Reviews For Acquisition
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2014 11:42 PM Title: Asunder

This is one of the most agonizing thing I think I have ever read in a piece of fan fiction. Despite how painful it is, it is superbly well-written.



Author's Response:

Um, I meant "makes" not "maked" in my previous reply.  Ergh.  :)

Thank you so much for the compliment on this chapter.  The situation had evolved so that this almost couldn't help being a powerful chapter, and I am glad that it captured the pain and helplessness the two of them faced.  I wanted to have Spock having to take an almost "Kirkian" chance at the end-a gamble, and a stubborn refusal to give up.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2014 7:19 PM Title: Push

Beautiful rendering of the bonding - it seemed very right. I love the way each puts the other first. Despite the possibly dire consequences of bonding, I am so glad to see them accepting it, going into it with full knowledge (which is not always the cae in fan fic). And it appears that a Trekkish solution may be in sight. ..



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing!  You're right in that the protective instincts are firing for both of them, which is, in my opinion, one of the most interesting parts of the relationship between these characters, even beyond this story.  Each would give his life for the other and, that perhaps doesn't always mean death.  I often consider that blindly protecting Kirk might have been one of the reasons Spock went to Gol.  Still haven't read TMP novelization, so this is, as riekel puts it, "head canon", but it maked sense to me.  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2014 5:53 PM Title: The Simplicity Of Touch

Addendum re your A/N - The Primes growvold together in my hear, too :)



Author's Response:

Absolutely!  There was a boy in high school who never understood why I wouldn't go out with him to see "Generations".  He knew I was a Star Trek fan, and took it personally, but it was really all about the fact that I would never, ever go see that movie.  Sorry, Paul!  -Cate

Reviewer: studioustrekker Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2014 12:58 PM Title: Epilogue

alright Cate. I'm waiting for your next masterpiece. Hurry it along now.

hahahahaha just kidding my dear. I know we will see more greatness soon. As for this? Stunning. absolutely stunning. I loved the idea of a computer controlling people. It's so utterly trek, and how epic the love story between kirk and spock just made it even better. Why couldn't we have had epidsodes like this? WHY?!! At least I can come here and read them. Cate has always got something for me to read and enjoy!



Author's Response:

Oh, studioustrekker, thank you so much for making me smile with your review!  :)  I've got something in the works, and will hurry it along!  Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I'm so very happy you enjoyed it!  -Cate

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2014 10:44 AM Title: Epilogue

This ending couldn't have been any better. Not only did we have an story chocked full of action and suspense, but the love story between these two was phenomonal. Spock and Jim finding the way to one another's hearts in the face of such dire circumstances kept me on my seat and waiting for more every step of the way. This story has become probably my favorite from you, and I'm so eager to see what you have next in the future.



Author's Response:

Wow-high praise, indeed!  Thank you so much for reading, reviewing, and supporting this story.  I'm so happy it's turned out to be one of your favorites, and I think I owe you one for the "creative expansion" from twelve chapters to twenty-one, and for putting up with my eccentric name-changes!  :)  The next story is in progress, and should get started fairly soon.  And I can continue to enjoy your work!  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2014 8:17 AM Title: The Simplicity Of Touch

I of course devoured this as soon as it came out, but didn't want to skimp on the review so I had to wait until I could really write and not peck one letter at a time b/c this chapter deserves so much praise! I love your titles! Back in the day of taking standardized tests "choose" the best title question was always my worst, but your titles are inspired and clever. The chapter itself was wonderful - it might sound repetitive, but when you write about Jim & Spock, it just has so much depth, always makes me feel good to read. I loved the start here, it was funny and light and yet revealing. The sexy was ... sexy :) and appreciated after the fear from being taken and then rescued to the exhaustion after being on the ship.

This story also has been such a growth for Jim. Getting it over yourself and your fears is the most important and hardest thing one has to do. It's a testament to Jim that he was able to do and not lost himself - even if he was dragged kicking and screaming by Spock and circumstances :)



Author's Response:

Hehe...I do love the "sexy"!  :)  Thank you so much for your review, and for your kind words-it really makes my day to hear such wonderful things about my story!  I'm so happy you liked it, and stuck with it even through the tough parts. I know those are hard to read, and even to write!  -Cate

Reviewer: Spockania20 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2014 9:56 PM Title: Epilogue

This was a perfect way to end such a brilliantly written story. Well done, Cate. This one was truly a pleasure to read. You captured every moment with such talent and raw emotion. Thanks for the feels!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words-you made me smile!  :)  I'm so happy you enjoyed it, and thank you for reading!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2014 9:44 PM Title: Epilogue

This was a perfect ending.  :)  I love Sarek's reaction to Spock's T'hy'la bond and marriage to Jim.  I found the reaction to be completely Sarek.  This is what Spock chose and he has to deal with it!

 

I find it beautiful that A'lazb sees Spock as family and Jim as family by marriage.  I enjoyed this fic so much.  :)



Author's Response:

Hi laustic!  Thank you for reading and for your loyal reviews!  I was really excited to finally have Jim and Spock actually get married in this one!  :)  I'm glad you like Sarek's reaction-it was a bit short, but I wanted to keep the focus on our boys, and the final interaction with A'lazb.  See you next time!  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2014 7:39 PM Title: Epilogue

I feel a bit like A'lazb left behind while her brother and his mate continue their voyages ... she has been assured that they will be back - I have been assured that there will be other stories. So I can let them go... Infinite thanks for writing and posting - and for imagining in the first place!



Author's Response:

Oh, angelocustode, that is such a good way to describe the feelings at the end of a story!  Well, at least, as I feel them, too!  I find such joy in writing, and imagining, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed it and are looking forward to new adventures!  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2014 6:16 PM Title: The Simplicity Of Touch

One of the things I really love about your stories is, that in them there is always so much growth for the two of them, individual growth as well as a growing and perfectioning of what they are to each other and together. And the growth invaribly happens through suffering because gold is refined in fire.

This story is most certainly nearing its end as the circle of complexity and simplicity of touch is now closed. I'm sorry as always when your stories end, but I'm sure you have already thought about the next one.



Author's Response:

I just love writing about how two such potentially different beings can come together in the most beautiful way!  And I also like to throw in some angst and action.  Our poor boys!  :)  Yes, the story is coming to an end-only the epilogue to go.  I have thought about the next one, and have three chapters written already!  Stay tuned!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, and for your lovely and thoughtful comments!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2014 5:22 PM Title: The Simplicity Of Touch

This was such a lovely and passionate chapter.  You always do such a great job in portraying just how deep their relationship goes and it's just so beautiful.  :)



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much, laustic, for your kind words!  I'm happy you enjoyed it!  -C

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2014 2:29 PM Title: The Simplicity Of Touch

I enjoyed this.  Well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  So glad you enjoyed it!  -C

Reviewer: pointyears Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2014 11:24 AM Title: The Simplicity Of Touch

I LOVED this chapter! So hot and sensual! 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2014 9:04 AM Title: With Thee

I cannot tell you how much I adored all of these tender moments between Jim and Spock. It's nice that they finally have some time to just kind of be with one another; hold one another. So sweet!



Author's Response:

I just love writing, like you say, the tender moments after all the angst (I'm sure you understand!!).  :)  They work so well together, and they "love" so well together.  Very satisfying to write in their world.  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2014 12:00 AM Title: With Thee

I continue to really enjoy this story. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, sunshine!  So happy you're enjoying it!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2014 2:06 PM Title: With Thee

Oh for the beauty and deep consolation of the connection in the bond. As always I can't help feeling that what we - who are just human - strive for in our passionate joinings of bodies is this completeness, this sharing of everything in a fusion where there is no hiding but, more importantly, there is no need for hiding because we know and are known in depth and it is well. We are not capable to join in this complete way and can only linger on the fringes - but we never cease to try.



Author's Response:

Oh, angelocustode, so well said, as usual!  I completely agree!  Thank you, my friend, so much, for your lovely words, and for continuing to read and comment.  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2014 8:00 AM Title: With Thee

This chapter was exquisite. I so love the way you write them - reading it is just a pleasure. thanks so much :)



Author's Response:

Yay!  They needed something like this to heal, and now they're off on another shore leave.  Definitely less dangerous than the last one, and they'll have a chance to really explore their new bond!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2014 4:25 AM Title: With Thee

Beautiful chapter!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I'm so happy you enjoyed it!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2014 3:00 AM Title: With Thee

Incredibly lovely chapter.  :)  I found M'Benga's explanation of the T'hy'la bond interesting as it is very rare and the possible consquences if one of them should die.  I enjoyed this chapter very much.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I wanted Jim to have a little more background regarding the bond, and to indirectly answer McCoy's concern about Jim's fate should the bond break.  Which it won't.  Because our boys deserve a break and I'll have a happy ending.  :)  -Cate 

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/02/2014 9:41 AM Title: Comfort And Courage, Healing And Hope

I absolutely loooved that scene at the beginning of this chapter; that small moment between Spock and Kirk. I don't know, it just really hit home how close they've become over the course of the story. I also really like how you've written Preshar thus far. He seems like a great guy to have around.



Author's Response:

He is!  As angelocustode pointed out, I seem to have a thing for evil admirals, but perhaps commodores aren't so bad!  :)  Preshar's suffered his own personal loss and is inclined to be supportive.  In this story, I don't intend the higher-ups to be a problem for our boys, unlike in the RSV trilogy, where they had to keep their bond largely secret because of Command concerns.  I thought that perhaps, after Nero's decimation of the Fleet and internal problems, that Starfleet would be really, really eager to keep its people happy, and that might open up avenues for families, or at least spouses, to serve together.  I don't go into the politics of that in the story, but that's in my head.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

You must login (register) to review.