Reviews For Cardinal Rule
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2016 5:47 PM Title: Life and Death

This has become a fantastic Tarsus story, as well as a great reboot Jim / Spock story. Jim's descent into near madness, and later PTSD, is heartbreaking. As is Spock's hopeless (not so hopeless?) love. All your characters are spot on, even slimey Decker.

Thanks for a great read again. 



Author's Response:

First I want to say I love your user name. Also, I'm glad you enjoyed the story despite its serious need for a Beta (I cringe at how bad some spots are now that I've reread it a couple months later) Thank you for leavng a review.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2016 3:40 AM Title: Life Goes On

It's been some time since I have got so entangled in a story and I enjoyed it right to the end. I was somewhat disappointed when the aliens showed up, I'm not even sure why. Somehow I would have preferred the situation to have been strategical-political only. I felt a fall in the narrative tension there, but you got back to it at the very end with Jim's letter.

I somehow missed on how Uhura and Luca got to safety...

I think that you did an admirable job at focusing on how the Tarsus experience has shaped Jim into the captain he is, this Kirk is Nu!Jim to the bones, I kept seeing him when he offers his life in front of the view screen for that of his crew, the look in his eyes...

As for the rest I confirm my impression voiced in the previous review: a good beta would help but your story is readable enough to make it a very enjoyable read even as it is. 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2016 1:22 PM Title: Deja Vu

I am reading this story as a completed work. I'm one of those readers who dislike WIPs. And I usually review after the last chapter. But now I have to stop by and say that I'm much impressed with your talent. You have great imagination and a sure sense of rhythm and timing. Your  characterization works out well. While a native speaker beta would be handy to get rid of some mistakes that disturb the fluency of the tale I find that it reads very well even as it is. Actually I find it quite addictive.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. Sorry about the mistakes. I try to reread the story once in a while to catch anything I missed, but as you know, if you wrote it it's hard to catch your own mistakes. Please enjoy the rest of the story.

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2016 11:37 AM Title: Life Goes On

I don't read WIPs from authors I'm not familiar w/thier work, a side benefit of that is have a nice long read! Really liked this of story - thanks for writing and sharing!

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2016 8:33 PM Title: James Tiberius Kirk

Okay someone kick these unethical pseudo-scientists in the butt!  I've seen the Milgram, Skinner's Box, the Standford Prison, and versions of the Little Albert experiments performed more humanely.  At least now we debrief our subjects in the modern world and at least with even Milgram's experiment no one was physically hurt (I still feel bad for anyone exposed to the originals since psychological trauma is horrible!  And I feel bad for the rats and other critters in Skinner's box as I'm pretty sure a ton of physical damage was done!).  

 

These people are Like the Nazis and the early (and I hate to give them this title) psychology researchers who did not give a damn physically and psychologically about the people they are using.  Maybe they'd like a chance to experience what they have forced on others?  A lobotomy? The original Electroshock therapy?  Perhaps holographic versions of these where they experienced the true effects of their "experiments" would provide them with compassion....

 

Sorry I got a little passionate...  *goes and hides in a corner*

 

Great chapter!!!!



Author's Response:

It's fine. I understand the need to rant. So come out of your corner. I think the problem is these aliens feel that humans are equivalent to rodents, and that's why they aren't being humane, especially since they said that their race survival depends on these experiments. I mean we still use animals in testing and to them that's what humans are. Lower cognitive functioning animals.

Thanks for leaving a review!

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2016 3:49 AM Title: Emotions

Okay, what just happened?



Author's Response:

Awesomeness. That's what happened. Okay not really. The ship in orbit is finally making their move. Thanks for commenting.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2015 5:22 AM Title: Nightmares

If you kill Spock we are going to have a talk!

Reviewer: mary100859 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2015 5:05 AM Title: Fungal Fever

I hope that you will be updating soon, I found your story yesterday and I just now finished up the last posted chapter. I am waiting anxiously for Spock to talk with Jim about how he feels and I think it will help Jim with his feelings for Spock become much clearer. I am waiting now to see how Jim is going to react to the Commadore having the infection. I am wondering about what he will do especially if the need is to kill him so they survive. Please come back really soon with am update of maybe a few chapters hopefully. 

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2015 4:36 AM Title: Trust

Maybe Spock will understand more as time goes on.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2015 11:07 PM Title: Internal War

Hmmmm... I fear where this will lead.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/06/2015 3:30 AM Title: The Children

Poor Jim, he is with people who cannot comprehend what he went through....  Great chapter!

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/2015 1:15 AM Title: The Children

Poor Jim, he is with people who cannot comprehend what he went through....  Great chapter!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2015 7:38 PM Title: Calm before the Storm

I'm still reading.
It's a story who goes under the skin.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2015 1:42 AM Title: Anchor McCoy

Poor Jim....

Reviewer: VulcanKissesHuman Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2015 8:09 PM Title: Deja Vu

I feel like people usually gloss over taurus so I'm really happy you've chosen to talk about the gritty, dark parts of what that most be like and how it is for kirk now. Also, I love him and spock's interactions in here, just pure beauty, all of this glorious work! I'm eager to read more!

Reviewer: Dean Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2015 11:10 AM Title: Deja Vu

You´re my plot-godess - or god? Whatever. I think that it needs some grit to let Kim Kirk kill people, and yet following the story it seems absolutely - logical ;)

I love both your stories and hope to read more soon. I´d offer me as a Beta and would feel honored, but as I´m german and english it not my native language, and don´t know if I´d be of much use.

All the best, looking forward to more chapters

Dean



Author's Response:

You know I forgot to update the latest chapter for Plugged In on this website. Thanks for reminding me. I'll upload it now.

I think what you meant to say (and correct me if I'm wrong) that you thought it took guts to let Jim Kirk kill someone, cause grit doesn't quite make sense. Again you could mean grit and I'm just clueless.

Thanks for the support (and the compliment). ;)

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2015 9:01 PM Title: Deja Vu

So. It's done. I read all chapteres in one... and needed 4-5 hours for that....
Because english isn't my native language and I needed sometimes the translator or my wordbook.
You made a great Job an I'm really eager for the next chapter.

To urmelis review:
cologne is a big city in Germany... named Köln. ;-)

LLAP Sera

Author's Response:

I am glad you enoyed it. I can't say that I will apologize for making you use your wordbok. It means a lot to me that you find my story worthy enough of your attention that you put some effort out into understanding it. It makes my heart all warm and fuzzy. I'll do my best to update soon.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2015 6:45 AM Title: Deja Vu

This was a great chapter!



Author's Response:

Why thank you. ;)

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/01/2015 9:27 PM Title: The Beginning

Tolle 5 kapitel, ich hoffe sehr, dass du bald weiter schreibst und dich auch entschließt weiter star tek zuschreiben.
Ich habe es sehr genossen.
danke

I will try it to say it in english.
i like it very much and I do not like abrahams very much, but you write it so great that i have a good time.
i hope you write more k/s and i hope too, you give us very soon more of this story.

Sorry my school english is bad and very old.

Best wishes from cologne

Author's Response:

I love your english. Though I don't know what you mean by cologne. Lol. I will write the next chapter soon! Thanks for the lovely comments.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2015 5:02 AM Title: The Beginning

Very lovely chapter.  :)

You must login (register) to review.