Reviews For Never
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2015 2:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love Fics about a strong loving Uhura And this is one of the best



Author's Response:

Hi Soral!  It was so lovely meeting you at KiSCon!  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing-I'm so happy you enjoyed this one!  -Cate

Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2015 7:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

I don't even know what to say about this -- it's not the most depressing story I've ever read in the Star Trek fandom, but it has a special quality of despair all its own, a quality that sits you down, hands you a cup of tea, stares into your eyes, and says quietly, "Listen, things are really, really bad just about everywhere for everyone (Kirk, Spock and Uhura)."

 

Nevertheless I have found it perfect. It is a story with no mistakes, a monument to every rule of brilliant and poignant characterization that writer workshops teach. On a literary level, it's sometimes unique and extremely striking and I found myself drawn especially to your characterization of Uhura and the whole dilemma she, Kirk, and Spock found themselves in. In the recent years I rarely have read a good characterization of her character and have grown to expect poor quality, but you are good. More than good actually. I know that Abrams’ take on Spock’s, Kirk’s and Uhura’s character, doesn’t give fanfiction authors much to work with. The reboot movie characters are more or less well sketched, but at their deepest, they are not much more than sketches, their conflicts easily explained, their emotional dilemmas as neatly summarized as a lawyer’s closing statement but you work splendidly with what little character development you have been given in the reboot canon and managed to write a strikingly poignant fanfiction and I thank you for it. 



Author's Response:

Wow, thanks!  I'm glad you liked it, and your point about the characterizations in the reboot is well-taken.  It is difficult to truly delve into a character's background and sincere motivations given the constraints of a big-budget action film, where every moment must be accelerated and we see development through action and reaction instead of what we were able to enjoy within the context of TOS, where episodes built upon each other and there was time for contemplation and developing insight.  Perhaps this is why I feel more comfortable writing in this universe, however, because the AOS characters seem to have much more room for creative input.  Thank you again for reading and reviewing!  -Cate   

Reviewer: AKO Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2014 12:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

I am completely bedazzled by your interpretation and eventual solution to a situation which has bothered me ever since Abrams got his hands on the Star Trek franchise.

Thank you for writing such a necessary story!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Hi AKO!  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm so glad you liked it!  Yes, this story popped out of my anxious musings about what might go down in the hands of the new writers for the next movie, and, despite my resolve to simply ignore the completely illogical S/U as much as possible, I wanted to sneak in an "In Case Of Emergency Break Glass" solution.  :)  -Cate

Reviewer: coccinelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2014 12:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

Since Missbamf was talking about you, i decided to try your stories, as a first try, i begin by this one because i had only few minutes. I was a bit afraid at first, i don't like uhura bashing but i don't like when she is portrait as a saint, not hurt at all. 

But wow! it's the first time i really felt for Uhura!! it was really realistic to me! The way she reacted, kind and compassionate but also hurt and a bit angry because she would have loved to be ''the one''

 

it's clearly the first time i cry for her!

 

I think a lot of people can relate to her situation presented like that.

 

I'm definitely going to read your other stories



Author's Response:

Hi coccinelle!  Thanks so much for reading my story, and thank you to missBAMF for the recommendation!  I'm glad you enjoyed it, and that you found Nyota's reactions and characterization to be realistic.  I tried to be true to real-life emotions, and the sense that these characters here are not pure heroes, or villains, but are acting as real people, with gray areas and things that perhaps are less than worthy, but with honest intentions and the capacity for courage and self-sacrifice.  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2014 9:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

At first I almost passed over this b/c in the summary they'd gone as far as a wedding but then I saw it was from you so ... :)

This was a tough read, first b/c it is about the break up of a marriage, particularly one where're they're bonded. Als you're writing didn't go easy on us - it was intense and didn't let up with all the difficult emotions; I was actually tense by the time I got to the end! I was reminded of a Mad About You ep where my take away was that the person you're supposed to be w/brings out the best in you and someone else can make you a witch. I've also seen that personally, including w/myself. I'm ashamed to admit it, there were times I'd act in a way that'd make me cringe and I'd think to myself "who is this person?!" b/c it's not me. In here, Uhura, is really mean. She might feel betrayed and cheated, but the way she lashes at Spock is sometimes cruel, esp since she knows this wasn't deliberate and he's clueless. She seemed to be less mean w/Jim - maybe b/c they both showed their hurt? But his response of "I know" right away as opposed to feigning ignorance was great, the whole scene was very honest. But then she went back to being cutting w/Spock. But then again, as I believe even though it's not common, you take out your anger on the one who promised to be w/you forever not the one he's "cheating" with - she's almost holding Spock accountable.

Anyhow, I'm rambling, but I this did inspire me to go on so I had to be at a keyboard rather than type one letter at a time :)  Intense, sad story, even the "happy" ending is bittersweet :) but great read



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading this-I knew that the summary might put some readers off.  Your analysis rings true here: Nyota lashes out more at Spock, and for several reasons.  He doesn't show his emotions or provide her with a reaction that would help her to deal with her feelings (like Jim did, which is a human response).  She muses that she is like everyone else, trying to force Spock into a role or definition that doesn't fit.  She also feels betrayed, because he did know of his feelings for Jim and didn't say anything.  Spock essentially treated her and their relationship as a duty, and she wanted more.  She also, despite being the one who will perhaps lose the most here, is also the one who has to bring up the issue, instigating *two* very difficult confrontations.  She has to do the work to fix the situation, and she is resentful of that.  She doesn't like who she has become, and has had enough.  Thank you so much for your "ramblings".  :)  I wanted to delve into a difficult, ambiguous situation here, with no clear perfect heroes, and I'm excited about the discussions it has provoked with regard to the characters.  I'm glad you enjoyed it!  -C

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2014 10:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for this story. While I loathe the S/U pairing in the Rebootverse, this is the best way yet I've seen of handling it which does justice to Uhura.

A poignant, dramatic piece.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, and for your review!  I, too, really, really dislike the S/U pairing, and this story is part of my slightly over-the-top reaction to it.  I got all caught up in what I would do if the writers-that-be decide to continue on the S/U train and make them more permanent.  Aside from throwing popcorn and booing, I decided to write a contingency story well in advance.  :)  Glad you liked it!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2014 2:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

God, this was so incredibly beautiful and intense!  I love seeing how this love triangle unfolded with Uhura confronting Jim about his feelings for Spock, asking Spock to break the bond.  I loved this story.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked this perspective-it was hard to write, but emotionally fulfilling.  I wanted to get into Nyota's character a bit more than I had in the past, and take a look at our boys from another angle.  -C

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2014 2:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

Aw, jeez, those two men, too noble to do things right! Poor Nyota, she totally deserves something better :) But this was an interesting exploration, contrasting with T'Pring. 



Author's Response:

Ah, riekel, I was looking forward to your take on this!  I know I may be trying your patience with my foray into character introspectives, and I promise something different is in the works.  :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing-loved your comments!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2014 12:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

Deeply moving, taut with dramatic tension, and very well-written. I am so glad you wrote this story. I love stories like this, that reveal what is between Kirk and Spock through the medium of someone else's experience. I'm not a fan of reboot Uhura, and the way she appears (to me, at least) in this story is the way I see her -- basically a self-centered person who has difficulty accommodating the needs and desires of others to her own. It's a characterization that works very well here, where Uhura is forced to accept the reasons why she can't have what she wanted so badly. If she were a more selfless and noble person, the story might not have worked as well as it does. As it is, the story shows Uhura growing and beginning to accept what she cannot change. It's a longer journey for her than it might be for another character, and that makes for a very strong story. Thanks for writing it.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  The characterization of Nyota here can be seen a few ways, I think.  From the reviews, it seems like her character resonated as being more noble and selfless for some readers, and less so for others.  I wanted her to appear as a less than perfect person here, but one who is trying to do the right thing and is aware of her own shortcomings.  Her internal musings, which we are privy to here, are not those of someone who is utterly selfless, and she finds some comfort in the fact that the thing she needs to do for herself is in fact the right thing to do for her spouse.  I wanted to show the struggle from the more complex perspective of one who is not a perfect heroine but who is trying.  One who might gain a reader's sympathy, or lose it.  -C

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 7:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

lovely little story, very nicely done indeed.  this is my preference for dealing with the whole S/U thing TPTB foisted off on us.  Uhura is an honourable woman, honest and true -- in this situation, this is how she would react.  same with Spock.  there is no logic in maintaining a bond which is hurtful rather than helpful.  even solitude would be better -- but he doesn't have to become solitary, for Jim is there. 


and I must also than you for posting it as one whole story, instead of chopping it into a bunch of mini-chapters and dragging it out.  very nice, again -- good one!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  The inspiration for this story was actually a mini-panic attack I had when I considered if the new writers would make S/U more permanent in the new movie or beyond.  I wanted to reconcile what might happen even if they did the unthinkable, because damn if all those deep gazes and perfect compatibility between our boys would be overlooked.  :)  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 6:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

Never expect Cate Adams to write something ordinary! You must have a muse with original thinking who doesn't like the well trodden paths! The idea to have Spock bond with Uhura and then tell the consequences from her POV, that's a stroke of genius. And as always you manage to draw with gently loving brushes of essential language a picture of three noble characters, deep and caring, capable of sacrifice and with the courage to see things as they are and act upon them, each in his or her own, characteristic way.

I absolutely love what you say about the Vulcan word I love more than any other: Kaiidth, "it encompasses so much but excuses nothing". I think it is the light that can illuminate any darkness: things are as they are and by accepting this we find the strength to move on without bitterness.

Thank you for writing for this archive, for all of us.



Author's Response:

Oh, angelocustode, your words truly touched me.  Thank you so much for such a kind review, and I'm so glad you liked the part about "kaiidth".  I spent a while trying to enunciate that word with respect to this story, and I'm happy that it came across well.  Thank you for continuing to read and review my work.  -C

Reviewer: magpie1600 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 6:39 PM Title: Chapter 1

Good story and I really loved the way you brought them together.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!  I'll always see our boys together in the end, of course!  :)  -C

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 5:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  I can see this happening so easily.  You've done a great job with this story -- I can feel her pain and her anger and her self-disgust.  And Spock IS that noble and self-sacrificing, and he could behave like this.  Very nicely done.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm glad that the characterizations rang true.  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 5:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

absolutely beautiful!!!! Since I used to ship S/U, I have a special place in my heart for fics that paint Uhura in a good light, and this did not dissapoint. Very beautifully written. As always!



Author's Response:

Hey there!  So glad you enjoyed it!  One thing I do like about the Reboot universe is that it allows for a very interesting and different dynamic to evolve among Jim, Spock, Nyota, and even Bones.  I can actually see Nyota and McCoy together pretty easily (like "Carry My Heart"!) and I do love writing romantic tension!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Raven Knight Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2014 4:32 PM Title: Chapter 1

I'll admit that I thought of skipping this when the summary mentioned a bond between Spock and Uhura...but I clicked it anyway, and now I am certainly glad I did.  This was such a heartbreaking situation for everyone, all of whom are honorable in their own ways.  What did me in first was the scene between Kirk and Uhura...but once she went back to Spock and his reaction to fulfilling her request...it was all over for me emotionally.  So glad I clicked to read this. ~ RK



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I was worried that this story would keep readers away because of the initial bond between Spock and Nyota-I would probably have been wary, too!  But, I still really wanted to write it, and I'm so glad it struck an emotional chord with you.  -C

You must login (register) to review.