Reviews For Corolan Prime
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: AStudyInTeal Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2017 6:31 PM Title: Where We Go From Here

My favorite type of KS fics—interesting examinations of their relationship and bond in the context of their jobs, a fascinating (ha) plot (I'm a sucker for stories with conspiracies and talk of Starfleet's internal politics, and lots of feels and angst but a happy ending. 

Love it. One of my favorites now. I'd adore a sequel or series!

thank you so much, this was marvelous!

Reviewer: DDM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2015 5:46 AM Title: Where We Go From Here

I loved it! It would make a good series indeed!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm thinking on the sequel possibilities!  -Cate

Reviewer: Silvaloon Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2015 3:06 AM Title: Fault Lines

Cate, love your writing and the way you keep multiple story arcs flowing so fluidly,  This story would indeed, to my way of thinking, be awesome for a foundation of multiplets... :-)

 



Author's Response:

Hi Silvaloon!  Thank you so much for your kind comments!  I'm so happy you enjoyed this story-I loved writing it.  I've got some ideas for how it might move forward!  -Cate

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2014 6:43 PM Title: Where We Go From Here

Wonderful ending to an incredible story. Just as good as the best of TOS only more so. I vote for this as the start of a series, or at least as the springboard for more opportunities down the road. Thank you for this experience!



Author's Response:

You are very welcome!  Thank you for your touching, insightful comments throughout-I looked forward to reading each one and was happy to hear that you enjoyed it!  I'm working on a couple other stories, but a continuation of this one seems to be always in the back of my mind.  I am excited to see how Jim and Spock will deal with the Orion issue, the political fallout, and Starfleet's working knowledge of their bond.  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2014 6:40 PM Title: Superman

Whew, what a relief that Kirk gets to keep his ship and will not be punished. Politics almost always triumphs, and here it seems to have led to the right result.  The portrayal of Admiral Coventry, who obviously has a very complex reaction to the situation, was very well done. And Kirk's response to her conclusion that he'd been "compromised" by his relationship with Spock was magnificent.  That's the captain we all know and love.



Author's Response:

This was a "Jim" chapter, and one that I enjoyed writing because of the complex interpersonal dynamics.  I felt that this chapter sets up a possible sequel, and, after my string of "evil" admirals in the Ren shat'var trilogy, I was happy to write a leader who is perhaps reminiscent of Jim in the TOS STI; she's a former commander in a job now immersed in politics, trying to protect her own as well as navigate Starfleet's larger position in the Federation, and maybe a bit resentful of not being on the front lines anymore.  Thanks for reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2014 2:40 PM Title: Everything

Incredibly passionate and loving love-making. Your description of the mental component of their relationship is awe-inspiring. Another very moving chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2014 2:25 PM Title: Anything

I read this chapter several times, and despite the looming court-martial, I cheered with happiness and relief several times while reading it. First, that familiar welcome shimmer of the transporter and the fact that they are back on the ship. Second, the fact that Kirk seems to have recovered from the poison. Third, the way that Spock put the know-it-all healer in his place. (Although I have to give him credit, he was only applying logic to the facts as he knew them, and to his greater credit, he acknowledge his prejudice at the end.) There were many tidbits I enjoyed, for example, Kirk's speaking Vulcan with an almost perfect accent. I hate it in fan fic when Kirk stumbles over the Vucan language or can't even understand it.   But the best thing about the chapter was the incredibly moving acknowledge that Kirk would do "anything and everything" for Spock. Very powerful



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading, and for your attention to detail.  This chapter was full of emotion, and even from the Vulcans, it seems!  I appreciate your kind comments!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/14/2014 10:36 PM Title: The Good Of The Many

This has to be one of the most exciting chapters ever posted on this site. Excellent, heart-stopping action-adventure, with the underlying plot about the conspiracy to give it depth.



Author's Response:

Wow!  What a compliment!  I loved writing this chapter, and this story was really my first try at writing Klingons.  Can't wait to do it again!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/14/2014 9:14 PM Title: Line Of Fire

This could be a TOS episode (one of the better ones). For me, that's the highest compliment. 



Author's Response:

And I shall take it as such!  Thank you so much!  I grew up on TOS, and hope that it comes through in my stories, even though I'm writing in the Reboot universe.  :)  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2014 11:53 PM Title: We Fall Together

I didn't see it coming, the revelation that Spock's unshielded telepathy would actually hurt Kirk. Kirk's understanding of the underlying conspiracy is most satisfying, and I'm looking forward to the resolution lthough I know that  more possibly painful drama is ahead.



Author's Response:

Yes, there is a bit more hardship ahead, but they are together again!  Thanks so much for your insightful comments, as always!  Glad you're enjoying it!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2014 11:48 PM Title: Without A Tether

Love the way Kirk used his hacker skills to break out of the morgue and get to the shuttle bay. That's the old Star Trek spirit? It is painful to see both the guys in such bad shape, but I am glad that Spock is slowly healing, and in an uncanny way they seem to be working together, albeit from afar.



Author's Response:

They do seem to work together, even if neither realizes the connection!  I'm glad you see some true 'Star Trek' spirit here-just what I was going for!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2014 11:12 PM Title: The Human Thing To Do

Oh, this is almost unbearably sad, McCoy's not standing up for Kirk. This deep and compelling story continues to mesmerize.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  Bones was trying to protect his friend, but not in the best way, perhaps.  :)  -C

Reviewer: December Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2014 11:31 AM Title: Where We Go From Here

very good adventure!



Author's Response:

Hey, thanks for reading and reviewing!!  So glad you liked it!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2014 2:55 AM Title: Nothing Left To Hold

I l;ove a good conspiracy, and this looks like a doozy. Wondering how the Special Ops folks intend to get rid of Kirk and Pedersen without arousing suspicion in the 3 hours before they are suppposed to rendezvous with the Enterprise (if indeed they are). Why did Kirk have to reveal the existence of the bond to them? Love the way the complex plot with its many strands is moving forward.



Author's Response:

I wrote Jim to be slightly off his game here.  He's been through a wrenching tragedy on the planet's surface, and is now in a situation that is completely unexpected and threatening.  He does reveal too much, and I hoped that it read like a belated effort on a guilty Jim's part to be loyal to his bondmate whom he left behind.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2014 2:55 AM Title: Nothing Left To Hold

I l;ove a good conspiracy, and this looks like a doozy. Wondering how the Special Ops folks intend to get rid of Kirk and Pedersen without arousing suspicion in the 3 hours before they are suppposed to rendezvous with the Enterprise (if indeed they are). Why did Kirk have to reveal the existence of the bond to them? Love the way the complex plot with its many strands is moving forward.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2014 2:32 AM Title: When I Cried Out To You


  1. Wow! What a spectacular chapter. A great science fiction premise and tremendous drama, with the issues arising from the K/S relationship intersecting all of it. I love the characterization of Kirk as the commander shouldering his responsibilities first and foremost, and not letting his relationship with Spock blind him to his duty to the rest of the crew. I'm glad Uhura apologized to Kirk. I confess that I am not totally crazy about reboot Uhura, and not just because of her feelings toward Spock. In the films and in much fan fic. she strikes me as judgmental and perhaps too ready to second-guess her commanding officer. It's not that questioning authority is a bad thing, but I'm not sure the way she does it is always constructive. As I said, I think this is the way her character was defined in the films, so it's not a comment on the story except that your Uhura is definitely in character!



Author's Response:

Whew-sorry to be so long in responding!  I hope your comment didn't get cut off (after 1.).  You know, I agree with you about Uhura in the reboot films.  Especially the way she interacted with Spock on the bridge (I guess she's the only one who doesn't have to say 'sir'), and then insisting on a private conversation three minutes out from Kronos, she seemed to be the poster child for why relationships between senior crew are not a good idea.  And, yeah, a bit of that is here as well.  Glad you're enjoing it!  Thanks so much for reading and for such detailed, insightful reviews!  I look forward to them!  -C  

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2014 9:47 PM Title: A Choice Already Made

This is so much like Star Trek, only better. :-)



Author's Response:

Great!  This story was fun to write, at times, and difficult to write, at other times.  Parts of it just flowed, like the action sequences, and other parts required mutiple edits to be finished (a lot of Jim's dialogue).  He is the captain, and his character is strong and resilient, but, here, has taken a lot of powerful hits.  I really like exploring the gray areas between the Jim Kirk of the Reboot universe, and the Jim Kirk of TOS.  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2014 9:36 PM Title: Another Serpent

Not only was this chapter gripping and dramatic, it was a joy to read the crisp, efficient dialogue. Right after I made the comment in my last review about preferring the "scene-setting" to unfold organically within the context of the narrative, you did just that in the reports of the various landing prty members. Very well cone.



Author's Response:

Yay!  It's funny...I'm kind of sitting here waiting for your comments for each chapter with a bit of anticipation and trepidation.  Kind of like a graduate-school oral exam or something.  The words have been written and now it is in the reviewer's hands...  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2014 9:23 PM Title: Another Eden

Very moving and moving decision to bond. It's nice to see them on a mission without being in immediate danger or jeopardy, although I'm sure that will change. The setting is lovely. I must confess, though, that as good as your writing is, I have a preference for "scene-setting" -- descriptions of the mission and the natural setting- that unfolds organically within the context of the story rather than in background paragraphs -- shown, not told. Not at all a negative commentary on your writing, but just a personal preference of mine.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing!  Yes, upon reading it again, I can see how I may have done that differently.  I hope it wasn't too distracting-I'll work on it for next time!  :)  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2014 9:50 AM Title: The Sum Of Us

Although it is really, really painful to relive the devastating experience of stabbing and strangling Spock (nearly) to death, it is clearly the right dramatic choice in this story. Your writing show so much about Kirk, ab out how he feels about Spock, about their relationship. “I don’t know how to live with this, but I will, somehow.” What a perfect line. It seems to set the stage for the rest of the story. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing!  This chapter was difficult to write, because of the intense tension between the two.  They need each other, and will have to work together to get back to where they should be.  -C

You must login (register) to review.