fairy stories



Author's Response:

I will have to look into this autobiography.  Thank you for the reference. I am glad you are sticking with this story.  Thank you for reading! ~ RK

Reviewer: isadax Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2015 9:49 PM Title: Prologue

Glad to see this story coming back to life ! Thank for the update.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading. :)  I am glad you are enjoying it.  There is more to come in this romantic tale between this Kirk and Spock to go.  ~ RK

Reviewer: buttercoconut Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/27/2015 10:56 PM Title: Chapter 8 - Solutions

I very enjoy this story so you shouldnt stop here like this T.T 



Author's Response:

More will come soon.  I'm glad you are enjoying this one.  Apologies for its delay.  Been dealing with an awful writing slump - but have started getting back some of the missing muse and motivation.  Working on the next chapter after having just finished the other story's update.  So, this one should be soon. :)  Very soon. ~ RK

Reviewer: EmmaSimone Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2015 12:56 AM Title: Chapter 8 - Solutions

Enjoying the story so far.  Will there be more chapters?



Author's Response:

Thank you for your review.  Yes, definitely more chapters are still to come.  We're only about halfway through this tale so far.  Update should be coming soon.  Glad you like it. ~ RK

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2015 8:36 AM Title: Prologue

Every other day I come back here hoping for an update to this story. I hope you're okay ... I hope your muse isn't on vacation ... I hope you haven't gaffiated. Love this story so much. It has me HOOKED.



Author's Response:

I'm so sorry I've been disappointing you with the lack of updates.  It's just been rough lately - real life, work, classes - which hasn't left me much time at all to write, but I am trying.  The muse did abandon me for a little while, too, but I have managed to get it back!  I just need to get some time back to myself and my writing will be back in business again!  Soon!  More to come soon, I promise.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Mordred Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2015 9:13 AM Title: Prologue

OH MY GOD!!!!! this is so very cute. what a nice story. i love the prince and spock. need more!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Mordred!  More is coming slowly but surely - been rough in real life lately.  But I'm trying my best to work on more.  Hang in there.  ~ RK

Reviewer: studioustrekker Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2015 9:34 PM Title: Chapter 8 - Solutions

Gorgeous chapter!!!! Can I say that your Jim/Spock interactions are just so touching, and leave me with a magical feeling, which...is the best considering this is a spin off of a fairy tale!! I cannot wait until Jim figures out the truth, and sweeps in saves Spock! The chicken scene where Spock ate it to please his asshole step father just tore me up (in a good way) and it highlights the desperateness and longing that Spock feels in terms of being loved and acknowledged by those that are supposed too. Love this story, and I appreciate you writing it. Each chapter is well worth the wait :) 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you like it so far! Jim will discover the truth about Spock's identity soon... (I think - according to the outline I have - this tale is only halfway completed...which can be a good/bad thing, I suppose.  I'd meant to have this finished by around New Year's this year, but real life events and scheduling made that impossible.) Love that this gets you feeling all happy-mushy - it's a romantic fairy tale, so it's meant to do that.  Hope to hear from you again as the story continues to unfold.  Thank you for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2015 12:37 PM Title: Chapter 8 - Solutions

Miss Raven,

     I love your story's ability to take me completely out of my own head. Every single chapter has been utterly amazing, and again, your Spock characterization is to die for. I have to say that Pike is also a favorite characterization of mine. He shines in this story, and I find myself glued to the screen everytime he's on it. I also loved how you brought Kirk's brother into the story, and that we got to see what happened with him, and why he abdicated. He knows his brother has fallen hard, haha. I love the undertones about that horrid klingon because it builds anticipation for when he comes back in later, and the tender moment between Kirk and Spock was perfect.

This story makes me feel good, and was just what I needed to read this week. Also, thank you for your support through everything. I cherish you as a friend :)

And seriously, I hope we meet in the legal field one of these days. I've got major feels thinking about that :)



Author's Response:

Hi, MissBAMF!  I'm thrilled you are enjoying this - and also that you are liking Pike's characterization so much.  (Pike is one of my favorite things about the ENTIRE reboot films - Greenwood is just wonderful in the role, and especially wonderful in every scene in which his Pike and Kirk have dialogue together because those two actors work off of each other beautifully and strongly.  The scenes between Pike and Kirk are among my favorites of the reboot films, hands down.  Well-written, well-acted, strong scenes - every time.  Okay, Pike enthusiasm aside, here...) Yes, the horrible Klingon, Hegh, will be around again...much to everyone's displeasure, I'm sure.  Glad this story has lifted your spirits.  And you are welcome for the support, as always!   As for maybe meeting in the field...well, who knows!  ~ RK

Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/18/2015 8:14 PM Title: Chapter 8 - Solutions

There’s absolutely no requirement to thank me for my reviews, you continuing your work and updating is thanks enough. You’re a smarter author than me, so it's always awkward to go around praising your work like I'm your master, but this is superb and indeed I enjoy your characterization very much. Additionally you seize Star Trek tropes or fairy tale tropes and makes measured rigorous thought out of them. Is your writing brilliant? You could say that. While that sinks in, I'm going to quietly sneak out the back, because honestly I have absolutely nothing to say, which could do your writing justice. With The Prince and the Servant, you thrill me with your command of fantasy trope, and your elegant portrayal of courtly and mature love with Traitors you thrill me with your excellent prose and your incredible understanding of writing multi-layered grey characters. To read your writing, Raven-Knight is like to dance with a perfect partner.



Author's Response:

Apologies for totally missing this review!  Eventually I will update - finals are about to occur, and real life's not been kind with giving me extra time to write...but updates are coming!  That being said, THANK YOU for the lovely compliments in this review!  I don't quite know anything else to say to this other than "Thank you!"  I'm struggling to get the next updates for both this and Traitors' done soon - hopefully during my upcoming break from classes.  As always, thank you for reading! ~ RK

You must login (register) to review.